在 Coop Group 为更加可持续的未来制定的战略中,减少食品浪费是一个关键要素,为帮助实现这个愿景,该组织将重点放在为所有门店确定最优的产品组合与数量。Cookp Group 使用高性能的 IBM® Power10 与 SUSE Linux® Enterprise Server for SAP Applications,使 SAP S/4HANA® 报告的生成速度加快了 30% — 帮助企业在数据驱动下更快做出决策,从而更高效地开展业务。

Coop Group 并不满足于成为瑞士领先的食品生产商和零售商。该公司还制定了雄心勃勃的目标:努力减少对环境的影响,并在 2050 年之前实现碳中和。可持续发展战略包括对有机农业和地区生产的投资,以及更广泛地使用公平贸易产品 — 从而为更美好的瑞士和更美好的世界做出贡献。

在欧洲,损失和浪费的食品占生产总数的 20%(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),而零售商未售出的食品也属于其中的一部分。为了帮助最大程度减少由于过期产品造成的浪费,Coop Group 为自己在全国的每个门店计算最优的产品组合与数量。

由于 Coop Group 不断设立新的门店,并且还持续更新和优化库存,因此这项任务变得越来越复杂。Coop Group 的 IT 架构师 Christoph Kalt 补充说:“随着业务的不断发展,我们的商品销售规划和物流流程也必须与时俱进,可靠而快速地运行。不断增加的计算和内存需求意味着,对于某些关键的 SAP 应用而言,我们的 IT 资源需求每年要增加 20%。”

随着 SAP 工作负载和数据的增长,数据保护也变得越来越具有挑战性。一些数据备份超出了维护时间窗口,这增加了在灾难恢复场景中丢失数据的风险。

“我们依靠 SAP 解决方案,以一天 24 小时、一周 7 天的方式不间断支持业务运行。”Kalt 确认道,“为提供 IT 空间以支持可持续增长,确保对任务关键型 SAP 系统提供不间断保护,我们决定使用性能更卓越的系统来扩展基础架构。”

IBM Power 连续 11 年实现

100%

的可用性

SAP S/4HANA FI/CO 报告生成速度加快

30%

— 通过使用 IBM Power10 服务器实现

借助 IBM Power10 提升性能

多年来,Coop Group 一直依靠 IBM Power® 服务器运行其任务关键型 SAP 解决方案。为成功支持集团的持续扩张,Coop Group 再次与 IBM 携手,探索最新一代 IBM Power 服务器的强大能力。

Kalt 表示:“和 IBM 一起评估各种不同的配置之后,我们决定在自己的两个数据中心内部署两台采用 Power10 处理器的 IBM Power E1080 服务器。我们使用这些平台运行最大而且要求最高的 SAP S/4HANA 业务应用和大型 SAP HANA 内存中数据库,其存储容量可达 16 TB,而且每年数据增长达到 20%。”

同时,Coop Group 还实施了另外四个 IBM Power E1080 服务器,以帮助实现 IT 基础架构现代化,并随着零售业务的不断增长而为新增的工作负载创建计算能力。

Coop Group 的云能力中心系统技术 Unix 解决方案主管 Michel Rodel 补充说:“我们决定扩展面向 SAP HANA 的现有 IBM Power 平台,以充分利用我们的资源。利用 IBM PowerVM® 虚拟化功能,我们可以将全新的 IBM Power E1080 服务器与现有的 IBM Power 服务器非常灵活地结合使用,并提高我们最关键应用的性能,以确保实现最优的库存管理和高效的物流。”

Coop Group 采用可持续包装的新鲜产品

Rodel 继续说:“总体而言,我们在 IBM Power 上运行超过 40 个由 SAP HANA 数据库支持的生产系统。”这包括 SAP S/4HANA、SAP Customer Activity Repository for S/4HANA RetailSAP BW/4HANASAP Business Warehouse。此外,Coop Group 还运行 SAP for Retail 解决方案以及 SAP ERPSAP Customer Relationship Management

Coop Group 在 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP 应用程序(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)上运行其 SAP 解决方案,并依靠 SUSE Manager(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)和 Salt 进行配置管理。同时,该组织借助高度自动化的 DevOps 流程,使 IT 运营实现标准化。

“我们还运行一个不断扩展的混合云环境,我们将公有云实例和服务与任务关键型本地 IBM Power 基础架构结合起来使用。”Rodel 说道。该公司使用 IBM® Spectrum Protect PlusIBM Spectrum Protect 来统筹协调本地环境的数据保护。“为了进一步实现基础架构管理和监控功能的现代化,我们计划在未来大量部署采用 IBM Power10 处理器的 IBM Power S1022 服务器。”

