什么是数据架构?

了解数据架构如何在分布式环境中智能协调数据以为数据消费者提供数据

坐在办公桌前办公的计算机程序员的鸟瞰图

什么是数据架构?

数据架构可通过智能自动化系统促进多种数据管道和云环境的端到端集成。 在过去的十年间,混合云人工智能、物联网 (IoT) 和边缘计算造成大数据呈指数级增长,提高了企业数据管理的复杂程度。 这种增长带来了严峻的挑战,例如数据孤岛、安全风险以及普遍存在的决策瓶颈,使统一和治理数据环境成为日益重要的优先事项。 数据管理团队通过数据架构解决方案直面这些挑战。 他们利用解决方案统一不同的数据系统、嵌入治理、加强安全和隐私措施,并为员工,尤其是业务用户,提供更多的数据可访问性。

这些数据集成工作在数据架构的帮助下,支持更加全面、以数据为中心的决策。 企业在不同发展阶段可能有与特定业务线一致的不同数据平台。 例如,您可能有一个 HR 数据平台、一个供应链数据平台和一个客户数据平台,尽管三者之间可能存在重叠,但它们仍可在不同的独立环境中存储数据。 然而,数据架构可使决策者更集中地查看这些数据,帮助他们更好地了解客户生命周期,从而建立之前没有的数据联系。 通过缩小对客户、产品和流程的了解差距,数据架构加速整个企业的数字化转型和自动化计划的实施。

数据架构与数据虚拟化

数据虚拟化是支持数据架构方法的技术之一。 数据虚拟化工具不是使用标准 ETL(抽取、转换、加载)过程从各种本地和云数据源物理地移动数据,而是连接到不同的数据源,仅集成所需的元数据并创建虚拟数据层。 这使用户能够实时利用源数据。


数据架构

数据架构利用数据服务和 API,将来自原有系统、数据湖数据仓库sql 数据库和应用程序的数据汇集在一起,提供对业务绩效的整体视图。 与这些单独的数据存储系统相比,数据架构旨在为整个数据环境带来更大的流动性,应对数据存放和处理位置问题 - 数据量增长会提高迁移的难度。 数据架构消除数据迁移、转换和集成中技术复杂性的抽象意义,让整个企业都可以使用数据。

数据结构架构围绕平台中的数据与需要它的应用程序松散耦合的想法进行操作。 一个多云环境中的数据架构示例是,一种云(如 AWS)管理数据采集,另一个平台(如 Azure)负责监督数据转换和使用。 然后可能有第三个供应商(如 IBM Cloud Pak for Data)来提供分析服务。 数据架构将这些环境连接在一起,可以创建统一的数据视图。

以上只是一个示例。 由于不同企业有不同需求,因此没有唯一的数据架构。 不同企业有不同数量的云提供商,实施的数据基础架构也不尽相同。 但使用这种数据框架的企业,其架构具有共性,这是数据架构独有的特点。 Forrester(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)在"企业数据架构支持 DataOps"报告中描述了数据架构的六个基本组件。 这六层包括以下内容:

  1. 数据管理层:该层负责数据监管和数据安全。
  2. 数据采集层:开始汇总云数据,寻找结构化和非结构化数据之间的联系。
  3. 数据处理层:细化数据,以确保提取数据时只出现相关数据。
  4. 数据编排层:为数据架构执行一些最重要的工作 - 转换、集成和清理数据,供企业内部团队使用。
  5. 数据发现层:为集成不同数据源的数据提供新机会。 例如,它可能找到在供应链数据市场和客户关系管理数据系统中连接数据的方法,为客户提供产品提供新的机会或提高客户满意度的方法。
  6. 数据访问层:允许使用数据,确保一些团队拥有正确的权限,以遵守政府法规要求。 此外,这一层还使用仪表板和其他数据可视化工具帮助发现相关数据。 

数据架构的优势

随着数据架构提供商逐渐获得更高的市场采用率,Gartner(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)具体注意到数据架构对效率的积极作用,称它可以将"集成设计时间减少 30%,部署时间减少 30%,维护时间减少 70%。" 数据架构可以明显提高整体生产率,以下优势也可向采用者证明其商业价值:

  • 智能集成:数据架构利用语义知识图谱、元数据管理和机器学习,统一不同数据类型和终端的数据。 这可以帮助数据管理团队汇集相关数据集,以及将全新的数据源集成到企业的数据生态系统中。 此功能可完全实现数据工作负载管理自动化,从而提升效率,还有助于消除数据系统中的数据孤岛,集中数据治理实践,以及提高整体数据质量。
  • 数据民主化:数据架构可促进自助式应用,将数据访问范围扩大至更多的技术资源,例如数据工程师、开发人员和数据分析团队。 数据瓶颈的减少会提高生产率,使业务用户快速做出业务决策,并让技术用户优先执行可以更好地利用其技能集的任务。
  • 更好的数据保护:扩大数据访问的范围并不意味着在数据安全和隐私措施上妥协。 实际上意味着围绕访问控制设置更多的数据治理护栏,以确保特定数据仅供特定角色使用。 数据架构还允许技术和安全团队围绕敏感和专有数据实施数据屏蔽与加密,进而减少数据共享和系统泄露数据的风险。 

数据架构的用例

数据架构在采用方面仍处于起步阶段,但其数据集成功能有助于企业发现数据,进而处理各种用例。 数据架构处理的用例可能与其他数据产品没有很大区别,其差异化优势表现在消除数据孤岛时可达到的范围和规模。 通过跨各种数据源的集成,企业及其数据科学家可以创建整体客户视图,对银行客户尤其有帮助。 数据架构的具体用途:

  • 客户资料、
  • 欺诈识别、
  • 预防性维护分析和
  • 复工风险模型等。

相关解决方案

IBM Cloud Pak for Data

IBM Cloud Pak for Data 是一个开放式、可扩展的数据平台,它提供的数据架构可使所有数据在任何云端用于 AI 与分析。


IBM Watson® Studio

构建、运行和管理 AI 模型。 使用开源代码或可视化建模,在任何云上准备数据和构建模型。 预测和优化结果。


IBM® Db2® on Cloud

了解有关 Db2 on Cloud 的信息,它是为实现强劲性能而配置和优化的完全外包的 SQL 云数据库。



下一步

数据架构与 IBM Cloud Pak for Data

IBM Cloud Pak® for Data 利用微服务及其领先的数据和 AI 功能,实现跨分布式系统的数据智能集成,为企业提供业务绩效的整体视图。 这有助于更快地收集、组织和洞察企业数据,并支持企业进行大规模决策。 借助 IBM 具有竞争力的安全框架,数据管理团队还可以保证数据安全性,确保遵守监管政策并降低任何合规风险。

What is a data fabric?

Learn how data fabrics orchestrate data intelligently across a distributed landscape, surfacing it for data consumers

High Angle View Of Computer Programmer Working On Desk

What is a data fabric?

Data fabric is an architecture that facilitates the end-to-end integration of various data pipelines and cloud environments through the use of intelligent and automated systems. Over the last decade, developments within hybrid cloud, artificial intelligence, the internet of things (IoT), and edge computing have led to the exponential growth of big data, creating even more complexity for enterprises to manage. This has made the unification and governance of data environments an increasing priority as this growth has created significant challenges, such as data silos, security risks, and general bottlenecks to decision making. Data management teams are addressing these challenges head on with data fabric solutions. They are leveraging them to unify their disparate data systems, embed governance, strengthen security and privacy measures, and provide more data accessibility to workers, particularly their business users.

These data integration efforts via data fabrics allow for more holistic, data-centric decision-making. Historically, an enterprise may have had different data platforms aligned to specific lines of business. For example, you might have a HR data platform, a supply chain data platform, and a customer data platform, which house data in different and separate environments despite potential overlaps. However, a data fabric can allow decision-makers to view this data more cohesively to better understand the customer lifecycle, making connections between data that didn’t exist before. By closing these gaps in understanding of customers, products and processes, data fabrics are accelerating digital transformation and automation initiatives across businesses.

Data fabric vs. data virtualization

Data virtualization is one of the technologies that enables a data fabric approach. Rather than physically moving the data from various on-premises and cloud sources using the standard ETL (extract, transform, load) processes, a data virtualization tool connects to the different sources, integrating only the metadata required and creating a virtual data layer. This allows users to leverage the source data in real-time.


Data fabric architecture

By leveraging data services and APIs, data fabrics pull together data from legacy systems, data lakes, data warehouses, sql databases, and apps, providing a holistic view into business performance. In contrast to these individual data storage systems, it aims to create more fluidity across data environments, attempting to counteract the problem of data gravity—i.e. the idea that data becomes more difficult to move as it grows in size. A data fabric abstracts away the technological complexities engaged for data movement, transformation and integration, making all data available across the enterprise.

