什么是供应链分析?

分析代表了基于相关可信数据摘要进行数据驱动决策的能力,通常使用图形、图表和其他形式的可视化。供应链通常产生大量数据。供应链分析有助于理解所有这些数据,揭示模式并生成洞察。

不同类型的供应链分析包括:

  • 描述性分析。为内部和外部系统和数据提供整个供应链的可见性和单一事实来源。
  • 预测性分析。帮助企业了解最有可能的结果或未来场景及其业务影响。例如,使用预测分析可以预测并缓解中断和风险。
  • 规范性分析。帮助企业解决问题并开展协作以实现最大业务价值。帮助企业与物流合作伙伴协作,减少为缓解中断而投入的时间和工作量。
  • 认知分析。帮助企业以个人或团队响应问题的方式,采用自然语言回答复杂问题。它可以帮助企业思考复杂的问题,例如“我们如何改进或优化 X?”

供应链分析也是将认知技术(如人工智能 (AI) )应用于供应链流程的基础。认知技术可以像人类一样理解、推理、学习和互动,同时具备强大的能力和高速度。

这种高级的供应链分析形式正在引领供应链优化的新时代。它可以自动筛选大量数据,帮助企业改进预测,识别效率低下,更好地满足客户需求,推动创新并追求突破性的构想。

为何供应链分析如此重要?

供应链分析可以帮助企业更快速地做出更智慧、更高效的决策。优势包括以下能力:

  • 获得可观的投资回报。Gartner 最近的一项调研显示,29% 的受访企业表示他们通过使用分析获得了高水平的投资回报,相比之下只有 4% 的受访企业没有实现投资回报。⁴
  • 更好地理解风险。供应链分析可以识别已知风险,并通过在整个供应链中发现模式和趋势来预测未来风险。
  • 提高计划的准确性。通过分析客户数据,供应链分析可帮助企业更好地预测未来需求。它可以帮助企业确定哪些产品在出现盈利能力下降的情况时可相应减少产量,或者了解客户在初次订购之后的需求将是什么。
  • 实现精益供应链。企业可以使用供应链分析来监控仓库、合作伙伴响应和客户需求,从而做出更明智的决策。
  • 做好准备,迎接未来。公司正在为供应链管理提供高级分析。高级分析可以处理结构化和非结构化数据,从而为企业提供优势,使其能够及时获得警报,从而做出最佳决策。它可以在不同来源之间建立关联和模式,以提供警报,以最低成本和较少的可持续性影响最大程度地降低风险。

随着人工智能等技术在供应链分析领域变得越来越普遍,企业可能会看到更多的好处。以前由于分析自然语言数据的局限性而尚未处理的信息,现在可以进行实时分析。人工智能可以快速、全面地读取、理解和关联来自不同来源、孤岛和系统的数据。然后,它可以根据数据的解释提供实时分析。公司将拥有更广泛的供应链智能。运营效率更高,避免中断,同时支持新的业务模型。

供应链分析的演变

过去,供应链分析主要限于用于统计分析和可量化的需求规划和预测性能指标。数据存储在来自供应链中不同参与者的电子表格中。

到 20 世纪 90 年代,企业逐渐采用电子数据交换 (EDI) 和企业资源规划 (ERP) 系统在供应链合作伙伴之间连接和交换信息。这些系统提供更容易获得数据进行分析,并协助企业进行设计、规划和预测。

21 世纪初,企业开始转向商业智能和预测性分析软件解决方案。这些解决方案帮助企业更深入地了解他们的供应链网络是如何运行的,如何做出更好的决策,以及如何优化他们的网络。

如今的挑战是,企业如何才能以最佳方式利用供应链网络中生成的海量数据。在 2017 年,一个典型的供应链访问的数据量是 5 年前的 50 倍。¹ 然而,这些数据中仅有不到四分之一得到分析。此外,虽然大约 20% 的供应链数据是结构化的,可以很容易地进行分析,但 80% 的供应链数据是非结构化或暗数据。² 今天的企业正在寻找最好的方法来分析这暗数据。

