数字资产管理

数字资产管理 (DAM) 是一种业务流程,也是一种信息管理技术,它为组织创建一个集中系统来组织和访问媒体资产。

一只手放在一个平板电脑上

什么是数字资产管理?

数字资产管理解决方案是一个软件和系统解决方案,它提供了一种系统化的方法来高效地存储、组织、管理、检索和分发一个组织的数字资产。 数字资产管理 (DAM) 既可以指业务流程,也可以指一种信息管理技术形式,或者说是数字资产管理系统。 DAM 功能帮助许多组织创建一个集中的位置,供他们访问他们的媒体资产。

数字资产是 DAM 流程的一个关键组件。 它是归企业或个人所有的有价值的任何文件类型,采用数字格式,可以通过元数据进行搜索,包括访问权限和使用权限。 数字资产种类很多,包括但不限于:

  • 文件
  • 图像
  • 音频内容
  • 视频
  • 动画
  • 媒体文件
  • 图形
  • 演示文稿
  • 任何包含使用权限的数字媒体

DAM 解决方案通过创建用于数字资产的集中管理系统,简化资产管理并优化富媒体生产,特别是在销售和市场营销组织内部。 它通过自动资产更新和强化品牌准则,在企业中提供单一事实来源,为外部受众提供更一致的用户体验,从而达到确保品牌一致性的目的。 现代数字内容管理团队和营销人员还依赖 DAM 调整内容用途,通过其宝贵的搜索功能减少不必要的生产成本和重复的工作流。 鉴于品牌资产和市场营销资产在数字渠道(如社交媒体)中的高可见性,品牌保持一致的形象和信息传递非常重要,以此建立品牌权威和促进业务增长。 因此,数字资产管理平台正在成为数字转型努力的关键组成部分也就不足为奇了。


DAM 软件工作原理

DAM 解决方案使用包括几个步骤:

  1. 创建资产:标准化的模板和文件格式在数字文件创建之前就准备好数字文件以用于编码。 这种标准化提高了文档搜索和检索的简易性。
  2. 编码和索引:为了简化资产搜索,元数据允许通过属性来标识数字内容,例如资产类型(如白皮书)、版本(如新版)、媒体类型(如视频)和使用的技术(如 Photoshop 等)。 这些标识符会创建一个索引,将有共同标记的资产分组到一起以提高可搜索性。
  3. 工作流:然后,该索引可用于规则驱动型工作流、支持任务和过程自动化。
  4. 版本控件:版本控制对于自动执行工作流变得越来越重要,因为它确保了在现有工作流中会使用最新的资产。 随着新工作流的建立,还能确保只会访问最新版本的资产,并将最新版本用于审核和使用。
  5. 权限治理:权限治理确保只有获得访问权限的人才能按照分配给他们的方式使用资产。 此功能可保护组织资产,以防被盗、意外损坏或擦除。
  6. 审计:内部应该进行审计以评估 DAM 的有效性并识别改进领域。 同样,监管机构可能会审计 DAM 解决方案以确保组织的技术和流程符合法规。 受到严格监管的行业(如金融和医疗保健)会定期进行这两种类型的审计。

DAM 解决方案可以在本地、云端或混合拓扑中实现。 基于云的资产存储、管理和交付成本效益高,对于组织而言是一种安全、可扩展的灵活选项。


DAM 的优势

  • 降低生产成本,改善资源分配。 将资产集中在 DAM 中使组织能够查找和复用资产,从而降低生产成本,减少重复的工作流。 成本降低会促使资源分配到其他业务领域。 由此带来的效率提升帮助加快向市场推出资产和解决方案。
  • 提高组织透明度。 由于 DAM 为用户提供了一个清晰、全面的数字资产视图,因此对内容规划和执行具有影响。 它可以增强各个利益相关者的协作,或通过消除冗余项目引入更有影响力的工作流。
  • 提高转换率和客户留存率。 当企业根据用户所处的买方旅程阶段相应地组织内容时,他们可以在适当的时间为目标受众提供内容和市场营销材料。 DAM 使组织能够为客户打造个性化体验,建立和培养更稳固的关系,从而更快速、更高效地推动潜在客户和现有客户在购买周期中向前发展。
  • 品牌一致性。 DAM 有助于确保信息传递、定位、视觉表示和其他维护品牌忠诚度的手段保持一致。 借助 DAM,职能部门和业务单位可以重复使用创意文件和其他资产来提升效率,向市场呈现单一的事实。
  • 治理和合规。 许可证、法律文件、归档和其他资产对达到行业驱动或政府监管合规要求起到关键作用。 能够组织并迅速检索这些材料可以为组织节省时间和金钱,同时减轻核心业务流程中断带来的影响。