Data fabric architectures operate around the idea of loosely coupling data in platforms with applications that need it. One example of data fabric architecture in a multi-cloud environment may look like the below, where one cloud, like AWS, manages data ingestion and another platform, such as Azure, oversees data transformation and consumption. Then, you might have a third vendor, like IBM Cloud Pak for Data, providing analytical services. The data fabric architecture stitches these environments together to create a unified view of data.

That said, this is just one example. There isn’t one single data architecture for a data fabric as different businesses have different needs. The various number of cloud providers and data infrastructure implementations ensure variation across businesses. However, businesses utilizing this type of data framework exhibit commonalities across their architectures, which are unique to a data fabric. More specifically, they have six fundamental components, which Forrester (link resides outside of ibm.com) describes in the “Enterprise Data Fabric Enables DataOps” report. These six layers include the following:

  1. Data Management layer: This is responsible for data governance and security of data.
  2. Data Ingestion Layer: This layer begins to stitch cloud data together, finding connections between structured and unstructured data.
  3. Data Processing: The data processing layer refines the data to ensure that only relevant data is surfaced for data extraction.
  4. Data Orchestration: This critical layer conducts some of the most important jobs for the data fabric—transforming, integrating, and cleansing the data, making it usable for teams across the business.
  5. Data Discovery: This layer surfaces new opportunities to integrate disparate data sources. For example, it might find ways to connect data in a supply chain data mart and customer relationship management data system, enabling new opportunities for product offers to clients or ways to improve customer satisfaction.
  6. Data Access: This layer allows for the consumption of data, ensuring the right permissions for certain teams to comply with government regulations. Additionally, this layer helps surface relevant data through the use of dashboards and other data visualization tools. 

Advantages of data fabric architectures

As data fabric providers gain more adoption from businesses in the market, Gartner (link resides outside of ibm.com) has noted specific improvements in efficiency, touting that it can reduce “time for integration design by 30%, deployment by 30%, and maintenance by 70%.” While it’s clear that data fabrics can improve overall productivity, the following benefits have also demonstrated business value for adopters:

  • Intelligent integration: Data fabrics utilize semantic knowledge graphs, metadata management, and machine learning to unify data across various data types and endpoints. This aids data management teams in clustering related datasets together as well as integrating net new data sources into a business’s data ecosystem. This functionality automates aspects of data workload management, leading to the aforementioned efficiency gains, but it also helps to eliminate silos across data systems, centralize data governance practices, and improve overall data quality.
  • Democratization of data: Data fabric architectures facilitates self-service applications, broadening the access of data beyond more technical resources, such as data engineers, developers, and data analytics teams. The reduction of data bottlenecks subsequently fosters more productivity, enabling business users to make faster business decisions and by freeing up technical users to prioritize tasks that better utilize their skillsets.
  • Better data protection: The broadening of data access also doesn’t mean compromising on data security and privacy measures. In fact, it means that more data governance guardrails are put into place around access controls, ensuring specific data is only available to certain roles. Data fabric architectures also allow technical and security teams to implement data masking and encryption around sensitive and proprietary data, mitigating risks around data sharing and system breaches. 

Use cases of data fabrics

Data fabrics are still in their infancy in terms of adoption, but their data integration capabilities aid businesses in data discovery, allowing them to take on a variety of use cases. While the use cases that a data fabric can handle may not be extremely different from other data products, it differentiates itself by the scope and scale that it can handle as it eliminates data silos. By integrating across various data sources, companies and their data scientists can create a holistic view of their customers, which has been particularly helpful with banking clients. Data fabrics have been more specifically used for:

  • Customer profiles,
  • Fraud detection,
  • Preventative maintenance analysis,
  • Return-to-work risk models, and more.

Related solutions

IBM Cloud Pak for Data

IBM Cloud Pak for Data is an open, extensible data platform that provides a data fabric to make all data available for AI and analytics, on any cloud.

IBM Watson Studio

Build, run and manage AI models. Prepare data and build models on any cloud using open source code or visual modeling. Predict and optimize your outcomes.

IBM Db2 on Cloud

Learn about Db2 on Cloud, a fully managed SQL cloud database configured and optimized for robust performance.


Next steps

Data fabrics and IBM Cloud Pak for Data

IBM Cloud Pak® for Data leverages microservices and its leading data and AI capabilities to enable the intelligent integration of data across distributed systems, providing companies with a holistic view of business performance. This facilitates faster collection, organization, and insight into enterprise data, and it allows businesses to make decisions at scale. Data management teams can also trust that their data is secure with IBM’s competitive security frameworks, ensuring adherence to regulatory policies and reducing any compliance risks.

Find out how IBM Cloud Pak® for Data can improve your business’s data governance practices across multi-cloud environments.