IT 服务管理 (ITSM)

menu icon

IT 服务管理 (ITSM)

ITSM 是一种管理方法,组织可使用此方法以确保按照用户和企业的需求来执行 IT 服务。

什么是 IT 服务管理 (ITSM)?

IT 服务管理 (ITSM) 包含一组策略和实践,这些策略和实践可用于为最终用户实施、交付和管理 IT 服务,以满足最终用户的既定需求和企业的既定目标。

在此定义中,最终用户可以包含员工、客户或业务合作伙伴。 IT 服务可以包含组织提供给用户使用的任何硬件、软件或计算资源,从公司笔记本电脑、软件资产或 Web 应用程序,再到移动应用程序、云存储解决方案或用于开发或其他服务的虚拟服务器。

ITSM 是一种复杂的方法。毕竟,其预期目标是为扩展企业中的每个用户实现并保持各个 IT 资源的最佳部署、运行和管理。 本文旨在让读者对这个主题有基本的了解。 

什么是 ITIL?

信息技术基础架构库 (ITIL) 是实施和记录 ITSM 的最佳实践指导框架,已经得到广泛使用。 这是一个实际存在的库,最新版本 ITIL 4 包含五卷,涵盖了 34 个 ITSM 实践 (比 ITIL 3 的 26 个有所增加)。 在下列卷中描述了 ITIL 框架:

  1. 服务策略:专注于整个 ITSM 流程生命周期,包括设计、开发、实施和管理 IT 服务组合,以及确定此类服务的成本和预算并预测未来的服务需求。
  2. 服务设计:涵盖了企业对可用性、安全性、用户服务级别协议 (SLA)、连续性(包括备份和灾难恢复服务)等要求相关的服务设计和流程设计。
  3. 服务转移:介绍了在将服务质量和性能受到的影响最小化的情况下转向新服务或已更改服务的最佳实践。
  4. 服务运营:简要介绍了已部署服务的日常基本管理,包括处理服务请求(来自用户或部门),应对问题和事故以及控制服务访问。
  5. 持续性服务改进 :介绍了因企业需求变更而修改或扩展服务的步骤。

ITIL 非常详尽,但组织的 ITSM 项目不需要实施其涵盖的所有内容,组织只需挑选自身需要的 ITIL 流程和实践。

也存在其他最佳实践 ITSM 框架,有些与 ITIL 密切相关,也有很多会与 ITIL 配合使用。 包括下列相关框架:

  • BiSL(商业信息服务库):从用户角度(常称为“需求”视角)关注 ITSM 。
  • COBIT(信息和相关技术的控制目标):专注于控制和治理。
  • ISO/IEC 20000:首个国际服务管理标准。
  • MOF(Microsoft 运营框架):ITIL 的一个替代项。
  • Six Sigma:一套用于管理 IT 组织和制造等流程的工具,目标是从统计上达到较高的产品质量水平。

ITSM 关键实践和概念

虽然我们无法在一篇文章内介绍全部 34 个 ITSM 实践,但可以介绍组织最常采用的一些核心实践:

  • 事故管理:从 ITSM 角度讲,事故是指服务的意外停运或中断。 事故管理将定义事故的响应流程,目标是恢复服务并将用户和企业受到的影响最小化。
  • 问题管理:此流程不仅识别并解决事故的根本原因,也识别并解决引发该原因的因素,并确定消除该事故的最佳方法。
  • 变更管理:在 IT 中,变更十分常见。 变更管理(也称为变更支持)是指建立流程和实践,以将关键系统变更可能导致的 IT 服务中断、合规性问题及其他风险最小化。
  • 资产和配置管理:定义了用于授权、监视和记录交付服务所使用的软件和硬件资产(物理和虚拟服务器、操作系统、笔记本电脑和移动设备)配置的流程。 配置管理数据库 (CMDB) 是一个重要的资产和配置管理工具,可用作所有 IT 资产及其相互关系的中央存储库。
  • 服务请求管理:涉及用于处理来自个人用户或企业部门的新服务请求的流程。 此流程可能上至员工请求新笔记本,下到合作伙伴请求访问门户网站,或部门对软件即服务 (SaaS) 应用程序中数个新“位置”的请求。 服务请求管理中工单工作流程和“自助”能力的自动化程度越高,组织可获得的潜在利益就越大。
  • 服务目录:允许用户自助使用 IT 服务的菜单或门户网站。
  • 知识管理:在整个组织和/或扩展企业(包括客户和合作伙伴)中生成和共享 IT 服务相关知识的实践。 持续更新的可搜索自助知识库通常是完成这种实践的核心工具。
  • 服务级别管理:商定并达到不同用户群体需要或期望的服务级别,或在未达到这些级别时“补偿”用户的实践。 一般而言,商定的服务级别都记录在服务级别协议 (SLA)
  • IT 服务台:在 ITSM 中,IT 服务台是标准服务台的延续,也是处理和管理所有事故、问题和请求的单一联络点 (SPOC)。 它还是 ITSM 的基础,所有事故报告、问题报告和服务请求都始于此处,用户可从此处跟踪进度。 此服务台将处理与 ITSM 相关的软件许可、服务提供商和第三方合同。 在许多情况下,此服务台将运营和维护与 ITSM 相关的自助门户网站和知识库。

ITSM 优势

ITSM 旨在确保按照用户和企业的需求来执行 IT 服务。 因此,严格的 ITSM 方法通常会带来一些重大商业优势也就不足为奇了,优势包括:

  • ITSM 可以让 IT 团队轻松应对意外事件、新商机和竞争威胁,整个流程快速、敏捷且无遗留作用。
  • 通过改善系统性能、提高可用性和减少服务中断,ITSM 可帮助提高用户工作量和企业业务量。
  • 通过系统地加快事故解决、减少事故和问题,甚至自动预防或解决问题,ITSM 可帮助企业提高 IT 基础架构的生产力并降低成本。
  • ITSM 可帮助组织设定并满足对服务的切实期望,从而提高透明度并改善用户满意度。
  • 通过将合规性嵌入到 IT 服务设计、交付和管理中,ITSM 能够提高合规性并降低风险。

对于 IT 部门而言,ITSM 可以建立一个与业务战略保持一致且生产力、效率和成本效益都在不断提高的服务组织,而 IT 部门日益成为决定组织成功与否的关键(且产生的组织问题越来越少)。

ITSM 工具和软件

目前,市场上有 150 多种 ITSM 软件工具,旨在帮助组织在最佳实践框架或所选框架内执行甚至自动执行 ITSM。

下面是选择工具的简要标准:

  • 确保支持强大的 IT 服务台,因为 IT 服务台将成为衔接 IT 员工与用户/企业部门的纽带。
  • 所选工具的功能必须涵盖您目前使用或将要使用的所有框架实践领域,包括 IT 资产管理、变更管理、知识管理、服务目录集成、事故管理和问题管理。
  • 选择与 IT 环境中其他工具(如项目跟踪软件、协作工具和 ERP 系统)相集成的工具。
  • 查找易于实施且带图形仪表板和可配置指标及报告的工具,以便实时监控服务交付和质量,参考依据为关键绩效指标 (KPI),如工单数量趋势、事故响应和解决时间以及服务级别合规性统计信息。

最重要的一点是,所选工具应能处理快速变化的环境。 换言之,如果您的工具只能处理每日变更一次的环境,则达不到现代化的要求。 现代化工具应能近乎实时地识别、分析、修复和验证问题。

ITSM 和人工智能 (AIOps)

人工智能 (AI) 正快速纳入众多企业流程,ITSM 也不例外。 一项最近的 Gartner 调查(IBM 外部链接) 指出,过去四年中,实施 AI 的企业数量增长了 270%,其中一半以上的公司同时在考虑或正在将某种形式的 AI 用于 ITSM。

随着时代不断发展,Gartner 预计有更多的 ITSM 工具将整合所谓的“AI for IT Operations”( AIOps),后者定义为在整个运营环境中应用机器学习。 此包括监测和 ITSM。 通过将 AI 应用于来自多个数据源的数据,AIOps 有望更好地预测中断、确定事件优先级并改进根本原因分析。