DAM 的历史与将来

桌面排版出现于 1980 年代,它的诞生使印刷厂、出版商和广告公司能够将文本、图形和照片数字化。 对于大多数内置硬盘来说,这些文件大小过大而无法存储,因此会加上简单的元数据标签,然后传输到外部介质。 它们被放置在简单的分层文件和文件夹中。

1992 年,Canto Software 发布了 Cumulus,这是初代 DAM 系统之一。 这是一个本地独立解决方案,具备缩略图预览、元数据索引编制和搜索功能。 虽然早期的 DAM 解决方案已经实现了轻松查找、验证和检索资产的功能,但共享文件仍然很麻烦。

到了 2000 年代初,基于服务器的 DAM 支持通过互联网共享文件。 紧随其后,云存储诞生,提供了另一种存储、管理和分发数字资产的方式。

DAM 迅速演变为能够将内容交付到各种设备、系统和存储库的集成库。 应用程序编程接口 (API) 使资产能够插入不同的应用程序中,以快速高效地满足特定需求。

现在,在 DAM 中嵌入人工智能功能非常常见。它以智能方式标记和交叉引用资产,包括视频识别和语音识别。 IBM 沃森超级计算机视频丰富利用深度学习技术分析视频流,而 IBM 区块链平台可以确保 DAM 更加安全。 通过使用机器学习,DAM 系统可以预测内容需求以及向用户提供建议。 由于这些市场营销任务能够非常迅速地执行,通常只需几分钟或更少的时间,使企业可以近乎实时地做出调整,从而获得竞争优势。


对 DAM 解决方案的预期

在研究 DAM 平台时,重点应关注您所选择的解决方案能否帮助您实施成功的解决方案来满足您现在和以后的需求。 一个成功的 DAM 解决方案将提供以下能力:

  • 支持资产生命周期和基于角色的权限:您的 DAM 解决方案应该使您能够管理您的数字资产,从想法到概念,再到整个生命周期。 它还应该提供访问权限和所需的粒度权限,以便您保持资产的完整性。
  • 集成:您的 DAM 解决方案应该与您现有的解决方案(如资产创建和分发)以及您将来计划添加的任何系统集成。
  • 双向灵活性:灵活敏捷的 DAM 解决方案将提供允许在任何方向搜索资产的灵活性。 双向灵活性使您能够搜索元数据(如品牌)来查找资产,或搜索特定资产来查找元数据。 此功能支持组织内的其他职能部门搜索资产和改变资产用途。
  • 导入和导出功能:您的 DAM 解决方案不应创建孤立的数据岛。 理想的解决方案应该能够共享数字资产以及搜索结果和其他数据。
  • 稳定的存储和传输基础结构:您选择的 DAM 解决方案与资产的存储方式、存储位置以及能否在需要时传输资产同样重要。 无论您选择本地软件定义的存储还是基于云的存储,都要考虑可靠性、灵活性、可扩展性、性能和可恢复性以保护您的资产。
  • 文件传输效率:文件传输速度和效率非常重要,因为它们直接影响您的业务速度。 能够在需要的时间和地点共享和使用资产将有助于定义所选解决方案的有效性。

IBM 和 DAM

DAM 帮助全球企业针对多种用途维护数字资产的资产权限、控制权和完整性。 实施 DAM 作为全面的集中解决方案,并融入企业和职能战略,可以提供更一致、更有吸引力的客户体验。 Forrester 调查称,“超过 2/3 的公司期望更高效地交付内容。 成功的公司现在都将 DAM 作为更广泛数字体验和内容战略的一部分,而不仅仅是一个独立的解决方案。” 1
进一步了解 IBM Aspera on Cloud ,这是一项托管服务,使您能够快速可靠地在混合云环境中移动和共享任何大小和类型的文件和数据集。 通过 IBM Aspera Connect,可以与 IBM Aspera 客户端和 Web 应用程序之间执行基于浏览器的高速文件传输。 此外,使用 IBM Aspera FASP High-Speed Transport 来传输批量数据,为基于 TCP 的传统传输提供了一种最佳替代方法。 IBM Aspera 提供快速、可靠且高效的 DAM 解决方案来满足您的资产管理需求。


客户案例

DAM 广泛用于涉及数字资产的各个行业。 下面是 DAM 的两个使用示例

专利局

专利局通常管理大量的、处于各种完成阶段的数字资产。 由于资产在整个生命周期中会不断更新,因此可传输性、版本控制和访问权限功能对于维护而言非常关键。 其他功能(如搜索功能)也使专利局内的各个流程能够有效扩展。 

技术公司

技术公司在许多不同的部门使用 DAM,而且通常跨多个地点使用。 DAM 将资产集中于一处以供访问和使用。 组织内的职能部门处于不同的目的使用 DAM。 例如:

  • HR 使用 DAM 管理员工记录、福利认购和状态、招聘要求、节假日休假申请和薪资收据。
  • 采购部门使用 DAM 存储首选的供应商联系详情、发票和规格。
  • 开发团队使用 DAM 存储专有产品设计和开发计划、规划材料和图像。
  • 销售和市场营销团队使用 DAM 进行品牌管理,以及维护组织内创建和使用的资产。 

这些组织中的许多成员都需要访问、使用、编辑和跟踪资产,这使得访问权限变得至关重要。 这些权限可以基于业务部门、职能部门和角色。 权限可以限制某些资产仅限仅内部员工访问。 权限还可以将其他资产的访问权限延伸到外部成员,例如合作伙伴或客户。 比如徽标和合作提案等可以帮助支持合作伙伴关系和电子商务计划的文件。


数字资产管理解决方案

IBM Cloud Object Storage

简单、经济有效地存储数量几乎不受限制的数据。

IBM Aspera on Cloud

这是一项托管服务,可在混合云环境中快速可靠地移动和共享任何大小和类型文件和数据集。

IBM Aspera Connect

支持与 IBM Aspera 客户端和 Web 应用程序之间进行基于浏览器的高速文件传输。


来源

“数字资产管理手册”,Forrester, Inc.,Nick Barber,2020 年 6 月 26 日

Digital Asset Management

Digital asset management (DAM) is both a business process and an information management technology, which creates a centralized system for organizations to organize and access their media assets.

One hand over a tablet

What is digital asset management?

A digital asset management solution is a software and systems solution that provides a systematic approach to efficiently storing, organizing, managing, retrieving, and distributing an organization’s digital assets. Digital Asset Management (DAM) can be used to refer to both a business process and a form of information management technology, or a digital asset management system. DAM functionality helps many organizations create a centralized place where they can access their media assets.

The digital asset is a key component of the DAM process. It is any file type of value that is owned by an enterprise or individual, comes in a digital format, is searchable via metadata, and includes access and usage rights. There are many types of digital assets, including but not limited to:

  • Documents
  • Images
  • Audio content
  • Video
  • Animations
  • Media files
  • Graphics
  • Presentations
  • Any digital media that includes the right to use

A DAM solution streamlines asset management and optimizes the production of rich media, particularly within sales and marketing organizations, by creating a centralized management system for digital assets. It enables brand consistency through automatic asset updates and reinforcement of brand guidelines, providing a single source of truth within businesses and a more consistent user experience to external audiences. Modern digital content management teams and marketers also rely on DAM to repurpose content, reducing unnecessary production costs and duplicate workstreams with its invaluable search features. Given the high visibility of brand assets and marketing assets through digital channels, like social media, it’s important for brands to remain consistent in imagery and messaging to build brand authority and generate business growth. As a result, it’s no surprise that digital asset management platforms are becoming critical components of digital transformation efforts.