多项研究表明,认知技术或人工智能将是供应链分析的下一个前沿。人工智能解决方案超越了信息保留和流程自动化。人工智能软件能够以类似人类的方式思考、推理和学习。人工智能还可以处理大量数据和信息(结构化数据和非结构化数据),并即时提供这些信息的汇总和分析。

IDC 估计,到 2020 年,50% 的商业软件将包含一些认知计算功能。³ 人工智能不仅为跨系统和数据源的数据提供了强大的关联和解释平台,还允许企业实时分析供应链数据和情报。加上新兴的区块链技术,未来的企业将能够主动预测各类事件。

高效供应链分析的主要功能

供应链是面向客户和消费者的最明显的业务“面”。一家企业若能够更好地进行供应链分析,就能更好地保护其商业声誉和长期可持续性。
IDC 的 Simon Ellis 在会思考的供应链 (The Thinking Supply Chain) 一文中确定了未来高效供应链分析的五个“C”:

  • 互联互通 (Connected)。能够访问社交媒体中的非结构化数据、物联网 (IoT) 的结构化数据,以及通过传统 ERP 和 B2B 集成工具提供的更多传统数据集。
  • 协作性 (Collaborative)。越来越多地改善与供应商的协作意味着使用基于云的商业网络来支持多企业协作和互动。
  • 网络感知 (Cyber-aware)。供应链必须加强自己的系统,防止网络入侵和黑客攻击,这应该是企业普遍关注的问题。
  • 认知技术支持 (Cognitively enabled)。人工智能平台通过对整个供应链的决策和行动进行整理、协调和执行,成为现代供应链的控制塔。供应链的大部分是自动化的并且具备自学习能力。
  • 全面 (Comprehensive)。分析功能必须用实时数据进行扩展。获得全面、快速的洞察。在未来的供应链中,延迟是不可接受的。

在今天的供应链网络中,有效的分析需要能够以客户为中心,快速响应,同时保持准确性和完整性。企业正在寻找能够快速分析来自不同数据源(包括非结构化数据和基于自然语言的数据)的大量数据的供应链分析解决方案。最后,供应链分析被要求预测越来越多的供应链变量,包括天气、战争、工人和监管等外部因素。

使用软件进行供应链分析

随着供应链分析变得如此复杂,人们开发了许多类型的软件来优化供应链性能。软件产品涵盖了从提供及时准确的供应链信息到监控销售等各个领域。

例如,IBM 开发了许多软件产品以提高供应链分析的有效性,其中一些软件甚至使用了人工智能技术。借助人工智能功能,供应链软件实际上可以学习不断变化的生产流程,并且可以预测变更需求。IBM 产品包括:

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Insights with Watson

使用人工智能功能帮助企业消除数据噪音,并获得洞察,从而自信地快速采取行动。

Watson Supply Chain Fast Start

敏捷的研讨会互动,帮助加速企业的人工智能驱动供应链之旅。

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Business Network

支持企业通过单个仪表板查看所有相关事务。该软件可以在没有 IT 人员参与的情况下,快速查明问题并予以评估,进而能够在数分钟而不是数小时内解决问题。

IBM Planning Analytics

帮助企业自动执行计划、预算、预测和分析过程,以提高效率,并创建及时、可靠的计划。

关于供应链分析的成功案例和博客

联想使用 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Insights with Watson

联想

将供应链中断的平均响应时间从几天缩短到几分钟 — 比以前快 90%。

数据分析助力打造智慧供应链

数据分析

您如何应用数据分析来改善运营和成果?

资源

来源

1. “打造思考型供应链的必由之路 ”,Simon Ellis 和 John Santagate,IDC Technology Spotlight,2018 年 8 月 (PDF, 1.2 MB)

2. “人工智能之旅:人工智能和供应链”,IBM Watson Supply Chain

3.“为认知时代创造思考型供应链”,Matt McGovern,Watson Customer Engagement,2017 年 3 月 27 日

4. “为什么供应链分析是必须的”,Christy Pettey,Gartner,2015 年 5 月 14 日

What is supply chain analytics?