澎湃的性能,强大的稳定性,可持续的运行

通过广泛使用 IBM Power 服务器,Coop Group 获得了平台稳定性的第一手体验。“人们经常问我们,为什么使用 IBM Power 服务器,”Kalt 解释道,“答案很简单:在过去超过 11 年的时间里,我们的任务关键型 SAP 业务应用没有发生过一次服务器故障。得益于这种可靠性,使我们能够集中精力去追求自己的可持续发展愿景。”

IBM 出色的支持服务,以及 IBM Power 架构多年来在能源效率方面的持续改进,也是 Coop Group 对解决方案高度满意的重要原因。Kalt 表示:“IBM Power10 帮助我们更进一步,提高了数据中心的可持续能力,我们非常看重 IBM 的支持服务。对于我们而言,IBM Power 是稳定性、高性能、高能效、灵活性和支持的完美组合。”

“SAP S/4HANA 在使用 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 的 IBM Power10 上运行,某些任务的完成速度加快了 30% — 这证明 IBM Power10 具有更优越的性能。”Rodel 确认道,“我们的 SAP S/4HANA 应用不仅平均运行速度加快了 30%,而且最终用户应用的性能也是如此,因此用户满意度也相应地提高了。”

借助 IBM PowerVM® 和 Live Partition Mobility,Coop Group 能够充分灵活地确保业务应用始终在线,即使在计划内系统维护期间也是如此。Rodel 评论道:“得益于高度可靠而且易于扩展的 IBM Power 平台,我们拥有了向上扩展型架构,能够为业务用户带来出色的体验,而且没有软件集群的复杂性。”

现在,Coop Group 在 IBM Power 上运行的 SAP HANA 数据库的容量最高可达 16 TB ,而且每年增长 20%。该公司最大的数据库之一 SAP Customer Activity Repository for SAP S/4HANA Retail 达到 12 TB,使企业能够依靠最新的库存数据,优化其商品销售规划流程,提供创新服务,比如“点击收款”服务,为店内体验带来在线购物的便利性。

“以我们的规模而言,效率至关重要。”Kalt 说道,“IBM Power10 在这方面表现出色。与 IBM Power8 相比,IBM Power10 的每 TB 内存能效比提高了 50%。耗电量的节省也为我们更广泛的可持续发展战略做出了贡献。”

Coop Group 与 IBM Technology Services 合作,更新其数据备份架构。该公司在 IBM AIX® 和 IBM Power 上部署 IBM Spectrum® Protect。目前,Coop Group 首先将所有任务关键型数据都写入磁盘,使备份速度加快 50%,并最大程度减轻对业务用户的影响。在第二步中,将数据存储到一次写入多次读取 (WORM) 存储器上,以便在需要时能够快速恢复。为实现长期保留,该公司使用两个 IBM TS4500 磁带库解决方案以创建磁带备份,其中一个副本存储在异地,以实现一个额外的数据保护层。

“IBM Technology Services 做得非常好。”Rodel 指出,“通过利用网络虚拟化功能,IBM Technology Services 帮助我们增大了可持续处理的网络通信容量,以确保业务运营的顺利进行。”

Coop Group 还实现了配置管理和软件分发流程的标准化。“借助 SUSE Manager 和 Salt,我们用于更新和保护系统的时间减少了 20% 左右。”Rodel 确认道,“ 通过从自定义脚本转变为企业级的工具,我们减少了配置偏差情况,提高了标准化水平。”

Kalt 总结道:“得益于 IBM Power10 卓越的性能、经过验证的可靠性以及内置的加密功能,我们可以继续通过创新的 SAP S/4HANA 实现业务转型和现代化,并保护企业的安全。”

COOP 徽标

关于 Coop Group

Coop Group(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是瑞士和欧洲领先的生产商、零售商和批发商,拥有 2300 多家商店和分店。Coop Group 的总部位于瑞士巴塞尔,员工超过 95000 人,年收入达到 319 亿瑞士法郎(325 亿美元)。该集团重点关注当地和区域的生产以及先进物流,以支持其可持续发展战略和减少食物浪费的愿景。

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 10 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、AIX、IBM Spectrum、Power、Power8 和 PowerVM 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml

UNIX 是 The Open Group 在美国和其他国家或地区的注册商标。

注册商标 Linux® 必须获得 Linux Foundation 的再许可才能使用;Linux Foundation 是 Linus Torvalds 的独家被许可方,也是该标记的全球拥有者。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。用户负责评估并验证与 IBM 产品和程序配合使用的任何其他产品或程序的运行。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议的条款和条件获得保证。SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 和 SUSE Manager 并非 IBM 产品或服务。SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 和 SUSE Manager 根据 SUSE 的条款和条件(随产品或服务一起提供)向用户销售或授予许可,具体视情况而定。SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 和 SUSE Manager 的可用性以及所有任何保证、服务和支持均由 SUSE 直接负责,并由 SUSE 直接提供给用户。SAP S/4HANA 和 SAP HANA 并非 IBM 产品或服务。SAP S/4HANA 和 SAP HANA 根据 SAP 的条款和条件(随产品或服务一起提供)向用户销售或授予许可,具体视情况而定。SAP S/4HANA 和 SAP HANA 的可用性以及所有任何保证、服务和支持均由 SAP 直接负责,并由 SAP 直接提供给用户。