详细了解 IBM AIOps 解决方案。

ITSM 成功案例

下面是 ITSM 解决方案为公司创造价值的三个案例:

  • 借助自动化知识管理,Cognizant 的 Applications Value Center 将服务台工单数减少了多达 80%,并将解决事故工单的平均时间缩短近 40%。
  • Serima Consulting GmbH 助力开发智能电网管理解决方案,在德国从核能和化石燃料到可再生能源的政府监管转型过程中会使用这种解决方案。 Serima 的 ITSM 解决方案在整个电网基础设施中实现单一服务管理视角,并充当“灯塔”项目,将引领整个德国的相似智能电网项目。
  • 澳大利亚悉尼的 St Vincent's Health (01:27) 实施了 ITSM 解决方案,允许医护人员在其移动设备上启动事故,并使医院超过 50% 的工单在第一次请求时得到解决。

ITSM 的未来

ITSM 解决方案随相关使用组织的需求和技术的发展而不断变化。 接下来的几年内很可能会出现如下情况:

  • 支持物联网 (IoT):IoT 连接的设备日益流行,而且种类多样化,包括各种硬件和网络基础设施、电气装置甚至运载工具,它几乎无所不连。 此类设备不断收集有价值的数据,包括运行状态、位置和移动轨迹。 ITSM 解决方案必须启动监测,并利用此数据改进问题解决和业务决策过程。 通过整合来自联网传感器的信息,还可以更深入了解业务。
  • 社交媒体集成:ITSM 工具开始让沟通渠道去适应用户,而非让用户适应工具。 换言之,将采用社交媒体渠道(如 Twitter、Facebook、Slack、Instagram 和 SMS 消息)来记录工单并提供跟踪支持。 借助社交媒体集成,贵公司将能够更好地评估客户情绪。

ITSM 和 IBM Cloud

IBM 的 ITSM 产品组合包含 IBM Control Desk (提供基于最佳实践的服务台功能)以及 IBM Workload Automation(将自动执行复杂工作负载)。 IBM Cloud Pak for Watson AIOps 包含一些关键的 ITSM 功能,如集成式应用程序性能管理和分析,这可帮助企业在整个工具链中关联数据、更快识别并解决事故以及更有信心进行自动化。

了解更多信息,确定可帮助您的团队在目前和未来满足用户期望和企业目标的工具。

要开始操作,可注册一个 IBMid 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户

IT service management (ITSM)

menu icon

IT service management (ITSM)

ITSM is how an organization ensures its IT services work the way users and the business need them to work.

What is IT service management (ITSM)?

IT service management (ITSM) is a set of policies and practices for implementing, delivering and managing IT services for end users in a way that meets the stated needs of end users and the stated goals of the business.

For this definition, end users can include employees, customers or business partners. IT services can include any hardware, software or computing resource the organization supplies for a user—everything from a company notebook, software asset or Web application to a mobile app, cloud storage solution or virtual server for development or other services.

ITSM is a complicated discipline—after all, its intended goal is to enable and maintain optimal deployment, operation and management of every single IT resource for every user in the extended enterprise. This article is written to provide a basic understanding of the topic. 

What is ITIL?

The Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) is the most widely adopted best-practices guidance framework for implementing and documenting ITSM. It is an actual library; the latest version, ITIL 4, includes five volumes that cover 34 ITSM practices (up from 26 in ITIL 3). The ITIL framework is described in the volumes listed below:

  1. Service Strategy, which focuses on the full ITSM processes lifecycle—designing, developing, implementing and managing a portfolio of IT services, plus determining the cost and budget for these services and forecasting future demand for services.
  2. Service Design, which covers designing services and processes with respect to business requirements for availability, security, service level agreements (SLAs) with users, continuity (including backup and disaster recovery services) and much more.
  3. Service Transition, which describes best practices for moving to a new or changed service with minimal impact on service quality and performance.
  4. Service Operation, which outlines the everyday, nuts-and-bolts management of deployed services, including fulfilling service requests (from users or departments), responding to problems and incidents and controlling access to services.
  5. Continual Service Improvement, which covers the steps for revising or expanding services as business needs change.

ITIL is exhaustive, but an organization’s ITSM program does not need to implement it exhaustively—the organization can pick and choose only the ITIL processes and practices they need.

Other best-practice ITSM frameworks exist; some are closely related to ITIL, and many are used in concert with ITIL. These include the following:

  • BiSL (Business Information Services Library), which is focused on ITSM from the perspective of users (this is often called the "demand" perspective).
  • COBIT (Control Objectives for Information and Related Technologies), which focuses on controls and governance.
  • ISO/IEC 20000, the first international standard for service management.
  • MOF (Microsoft Operations Framework), an alternative to ITIL.
  • Six Sigma, a set of tools for governing IT organizations, manufacturing and other processes, with the goal of achieving statistically high product quality levels.

ITSM key practices and concepts

We can’t review all 34 ITSM practices in a single article, but we can cover the core practices that organizations adopt most often:

  • Incident management: In ITSM-speak, an incident is an unplanned outage or interruption in service. Incident management defines the process of responding to an incident with the goal of restoring the service with minimal impact to users and the business.
  • Problem management: This is the process of not just identifying and addressing the root cause of an incident, but also the factors leading to the root cause and determining the best way to eliminate it.
  • Change management: In IT, change is constant. Change management, also known as change enablement, is the establishment of processes and practices that minimize IT service disruptions, compliance issues and other risks that might result from changes made to critical systems.
  • Asset and configuration management: This defines processes for authorizing, monitoring and documenting the configuration of software and hardware assets (physical and virtual servers, operating systems, notebooks, mobile devices) used to deliver services. A key asset and configuration management tool is the configuration management database (CMDB), which serves as a central repository of all IT assets and the relationships between them.
  • Service request management: This is concerned with processes for handling requests for new services from individual users or areas of the business. This could include anything from employee requests for new notebooks to partner requests for portal access or a departmental request for several new "seats" on a software-as-a-service (SaaS) application. The greater the automation of the ticketing workflow and "self-service" capability in service request management, the greater the potential benefit to the organization.
  • Service catalog: A menu or portal that allows users to help themselves to IT services.
  • Knowledge management: The practice of generating and sharing IT service–related knowledge across the organization and/or the extended enterprise (including customers and partners). A searchable, continually updated self-service knowledge base is usually the core tool of this practice.
  • Service level management: The practice of agreeing upon required or desired levels of service for different groups of users and then meeting those levels, or "compensating" users when the levels aren’t met. Typically, the agreed-upon service levels are documented in a service level agreement (SLA), which essentially functions as a contract between IT and the users or the business.
  • IT Service Desk: In ITSM, the IT Service Desk is a superset of the standard help desk—it serves as the single point of contact (SPOC) for fielding and managing all incidents, problems and requests. It’s also a foundation of ITSM, where all incident reports, problem reports and service requests begin, and where users can track their progress. The Service Desk handles software licensing, service providers and third-party contracts related to ITSM. In many cases, the Service Desk operates and maintains ITSM-related self-service portals and knowledge bases.

ITSM benefits

The goal of ITSM is to ensure that IT services perform in a way that meets the needs of the users and the business. It’s no surprise, then, that a rigorous ITSM approach often results in some significant business benefits:

  • ITSM makes it easier for IT teams to provide a fast, agile, trauma-free response to unexpected events, new opportunities and competitive threats.
  • By enabling better system performance, greater availability and fewer service interruptions, ITSM helps users do more work and the business do more business.
  • By systematically speeding incident resolution, reducing incidents and problems and even automatically preventing or resolving issues, ITSM helps the business get more productivity from IT infrastructure at less cost.
  • ITSM helps the organization set and meet realistic expectations for service, leading to greater transparency and improved user satisfaction.
  • By embedding compliance into IT service design, delivery and management, ITSM can improve compliance and reduce risk.

For IT departments, ITSM enables a continually more productive, effective and cost-effective service organization that’s aligned with business strategy—an IT department that increasingly becomes a critical part of the organization’s success (and less and less the source of the organization’s problems).

ITSM tools and software

There are over 150 ITSM software tools on the market at this writing, designed to help organizations implement and even automate ITSM within the best-practices framework or frameworks of their choice.

The following is a very short list of criteria for choosing a tool:

  • Make sure it supports a robust IT service desk because the service desk will serve as the interface between your IT staff and users/business units.
  • Choose a tool with capabilities that map to every framework practice area you use or will use, including IT asset management, change management, knowledge management, integration of the service catalog, incident management and problem management.
  • Choose a tool that integrates with the other tools in your IT environments, such as project tracking software, collaboration tools and ERP systems.
  • Look for easy-to-implement tools with graphical dashboards and configurable metrics and reports to help monitor service delivery and quality in real time, based on key performance indicators (KPIs) like ticket volume trends, incident response and resolution times, and service level compliance statistics.

Most importantly, any tool you choose should be able to handle rapidly changing environments. In other words, if your tools were built to handle environments that change once daily, they aren’t modern enough. Modern tools should be able to identify, analyze, fix and verify problems in near real time.

ITSM and artificial intelligence (AIOps)

Artificial intelligence (AI) is fast becoming part of many business processes, and ITSM is no exception. A recent Gartner survey (link resides outside IBM) notes that the number of enterprises implementing AI has grown 270 percent in the past four years; more than half of these companies are also considering or applying some form of AI for ITSM.

Over time, Gartner expects more ITSM tools to incorporate what it calls AI for IT Operations, or AIOps, which it defines as the application of machine learning across the entire operational environment. This includes monitoring and ITSM. By applying AI to data from multiple sources, AIOps is expected to help better predict outages, prioritize events and improve root cause analysis.

Find out more about AIOps solutions from IBM.

ITSM case studies

The following are three cases in which ITSM solutions delivered value for companies:

  • By automating knowledge management, Cognizant’s Applications Value Center reduced help desk ticket volumes by up to 80 percent and cut the mean time to resolve incident tickets by nearly 40 percent.
  • Serima Consulting GmbH helped develop a smart power grid management solution as part of Germany’s politically supervised shift from nuclear and fossil fuels to renewable energy sources. Serima’s ITSM solution enables a single- service management point of view across the entire grid infrastructure and serves as a "lighthouse" project that will guide similar smart grid projects throughout Germany.
  • St Vincent's Health (01:27) in Sydney, Australia, implemented an ITSM solution that allows medical staff to initiate incidents on their mobile devices and enables the hospital to resolve more than 50 percent of its tickets on the first call.

The future of ITSM

ITSM solutions continue to change as the needs and technologies of the organizations that use them evolve. In the next few years, you’re likely to see the following:

  • Support for the Internet of Things (IoT): IoT-connected devices are becoming more popular and varied—hardware and network infrastructure, electrical fixtures and even delivery vehicles are all being connected. These devices continually collect valuable data, including operating status, location and movements. ITSM solutions will have to start monitoring and using that data to improve problem-solving and business decisions. By incorporating the information you receive from your internet-connected sensors, you can gain even greater insight into your business.
  • Social media integration: ITSM tools are beginning to adapt communication channels to the user, rather than the user to the tool. This means adopting social media channels like Twitter, Facebook, Slack, Instagram and SMS messages as ways to log tickets and track support. With social media integration, your company will be better able to gauge customer sentiment.

ITSM and IBM Cloud

IBM can help prepare you for the future of ITSM with automation tools to support every aspect—implementation, delivery and management.

Any moves toward business-wide and IT-wide automation should start with small, measurably successful projects, which you can then scale and optimize for other processes and in other parts of your organization.

Working with IBM, you’ll have access to AI-powered automation capabilities, including prebuilt workflows, to make every IT services process more intelligent, freeing up teams to focus on the most important IT issues and accelerate innovation.

Take the next step:

Get started with an IBM Cloud account today.