什么是地理信息系统 (GIS)?
探索 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 预览最新的地理空间 AI
手动将零件放入复杂系统中。

发布日期:2023 年 11 月 20 日
撰稿人:Alexandra Jonker

什么是地理信息系统 (GIS)?

地理信息系统 (GIS) 是生成地理空间数据的互联可视化效果的计算机系统。除了创建可视化效果外,GIS 还能够捕获、存储、分析和管理地理空间数据。

借助 GIS,用户可以创建交互式查询、分析空间信息、编辑数据、集成地图并呈现这些任务的结果。GIS 是地理信息科学的一部分,地理信息科学是涉及 GIS 各个方面(例如硬件和软件、编程语言、地理空间数据以及它们如何协同工作)的总体领域。

GIS 连接并叠加通常被认为是不同的数据集,以帮助人们、企业和政府更好地了解我们的世界,发现以前未利用的模式和关系。通过 GIS 测绘和分析,各组织可以改进资源管理、资产管理、环境影响评估、市场营销、供应链管理和许多其他活动的决策和优化。

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite

开始 30 天试用,了解 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 如何帮助您预测和缓解极端天气事件。

如何把握气候变化的风险和机遇
GIS 的用途是什么?

当今许多最紧迫的挑战都可以从 GIS 工具和基于位置的信息获益,例如气候变化和自然灾害。例如,使用 GIS,设施管理者将能够轻松评估发生自然灾害时对设施资产的影响。或者,GIS 地图可以帮助我们了解与水体和湿地相关的污染地点的确切地理位置,辨别有风险的水源。

GIS 技术的实际应用包括以下机构的应用:

  • 美国国家海洋和大气管理局 (NOAA) 使用 GIS 绘制漏油扩散图,更好地了解海平面波动并绘制飓风路径。
  • 疾病控制与预防中心 (CDC) 使用 GIS 技术来解决公共卫生问题,例如分析位置对疾病的影响。
  • NASA 和马里兰大学的全球生态系统动态调查 (GEDI) 搭载在国际空间站 (ISS) 上的星载激光雷达仪器有助于更好地了解地球的森林和地形。

这些用例只展现了 GIS 强大功能的冰山一角。地理空间分析、GIS 项目和仍在开发的 GIS 工具可帮助世界各地的人们、企业和政府机构做出更好的决策,包括预测天气和城市规划。

相关内容

IBM 和 NASA 的地理空间 AI 基础模型

深入了解气候和天气风险管理

利用环境数据服务规划和准备应对极端天气事件

GIS 的历史

空间分析的最早实例之一发生在 1854 年,当时英国医生 John Snow 绘制了伦敦霍乱爆发地点和其他地理数据的地图。他发现霍乱病例发生在水岸沿线1

但直到 20 世纪 60 年代计算机和计算地理学出现后,GIS 领域才取得了长足发展。在此期间,GIS 软件开发领域的行业领导者 Esri 成立了。Esri 继续开发了当今使用的许多 GIS 方法和技术,例如 ArcGIS。

20 世纪 70 年代,出现了更快、更便宜和更先进的计算机,GIS 软件的商业化随之实现。还有卫星和遥感技术的兴起,促进了政府、企业和学术机构采用 GIS。

如今的 GIS 已变得无处不在。来自美国地质调查局 (USGS) 和其他机构的开源 GIS 数据以及 GIS 应用程序(例如 QGIS)及其教程非常容易获取。除政府和学术机构之外,GIS 还用于跟踪包裹、旅行路线和顺风车。

什么是地理空间数据?

地理空间数据描述了位于地球表面或附近的物体、事件或其他地理特征。地理空间数据将位置数据(如坐标)和属性数据(物体、事件或其他地理特征的特性)与时间数据(位置和属性存在的时间或寿命)相结合。地理空间数据包含来自不同来源的大型数据集,包括人口普查和人口统计数据、卫星图像(包括遥感数据)、房地产数据、天气数据、手机数据、绘制图像和社交媒体数据。

GIS 应用程序可以导入多种类型的数据格式:制图文件、电子表格、图像等。然后,GIS 工具将这些数据的任意组合进行叠加,生成可视化效果和数字地图。这些地理空间数据层提供的洞察远远超出纸质地图和传统制图的能力。

当地理空间数据可以被发现、共享、分析并与传统业务数据结合使用时,各组织可能会发现它最有用。如果利用得当,地理空间数据可以为组织提供即将发生的变化的预先警告、更深入地了解分析解决方案并提高整体运营效率。这些都是打造未来工作场所的关键。

地理空间数据格式类型

GIS 使用两种主要的地理空间数据文件格式:栅格数据和矢量数据。

栅格数据

栅格数据由网格或像素单元组成,具有与每个单元相关的空间信息,例如海拔、温度甚至土地利用。栅格数据用于创建复杂的高分辨率影像,例如照片和卫星影像。例如,使用由包含城市天气信息的数据矩阵表示的卫星图像,市民可以查看雷达图,了解是否下雨。

矢量数据

矢量数据通过其 x 和 y 坐标表示地理空间元素。矢量数据的最基本形式是点。两个或多个点形成一条线,三条或更多条线形成一个多边形。例如,Google 地图(一种使用矢量数据的常用 Web 地图和可视化表示形式)使用点定义城市的位置;使用线定义道路;使用多边形定义建筑物或边界。

GIS 和遥感

遥感功能可收集地理空间数据,并从太空对地球表面进行测量。此测量过程使用卫星、气球、无人机和飞机上的遥感器来感测和记录反射或释放的能量。这种遥感信息可以与 GIS 程序集成,帮助用户从全球视角做出由数据支持的有关地球的决策。

遥感有两种类型:主动和被动。

主动遥感技术使用发射自身能量或光源的传感器,然后检测反射的辐射。LiDAR(光检测和测距)就是其中一个示例,它使用激光束实时测量距离和运动。LiDAR 用于创建地形图以及引导自动驾驶车辆穿过街道的精确 3D 模型。主动遥感还用于评估熔岩流、山体滑坡和洪水等自然灾害。

被动式遥感自身并不释放能量。相反,它会收集自然发射和反射的辐射,即来自太阳的辐射。被动式遥感器的常见示例包括辐射计(测量电磁辐射)和加速度计(测量加速度)。

近年来,遥感数据量显著增加,这主要是由于卫星的增加和感测技术的改进。这也使得遥感数据管理变得越来越困难。AI 基础模型的引入有助于分析不断增长的遥感数据量,使组织和政府机构能够更轻松地进行分析并回答特定问题。

地理空间数据分析

地理空间分析利用地理空间数据确定模式并做出预测。组织可以通过使用 GIS 硬件和软件来执行地理空间分析,以生成显示空间关系的可视化效果,即不同地理空间元素如何相互关联。这些可视化内容可包括地图、图形、统计数据和示意地图。

如果没有 GIS 技术和 GIS 分析,大型地理空间数据集及其中的洞察,将会因其复杂性而很容易被忽视。上面提到的 GIS 可视化以易于理解的格式和可识别的模式展示这些数据。地理空间分析易于理解的附加背景为业务提供了新的视角,有助于做出更明智的决策。例如,公用事业公司可以使用地理空间分析功能,分析成千上万英里电力线路的性能,帮助预测极端天气造成的服务中断,了解哪些区域面临的风险最大,同时优化维护计划。

地理空间分析能够有效传送不断变化的情境的形状和能量。随着各组织围绕场景收集更多空间数据,发现细微差别并围绕它们做出更好的决策就变得更加容易。

相关解决方案
IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 可帮助您获得气候和天气洞察,预测破坏性的环境条件、主动管理风险并实现更可持续的运营。

探索 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite

IBM Maximo

借助集成资产和可靠性管理平台 IBM Maximo,可以在整个资产生命周期中采用合适的方式监控、管理和维护运营,从而提高效率、减少资源消耗和废物产生。

探索 Maximo
资源 什么是地理空间数据?

详细了解地理空间数据的类型、挑战和未来,以及它如何提供洞察并揭示模式和趋势。

什么是 LiDAR?

了解 LiDAR(一种遥感技术)如何使用激光束实时测量环境中的精确距离和运动。

地理空间数据的蓝图

如今,地理空间数据在保护野生动物、让地球更健康和打造更具弹性的经济方面发挥着关键作用。

采取下一步行动

有兴趣进一步了解 IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 如何帮助您预测极端天气事件并缓解其影响?

开始 30 天免费试用 预约实时演示
脚注

1《国际流行病学杂志》(ibm.com 外部链接),第 42 卷,第 6 期,2013 年 12 月。

What is a geographic information system (GIS)?
Explore geospatial data with IBM EIS Subscribe to sustainability updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of face profile, leaf, cloud

Published: 20 November 2023
Contributor: Alexandra Jonker

What is a GIS?

Geographic information systems (GIS) are computer systems that produce connected visualizations of geospatial data—that is, data spatially referenced to Earth. Beyond creating visualizations, GIS is capable of capturing, storing, analyzing and managing geospatial data.

With GIS, users can create interactive queries, analyze spatial information, edit data, integrate maps and present the results of these tasks. GIS is part of Geographic Information Science, which is the overarching field concerned with all aspects of GIS—such as hardware and software, programming languages, geospatial data and how they all work together.

GIS connect and overlay what are often considered disparate data sets to help people, businesses and governments better understand our world, identifying patterns and relationships previously untapped. Through GIS mapping and analysis, organizations can improve the decision making and optimization of resource management, asset management, environmental impact assessments, marketing, supply chain management and many other activities.

Your guide to ESG reporting frameworks

In this publication we set out to provide you with guidelines to assist with your approach to ESG reporting.

Related content

Register for the ebook on GHG emissions accounting

What are GISs used for?

Many of today’s most pressing challenges can benefit from GIS tools and location-based information, such as climate change and natural disasters. For example, GIS makes it possible for facility managers to easily assess impacts on facility assets in the event of a natural disaster. Or GIS maps can help us understand exact geographic locations of pollution sites in relation to bodies of water and wetlands to identify at-risk water supplies.

Real-world uses of GIS technology include applications by these agencies:

  • The National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) uses GIS to map the spread of oil spills, better understand sea level fluctuations and plot hurricane paths.
  • The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) uses GIS technology to address public health issues, such as analyzing the impact of location on disease.
  • NASA and the University of Maryland’s Global Ecosystem Dynamics Investigation (GEDI) space borne LiDAR instrument aboard the International Space Station (ISS) aids in the effort to better understand Earth’s forests and topography.

These use cases are the tip of the iceberg when it comes to the power of GIS. Geospatial analysis, GIS projects and still-developing GIS tools help people, businesses and government bodies around the world make better decisions—from predicting weather to urban planning.

Related content

IBM and NASA's geospatial AI foundation model

Explore climate and weather risk management

Plan and prepare for extreme weather events with environmental data services

The history of GIS

One of the first instances of spatial analysis happened in 1854, when British physician John Snow mapped London’s cholera outbreak locations and other geographic data. He discovered that cholera cases occurred along water lines.1

But it was not until computers and computational geography emerged in the 1960s that the field of GIS found its stride. During this time, Esri—an industry leader in GIS software development—was also founded. Esri went on to develop many of the GIS methods and technologies used today, such as ArcGIS.

In the 1970s, faster, cheaper and more advanced computers enabled the commercialization of GIS software. This, along with the rise of satellites and remote sensing technology, encouraged governments, businesses and academic institutions to adopt GIS.

Today’s GIS has become ubiquitous. Open-source GIS data from the United States Geological Survey (USGS) and other agencies, and GIS applications (such as QGIS) and their tutorials are easily accessible. Outside of government and academic settings, GIS is used to track packages, route trips and hail rideshares.

What is geospatial data?

Geospatial data describes objects, events or other geographic features with a location on or near the Earth’s surface. Geospatial data combines location data (such as coordinates) and attribute data (the characteristics of the object, event or other geographical features) with temporal data (the time or life span at which the location and attributes exist).

Geospatial data contains large data sets from diverse sources including census and demographic data, satellite imagery (including remote sensing data), real estate data, weather data, cell phone data, drawn images and social media data.

GIS apps can ingest many types of data formats: cartographic files, spreadsheets, images and more. GIS tools then overlay any combination of this data to produce visualizations and digital maps. These geospatial data layers provide insights well beyond the capacity of paper maps and traditional cartography.

Organizations may find geospatial data most useful when it can be discovered, shared, analyzed and used with traditional business data. When properly used, geospatial data can provide organizations with advance warnings of incoming changes, a deeper understanding of analytics solutions and heightened efficiency of overall operations. These are key to building the workplaces of the future.