可能会针对未压缩数据和已压缩数据报告实际可用存储容量,并且容量会有所不同,且可能会小于规定的容量。

Cutting food waste is a key ingredient in Coop Group’s recipe for a more sustainable future, and to help realize this vision the organization is focusing on optimal product assortment and quantities across all stores. Coop Group is using high-performance IBM® Power10 servers with SUSE Linux® Enterprise Server for SAP Applications to accelerate SAP S/4HANA® reports by up to 30%—empowering the company to run the business more efficiently with fast, data-driven decisions.

Coop Group strives to be more than a leading food producer and retailer in Switzerland. The company has set ambitious targets to reduce its environmental impact and become carbon neutral by 2050. The sustainability strategy includes investment in organic agriculture and regional produce, as well as wider use of fairtrade products—contributing to a better Switzerland and a better world.

In Europe, an estimated 20% of the total food produced is lost or wasted (link resides outside of ibm.com), and unsold food in retailers makes up portion of this total. To help minimize waste caused by expired produce, Coop Group calculates the optimal product assortment and quantities for each of its stores across the country.

This task becomes more complex as Coop Group continues to open new branches while also updating and optimizing its inventory. Christoph Kalt, IT Architect at Coop Group, adds: “As we grow, it’s important that our merchandizing and logistics processes are running reliably and fast. The higher compute and memory demands meant that our IT resource requirements were increasing by 20% a year for some key SAP applications.”

As SAP workloads and data grew, data protection was also becoming increasingly challenging. Some data backups were overrunning maintenance windows, increasing the risk of data loss in a disaster recovery scenario.

“We depend on our SAP solutions to support the business 24 hours a day, seven days a week,” Kalt confirms. “To deliver the IT headroom to support ongoing sustainable growth and ensure round-the-clock protection for our mission-critical SAP systems, we decided to expand our infrastructure with faster systems.”

IBM Power delivers

100%

availability for 11 years

Accelerates SAP S/4HANA FI/CO reporting

30%

with IBM Power10 servers

Boosting performance with IBM Power10

For many years, Coop Group has relied on IBM Power® servers to run its mission-critical SAP solutions. To successfully support the group’s ongoing expansion, Coop Group teamed up with IBM again to explore the latest generation of IBM Power servers.

Kalt remarks: “After evaluating different configurations together with IBM, we decided to deploy two IBM Power E1080 servers with IBM Power10 processors across our two data centers. We use the platforms to run our largest and most demanding SAP S/4HANA business applications and large SAP HANA in-memory databases, which are up to 16 TB in size with annual data growth of 20%.”

In parallel, Coop Group implemented another four IBM Power E1080 servers to help modernize its IT infrastructure and create capacity for additional workloads as its retail footprint grows.

Michel Rodel, Head of System Technology Unix Solutions at the Cloud Competence Center at Coop Group, adds: “We decided to expand our existing IBM Power platform for SAP HANA to make the most of our resources. With IBM PowerVM® virtualization, we can use the new IBM Power E1080 servers very flexibly alongside our existing IBM Power servers, and boost the performance of our most critical applications to ensure optimal inventory management and efficient logistics.”

Fresh Coop Group products with sustainable packaging

Rodel continues: “Overall, we run more than 40 production systems backed by the SAP HANA database on IBM Power.” This includes SAP S/4HANA, SAP Customer Activity Repository for S/4HANA Retail, SAP BW/4HANA, and SAP Business Warehouse. Additionally, Coop Group also operates the SAP for Retail solution with SAP ERP, and SAP Customer Relationship Management.

Coop Group runs its SAP solutions on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications (link resides outside of ibm.com), and relies on SUSE Manager (link resides outside of ibm.com) and Salt for configuration management. In parallel, the organization is standardizing its IT operations with highly automated DevOps processes.

“We also operate a growing hybrid cloud environment where we use public cloud instances and services in combination with our mission-critical on-premises IBM Power infrastructure” Rodel says. The company uses IBM Spectrum® Protect Plus and IBM Spectrum Protect to orchestrate data protection for its on-premises environments. “To further modernize our infrastructure management and monitoring capabilities, we are planning to deploy a number of scale-out IBM Power S1022 servers with IBM Power10 processors in the future,” Rodel adds.

