什么是 IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions?

IBM Cloud™ for VMware Solutions 让您的组织能够更轻松地利用云的巨大潜力。将 VMware 工作负载迁移到 IBM Cloud,同时利用内部环境的现有工具、技术和技能。与 Red Hat® Openshift® 的集成和由此实现的自动化,帮助通过诸如 AI、分析之类的服务加速创新。 

什么是 IBM Cloud VMware Solutions Shared (IC4V Shared)?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Shared (IC4V Shared) 利用 VMware Cloud Director,支持您将虚拟机迁移至具有极致容量和可扩展性的云,同时仅按使用付费。交由 IBM 管理基础架构乃至系统管理程序,让您无需担心更新和补丁的管理问题,能够集中精力开展应用创新。 

什么是 IBM Cloud VMware Solutions Dedicated (IC4V Dedicated)?

此解决方案为单租户基础架构提供更高级别的隔离,以增强安全性和合规性。IBM Cloud VMware Solutions Dedicated (IC4V Dedicated) 面向希望保留对更新和补丁管理的控制权的组织,因为系统管理程序将由您全权掌控。 

现在 IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 在哪些地方提供?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Dedicated 在以下地方提供:北美西部(圣何塞)、北美南部(达拉斯和克雷塔罗)、北美东部(蒙特利尔、多伦多和华盛顿特区)、南美(圣保罗)、欧洲(法兰克福、阿姆斯特丹、伦敦、米兰、奥斯陆和巴黎)和亚太地区(金奈、香港、墨尔本、悉尼、新加坡、首尔和东京)。

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Shared 在北美南部(达拉斯)提供,并计划于 2020 年下半年在欧洲推出。 

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 获得了哪些合规性认证?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Dedicated 已获得 HIPAA 认证、GDPR 认证和 Privacy Shield 认证。 IC4V Dedicated 也已经过独立验证,符合 SOC1 Type 2、SOC2 Type 2、SOC3 以及 ISO 27001、27017 和 27018 的要求。

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Shared 已获得 GDPR 认证和 Privacy Shield 认证。IC4V Shared 也已经过独立验证,符合 ISO 27001、27017 和 27018 的要求。

有关 IBM Cloud 合规性计划的更多信息,请访问此 Web 页面。 

使用 IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 能够获得哪些好处?

IBM Cloud 是全球安全系数最高的企业级云平台,专为 VMware 工作负载打造。 

  • 与本地相同的可视性、控制力和操作一致性,支持系统管理程序根目录级别的访问
  • 适当大小的基础架构和性能,具有 100 多种适用于 VMware 的裸机配置,同时通过支持在专用网络中免费传输数据,可降低总体拥有成本
  • 凭借高可用性架构,在虚拟机级别实现 99.99% 的正常运行时间,而且是唯一使用 SAP 认证服务器且适用于 VMware 工作负载的云平台
  • 利用 Red Hat OpenShift 和 PaaS 将虚拟机和容器中的 VMware 工作负载实现现代化
  • 使用 FIPS 140-2 Level 4 和“自带密钥”,拥有最高的密钥管理加密级别
  • 全球最大的 VMware 工作负载运营商之一,在 VMware 技术方面拥有 15 年的丰富经验和深厚的专业知识

VMware 解决方案捆绑软件如何获得许可?

每个 IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 都拥有一组部署选项,以及自主管理或托管选项。这些捆绑软件的基础架构、软件和支持全都包含在月度订购价格中。无需签订合同,您可以随时扩大或缩小需求。 

 在自主管理选项中,您可以通过按月订购模式租用 VMware 许可,也可以从现有的 ELA 自带许可。从 IBM Cloud 租用的许可通过按月订购模式提供,并按物理 CPU 计费,价格极为优惠。

在托管选项中,VMware 许可包含在整个解决方案的价格中。该解决方案在多租户基础架构上运行,可以通过高度可扩展的小时模式使用。

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 提供哪些使用模式?

