面向每个人的 AI
Bouygues Telecom 通过在 AWS 上扩展 AI 实现快速创新
让 AI 服务于电信客户服务 订阅 AI 洞察
一个人在智能手机上使用移动应用程序的裁剪镜头

Bouygues Telecom 的创新使其在法国通信服务提供商 (CSP) 中脱颖而出。从 1996 年 Bouygues Telecom 提供法国首个短消息服务 (SMS),到今天引领在全法建立固定和移动 5G 基础设施,公司一直在率先将许多技术进步引入市场。

Bouygues Telecom 还专注于在其组织内部实现创新,最近则是通过在整个企业中加速采用 AI 来实现创新。为此,公司与 IBM Consulting 合作开展了一项多阶段计划,使所有业务和 IT 职能部门能够创建、开发、部署自己的云原生 AI 应用程序。

“AI 开始变得无处不在,我们不想错过这班车。此外,作为一家 CSP,我们可以访问大量有趣、有价值的数据,”Bouygues Telecom 的 IT 创新主管 Romain Dutot 解释说。“我们知道,如果我们不使用数据和 AI 来改善我们的业务,几年后我们的竞争对手就会这样做并占据优势。”

通过帮助团队将 AI 功能注入其流程和运营,公司可以更有效地生成切实可行的洞察,用以改进决策、加速工作流程、提高效率和推出新服务。

解决方案组件

IBM Consulting

IBM Consulting for AI at Scale

AWS 咨询服务

IBM Enterprise Design Thinking

IBM Garage™

更快上线

 

4 个月内,将 4 个云原生 AI 应用程序从概念扩展到生产应用。

部署速度更快

 

已部署新的 AI 应用程序来分类 B2B 潜在客户,在 2 周内显著节省成本。

AI 不再是实验课题。现在所有人都已经为 AI 做好了准备,这完全改变了我们的游戏规则。 Romain Dutot IT 创新领导者 Bouygues Telecom
从 AI 构思到生产应用

Bouygues Telecom 已经通过开发一些简单的一次性应用程序(例如用于聊天机器人和文本分析的应用程序)来实验 AI/机器学习 (ML) 模型。然而,用于开发这些模型的概念验证 (POC) 方法与企业 IT 标准不一致,无法支持全面生产应用。此外,许多业务线 (LOB) 和 IT 经理无法想象如何最好地利用 AI,并且犹豫是否应花时间帮助开发解决方案。

公司需要有效地让管理人员参与头脑风暴,讨论可行的 AI 用例。公司还需要一种统一、集成的方法来扩展 AI 解决方案,使其超越实验范围。换句话说,如果 Bouygues Telecom 想要推动企业创新,就必须使 AI 的使用完全民主化。

然而公司员工缺乏深入的 AI 知识和技能。“我们知道我们必须行动快速而且坚定,为我们的公司构建一个全局性的 AI 产品。然而, AI 是一个非常特殊的领域,不仅需要技术,还需要管理、构思和设计技能。”Dutot 说道。

为了快速推动 AI 的采用,Bouygues Telecom 在寻找一家拥有深厚的多供应商 AI 专业知识和经验的咨询公司。公司的 IT 环境复杂,具有众多的数据系统和治理要求。顾问们需要支持 Bouygues Telecom 不断发展的多云战略,让团队可以根据部门和应用程序需求,灵活地选择云和 AI 提供商。

AWS 上可持续且经济实惠的 AI

Bouygues Telecom 选择了 IBM。作为道德 AI 领域的领导者,IBM 采用开放技术、协作方式进行数字化转型,并拥有经验丰富的数据科学家。此外,IBM 还提供 IBM Consulting for AI at Scale 服务,这是一种全面的“从咨询到运营”的方法,可在整个企业范围内有效扩展 AI。该产品通过提供用于创建和扩展 AI 解决方案的框架、方法、资产和技术,引导企业踏上 AI 之旅,从最小可行产品 (MVP) 到生产,快速实现价值。

