海量的变化 – 为海洋研究开辟新的航道
ProMare 和 IBM 推出五月花号自主船

“最大的挑战是海洋本身,”海洋研究和探索组织 ProMare 的联合创始人 Brett Phaneuf 说道。“从来没有一艘船能够在大海的冲击下幸存下来。”

1620 年,尽管面临着巨大的挑战,最初的“五月花号”上的 102 名乘客还是怀着对美好未来的憧憬,从英国普利茅斯出发,踏上了前往新大陆的危险航程。2016 年,当普利茅斯社区开会讨论如何纪念即将到来的五月花号航行 400 周年时,海洋的古老挑战和新的探索灵感促使 Phaneuf 站起来问:“为什么不利用这个机会走向未来,而不是回忆过去呢?”

几年前,Phaneuf 移居英国,成立了 MSUBs 公司,该公司主要为安全和国防工业设计和建造小型潜艇。他长期以来一直对自主系统很感兴趣,但还没有尝试过自主水面船只。现在,他看到了机会。

“当普利茅斯市打算建造一座“五月花号”原船的复制品时,我告诉他们'马萨诸塞州已经有一座了—我在离它不远的地方长大',”Phaneuf 说。“相反,我们应该谈谈未来 400 年的海事事业。让我们从朝圣者的所作所为中得到启发,开始新的开始。”

Phaneuf 提出他的想法的时机恰到好处:一艘自主的无船员船只将横渡大西洋,追溯最初“五月花号 ”的航线,并在航行期间和未来进行重要的海洋研究。“就在那时,五月花号自主船的想法诞生了,”Phaneuf 说。“我们现在简称其为 MAS。”

对更多海洋科学知识日益增长的需求推动了 Phaneuf 对 MAS 的愿景。“尽管地球表面的三分之二被水覆盖,但我们探索的面积还不到 5%,”他说。“这种无知应该让我们感到恐惧,因为海洋控制着地球的整个气候。”

全自动化

 

传感器、边缘设备、决策自动化和计算机视觉实现完全自主(无需人工干预)

当前状态

 

MAS 的跨大西洋航程目前正在途中

自主船的优势在于,无论其功能如何,都是为特定目的而建造的。船只变成了一台机器,而不是一座漂浮的旅馆。“如果把人为因素排除在船之外,就可以完全重新构想设计,”Phaneuf 说。“您可以纯粹专注于船只的机械结构和功能。”

然而,在实践中,Phaneuf 和 ProMare 知道,要在没有人类驾驶的情况下将自主船投入大海,关键在于能够为船载智能提供动力的计算技术。为了让 MAS 实现从视觉到船只的飞跃,ProMare 需要一个在 AI、边缘计算和科学研究方面拥有深厚专业知识以及全球航运业经验的技术合作伙伴。

2016 年底,当 ProMare 的海军设计师在瑞士的一次会议上介绍 MAS 概念时,IBM 的代表也在座,他们对 Phaneuf 的愿景非常感兴趣。

“在五月花号项目的早期,我对我的 CTO 说,我需要他为我打造一个 ‘Captain Watson’,因为我是看着 IBM Watson 团队开发出更强大的 AI 长大的,”Phaneuf 说。 “这就是我们的船漂洋过海所需要的。我们很幸运能够在 IBM 遇到一群非常慷慨的人,他们能力更强,并且愿意提供帮助。”

通过利用 AI 和其他新技术,开发一种新型的高效、无船员和环保型船舶,MAS 将在我们最需要的时候开启海洋探索的新时代。 Brett Phaneuf ProMare 联合创始人兼五月花号自主船项目主任
我们所需的海洋数据

海洋覆盖了地球表面的 71%,产生了世界上一半以上的氧气,调节着全球气候,并为减少全球变暖的影响提供了热沉。然而,尽管海洋幅员辽阔,它也不能免受人类活动的影响。如今,海洋污染比以往任何时候都严重,温度比以往任何时候都高,酸性比以往任何时候都强,风暴比以往任何时候都猛烈。