Analytics represent the ability to make data-driven decisions, based on a summary of relevant, trusted data, often using visualization in the form of graphs, charts and other means. Supply chains typically generate massive amounts of data. Supply chain analytics helps to make sense of all this data — uncovering patterns and generating insights.

Different types of supply chain analytics include:

  • Descriptive analytics. Provides visibility and a single source of truth across the supply chain, for both internal and external systems and data.
  • Predictive analytics. Helps an organization understand the most likely outcome or future scenario and its business implications. For example, using predictive analytics can project and mitigate disruptions and risks.
  • Prescriptive analytics. Helps organizations solve problems and collaborate for maximum business value. Helps businesses collaborate with logistic partners to reduce time and effort in mitigating disruptions.
  • Cognitive analytics. Helps an organization answer complex questions in natural language — in the way a person or team of people might respond to a question. It assists companies to think through a complex problem or issue, such as “How might we improve or optimize X?”

Supply chain analytics is also the foundation for applying cognitive technologies, such as artificial intelligence (AI), to the supply chain process. Cognitive technologies understand, reason, learn and interact like a human, but at enormous capacity and speed.

This advanced form of supply chain analytics is ushering in a new era of supply chain optimization. It can automatically sift through large amounts of data to help an organization improve forecasting, identify inefficiencies, respond better to customer needs, drive innovation and pursue breakthrough ideas.

Why is supply chain analytics important?

Supply chain analytics can help an organization make smarter, quicker and more efficient decisions. Benefits include the ability to:

  • Gain a significant return on investment. A recent Gartner survey revealed that 29 percent of surveyed organizations said they have achieved high levels of ROI by using analytics, compared with only four percent that achieved no ROI.⁴    
  • Better understand risks. Supply chain analytics can identify known risks and help to predict future risks by spotting patterns and trends throughout the supply chain.
  • Increase accuracy in planning. By analyzing customer data, supply chain analytics can help a business better predict future demand. It helps an organization decide what products can be minimized when they become less profitable or understand what customer needs will be after the initial order.
  • Achieve the lean supply chain. Companies can use supply chain analytics to monitor warehouse, partner responses and customer needs for better-informed decisions.
  • Prepare for the future. Companies are now offering advanced analytics for supply chain management. Advanced analytics can process both structured and unstructured data to give organizations an edge to get alerts on time to make the optimal decisions. It can build correlation and patterns among different sources to provide alerts that minimize risks at little cost and less sustainability impact.

As technologies such as AI become more commonplace in supply chain analytics, companies may see an explosion of further benefits. Information not previously processed because of the limitations of analyzing natural language data can now be analyzed in real time. AI can rapidly and comprehensively read, understand and correlate data from disparate sources, silos and systems. It can then provide real-time analysis based on interpretation of the data. Companies will have far broader supply chain intelligence. They can become more efficient and avoid disruptions — while supporting new business models.

Evolution of supply chain analytics

In the past, supply chain analytics was limited mostly to statistical analysis and quantifiable performance indicators for demand planning and forecasting. Data was stored in spreadsheets that came from different participants in the supply chain.

By the 1990s, companies were adopting Electronic Data Interchange (EDI) and Enterprise Resource Planning (ERP) systems to connect and exchange information among the supply chain partners. These systems provided easier access to data for analysis, along with assisting businesses in their designing, planning and forecasting.

In the 2000s, businesses began turning to business intelligence and predictive analytic software solutions. These solutions helped companies gain a more in-depth knowledge of how their supply chain networks were performing, how to make better decisions and how to optimize their networks.