IC4V Shared 提供两种使用模式:“随需应变”和“保留”。通过“随需应变”模式,将按需向用户提供计算资源,并按小时计费。此模式最适合于短期使用的虚拟机或波动的容量需求,比如云爆发和非关键灾难恢复工作负载。 

通过“保留”模式,客户可以通过按月计费模式中的提前预留来保留其计算容量需求,从而保证资源的可用性。对于“随需应变”和“保留”使用模式,除计算资源外,所有资源(比如存储和外出)都按实际使用量收费。

是否需要重新培训员工或更换工具?

不需要,IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 提供对 VMware 堆栈的完全本地访问。  客户可以在本地和云端之间迁移工作负载,无需更换应用、工具、脚本或投资新的资源或新技能。 

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 是否比其他云提供商的价格更高?

与其他云提供商相比,IBM Cloud 提供灵活的定价。  例如,IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 提供无承诺的按月定价,而 AWS 上的 VMC 提供按小时随需应变、1 年期和 3 年期的承诺定价。  另外,在 IBM Cloud 中可以免费进行数据传输。

此外,IBM Cloud 为 VMware 工作负载提供专用或多租户基础架构,为客户提供在适当环境中高效运行所有类型的工作负载(包括开发/测试和任务关键型工作负载)的灵活性。

如果我已经使用 AWS、Azure 或 GCP 等云平台,为什么还要迁移到另一个云?

很高兴知道您已经在使用公共云资源。IBM Cloud 具有许多关键优势,使其不同于其他云产品。  例如: 

  • 业界最高的数据安全认证,提供“保管您自己的密钥”(KYOK)。
  • 免费通过 IBM 专用网络在数据中心之间迁移数据
  • 将网络流量拆分为三股(专用、公有和管理),拥有更强大的数据安全性   
  • 与某些竞争对手不同的是,IBM 不使用客户数据来训练 AI 模型
  • 世界一流的统一云用户界面 

我为什么不直接通过 VMware 将工作负载迁移到云并使其实现现代化?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 由 VMware 参与设计,是针对 VMware 工作负载构建的首个云解决方案。 现在,您仍然可以联系您的 VMware 销售代表,询问有关 IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions 的信息。

IBM 是否提供托管服务?

是的!您可以与 IBM Cloud Professional Services 团队合作,在裸机服务器上设计、加速和实施 VMware 解决方案。无论您在实施、工作负载迁移或完全托管的环境方面是否需要帮助,IBM Cloud Professional Services 团队都可以帮助满足您的需求。IBM Cloud 可以成为您的现有数据中心的延伸。 

入门

在 IBM Cloud 控制台中的 VMware 页面上查找其他产品详细信息,并开始配置。

脚注

VMware 是 VMware, Inc. 或其附属公司在美国和/或其他管辖区域的注册商标。

Red Hat® 和 OpenShift® 是 Red Hat,Inc. 或其附属公司在美国和其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。 

Next Steps

* IBM 云计算服务由 IBM 美国公司在中国境外提供给客户使用,某项具体服务的可用性将受限于您所在国家法律、法规的监管要求。

Frequently asked questions

What is IBM Cloud VMware Solutions Shared (IC4V Shared)?

IBM Cloud® for VMware Solutions Shared (IC4V Shared) used VMware Cloud Director to enable you to extend your VMs to the cloud with ultimate capacity and scalability, while paying only for what is consumed. With IBM managing the infrastructure up to the hypervisor, you don’t need to worry about providing updates and patching, and instead can focus on application innovation.

What is IBM Cloud VMware Solutions Dedicated (IC4V Dedicated)?

This solution provides single-tenant infrastructure with higher levels of isolation for enhanced security and compliance readiness. IBM Cloud VMware Solutions Dedicated (IC4V Dedicated) is for organizations looking to retain control of managing updates and patching since you'll have full control up the hypervisor. 

Where is IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions available today?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Dedicated is available in North America West (San Jose); North America South (Dallas and Queretaro); North America East (Montreal, Toronto and Washington DC); South America (Sao Paulo); Europe (Frankfurt, Amsterdam, London, Milan, Oslo and Paris); and Asia Pacific (Chennai, Hong Kong, Melbourne, Sydney, Singapore, Seoul and Tokyo).

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Shared is available in North America South (Dallas) with plans to be available in Europe in 2H 2020.