AI at Scale 服务集成了 AI 设计、道德、数据科学、架构和工程,可帮助企业持续将 AI/ML PoC 和其他经过测试的模型,集成和扩展到生产中,然后随着时间的推移不断修改和优化这些模型。这一服务中的元素还包括帮助企业发展 AI 文化和治理。为了构建这个项目,团队采用了 IBM Garage™ 方法,这是一套指导公司设计、构建、扩展端到端转型解决方案的成熟实践。IBM 共同设计了定制数据和 AI 参考架构,涵盖多个云场景,可扩展到 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 云以及其他云/本地平台上的所有 AI 和数据项目。

在 Bouygues Telecom 实现 AI 使用民主化的举措,始于由企业创新团队领导的 AI Boost 计划,创新团队的任务是通过创建九个云原生 AI 应用程序的 MVP,证明 AI 的价值。创新团队还提供培训,以推动整个企业围绕 AI 和数据的文化转型。

为了激发 MVP 点子,Bouygues Telecom 参加了多个 IBM Enterprise Design Thinking 研讨会,其中顾问与创新团队和几位 LOB 经理举行了头脑风暴会议。

“要想象能用 AI 实现什么,可能相当困难,需要特定的技能和方法。IBM Garage 方法确实有助于加速构思过程。”Dutot 说。IBM 顾问还按照敏捷原则,协助快速构建 MVP。

创新团队成功完成 AI Boost 项目后,公司就准备好了迈出超越实验的一步。此时,IT 创新部门加紧在整个组织内实施和扩展 AI 功能,包括为公司制定大规模 AI 标准。作为一个测试和扩展新技术的小团队,IT 创新部门本可以选择与另一家咨询公司合作,但他们希望与 IBM 保持合作势头。

“IBM 在 AI Boost 项目中做得非常出色。我们希望在短短几个月内扩展一些 MVP,并推出一些新的 MVP,但我们不想从头开始。我们希望加快这一进程,而 IBM 是完美的合作伙伴。”Dutot 说。

将数据转化为洞察力

IT 创新团队制定了几个目标,以实现成功的 AI 转型:

  • 建立企业级 AI 所需的关键功能
  • 快速试验和试点 AI 解决方案,以大规模推动业务价值创造
  • 利用 AI 加快价值实现,同时最大限度降低运营风险
  • 构建开放、可扩展、经济高效且高度安全的基础架构
  • 提高 IT 和业务团队的 AI 人才技能

借助 AI 规模化框架和 IBM Garage 方法,创新团队成功地协同设计并构建了一个 AI 平台,可实现 AI 和数据服务的快速培训、测试和部署。平台采用定制的参考架构,集成一流的外部服务,支持标准化的 IT 流程、各种数据系统和多种云部署方案。

接下来,创新团队为九个 MVP 中的两个以及平台上的两个新项目开发了企业级云原生 AI 解决方案。他们还确定了五个先前开发的 AI 解决方案,这些解决方案可能会迁移到该平台。

Bouygues Telecom 大规模部署的首个 AI 应用程序,通过自动检测系统输入中的不一致情况,帮助财务部门提高了运营效率。以前,部门员工经常采用人工流程来审查会计流程。在这些审查中,他们经常发现向业务伙伴发送的大量重复账单,或收到的重复付款。现在,员工依靠发票验证应用程序,自动查找日常会计差异。

“Bouygues Telecom 是一家拥有多个分包商的大公司,我们的计费相当复杂。检测不一致很重要,但很耗时。”Dutot 说。 “现在, AI 应用程序会告诉员工哪些发票看起来有问题。这直接为我们的员工节省了时间。”

另一个 AI 应用程序使用 Bouygues Telecom 网站上的在线表格,对潜在业务联系人提交的信息进行快速分类和鉴定。该表格旨在吸引新的 B2B 潜在客户。但是,非业务潜在客户经常使用该表格,提交与 B2B 客户中心无关的请求。使用新的 AI 应用程序,资质呼叫中心可以自动滤除不相关的信息,加快销售团队发展潜在客户的速度,并大幅降低 Bouygues Telecom 的成本。

更快实现价值

Bouygues Telecom 与 IBM 合作,在短短四个月内将其前四个云原生 AI 应用程序从概念扩展到生产应用。这些应用程序迅速创造了价值。例如,在部署后的两周内,用于对 B2B 潜在客户进行分类的 AI 应用程序显著降低了相关成本和时间。