Fast performance, robust stability, sustainable operations

With its extensive use of IBM Power servers, Coop Group has first-hand experience of the stability of the platform. “People often ask us why we use IBM Power servers,” explains Kalt. “The answer is simple: a track record of more than 11 years without a single server failure for our mission-critical SAP business applications. This reliability allows us to focus on our sustainability vision.”

IBM’s support services and the IBM Power architecture’s steady improvements in energy efficiency over the years also contribute to Coop Group’s high level of satisfaction with the solution. Kalt says: “IBM Power10 is a step forward in helping us to make our data center more sustainable, and we really value the IBM support services. For us, IBM Power is the perfect combination of stability, performance, energy efficiency, flexibility and support.”

“SAP S/4HANA running on IBM Power10 with SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications has accelerated some tasks by 30%—a testament to the improved performance of IBM Power10,” confirms Rodel. “Our SAP S/4HANA applications are not only 30% faster on average, but end-user application performance is also more consistent—improving user satisfaction.”

With IBM PowerVM® and Live Partition Mobility, Coop Group has all the flexibility it needs to keep its business applications online, even during planned system maintenance. Rodel comments: “Thanks to our reliable and scalable IBM Power platform, we have a scale-up architecture that offers an excellent experience for business users—without the complexity of software clusters.”

Today, Coop Group runs SAP HANA databases of up to 16 TB on IBM Power with consistent growth of 20% per year. One of its largest databases at 12 TB is the company’s SAP Customer Activity Repository for SAP S/4HANA Retail, which enables the organization to optimize its merchandizing processes and offer innovative services that rely on up-to-the-minute inventory data—such as click-and-collect services, which bring the convenience of online shopping to the in-store experience.

“At our scale efficiency is crucial,” adds Kalt. “IBM Power10 excels in that respect. We have 50% better energy efficiency in watt per TB of memory for IBM Power10 compared to IBM Power8. These improvements in power consumption also contribute to our wider sustainability strategy.”

Coop Group worked with IBM Technology Services to renew its data backup architecture. The company deployed IBM Spectrum® Protect on IBM AIX® and IBM Power. Today, Coop Group initially writes all its mission-critical data to disk to accelerate backups by 50% and minimize slowdowns for business users. In a second step, data is stored on write-once, read-many (WORM) storage to enable rapid recovery if required. For long-term retention, the company uses two IBM TS4500 Tape Library solutions to create tape backups, with one copy stored offsite for an additional layer of data protection.

“IBM Technology Services did a good job,” notes Rodel. “By leveraging network virtualization features, IBM Technology Services helped us increase the volume of network traffic we can process substantially to ensure smooth business operations.”

Coop Group is also standardizing its configuration management and software distribution processes. “With SUSE Manager and Salt we reduce the time spent on keeping our systems updated and secure by around 20%,” confirms Rodel. “By moving from custom scripts to an enterprise-class tool, we reduce configuration drift and increase standardization.”

Kalt concludes: “Thanks to the good performance, proven reliability and built-in encryption of IBM Power10, we can continue to transform, modernize and protect our business with innovative SAP S/4HANA.”

COOP logo

About Coop Group

Coop Group (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a leading producer, retailer and wholesaler in Switzerland and Europe with more than 2,300 shops and outlets. Headquartered in Basel, Coop Group employs more than 95,000 people and generates annual revenues of CHF 31.9 billion (USD 32.5 billion). The group focuses on local and regional production as well as advanced logistics to support its sustainability strategy and reduce food waste.

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, October 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, AIX, IBM Spectrum, Power, Power8, and PowerVM are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

UNIX is a registered trademark of The Open Group in the United States and other countries.

The registered trademark Linux® is used pursuant to a sublicense from the Linux Foundation, the exclusive licensee of Linus Torvalds, owner of the mark on a world­wide basis.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. It is the user’s responsibility to evaluate and verify the operation of any other products or programs with IBM products and programs. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided. SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications and SUSE Manager are not IBM products or offerings. SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications and SUSE Manager are sold or licensed, as the case may be, to users under SUSE’s terms and conditions, which are provided with the product or offering. Availability, and any and all warranties, services and support for SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications and SUSE Manager, are the direct responsibility of, and is provided directly to users by, SUSE. SAP S/4HANA and SAP HANA are not IBM products or offerings. SAP S/4HANA and SAP HANA are sold or licensed, as the case may be, to users under SAP’s terms and conditions, which are provided with the product or offering. Availability, and any and all warranties, services and support for SAP S/4HANA and SAP HANA, are the direct responsibility of, and is provided directly to users by, SAP.

Actual available storage capacity may be reported for both uncompressed and compressed data and will vary and may be less than stated.