What compliance certifications has IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions achieved?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Dedicated is HIPAA-ready, GDPR-ready, and Privacy-Shield-Certified. IC4V Dedicated has also been independently verified and complies with SOC1 Type 2, SOC2 Type 2, SOC3 as well as ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018.

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions Shared is GDPR-ready and Privacy-Shield-Certified. IC4V Shared has also been independently verified and complies with ISO 27001, 27017 and 27018.

For more information regarding the IBM Cloud compliance program, please visit this webpage

What benefits do I get with IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions?

IBM Cloud is the most secure, enterprise-grade cloud at global scale for VMware workloads. 

  • Get the same level of visibility, control and operational consistency as on premises with hypervisor root level access.
  • Provide right-size infrastructure and performance with 100+ bare metal configs for VMware while reducing TCO with no-cost data transfer within private network.
  • Achieve 99.99% uptime at the VM level with high-availability architecture, and only cloud with SAP-certified servers for VMware workloads.
  • Modernize VMware workloads with Red Hat® OpenShift® and PaaS across virtual machines (VMs) and containers.
  • Operate with the highest level key management encryption with FIPS 140-2 Level 4 and “keep your own keys” (KYOK).
  • Run with one of the world’s largest operators of VMware workloads with 15 years of experience and expertise with VMware technologies.

How are VMware solution bundles licensed?

Each of the IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions is available with an array of deployment options, as well as self-managed or managed options. Infrastructure, software and support for these bundles are all included in the monthly subscription price. No contracts are necessary, and you can scale up or down at any time.

In the self-managed option, you can rent VMware licenses on a monthly subscription basis or bring your own licenses from an existing ELA. Licenses rented from IBM Cloud are offered on a monthly subscription and metered per physical CPU for extremely advantageous pricing.

In the managed option, VMware licenses are baked into the price of the solution. The solution runs on multi-tenant infrastructure and can be consumed in a highly scalable hourly model.

What are consumption models for IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions?

IC4V Shared is offered in two consumption models: On-Demand and Reserved. With "On- Demand," compute resources are made available to users on an as-needed basis and billed hourly. This model is a best fit for VMs that are consumed for a short period of time or for fluctuating capacity needs like cloud bursting and non-critical DR workloads.

With "Reserved," clients can reserve their compute capacity needs with an up-front reservation in a monthly billing model, guaranteeing the availability of resources. Other than compute, all resources such as storage and egress are charged as per actual usage for both "On-Demand" and "Reserved" consumption models.

Do I have to retrain my staff or change my tools?

No, IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions provides full native access to the VMware stack. Clients can move workloads to and from the cloud without changing apps, tooling, scripts — or investing in new resources or skills.

Is IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions expensive compared to other cloud providers?

IBM Cloud provides flexible pricing compared to other cloud providers. For example, IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions offers monthly pricing with no commitments, whereas VMC on AWS offers on-demand hourly, 1-year and 3-year commitment pricing. Plus, data transfer within IBM Cloud is free.

Additionally, IBM Cloud offers dedicated or multi-tenant infrastructure for VMware workloads, providing clients the flexibility to cost-efficiently run all types of workloads from dev and test to mission-critical in an appropriate environment.

Why should I move to another cloud when I already use AWS, Azure, GCP or others?

It’s great to know that you are using public cloud resources. IBM Cloud has a number of key differentiators that set it apart from other clouds. Examples:

  • Provides highest data security certification in the industry with KYOK
  • Offers no-cost data movement across data centers over the IBM private network
  • Delivers stronger data security, which splits network traffic into three streams (private, public and management)   
  • Unlike some of our competitors, IBM doesn't use customers' data to train our AI model
  • Award-winning unified cloud user interface

Why don’t I go directly to VMware to migrate and modernize my workloads to the cloud?

IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions was jointly engineered with VMware and was the first cloud solution built for VMware workloads. You can still go to your VMware sales representative today to ask about IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions.

Does IBM offer managed services?

Yes. You can work with the IBM Cloud Professional Services team to design, accelerate and implement VMware solutions on bare metal servers. Whether you need help with implementation, workload migration or a fully managed environment, the IBM Cloud Professional Services team can help meet your needs. IBM Cloud becomes an extension of your existing data centers.

Get started

Ready to try IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions?