主页 Case Studies Winterhalter 数字化转型推动洗碗的创新
制造商 Winterhalter 在 IBM® Power10 和 IBM® FlashSystem 上选择 SAP S/4HANA 来实现下一代性能
下载 PDF
洗碗机里杯子的 GIF

Winterhalter 洗碗系统遍布全球的商业厨房,该公司的最新产品依靠软件和连接性来提供创新功能,例如按洗付费和互联洗涤。为了通过高度可持续的解决方案取得令人瞩目的成果,Winterhalter 希望基于高性能 IT 开发新的业务模式,并加速其数字化转型。

Winterhalter 以质量和服务而闻名,专注于创造卓越、产品性能和可持续性,多年来依靠在 IBM Power 服务器上运行的 SAP 软件来推动其复杂的业务运营。

IT 和运营总监 Erhard Klein 说:“我们最著名的洗碗机可能是慕尼黑啤酒节上能见到‘Bavaria’。除了机器之外,Winterhalter 还生产消耗品和水处理系统,该公司致力于开发资源节约型、可持续的清洗解决方案。”

在制造方面,Winterhalter 希望更深入地了解生产效率。为了加强基础,为数据驱动型未来做好准备,该公司希望更新其任务关键型 IT 基础设施。此外,考虑到企业的可持续发展承诺,该团队正在寻找降低能源消耗、减少碳足迹和提高运营绩效的方法。

多年来,Winterhalter 对其 SAP 系统进行了广泛的定制。Erhard Klein 评论道:“我们专注于高数据质量,以推动运营、提高自动化程度并优化生产。我们之所以选择 SAP 解决方案,是因为我们可以将我们的企业理念融入最佳实践中,从而帮助我们在竞争中脱颖而出。”

凭借 420 个虚拟系统和大约 40 个核心的 SAP 系统,再加上大量的定制功能,Winterhalter 研究了将其 SAP ERP 环境迁移到 SAP S/4HANA 的方法,并聘请了其长期服务提供商、IBM 合作伙伴 BLUE Consult 来提供协助。

>80% 五年中节能

与基于 Intel 的服务器相比,运行 IBM Power10

40% 减少服务器数量

与以前的系统相比

我们已将服务器环境从 7 台服务器整合到 4 台服务器,提高了性能和容量,同时将能耗降低了近 50%。此外我们计算出与基于 Intel 的替代方案相比,五年中可节省 80% 以上的能源。 Erhard Klein IT 和运营总监 Winterhalter
简洁、可扩展的架构

Winterhalter 和 BLUE Consult 审查了云和本地部署解决方案的选项。在平衡成本和性能要求后,该团队决定不采用云订阅模式。此外,Winterhalter 还考虑了管理工作量、熟练 IT 人员的可能可用性,以及或许难以在软件即服务平台上复制的 SAP ERP 应用程序的自定义。

“Winterhalter 是一家家族企业,我们喜欢独立自主地选择我们最喜欢的解决方案和合作伙伴。”Erhard Klein 评论道。“我们会考虑五年内的总拥有成本,并基于 Winterhalter 利益投资于正确的战略。”

在 BLUE Consult 的建议下,Winterhalter 选择迁移到 SAP S/4HANA,在本地实施并在两个数据中心的 IBM Power10 服务器上运行。

Erhard Klein 解释道:“多年来,我们一直在 IBM Power 服务器上运行现有的 SAP 解决方案,提供了全面的可靠性和弹性,并且随着工作负载的增长,我们能够进行扩展。基于这些经验,我们选择了配备最新 IBM Power10 处理器的全新 IBM Power L1024 服务器,以提供当今的性能和满足未来 SAP S/4HANA 需求的容量。”

Winterhalter 平均分布在两个数据中心,部署了 4 台 IBM Power L1024 服务器和 4 个 IBM® SAN Volume Controller 节点,以支持高可用性存储虚拟化,并配有 2 个 IBM FlashSystem 7300IBM FlashSystem 5015 存储系统。

Erhard Klein 评论道:“在能耗、性能、物理空间和可靠性方面,IBM FlashSystem 无可替代。Winterhalter 运营 IBM FlashSystem 已超过五年,我们对过去的体验非常满意。”

此时,每台服务器有 24 个活动的 Power10 处理器内核和 8 TB 内存,该解决方案完全能够处理当前的工作负载。

“与 Power Platform 上的 SAP HANA 的协同作用让我们轻松做出了选择 IBM FlashSystem 的决定。在很小的占地面积内进行重复数据删除、压缩和预测分析确实非常有吸引力。随着未来市场需求的变化灵活地扩展以满足数据增长也是一个重要因素。”Erhard Klein 解释道。

“与 BLUE Consult 合作完成我们新的 IBM Power10 解决方案的部署,是经过精心规划和专业实施的。如果我们在未来五年内需要更高的性能,我们可以通过添加服务器来轻松实现经济高效的横向扩展,从而在必要时实现简单快速的扩张。”Erhard Klein 解释道。

通过与 BLUE Consult 和 IBM 合作,我们能够基于可靠、高效的 IBM Power10 服务器设计出完全适合我们的 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案,具有低碳足迹、高性能和面向未来的灵活容量。 Erhard Klein IT 和运营总监 Winterhalter
可持续生产,可持续产品

通过迁移到 IBM Power10 服务器上的 SAP S/4HANA,Winterhalter 提高了运营工作效率并制定了未来五年的战略。

“我们已将服务器环境从 7 台服务器整合到 4 台服务器,提高了性能和容量,同时将能耗降低了近 50%。此外我们计算出与基于 Intel 的替代方案相比,五年中可节省 80% 以上的能源。”

对于内存密集型 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案,IBM Power10 平台在处理和内存容量方面实现了飞跃。Erhard Klein 说道:“借助 IBM Power10,我们的每核可用内存增加了近两倍,而且通过采用数量更少、功能更强大的处理器,我们可以在提升性能的同时降低许可成本。这是一项了不起的进展,对于 SAP HANA 工作负载而言更是如此。”

选择一个可扩展且面向未来的基础架构平台对于 Winterhalter 转向 SAP S/4HANA 至关重要。BLUE Consult 在向 IBM Power10 平台过渡的过程中也发挥了关键作用。“BLUE Consult 的支持至关重要而且非常宝贵。”Erhard Klein 解释道。“由于对 SAP ECC 的支持即将结束,许多公司将开始争夺顾问和技术基础架构等有限的资源。我的建议是,企业昨天就应该启动 SAP S/4HANA 计划!"

Erhard Klein 总结道:“BLUE Consult 和 IBM 能够为 Winterhalter 设计出完全合适的解决方案,该解决方案基于高度可靠和高效的 IBM Power10 服务器,具有低碳足迹、卓越的性能以及面向未来的灵活和可扩展容量。”

Winterhalter 徽标
关于 Winterhalter

Winterhalter(ibm.com 外部链接)生产专为商业厨房设计的洗碗系统,从独立设备到大容量输送机一应俱全。该公司成立于 1947 年,总部位于德国梅肯博伊伦,拥有 2,000 多名员工,通过 40 家子公司在 70 个国家/地区销售设备,年收入超过 4 亿欧元。

Blue Consult 徽标
关于 BLUE Consult

BLUE Consult(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于德国克雷费尔德,提供从基础设施架构到数字工作场所的全面的 IT 服务和业务解决方案。该公司的咨询服务和解决方案侧重于其贸易、工业和公共部门客户面临的独特挑战。当然,实现业务成果至关重要,这需要借助先进的技术,当然也不能忽视成本效益和可持续性。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Genossenschaft Migros Zürich

Migros Zürich 向 IBM 合作伙伴 Bechtle 求助,以期能简化运营并优化 SAP 应用程序备份。了解其如何利用 IBM Power10、IBM Storage Protect 和 IBM FlashSystem 来降低成本、提高零售效率并最大限度地提升业务弹性。

阅读成功案例
Bosch Group

Bosch 正在过渡到 IBM Power10 服务器,性能提升高达 75%,有助于实现其气候目标

阅读成功案例
BanFast Förvaltning AB

BanFast 与 Edsvärd Hållbarhet 开展合作,利用 IBM® Envizi ESG Suite 来简化并加速可持续发展报告,以期获得针对可持续发展绩效的新洞察,同时将其整个产品组合的能源使用量减少 50%。

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2023 年 12 月于美国出品。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 和 Power® 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Digital transformation drives dishwashing innovation
Manufacturer Winterhalter chooses SAP S/4HANA on IBM Power10 and IBM FlashSystem to enable next-generation performance
Download PDF
GIF conversion of mov file on DAM, UUCID : 06e2f56c0cbab17e for use in as case study leadspace image

Winterhalter dishwashing systems can be found in commercial kitchens worldwide – and the company’s newest products use software and connectivity to offer innovative features such as pay-per-wash and connected wash. To deliver sparkling results from highly sustainable solutions, Winterhalter wanted to develop new business models and accelerate its digital transformation, based on high-performance IT.

With a reputation for quality and service, Winterhalter focuses on manufacturing excellence, product performance, and sustainability, relying on SAP software running on IBM Power servers for many years to drive its complex business operations.

Erhard Klein, Director of IT & Operations, says, “Our most-famous dishwasher is probably the ‘Bavaria,’ seen at the Munich Oktoberfest. As well as the machines, Winterhalter also manufactures consumables and water treatment systems, and the company is committed to developing resource-saving, sustainable washing solutions.”

On the manufacturing side, Winterhalter wanted to gain even greater insight into production efficiency. To strengthen the foundation for its data-driven future, it wanted to refresh its mission-critical IT infrastructure. In addition, with corporate sustainability commitments in mind, the team looked for ways to cut power consumption, reduce carbon footprint, and enhance operational performance.

Over the years, Winterhalter has extensively tailored its SAP systems. Erhard Klein comments, “We focus on high data quality to drive operations, increase automation, and optimize production. We chose SAP solutions because we could embed our corporate philosophy into best practices, to help set us apart from the competition.”

With 420 virtual systems and about 40 core SAP systems, combined with significant customization, Winterhalter looked at ways to move its SAP ERP landscape to SAP S/4HANA, and engaged its long-standing service provider BLUE Consult, an IBM Business Partner, to assist.

>80% energy saving over five years

by running IBM Power10 compared with Intel-based servers

40% reduction in server numbers

compared with the previous systems

We have consolidated our server landscape from seven to four servers, increased performance and capacity, and yet cut energy consumption by almost fifty per cent. In addition, we calculated more than 80 per cent savings on energy over five years when compared with Intel-based alternatives. Erhard Klein Director of IT & Operations Winterhalter
Clean, scalable architecture

Winterhalter and BLUE Consult reviewed options for cloud and on-premises solutions. Balancing the costs and performance requirements, the team decided against the cloud subscription model. Further, Winterhalter considered administration workload, likely availability of skilled IT personnel, and the customizations of its SAP ERP application that might be difficult to replicate on a software-as-a-service platform.

“Winterhalter is a family-owned business, and we like to make independent choices, selecting the solutions and the partners we prefer best,” comments Erhard Klein. “We consider the total cost of ownership over five years and invest in the right strategy for Winterhalter.”

Advised by BLUE Consult, Winterhalter chose to make the move to SAP S/4HANA, implemented on premises, running on IBM Power10 servers in two data centers.

“We have been running our existing SAP solutions on IBM Power servers for many years, delivering total reliability and resilience, and we were able to scale up as the workload grew,” explains Erhard Klein. “Based on that experience, we selected the new IBM Power L1024 servers with the latest IBM Power10 processors to deliver both today’s performance and the capacity for future SAP S/4HANA demands.”

Divided evenly across two data centers, Winterhalter deployed four IBM Power L1024 servers, four IBM SAN Volume Controller nodes to support highly available storage virtualization in combination with two IBM FlashSystem 7300 and IBM FlashSystem 5015 storage systems.

