利用 IBM FlashSystem 上的 DataVault 阻止勒索软件攻击

Micro Strategies 利用各种 IBM 技术,保护客户数据免遭破坏
IBM Systems
阅读时间:5 分钟
现代公寓建筑

当美国增长速度最快的抵押贷款机构需要主动数据保护解决方案时,Micro Strategies 站了出来。 Micro Strategies 使用 IBM Storage 产品组合创建了 DataVault,这是一种管理安全服务,旨在帮助客户快速发现网络攻击并从中恢复。

勒索软件让组织的数据、金钱和声誉处于风险之中。

这种勒索型恶意软件威胁永久扣留或披露数据,除非受害者支付赎金。 一些攻击者会在收到付款后对文件进行解密(否则受害者就没有付费的动力),但也不能保证数据完全恢复。 遗憾的是,无论如何企业都会遭受经济损失。 此外,攻击可能会让对于业务连续性至关重要的系统瘫痪,造成长时间的宕机和中断。 在中断期间,客户可能会转投竞争对手以满足自己的需求,丢失业务可能对组织造成平均 159 万美元的损失。 对于金融行业而言,数据泄露的成本更高:平均达到 572 万美元。

金融服务行业的企业尤其容易受到勒索软件的攻击,因为他们存储着宝贵的客户数据,并且频繁处理大型交易。 这些组织面临着巨大的压力,既要解决安全问题,又要最大限度控制损失和恢复成本,一家要求匿名的炙手可热的著名抵押贷款机构表示,如果没有主动数据保护解决方案,根本不可能实现以上目标。

该贷款机构在市场中寻找有能力保护其数据的安全解决方案,而无论解决方案的来源,结果一无所获。 他们认识到可能需要安装和部署多种被动反应式解决方案,才能实现自己所需的数据保护水平。 但该贷款机构更喜欢使用全功能解决方案,于是他们寻求 IT 解决方案提供商 Micro Strategies 的帮助,由后者提供专用于抵御勒索软件的解决方案。

两张签名的文件

在遭受攻击后准确恢复

所有

客户数据

降低风险,缩短补救时间,节省数

百万

美元的恢复费用

对于我们的客户而言,最大的挑战在于要从不计其数的 IT 解决方案中进行选择。 他们很难选择适合自己企业的技术,而且难以决定如何使用这些解决方案向前发展。
Ron Mente
Micro Strategies Inc. 技术解决方案专家
在客厅看着笔记本电脑的男士和女士
在为这家客户配置 DataVault 解决方案时,我们知道需要一个富有弹性、高度安全、性能卓越并由 API 驱动的平台,才能跟上他们企业的需求。 IBM FlashSystem 上的 IBM Spectrum Virtualize 满足并超越了我们的需求。
Dave Ficacci
Micro Strategies Inc. 混合 IT 总监
在每个源头保护数据
在为这家客户配置 DataVault 解决方案时,我们知道需要一个富有弹性、高度安全、性能卓越并由 API 驱动的平台,才能跟上他们企业的需求。 IBM FlashSystem 上的 IBM Spectrum Virtualize 满足并超越了我们的需求。
Dave Ficacci
Micro Strategies Inc. 混合 IT 总监

该贷款机构与 Micro Strategies 合作,建立了异构 IT 环境,其中包括运行 IBM AIX® 操作系统的 IBM® Power® 环境和运行 VMWare 的 x86 环境。 身为 IBM 业务合作伙伴和 IBM IT 解决方案提供商的 Micro Strategies 选择应用 IBM 技术构建 DataVault 并支持其关键组件。 Micro Strategies 的技术解决方案专家 Ron Mente 表示:“我们希望提供适用于各种源系统的主动型解决方案。”

DataVault 是一种管理安全服务,可隔离和梳理数据,然后将其存储到生产环境之外的保险库中。 发生勒索软件攻击时,保险库中的数据能够确保安全。

专为可靠性而设计的 IBM FlashSystem® 7200 是 DataVault 的基础。 它的存储阵列可以保护和管理超过 500 个异构系统中的大量数据。 IBM FlashSystem 使用 IBM Spectrum® Virtualize 进行构建,通过智能系统优化,对现有存储进行现代化改造,并使用复制技术在本地存储和 IBM Cloud® 之间安全地迁移数据,从而保护数据的安全。

IBM Storage Insights 是 IBM FlashSystem 7200 中基于 AI 的存储管理功能部件,可提供有关整个存储环境的状况并进行预测性分析,帮助该贷款机构以 24x7 方式监控系统。

该贷款机构目前的源系统是 IBM Power,能够以最大速度扫描和保护数据。

实施这些 IBM 解决方案后,Micro Strategies 随后使用 Red Hat® Ansible® Automation Platform,自动运行每个安全功能部件,推动数据保护流程的发展。

深入实施防御

在 IBM FlashSystem 7200 上安装 DataVault 之前,该贷款机构面临在遭受勒索软件攻击时一天损失 2000 万美元的风险。 现在,它的数据非常安全,并且消除了一次攻击遭受数千万美元损失的风险。

该贷款机构在金融服务行业的声誉也有所提高。 现在,他们借助全新的灾难预防和恢复能力,在竞争中脱颖而出。 凭借 IT 栈中更强大的安全能力,该贷款机构有能力为更大型的客户提供服务。 他们预计到 2021 年第四季度,至少可实现 20% 的增加,并计划新招聘超过 1,200 人,以满足不断增长的需求。 借助 IBM Storage 解决方案的可扩展性和数据安全功能,该客户能够随着业务的发展,在不中断的情况下扩展系统,实现持续运营。

最重要的是,该客户可以安心无忧地将关注重点放在核心业务目标上,而无需为数据安全担心。 Micro Strategies 的销售副总裁 Sotiris Sergiou 表示:“与去年这个时候相比,他们对勒索软件攻击的担心大大降低了。”

探索闪存解决方案

Micro Strategies 徽标
关于 Micro Strategies

Micro Strategies外部链接 是端到端的 IT 解决方案提供商,提供获奖的业务和基础架构解决方案,主要实践领域包括安全、分析、管理服务和新兴技术。

解决方案组件
Micro Strategies 徽标
关于 Micro Strategies

Micro Strategies外部链接 是端到端的 IT 解决方案提供商,提供获奖的业务和基础架构解决方案,主要实践领域包括安全、分析、管理服务和新兴技术。

解决方案组件

Stopping ransomware in its tracks with DataVault on IBM FlashSystem

Micro Strategies protects client data from corruption with various IBM technologies
IBM Systems
5-minute read
Modern apartment building

When America’s fastest growing mortgage lender needed a proactive data protection solution, Micro Strategies jumped into action. Using the IBM Storage portfolio, Micro Strategies created DataVault, a managed security service that helps clients quickly identify and recover from cyberattacks.

Ransomware puts an organization’s data, money and reputation at risk.

This extortion malware threatens to permanently withhold data or expose it unless the victim pays a ransom. Some attackers will unencrypt the files after payment — otherwise, there would be no incentive to pay — but that doesn’t guarantee a full recovery. Unfortunately, businesses lose money either way. Additionally, an attack can cripple systems critical to business continuity, leading to extended downtime and disruption. During these outages, customers may turn to competitors to meet their needs, and this lost business can cost an organization an average of USD 1.59 million. For the financial sector, the cost of a data breach is even higher: USD 5.72 million.

Businesses in the financial services industry are especially vulnerable to ransomware attacks because they store valuable customer data and frequently process large transactions. These organizations are under immense pressure to resolve security issues quickly while limiting damage and in recovery costs — a feat one prominent mortgage lender, which asked to remain anonymous, knew would be impossible without proactive data protection.