The challenge today is how companies can best use the huge amounts of data generated in their supply chain networks. As recently as 2017, a typical supply chain accessed 50 times more data than just five years earlier.¹ However, less than a quarter of this data was being analyzed. Further, while approximately 20 percent of all supply chain data is structured and can be easily analyzed, 80 percent of supply chain data is unstructured or dark data.² Today’s organizations are looking for ways to best analyze this dark data.

Studies are pointing to cognitive technologies or artificial intelligence as the next frontier in supply chain analytics. AI solutions go beyond information retention and process automation. AI software can think, reason and learn in a human-like manner. AI can also process tremendous amounts of data and information — both structured and unstructured data — and provide summaries and analyses of that information in an instant.

IDC estimates that by 2020, 50 percent of all business software will incorporate some cognitive computing functions.³ AI not only provides a platform for powerfully correlating and interpreting data from across systems and sources — it also allows organizations to analyze supply chain data and intelligence in real time. Coupled with emerging blockchain technologies, companies in the future will be able to proactively forecast and predict events.

Key features of effective supply chain analytics

The supply chain is the most obvious face of the business for customers and consumers. The better a company can perform supply chain analytics, the better it protects its business reputation and long-term sustainability.

IDC’s Simon Ellis in The Thinking Supply Chain identifies the five “Cs” of the effective supply chain analytics of the future:

  • Connected. Being able to access unstructured data from social media, structured data from the Internet of Things (IoT) and more traditional data sets available through traditional ERP and B2B integration tools.
  • Collaborative. Improving collaboration with suppliers increasingly means the use of cloud-based commerce networks to enable multi-enterprise collaboration and engagement.
  • Cyber-aware. The supply chain must harden its systems from cyber-intrusions and hacks, which should be an enterprise-wide concern.
  • Cognitively enabled. The AI platform becomes the modern supply chain's control tower by collating, coordinating and conducting decisions and actions across the chain. Most of the supply chain is automated and self-learning.
  • Comprehensive. Analytics capabilities must be scaled with data in real time. Insights will be comprehensive and fast. Latency is unacceptable in the supply chain of the future.

In today’s supply chain networks, effective analytics requires the ability to become more customer centric — responding quickly while maintaining accuracy and integrity. Businesses are looking for supply chain analytical solutions that can quickly analyze huge amounts of data from disparate data sources, including unstructured and natural language-based data. Finally, supply chain analytics are being asked to predict an increasing number of supply chain variables — including external forces such as weather, war, workers and regulations.

Using software for supply chain analytics

With supply chain analytics becoming so complicated, many types of software have been developed to optimize supply chain performance. Software products cover the gamut — from supplying timely and accurate supply chain information to monitoring sales.

For instance, IBM has developed many software products to increase the effectiveness of supply chain analytics, with some of the software even using AI technologies. With AI capabilities, supply chain software can actually learn an ever-fluctuating production flow and can anticipate the need for changes. IBM products include:

  • IBM Supply Chain Insights has AI capabilities to help a business cut through data noise and get the insights to confidently act faster.
  • Watson Supply Chain Fast Start is an agile workshop engagement to accelerate a company’s journey toward a supply chain powered by AI.
  • IBM Supply Chain Business Network enables companies to see all relevant transactions from a single dashboard. The software can quickly pinpoint and assess issues without IT involvement, allowing resolution in minutes not hours.
  • IBM Planning Analytics helps companies to automate planning, budgeting, forecasting and analysis processes to drive efficiency and create timely, reliable plans.

Case studies and blogs about supply chain analytics

Lenovo uses IBM Watson Supply Chain Insights

Shrinks its average response time to supply chain disruptions from days to minutes — up to 90 percent faster than before.

Data analytics for a smarter supply chain

How can you apply data analytics to improve your operations and outcomes?

Source

1. "The path to a thinking supply chain," Simon Ellis, John Santagate, IDC Technology Spotlight, Aug 2018

2. "The AI journey: Artificial intelligence and the supply chain," IBM Watson Supply Chain

3.

4. "Why supply chain analytics is a must have," Christy Pettey, Gartner, 14 May 2015