Types of geospatial data formats

GIS uses two main geospatial data file formats: raster data and vector data.

Raster data

Raster data consists of grids or cells of pixels with spatial information associated with each cell, such as elevation, temperature or even land use. Raster data is used to create complex, high-resolution imagery, such as photographs and satellite images. For example, a satellite image represented by a data matrix that contains a city’s weather information allows citizens to check the radar for rain.

Vector data

Vector data is the representation of a geospatial element through its x and y coordinates. The most basic form of vector data is a point. Two or more points form a line, and three or more lines form a polygon. For example, Google Maps—a common web map and visual representation that uses vector data—defines the location of a city using points; roads using lines; and buildings or boundaries using polygons.

GIS and remote sensing

Remote sensing collects geospatial data and makes measurements about the surface of the Earth from above. The process uses remote sensors on satellites, balloons, drones and airplanes, which sense and record reflected or released energy. This remotely sensed information can be integrated with GIS programs to help users make data-informed decisions about the Earth with a global perspective.

There are two types of remote sensing: active and passive.

Active remote sensing uses sensors that emit their own energy or light source and then detect the radiation reflected. An example of this is LiDAR (light detection and ranging), which uses laser beams to measure distances and movement in real time.

LiDAR is used to create topographic maps as well as the precise, 3D models that guide autonomous vehicles through streets. Active remote sensing is also used to assess natural disasters like lava flows, landslides and floods.

Passive remote sensing does not emit its own energy. Rather, it collects naturally emitted and reflected radiation, that is, from the sun. Common examples of passive remote sensors include radiometers (which measure electromagnetic radiation) and accelerometers (which measure acceleration).

The volume of remote sensing data has increased significantly in recent years, due primarily to the increase of satellites and improvements in sensing technology. This has made remote sensing data management increasingly difficult as well. AI foundation models are being introduced to help analyze the growing volume of remote sensing data, making it easier for organizations and government agencies to perform analyses and answer specific questions.

Geospatial data analysis

Geospatial analysis identifies patterns and makes predictions using geospatial data. Organizations can employ geospatial analysis by using GIS hardware and software to produce visualizations that display spatial relationships, that is, how different geospatial elements relate to each other. These visualizations can include maps, graphs, statistics and cartograms.

Without GIS technology and GIS analysis, large geospatial data sets and the insights within are easily overlooked due to their complexity. The GIS visualizations mentioned earlier display this data in digestible formats with recognizable patterns.

The easy-to-understand additional context of geospatial analysis brings new perspectives to the business and enables more informed decision making. For example, a utilities company can use geospatial analysis to analyze the performance of hundreds of thousands of miles of power lines to help predict service disruptions from extreme weather, see which areas are most at risk and optimize maintenance schedules.

Geospatial analysis effectively conveys the shape and the energy of a changing situation. And as an organization gathers more spatial data around a scenario, it becomes even easier to spot nuances and make better decisions around them.

Related solutions
IBM® Environmental Intelligence Suite

The IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite helps you gain climate and weather insights to anticipate disruptive environmental conditions, proactively manage risk and build more sustainable operations.

Explore the IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite

IBM Maximo®

With IBM Maximo, an integrated asset and reliability management platform, you can monitor, manage and maintain operations in ways that improve their efficiency, reduce consumption of resources and waste generation across the asset lifecycle.

Explore Maximo
Resources What is geospatial data?

Learn more about the types, challenges and future of geospatial data, how it provides insights and reveals patterns and trends.

What is LiDAR?

See how LiDAR, a remote-sensing technology, uses laser beams to measure precise distances and movement in an environment in real time.

Geospatial data's big picture

Read how geospatial data plays a key role in protecting wildlife, creating a healthier planet and a more resilient economy.

Take the next step

Unlock the full potential of your enterprise assets with IBM Maximo Application Suite by unifying maintenance, inspection and reliability systems into one platform. It’s an integrated cloud-based solution that harnesses the power of AI, IoT and advanced analytics to maximize asset performance, extend asset lifecycles, minimize operational costs and reduce downtime.

Explore Maximo Book a live demo
Footnotes

International Journal of Epidemiology (link resides outside ibm.com), Volume 42, Issue 6, December 2013