“四个月对我们来说是极短的时间,对很多公司来说也是如此。实现价值的时间对于 AI 项目创造商业价值至关重要。”Dutot 说。

Dutot 还发现,AI at Scale 框架为他的小团队提供了急需的灵活性。“该框架帮助我们了解扩展 AI 所需的工作量,以及我们需要采取的步骤,”他说。“我们没有选择一次性完成所有工作,而是根据 Bouygues Telecom 的优先事项逐步进行。”

借助 AWS 上的新 AI 平台,Bouygues Telecom 公司不仅能更快地开发 POC 模型,并将其扩展到生产,还能最大限度地降低成本和风险。此外,它还可以让数据科学家将更多时间花在复杂、高价值的 AI 项目上,而不是推出独立的低价值解决方案,从而让他们能以更高的效率、目的性和满意度开展工作。

AI 驱动的创新

Dutot 强调,Bouygues Telecom 对 AI 民主化的追求才刚刚开始。现在 AI 平台已投入运行,重点转向通过培训、协同设计、协同交付,继续促进文化转型,提升各部门 AI 人才的技能。平台的新用户可以使用与其角色相关的 AI 工具,并在学习如何有效使用这些工具时获得协助。创新团队还计划识别更多用例、改进 AI/ML 模型,并构建强大的 MLOps 框架,实现大规模流程的标准化。

即便如此,迄今为止完成的工作表明,在帮助 Bouygues Telecom 通过采用企业 AI 获得竞争优势方面,已经实现了巨大飞跃。现在,几乎任何团队或部门都可以使用 AI,优化几乎任何业务应用程序和工作流程。Bouygues Telecom 还能够更好地利用其庞大的数据存储,并继续推出多云战略。

“AI 对我们来说不再是一个实验课题,”Dutot 说。 “现在每个人都为 AI 做好了准备,这完全改变了我们的游戏规则。”

    Bouygues Telecom 徽标
    关于 Bouygues Telecom

    Bouygues Telecom(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 1996 年,是法国第三大 B2B 服务提供商,提供移动电话、互联网和 IPTV 服务。Bouygues Telecom 致力于提供高质量的固定和移动网络,在不断变化的市场中进行创新并促进协作,从而拉近人与人之间的距离。公司隶属于 Bouygues 集团,为 2530 万客户提供服务,运营 500 家门店,雇佣 9,550 名员工。

    接下来:
    阅读 PDF 技术和商业时事通讯

    深入了解新兴趋势和技术创新。

    订阅
    Reckitt

    立即构建未来工厂。

    阅读成功案例
    Autostrade per l’Italia

    专注于前进的道路。

    阅读成功案例
    法律

    © Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

    2022 年 2 月在美国制作。

    IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Cloudant、Enterprise Design Thinking 和 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球各地司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新列表,请访问 https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copyright-trademark

    本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

    文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

AI for everyone
Bouygues Telecom achieves rapid innovation by scaling AI on AWS
Put AI to work for customer service in telecom Subscribe to AI insights
Cropped shot of a person using mobile app device on smartphone

Bouygues Telecom’s innovations set it apart among French communications service providers (CSPs). From 1996, when it offered the country’s first Short Message Service (SMS), to today, when it is helping lead the rollout of a nationwide fixed and mobile 5G infrastructure, it has been first to the marketplace with many technological advancements.

Bouygues Telecom also focuses on enabling innovation within its internal organization, most recently by accelerating use of AI across the enterprise. Toward this end, it teamed with IBM® Consulting on a multiphase initiative to empower all business and IT functions to create, develop and deploy their own cloud-native AI apps.

“AI was starting to appear everywhere, and we didn’t want to miss the train. Also, as a CSP, we have access to loads of interesting, valuable data,” explains Romain Dutot, IT Innovation Leader with Bouygues Telecom. “We knew that if we didn’t use data and AI to improve our business, in a few years our competitors would do it and seize the advantage.”

By helping teams infuse their processes and operations with AI capabilities, the company could more effectively generate actionable insights needed to improve decision-making, accelerate workflows, increase efficiencies and launch new services.

Solution components

IBM® Consulting

IBM Consulting for AI at Scale

AWS Consulting Services

IBM Enterprise Design Thinking®

IBM Garage™

Faster Go-Live

 

Scaled 4 cloud-native AI application from concept to production in 4 months.

Faster Deployments

 

Deployed a new AI app to triage B2B leads, significantly saving costs within 2 weeks.

AI is no longer an experimental subject for us. Everyone is now AI ready, and that’s a real game changer for us. Romain Dutot IT Innovation Leader Bouygues Telecom
From AI ideation to production

Bouygues Telecom had already experimented with AI/machine learning (ML) models by developing a few simple, one-off apps, such as for chatbots and text analysis. Yet the proof-of-concept (POC) approach used to develop these models was unaligned with corporate IT standards and couldn’t support full production. In addition, many line-of-business (LOB) and IT managers had trouble envisioning how to best use AI and hesitated to take the time to help develop solutions.

The company needed to effectively involve managers in brainstorming viable AI use cases. It also required a uniform, integrated approach to scaling AI solutions beyond experimentation. In other words, if Bouygues Telecom wanted to drive enterprise innovation, it had to fully democratize use of AI.

Yet the company lacked in-depth AI knowledge and skill sets. “We knew we had to go fast and strong to build a global AI offering for our company. However, AI is a very specific domain that requires not only technical but also management, ideation and design skills,” says Dutot.

To fast-track AI adoption, Bouygues Telecom sought a consultancy company with deep, multivendor AI expertise and experience. The company had a complex IT landscape, with numerous data systems and governance requirements. The consultants would need to support Bouygues Telecom’s evolving multicloud strategy, which gives teams flexibility to select cloud and AI providers based on their departmental and application needs.

Sustainable, affordable AI on AWS

Bouygues Telecom chose IBM. A leader in ethical AI, IBM embraces an open-technology, collaborative approach to digital transformation and has highly experienced data scientists. In addition, IBM provides the IBM Consulting for AI at Scale services offering, a comprehensive consult-to-operate approach for effectively scaling AI enterprise-wide. The offering guides companies on their AI journeys by delivering the framework, methods, assets and technology for creating and scaling AI solutions, from minimal viable product (MVP) to production, with rapid time to value.

Integrating AI design, ethics, data science, architecture and engineering, the AI at Scale offering helps businesses consistently integrate and scale AI/ML PoC and other tested models into production and then continually revise and optimize those models over time. It also includes components to help businesses evolve their AI culture and governance. To structure this project, the team followed the IBM Garage™ Methodology — proven practices that guide a company through designing, building and scaling solutions for end-to-end transformation. IBM co-designed custom data and AI reference architecture covering multiple cloud scenarios that can be extended to all AI and data projects across the Amazon Web Services (AWS) cloud as well as other cloud/on-premises platforms.

The initiative to democratize use of AI across Bouygues Telecom began with an AI Boost program led by the corporate Innovation team, which was tasked with proving the value of AI by creating nine MVPs of cloud-native AI apps. It also provided training to fuel an enterprise-wide cultural transformation around AI and data.

To help generate ideas for the MVPs, Bouygues Telecom participated in several IBM Enterprise Design Thinking® Workshops where consultants held brainstorming sessions with the Innovation team and several LOB managers.

“Imagining what you can do with AI can be quite difficult and requires specific skills and methods. The IBM Garage approach really helped accelerate the ideation process,” says Dutot. IBM consultants also assisted in rapidly building the MVPs following agile principles.

Once the Innovation team successfully completed the AI Boost project, the company was ready to move beyond experimentation. At this point, the IT Innovation Department stepped up to operationalize and scale AI capabilities across the organization, including setting AI-at-scale standards for the company. A small team that tests and scales new technologies, the department could have chosen to work with a different consulting company, but it wanted to keep the momentum going with IBM.

“IBM did really great work during the AI Boost program. We wanted to bring some of the MVPs — and also some new ones — to scale in just a few months, but we didn't want to start from the beginning. We wanted to accelerate the process, and IBM was the perfect partner,” says Dutot.