为了帮助扭转海洋面积下降的趋势,联合国宣布 2021 年至 2030 年为“海洋科学促进可持续发展十年”。这项全球倡议将促进人们更好地了解海洋,从而以更可持续的方式保护和管理海洋—而更好地了解海洋的关键在于更多更好的数据。

然而,要收集像海洋这样庞大而复杂的系统的数据,成本非常高昂。在像海洋这样无情的环境中进行研究也会使船只和船员处于高风险之中。这种成本和风险的实际影响是,大片海洋表面仍未开发。关于气候变化、塑料污染、栖息地退化、海洋生物保护和其他重要主题的知识仍然存在巨大差距。

“我们所掌握的大部分海洋数据都偏重于商业航线的位置,”Phaneuf 说。 “探索其余部分,作为一个社会,我们不能再继续建造耗资 5000 万美元至 1 亿美元的巨型研究船只。即使我们这样做了,也永远不够用。但与此同时,我们也不能忽视日益增长的海洋研究需求。”

MAS 等自主研究船只与其他岸基、船舶和卫星网络集成,可以收集有关海洋的数据,其规模和成本效益远远超出了当今相对较小的有船员研究船只所能达到的水平。“这就是为什么我对在海洋探索中使用机器人和自主技术感兴趣。它开辟了人类根本无法进入的海洋部分,” Phaneuf 说。

正如 ProMare 和 MAS 项目所设想的那样,未来的海洋研究将是有船员和无船员船只与设备的混合体,这些船只和设备有大有小,具有不同程度的自主性,所有这些船只和设备共同工作,以提高数据的数量和质量。

直到最近,在不派遣更多水手和科学家进行昂贵而危险的航行的情况下积累更多海洋数据的目标似乎还遥不可及。一切都取决于一个问题:AI、边缘计算和相关技术是否已准备就绪且足够强大,足以实现真正的自主?

“纵观历史,船舶一直处于技术发展的绝对优势,因为它们是商业和人员流动所必需的,”Phaneuf 说。 “对于 MAS,这种情况在船上发生也就不足为奇了。它们一直走在前列。”

是的,是的 AI 船长

在太阳能混合电力推进系统的驱动下,MAS 的三体船体外形流畅,令人联想到《星际迷航》,具有高度稳定性,能以 10 节以上的速度掠过波浪。MAS 还配备了精密惯性导航、全球导航卫星系统 (GNSS) 定位、雷达传感器、卫星通信和气象仪器。

这艘重 5 吨、长 15 米的船只在波兰按照 ProMare 的规格建造,采用了许多先进的船舶结构设计,所有设计均可承受长时间海上航行的压力。但是,这艘五月花号上没有可供船长或船员使用的铺位或厨房。相反,IBM 的认知计算技术(已在其他行业得到验证)为这艘新船领航,并帮助它保持平稳。

ProMare 附属公司 Submergence Group 工程总监Don Scott 说:“我们需要超越现有的无人船技术,打造一艘不仅能远程操作、不会简单地对环境做出反应,还能自主学习和适应的船舶。”“四年前,当我们构思这艘船时,我并不确定我们是否能够在船上安装这样的系统。但是最近的进展,尤其是边缘计算方面的进展,让这一切成为可能。”

机载“大脑”赋予了 MAS 完全自主的能力,即无需人类干预即可运行,该团队将其戏称为“AI 船长”。正如任何人类船长在被委以重任之前都需要经过多年的培训一样,MAS 的 AI 船长也经过了多年的培训才掌握了技巧。

利用 IBM Visual Insights 计算机视觉技术生成的推理算法和模型,AI 船长在 100 多万张航海图像上接受了训练,从而能够识别船只、碎片、桥梁、陆地和其他危险。IBM Power Systems 服务器用于满足 AI 队长训练所需的大量机器学习处理需求。IBM CPLEX Optimizer 提供了用于决策支持的附加数学建模。

一旦 AI 船长从船载摄像头、雷达、声纳、AIS 和其他设备接收到可操作的数据,它就会利用 IBM 的自动规则管理系统(称为 IBM Operational Decision Manager,ODM) 来遵循《国际海上避碰规则》(COLREG) 和其他航海公约。ODM 广泛应用于金融服务业的贷款审批和个性化客户服务,提供透明的决策过程记录,以避免在不清楚为何做出特定决策时出现“黑匣”情况。