The lender scoured the marketplace for a security solution capable of protecting its data, regardless of its source, but found none that fit the bill. It realized it would need to install and deploy multiple reactive solutions to get the level of data protection it was looking for. Preferring to use one all-purpose solution, the lender turned to Micro Strategies, an IT solutions provider, to provide a solution uniquely architected to protect against ransomware.

A couple signing papers

Accurately restores

all

customer data after an attack

Reduces risk and time to remediation, saving

millions

in recovery fees

The biggest challenge for our customers is choosing from the overwhelming number of IT solutions out there. It’s very hard for them to select the right technology for their business and decide how to move forward with those solutions.
Ron Mente
Technical Solutions Specialist, Micro Strategies Inc.
Man and woman looking at a laptop in a living room
As we configured the DataVault solution for this client, we knew we needed a highly resilient, exceptionally secure, performant, API-driven platform to keep up with the demands of their business. IBM Spectrum Virtualize on IBM FlashSystem met and exceeded our requirements.
Dave Ficacci
Director, Hybrid IT, Micro Strategies Inc.
Protecting data at every source
As we configured the DataVault solution for this client, we knew we needed a highly resilient, exceptionally secure, performant, API-driven platform to keep up with the demands of their business. IBM Spectrum Virtualize on IBM FlashSystem met and exceeded our requirements.
Dave Ficacci
Director, Hybrid IT, Micro Strategies Inc.

The lender came to Micro Strategies with a heterogeneous IT environment that included an IBM® Power® environment running the IBM AIX® operating system and a x86 environment running VMWare. Micro Strategies — an IBM Business Partner as well as an IBM IT solutions provider — chose to apply IBM technologies to build DataVault and underpin its critical components. “We wanted to bring forward a proactive solution that would work for those various source systems,” says Ron Mente, a Technical Solutions Specialist at Micro Strategies.

DataVault is a managed security service that isolates and scrubs data, then vaults it outside of the production environment. If a ransomware attack occurs, the data in the vault remains secure.

Designed for dependability, IBM FlashSystem® 7200 is the foundation for DataVault. Its storage arrays can protect and manage large quantities of data across more than 500 heterogeneous systems. The IBM FlashSystem is built with IBM Spectrum® Virtualize software, which modernizes existing storage with intelligent system optimization and protects data using replication technology that safely migrates data between on-premises storage and IBM Cloud®.

IBM Storage Insights, an AI-driven storage management feature of IBM FlashSystem 7200, provides visibility and predictive analytics across the storage environment, helping the lender monitor its systems 24x7.

IBM Power, the lender’s current source system, performs data scanning and vaulting at maximum speed.

With these IBM solutions in place, Micro Strategies then used the Red Hat® Ansible® Automation Platform to automate each security feature and drive the data protection process forward.

Practicing defense in depth

Before installing DataVault on IBM FlashSystem 7200, the lender risked losing USD 20 million a day in a ransomware attack. Now, its data is secure, and it doesn’t risk losing millions in an attack.

The lender’s reputation within the financial services industry has also improved. It is now able to distinguish itself from competitors with its new disaster prevention and recovery abilities. Having additional security in its IT stack has empowered the client to take on larger customers. It anticipates at least 20% growth by Q4 of 2021 and plans to bring on more than 1,200 new hires to meet the increased demand. The scalability and data security features of IBM Storage solutions will allow the client to operate without disruption as its business grows.

Most importantly, the client can focus on its core business objectives with peace of mind. “They’re significantly less concerned about getting hit with a ransomware attack today than they were this time last year,” says Sotiris Sergiou, VP of Sales at Micro Strategies.

Micro Strategies logo
About Micro Strategies

Micro StrategiesExternal Link is an end-to-end IT solution provider that delivers award-winning business and infrastructure solutions in key practice areas including security, analytics, managed services and emerging technologies.

Solution components
Micro Strategies logo
About Micro Strategies

Micro StrategiesExternal Link is an end-to-end IT solution provider that delivers award-winning business and infrastructure solutions in key practice areas including security, analytics, managed services and emerging technologies.

Solution components