Erhard Klein comments, “There is no alternative to IBM FlashSystem in terms of energy consumption, performance, physical space, and reliability. Winterhalter has been operating IBM FlashSystem for more than five years, and we are very happy with our experience.”

At this point, with 24 active Power10 processor cores and 8 TB of memory in each server, the solution is more than capable of handling the current workload.

“Synergy with SAP HANA on the Power Platform made our decision to choose IBM FlashSystem easy. Data deduplication, compression, and predictive analytics in a very small footprint is really very attractive. Flexibility to expand for data growth as future market requirements shift was also an important factor,” explains Erhard Klein.

“Working with BLUE Consult the deployment of our new IBM Power10 solution was carefully planned and expertly implemented. And should we need additional performance in the coming five years, we can easily scale out cost-efficiently by adding servers to enable simple and rapid expansion if necessary,” explains Erhard Klein.

Working with BLUE Consult and IBM, we were able to design exactly the right SAP S/4HANA solution for us based on reliable and efficient IBM Power10 servers, with low carbon footprint, high performance, and flexible capacity for the future. Erhard Klein Director of IT & Operations Winterhalter
Sustainable production, sustainable products

By moving to SAP S/4HANA on IBM Power10 servers, Winterhalter has transformed its operational productivity, and set its strategy for the next five years.

“We have consolidated our server landscape from seven to four servers, increased performance and capacity, and yet cut energy consumption by almost fifty per cent. In addition, we calculated more than 80 per cent savings on energy over five years when compared with Intel-based alternatives.”

For the memory-intensive SAP S/4HANA solutions, the IBM Power10 platform provides a step-change in processing and memory capacity, says Erhard Klein: “With IBM Power10 we have nearly three times the memory available per core, and yet with fewer, more-powerful processors we can reduce license costs even as we improve performance. This is an outstanding development, especially for SAP HANA workloads.”

Choosing a scalable and future-proof infrastructure platform was essential for Winterhalter’s move to SAP S/4HANA. BLUE Consult played a key role in the transition to the IBM Power10 platform, too. “Support from BLUE Consult was essential, and extremely valuable,” explains Erhard Klein. “As support for SAP ECC will end soon, many companies will compete for limited resources in the form of consultants and technical infrastructure. My advice is that companies should start their SAP S/4HANA plans yesterday!”

Erhard Klein concludes, “BLUE Consult and IBM were able to design exactly the right solution for Winterhalter, based on highly reliable and efficient IBM Power10 servers, with low carbon footprint, excellent performance, and flexible and scalable capacity for the future.”

upload logo Winterhalter for case study
About Winterhalter

Winterhalter manufactures dishwashing systems, from standalone units to high-capacity conveyors, designed for commercial kitchens. Founded in 1947 and headquartered in Meckenbeuren, Germany, the company employs more than 2,000 people, sells equipment in 70 countries through 40 subsidiaries, and generates annual revenues of more than EUR 400 million.

upload BP logo Blue Consult for use in case study Winterhalter
About BLUE Consult

Based in Krefeld, Germany, BLUE Consult offers a comprehensive range of IT services and business solutions, from infrastructure architecture to the digital workplace. The company’s consulting services and solutions are focused on the individual challenges of its customers in trade, industry, and the public sector. Naturally, achieving business results is of great importance, enabled by advanced technology, and of course without forgetting cost efficiency and sustainability.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more stories Contact IBM Genossenschaft Migros Zürich

Migros Zürich turned to IBM Business Partner Bechtle to streamline operations and optimize SAP application backups. Discover how they cut costs, boosted retail efficiency and maximized business resiliency with IBM Power10, IBM Storage Protect and IBM FlashSystem.

Read the case study
Bosch Group

Bosch is transitioning to IBM Power10 servers, with up to 75% performance gains that support climate ambitions

Read the case study
BanFast Förvaltning AB

BanFast works with Edsvärd Hållbarhet to streamline and accelerate sustainability reporting with IBM® Envizi™ ESG Suite, aiming to gain new insights into sustainability performance and reduce energy usage by 50% across its portfolio.

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, December 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and Power® are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.