为了感知环境并独立做出智能决策而无需连接到岸上计算机,MAS 配备了 15 台边缘计算设备来处理船上的数据。基于 ODM 软件的决策逻辑也作为边缘工作负载在船上运行。

所有边缘设备均由 IBM Edge Application Manager 进行安全协调,将软件部署到船舶边缘的传感器上。IBM Maximo 应用套件提供智能资产管理和维护。“我将 MAS 称为终极边缘设备,”Scott 说道。 “所有的摄像头都是智能边缘设备。就连电池管理系统也是一种智能边缘设备。”

一旦开始航行,MAS 的 AI 船长就会根据 ODM 的建议以及IBM 旗下气象公司(The Weather Company®)的当前和预测更新,不断评估各种选择、避开危险、做出导航决策并执行手头的研究任务。

IBM Cloud®IBM Cloud Object Storage 可从 MAS 网络的每个边缘保持所有数据和应用程序的无缝集成、安全和连接,旨在支持任何地方的任务关键型工作负载,即使是在茫茫大海中也不例外。

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (外部链接)上运行的安全管理器功能还支持 AI 船长的决策,以帮助确保 MAS 和附近船只的安全。

随着 AI 船长训练继续进行,并记录了更多的海上自主航行时间,ProMare 已经在思考这项技术的未来,甚至超越 MAS 项目。“我们为 AI 船长开发的软件的优点是它也可以部署在有人驾驶的船只上,”Phaneuf 说。 “它可以增强执行任务的能力,释放一个人的创造力,让他成为更好的人,在这种情况下,成为更安全的人。”

为科学和商业服务的海路

尽管受到全球范围内的 COVID-19 疫情的影响,但 MAS 项目的关键里程碑还是在 2020 年实现了。就在船只建造完成的同时,ProMare 和 IBM 团队还在普利茅斯的一个研发站开发并测试了 AI 船长。研发站从码头末端伸入城市的主要港口,体验了船桥的所有动作,对于教导 AI 船长如何识别和绕过船只、浮标和其他水障碍物方面起着至关重要的作用。

当该船的主船体和支腿船体从波兰运往英国进行最后组装时,针对 MAS 的主要目的开始了更为细致的工作:收集有关海洋的科学知识。该船的模块化设计包括三个科学舱,可以根据研究主题插入或取出研究套件。IBM Research 为 MAS 开发了三个初步研究项目:测量海平面和海浪高度、分析海水的化学成分以及通过水听器聆听鲸鱼的歌声。

IBM 研究员兼软件工程师 Rosie Lickorish 也有海洋研究背景,她说:“这个项目真正让我兴奋的一点是,我们将使用我每天都在使用的技术,彻底改变我们采集海洋数据的方式。“我们将利用 AI、自主性、机器人技术和边缘计算来创建新的传感器和设备,使我们能够更有效地扩展从海洋收集数据的方式。”

2020 年 9 月 16 日是个值得纪念的日子,这一天,MAS 号完全组装完毕,正式命名并下水驶入普利茅斯港。同时推出的还有 Mas400.com (链接位于  ibm.com 外部),这是一个实时任务门户网站,使全世界能够关注 MAS 项目并接收其航行的最新信息。

现在,MAS 号已经下水,它将进行几个月的海试和研究任务,最终定于 2021 年 4 月进行从英国到美国的首次航行。“我们将利用船上的传感器来校准 [来自卫星和近岸传感器] 的读数,”Lickorish 说。“这将为我们提供有关航运和港口等方面的宝贵信息。”

从 MAS 中汲取的经验教训不仅具有科学价值,还将推动许多在海洋上或海洋附近开展业务的组织(例如航运和物流、石油和天然气勘探以及安全和国防相关行业)的实际和可持续发展。

Scott 说:“尽管自主航运市场将从现在的 900 亿美元增长到 2030 年的 1300 亿美元以上,但当今的许多自主船实际上只是自动化—机器人不能动态地适应新情况,在很大程度上依赖于操作员的控制。”“我们的目标是使用 IBM 的人工智能、云和边缘综合技术,使五月花号能够在地球上一些最具挑战性的环境中独立运行。”