How DAM software works

Several steps are involved in the use of a DAM solution:

  1. Creating the asset: Standardized templates and file formats prepares digital files for encoding even before they are created. This standardization improves the ease of document search and retrieval.
  2. Encoding and Indexing: To simplify the search for assets, metadata enables the identification of digital content through attributes such as asset type (e.g. whitepaper), version (e.g. new), media type (e.g. video), and technology used (e.g. Photoshop, etc.). These identifiers create an index, grouping assets that have common tags to improve searchability.
  3. Workflows: This indexing can then be leveraged for rule-driven workflows, enabling task and process automation.
  4. Version control: Version control becomes increasingly important to automate workflows, as it ensures that the latest, most up-to-date asset is being utilized within existing one. As new workflows are established, it also ensures that only the most current version is accessed and carried forward for review and use.
  5. Governance through permissions: Governance through permissions ensures that only those who have been granted access are able to use the asset in the manner in which it was assigned to them. This capability protects organizational assets from theft, accidental corruption, or erasure.
  6. Auditing: An audit should be conducted internally to evaluate the effectiveness of DAM and identify areas of improvement. Likewise, regulatory bodies may audit a DAM solution to ensure an organization’s technology and processes comply with regulations. Both types of audits occur regularly in highly regulated industries such as finance and healthcare.

A DAM solution can be implemented on-premises, in the cloud, or in a hybrid topology. Cloud-based asset storage, management and delivery can be a cost-effective, secure, scalable, and flexible option for an organization.


The benefits of DAM

  • Reduction of production costs and better resource allocation. The centralization of assets within a DAM enables organizations to find and reuse assets, reducing production costs and duplicate workstreams. Reduced costs encourage the allocation of resources in other areas of the business. The resulting efficiency gains help to bring assets and solutions to the market faster.
  • More organizational transparency. Since a DAM provides users with a clear, comprehensive view of digital assets, this has implications around content planning and execution. It can increase collaboration across various stakeholders or introduce more impactful workstreams through the elimination of redundant projects.
  • Increased conversion and customer retention. When businesses organize content appropriately based on the user’s stage of the buyer journey, they can serve content and marketing materials at the right time for their target audiences. DAM enables organizations to personalize the customer experience, establishing and nurturing stronger relationships which moves potential customers and existing customers along the buying cycle faster and more effectively.
  • Brand Consistency. DAM helps to ensure that messaging, positioning, visual representation, and other means of brand adherence are consistent. With DAM, functional areas and business units can re-use creative files and other assets to gain efficiencies and present a single truth to the market.
  • Governance and compliance. Licenses, legal documentation, archives, and other assets can play key roles in meeting industry-driven or governmental regulatory compliance demands. The ability to organize and rapidly retrieve these materials can save organizations time and money, as well as mitigate the disruption of core business processes.

The history and future of DAM

The emergence of desktop publishing in the late 1980s enabled printers, publishers and advertisers to digitize text, graphics and photography. Too big for most internal hard drives, these files were transferred to external media with simple metadata labels. They were placed in simple, hierarchical files and folders.

In 1992, Canto Software released Cumulus — one of the first DAM systems. It was an on-premises, standalone solution, featuring thumbnail previewing, metadata indexing and search capabilities. While early DAM solutions made assets easy to find, verify, and retrieve, files were still not easy to share.

By the early 2000s, server-based DAM enabled file-sharing over the Internet. Shortly thereafter, cloud storage offered another way to store, manage and distribute digital assets.

DAM quickly evolved into integrated libraries able to deliver content to a variety of devices, systems, and repositories. Application programming interfaces (APIs) enabled assets to plug into different applications and meet specific requirements quickly and efficiently.

Now it is common for AI capabilities to be embedded into DAM — intelligently tagging and cross-referencing assets, including video recognition and voice recognition. IBM Watson Video Enrichment can analyze video streams using deep learning technologies while the IBM Blockchain Platform ensures greater DAM security. Using machine learning, DAM systems can anticipate content needs and make recommendations to users. With these marketing tasks being performed very quickly, often within minutes or less, organizations can make adjustments in near-real time to gain a competitive advantage.


What to look for in a DAM solution

When looking at DAM platforms, it is important to evaluate whether the solutions you select provide capabilities that will help you implement a successful solution to support your needs today and beyond. A successful DAM solution will provide the following capabilities:

  • Support asset lifecycle and role-based permissions: Your DAM solution should enable you to manage your digital assets from idea through conception and throughout their lifecycles. It should also provide access rights and permissions with the granularity that you need to preserve the integrity of your assets.
  • Integration: Your DAM solution should integrate with the solutions that you have in place today, such as asset creation and distribution, and any systems you plan to add in the future.
  • Bidirectional flexibility: A flexible, agile DAM solution will provide the flexibility to search for assets in any direction. Bidirectional flexibility enables you to search metadata, such as brand, to find an asset, or search specific assets to find metadata. This capability supports the search and repurposing of assets by other functional groups within an organization.
  • Import and export capability: Your DAM solution should not create an isolated island of data. Your ideal solution should include the ability to share digital assets as well as search results and other data.
  • Stable storage and transfer infrastructure: The DAM solution you choose is equally as important as how and where the assets are stored, and the ability to transfer the assets wherever they are needed. Whether you choose on premises software-defined storage or cloud-based storage, consider the reliability, flexibility, scalability, performance, and recoverability to protect your assets.
  • File transfer efficiency: Speed and efficiency of file transfer are important because they directly affect your speed of business. The ability to share and use the assets when and where you need them will help to define the effectiveness of the solution that you choose.

IBM and DAM

DAM helps organizations across the globe maintain the access rights, control and integrity of their digital assets for many purposes. Implementing DAM as a centralized holistic solution connected with corporate and functional strategies can provide a more consistent, more compelling customer experience. According to Forrester, “More than 2/3 of companies want to deliver their content more efficiently. Successful firms now make DAM a part of their broader digital experience and content strategies, not a point solution.” 1
Find out more about IBM Aspera on Cloud, a hosted service that enables you to quickly and reliably move and share your files and data sets of any size and type across a hybrid cloud environment. With IBM Aspera Connect, perform high-speed, browser-based file transfers to and from IBM Aspera clients and web applications. In addition, using IBM Aspera FASP High-Speed Transport for bulk data provides an optimal alternative to traditional TCP-based transport. IBM Aspera offers a fast, reliable and efficient DAM solution to serve your asset management needs.


Use cases

DAM is used across industries anywhere digital assets are involved. Here are two examples of the use of DAM:

Patent offices

Patent offices typically manage large volumes of digital assets in various stages of completion. As updates are made through the asset’s lifecycle, transferability, version control, and access rights features are critical for maintenance. Other features like search functionality also enables processes within patent offices to scale effectively. 

Technology companies

Technology companies use DAM in many different departments, often across multiple locations. DAM centralizes the assets for access and use. Functional areas within an organization will use DAM for different purposes. Some examples include:

  • HR uses DAM to manage employee records, benefit subscription and status, hiring requisitions, holiday and vacation requests, and payroll receipts.
  • Procurement uses DAM to store preferred vendor contact details, invoices, and specifications.
  • Development teams uses DAM to store proprietary product design and development plans, planning materials, and images.
  • Sales and marketing teams use DAM for brand management, and to maintain assets created and used across the organization. 

Many constituents across these organizations will need to access, use, edit and track the assets, making access permissions critically important. These permissions could be based on business unit, functional department and role. They may restrict access of some assets to internal employees. Permissions may also extend access of other assets to external constituents such as partners or customers. Think logos and engagement proposals that can help support partnership and ecommerce initiatives.


Digital asset management solutions

IBM Cloud Object Storage

Store practically limitless amounts of data, simply and cost effectively.

IBM Aspera on Cloud

A hosted service to quickly and reliably move and share your files and data sets of any size and type across a hybrid cloud environment.

IBM Aspera Connect

Enable high-speed, browser-based file transfers to and from IBM Aspera clients and web applications.


Source

The Digital Asset Management Cookbook, Forrester, Inc.,Nick Barber, June 26, 2020