随着2021 年春季 MAS 从英国到美国的 3220 英里航程开始倒计时,ProMare 计划走得更远。“我们将前往北极,并考虑全球环球航行,”Phaneuf 说。 “我们将在未来的许多年里继续使用 MAS 作为平台,希望她也能激励下一代船舶。”

随着 2021 年 4 月的临近,Phaneuf 和他的团队想到了最初的五月花号横渡,并分享了朝圣者们在踏上未知旅程时所感受到的许多相同的希望和恐惧。“我认为我们和他们最大的共同点是,我们也不确定自己能不能成功。但我们愿意冒这个险。”Phaneuf 说道。 “我专注于在团队(尤其是 IBM)的帮助下获取我们所需的资源。我想在 MAS 穿越海洋,停在马萨诸塞州的普利茅斯之前,我都不会放松。”

ProMare 徽标
关于 ProMare

ProMare (链接位于 ibm.com 外部) 成立于 2001 年,旨在促进海洋研究和探索,是一家非营利性公司,也是一家 501(c)(3) 慈善机构,总部位于康涅狄格州切斯特。其团队由经验丰富的考古学家和海洋专业人士组成,他们独立或与学术、企业、公共和政府组织合作执行研究项目,以增进与海洋有关的历史和科学知识。

采取下一步行动
查看更多案例研究
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Research、IBM Watson、CPLEX、Maximo 和 Power 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade。

Linux® 注册商标已获得 Linux 基金会的再许可。Linux 基金会是该商标的全球所有者 Linus Torvalds 的独家许可证持有人。

Red Hat 是 Red Hat, Inc 或其子公司在美国和/或其他国家/地区的注册商标。

The Weather Company® 是 IBM 旗下 TWC Product and Technology, LLC 的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Sea change — setting a new course for ocean research

ProMare and IBM launch the Mayflower Autonomous Ship
by Michael Tucker
12-minute read

“The single biggest challenge is the ocean itself,” says Brett Phaneuf, Co-founder of ProMare, a marine research and exploration organization. “No ship has ever been built that can survive whatever the ocean could throw at it.”

In 1620, despite the vast challenge ahead, 102 passengers of the original Mayflower sailed from Plymouth, England on a hazardous voyage to the New World, inspired by hopes for a better future. And in 2016, when the Plymouth community met and discussed how to commemorate the upcoming 400th anniversary of the Mayflower’s journey, the age-old challenge of the sea and a new inspiration for discovery prompted Phaneuf to stand up and ask, “Why not use this opportunity to advance into the future, rather than reminisce about the past?”

Phaneuf had moved to the UK some years earlier to establish MSUBs, a firm that that designs and builds mini submarines, primarily for the security and defense industries. He had long been interested in autonomous systems but hadn’t yet turned his hand to an autonomous surface vessel. Now, he saw his opportunity.

“When the city of Plymouth talked about building a replica of the original Mayflower, I told them, ‘There already is one in Massachusetts — I grew up not too far from it,’” says Phaneuf. “Instead, we should speak to the next 400 years of the maritime enterprise. Let’s be inspired by what the Pilgrims did and jump off into a new beginning.”

The timing was perfect for Phaneuf to pitch his idea: an autonomous, crewless vessel that would cross the Atlantic, trace the route of the original Mayflower, and perform vital ocean research during the voyage and well into the future. “That was when the idea of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship was born,” Phaneuf says. “We now call it MAS for short.”

Driving Phaneuf’s vision for MAS is the growing need for more scientific knowledge about the ocean. “Despite two-thirds of our planet’s surface being covered in water, we’ve explored less than 5%,” he says. “That ignorance should scare us because the ocean controls the entire climate of our planet.”

Sensors, edge devices, decision automation and computer vision enable

full

autonomy (no human intervention required)

MAS's Transatlantic voyage is

currently

en route

An autonomous ship has the advantage of being purpose-built for whatever its function is. The ship becomes a machine rather than a floating hotel. “If you take the human factor out of ships, it allows you to completely reimagine the design,” Phaneuf says. “You can focus purely on the mechanics and function of the ship.”

However, in practice, Phaneuf and ProMare knew that the key to putting an autonomous ship at sea, without humans at the helm, was computing technology that could power onboard intelligence. For MAS to make the leap from vision to vessel, ProMare needed a technology partner with deep expertise in AI, edge computing and scientific research, as well as experience with the global shipping industry.

By leveraging AI and other new technologies and developing a new class of efficient, crewless and environmentally-friendly ship, MAS will start a new era of marine exploration just when we need it the most.
Brett Phaneuf
Co-founder of ProMare and Director of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship Project
The earth from space

In late 2016, when ProMare’s naval architect presented the MAS concept at a conference in Switzerland, representatives from IBM were in the audience — and were intrigued by Phaneuf’s vision.

“During the early days of the Mayflower project, I said to my CTO that I needed him to build me a ‘Captain Watson’ because I grew up watching the IBM Watson team develop ever-more powerful AI,” says Phaneuf. “That’s what we needed to take our ship across the sea. We were lucky to meet an incredibly generous group of people at IBM who had even more capability and wanted to help.”

Data we need for the ocean we want

Photo 1: Rosie Lickorish, Software Engineer and Oceanographer, IBM Research (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare) (edited)

Covering 71% of the Earth’s surface, the ocean generates more than half of the world’s oxygen, regulates global climate and provides a heat sink to reduce the effects of global warming. However, despite the ocean’s enormity, it is not immune to human activity. Today, the ocean is more polluted, warmer, more acidic and stormier than ever.

To help reverse oceanic decline, the United Nations declared 2021 – 2030 to be the Decade of Ocean Science for Sustainable Development. This global initiative will promote a better understanding of the ocean to protect it and manage it more sustainably — and the key to understanding the ocean better is more and better data.

Nevertheless, gathering data about a system as vast and complicated as the ocean is enormously expensive. Conducting research in an environment as unforgiving as the ocean also puts ships and crews at high risk. The practical impact of this cost and risk is that vast areas of the ocean’s surface still remain unexplored. Huge gaps in knowledge persist about climate change, plastics pollution, habitat degradation, marine life conservation and other important topics.

“Most of the ocean data we do have is biased to where the commercial shipping routes are,” says Phaneuf. “To explore the rest we can’t afford, as a society, to keep building giant USD 50 million – USD 100 million research vessels. Even if we did, we’d never have enough. But at the same time, we can’t afford to ignore the growing need for ocean research.”

Rosie Lickorish, Software Engineer and Oceanographer, IBM Research (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare) (edited)
The Launch of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship, September 2020 (Credit Tom Dickinson for IBM/ProMare) (edited)

Photo 2: The Launch of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship, September 2020 (Credit Tom Dickinson for IBM/ProMare) (edited)

Autonomous research vessels such as MAS — integrated with other shore-based, ship and satellite networks — can collect data about the ocean at a scale and cost-effectiveness far beyond what is possible with today’s relatively small fleet of crewed research vessels. “That’s why I became interested in using robotics and autonomy in ocean exploration. It opens up parts of the ocean that simply aren’t accessible for humans,” says Phaneuf.

As envisioned by ProMare and the MAS project, the future of ocean research is a hybrid blend of crewed and crewless vessels and devices, large and small, with varying degrees of autonomy — all working together to increase the quantity and quality of data.

Until recently, the goal of amassing more ocean data without sending more sailors and scientists on costly, risky voyages seemed out of reach. Everything depended on one question: Are AI, edge computing and related technologies ready and robust enough for real autonomy?

“Throughout history, ships have been at the absolute edge of technological development because they were required for commerce and moving people around,” says Phaneuf. “And it’s no surprise that with MAS, that’s happening on ships. They’ve always been at the forefront.”

Aye, aye AI Captain

Photo 3: Brett Phaneuf, Co-Founder of ProMare and Director of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare) (edited)

With its sleek, Star Trek-reminiscent shape, the MAS’s highly stable trimaran hull can skim over the waves at over 10 knots, driven by a solar-powered, hybrid-electric propulsion system. MAS is also fitted with precision inertial navigation, Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) positioning, radar sensors, satellite communications and meteorologic instrumentation.

Built in Poland to ProMare’s specifications, the 5-ton, 15-meter-long vessel incorporates many advanced marine architecture features, all designed to withstand the stresses of extended trips at sea. But there are no bunks or galleys for a captain or crew on this Mayflower. Instead, it is cognitive computing technology from IBM, already proven in other industries, that pilots this new kind of ship and helps keep it on an even keel.

“We needed to go beyond existing technology for unmanned ships to create a vessel that isn’t just operated remotely and doesn’t simply react to the environment, but learns and adapts independently,” says Don Scott, Director of Engineering at the Submergence Group, a ProMare affiliate. “When we conceived this vessel four years ago, I wasn’t sure we were going to be able to host a system like this on a ship. But recent advances, especially in edge computing, have made this possible.”

Brett Phaneuf, Co-Founder of ProMare and Director of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare) (edited)
Don Scott, Director of Engineering at Submergence Group and CTO of MarineAI (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare) (edited)

Photo 4: Don Scott, Director of Engineering at Submergence Group and CTO of MarineAI (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare) (edited)

The onboard “brain” that gives MAS full autonomy — the ability to operate without human intervention — is nicknamed “AI Captain” by the team. Just as any human captain requires years of training before being entrusted with a ship, the MAS’s AI Captain underwent years of training to learn the ropes.

Using inference algorithms and models generated from IBM® Visual Insights computer vision technology, the AI Captain was trained on over one million nautical images so it could recognize ships, debris, bridges, pieces of land and other hazards. IBM Power® Systems servers were used to meet the significant machine learning processing demands required for AI Captain training. Additional math modeling for decision support was provided by IBM CPLEX® Optimizer.

As soon as the AI Captain receives actionable data from on-board cameras, radar, sonar, AIS and other equipment, it draws on IBM’s automated rule management system, called IBM Operational Decision Manager (ODM) to follow International Regulations for Preventing Collisions at Sea (COLREGs) and other seagoing conventions. Widely used across the financial services industry to approve loans and personalize customer offers, ODM provides a transparent record of decision-making processes to avoid “black box” scenarios when it isn’t clear why a particular decision was made.

Photo 5: The Mayflower Autonomous Ship (Credit Oliver Dickinson for IBM/ProMare)

To sense its environment and make smart decisions independently without having to be connected to an onshore computer, MAS has 15 edge computing devices to process data onboard. Decision logic, based on ODM software, also runs as an edge workload on the ship.

All edge devices are orchestrated securely by IBM Edge Application Manager, which deploys software out to the sensors positioned at the edge of the ship. The IBM Maximo® Application Suite provides intelligent asset management and maintenance. “I’ve called MAS the ultimate edge device,” says Scott. “All the cameras are intelligent edge devices. Even the battery management system is an intelligent edge device.”

Once underway, MAS’s AI Captain relies on ODM recommendations and current and forecasted updates from The Weather Company®, an IBM Business, to continuously assess options, steer clear of hazards, make navigation decisions and perform the research mission at hand.

The Mayflower Autonomous Ship (Credit Oliver Dickinson for IBM/ProMare)
A Visualisation of MAS's AI Captain (Credit Birmingham University for IBM/ProMare)

Photo 6: A Visualisation of MAS's AI Captain (Credit Birmingham University for IBM/ProMare)

Keeping all data and applications seamlessly integrated, secure and connected from every edge of the MAS network are IBM Cloud® and IBM Cloud Object Storage, designed to support mission-critical workloads everywhere, even in the middle of the ocean.

A Safety Manager function, running on Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® (external link), also backstops AI Captain decisions to help ensure the safety of MAS and nearby vessels.

As AI Captain training continues and it logs more hours of autonomy at sea, ProMare is already thinking about the future of this technology, even beyond the MAS project. “The nice thing about the software we’re developing for the AI Captain is that it can also be deployed on manned vessels,” says Phaneuf. “It can augment the ability to execute a task and free up the creative part of a person to be a better human, and in this case, be a safer human.”

Sea legs for science and commerce

Photo 7: The Mayflower Autonomous Ship in sea trials, February 2021

Despite disruptions related to the worldwide COVID-19 pandemic, key MAS project milestones were achieved in 2020.Even as the vessel was completing construction, the ProMare and IBM team developed and tested the AI Captain at an R&D station in Plymouth. Jutting into the city’s main harbor from the end of a pier, the R&D station experienced all the action of a ship’s bridge and was crucial in teaching the AI Captain how to recognize and navigate around ships, buoys and other water hazards.

As the vessel’s main and outrigger hulls were transported from Poland to England for final assembly, more detailed work started on the principal purpose of MAS: to gather scientific knowledge about the ocean. The vessel’s modular design includes three science bays where research kits can be snapped in or out, depending on research topics. IBM Research® has developed three initial research projects for MAS: measuring sea levels and wave heights, analyzing the chemical composition of seawater, and listening to whale songs through hydrophones.

“One of the things that really excites me about this project is that we’re going to use technologies I work with every day to revolutionize the way we capture data in the ocean,” says Rosie Lickorish, an IBM researcher and software engineer who also has an ocean research background. “We’re going to use AI, autonomy, robotics and edge computing to create new sensors and devices that allow us to scale far more efficiently how we collect data from the ocean.”

The Mayflower Autonomous Ship (Credit Oliver Dickinson for IBM/ProMare)
The Mayflower Autonomous Ship at Launch, September 2020 (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare)

Photo 8: The Mayflower Autonomous Ship at Launch, September 2020 (Credit Tom Barnes for IBM/ProMare)

The red-letter day in 2020 was September 16th, when the fully assembled MAS vessel was officially named and launched into Plymouth Harbor. Also launched was Mas400.com (external link), a live mission portal that enables the world to follow the MAS project and receive updates on its voyages.

Now that MAS is in the water, the vessel will undergo several months of sea trials and research missions, leading up to its maiden voyage from the UK to the US, scheduled for April 2021. “We’ll be using sensors aboard the ship to calibrate readings [from satellites and near-shore sensors],” says Lickorish. “That’s going to provide us with valuable information for things like shipping and ports.”

Lessons learned from MAS will not only have scientific value but will also drive practical and sustainable advances for many organizations that operate on or near the ocean, such as shipping and logistics, oil and gas exploration, and security and defense-related industries.

“While the autonomous shipping market is set to grow from USD 90 billion today to over USD 130 billion by 2030, many of today’s autonomous ships are really just automated — robots which do not dynamically adapt to new situations and rely heavily on operator override,” says Scott. “Using an integrated set of IBM’s AI, cloud and edge technologies, we are aiming to give the Mayflower the ability to operate independently in some of the most challenging circumstances on the planet.”

While the countdown continues to the start of MAS’s 3,220-mile UK-to-US voyage in the spring of 2021, ProMare has plans to go further. “We’re going to go to the Arctic and we’re thinking about global circumnavigation,” says Phaneuf. “We’ll continue to use MAS as a platform for many years into the future, and hopefully, she will inspire the next generation of ships as well.”

As April 2021 draws closer, Phaneuf and his team think about the original Mayflower crossing and share many of the same hopes and fears the Pilgrims felt when they embarked into the unknown. “I think what we have most in common with them is we’re not sure we’re going to make it either. But we’re willing to take the risk,” says Phaneuf. “I focus on getting the resources we need with the help of our team, and IBM in particular. I don’t think I will relax at all until MAS crosses the ocean and parks in Plymouth, Massachusetts.”

ProMare logo

About ProMare

Established in 2001 to promote marine research and exploration, ProMareExternal Link is a nonprofit corporation and a 501(c)(3) charity based in Chester, Connecticut. Its team of experienced archaeologists and marine professionals execute research projects independently and with academic, corporate, public and governmental organizations to advance knowledge of ocean-related history and science.

Solution components
ProMare logo

About ProMare

Established in 2001 to promote marine research and exploration, ProMareExternal Link is a nonprofit corporation and a 501(c)(3) charity based in Chester, Connecticut. Its team of experienced archaeologists and marine professionals execute research projects independently and with academic, corporate, public and governmental organizations to advance knowledge of ocean-related history and science.

Solution components