Turning data into insights

The IT Innovation team established several objectives to enable successful AI transformation:

  • Establish key capabilities required for enterprise-grade AI
  • Quickly experiment and pilot AI solutions to drive business value creation at scale
  • Accelerate time-to-value with AI while minimizing operational risk
  • Build an open, scalable, cost-efficient, security-rich infrastructure
  • Upskill AI talent across both IT and business teams

With the AI at Scale framework and the IBM Garage approach, the team successfully codesigned and built an AI platform that enables rapid training, testing and deployment of AI and data services. Featuring a customized reference architecture integrated with best-in-class external services, the platform supports standardized IT processes, a variety of data systems and multiple cloud deployment scenarios.

Next, the team developed enterprise-grade cloud-native AI solutions for two of the nine MVPs and two new projects on the platform. They also identified five previously developed AI solutions that could potentially be migrated to the platform.

The first AI application Bouygues Telecom deployed at scale helps the Financial Department operate with greater efficiency by automatically detecting inconsistencies in system inputs. Previously, department employees regularly used manual processes to review accounting processes. During these reviews, they often detected numerous double billings sent to business associates or double payments received. Now, employees rely on the invoice validation app to automatically find daily accounting discrepancies.

“Bouygues Telecom is a large company with multiple subcontractors, and our billing is quite complicated. Detecting inconsistencies is important but time consuming,” says Dutot. “Now, the AI app tells employees which invoices look strange. That’s a direct time gain for our employees.”

Another AI application rapidly triages and qualifies information submitted by potential business contacts using an online form on the Bouygues Telecom website. The form is meant to attract new B2B sales leads. However, nonbusiness prospects often use the form to submit requests irrelevant to the B2B customer center. Using the new AI app, the qualification call center can automatically sort out irrelevant information, speeding lead generation for sales teams and dramatically reducing costs for Bouygues Telecom.

Faster time to value

Working with IBM, Bouygues Telecom scaled its first four cloud-native AI apps from concept to production in just four months. The apps rapidly delivered value. For instance, within two weeks of being deployed, the AI app for triaging incoming B2B leads significantly reduced the associated costs and time spent on the effort.

“Four months is an extremely short time period for us, and it is for a lot of companies. Time to value is critical to generating business value with AI projects,” says Dutot.

Dutot also found that the AI at Scale framework provided his small team with much-needed flexibility. “The framework helped us understand the amount of work that it takes to scale AI and the steps we needed to take,” he says. “We chose to not take all the work on at once but rather go step by step, depending on Bouygues Telecom priorities.”

With the new AI platform on AWS, Bouygues Telecom can not only develop POC models and scale them into production faster but also minimize costs and risks. In addition, it can enable data scientists to work with greater efficiency, purpose and satisfaction by allowing them to spend more time on complex, high-value AI projects rather than launching standalone, low-value solutions.

AI-fueled innovation

The quest to democratize AI has just started at Bouygues Telecom, Dutot emphasizes. Now that the AI platform is operational, the focus shifts to continuing to facilitate cultural transformation and upskilling AI talent across departments, including through training, codesign and codelivery. New users to the platform are given access to AI tools relevant to their roles and assisted in learning how to effectively use them. The team also plans to identify more use cases, improve the AI/ML models and build a robust MLOps framework to standardize at-scale processes.

That said, the work accomplished to date represents a huge leap forward toward helping Bouygues Telecom gain competitive advantage through enterprise AI adoption. Now, nearly any team or department can optimize virtually any business application and work process using AI. Bouygues Telecom is also better positioned to capitalize on its vast data stores and continue rolling out a multicloud strategy.

“AI is no longer an experimental subject for us,” says Dutot. “Everyone is now AI ready, and that’s a real game changer for us.”

Bouygues Telecom logo
About Bouygues Telecom

Founded in 1996, Bouygues Telecom (link resides outside ibm.com) is France’s third-largest B2B provider of services for mobile telephony, internet and IPTV services. It strives to bring people closer together by providing a high-quality fixed and mobile network, innovating in a constantly changing market and fostering collaboration. Part of the Bouygues Group, the company serves 25.3 million customers, operates 500 stores and employs 9,550 people.

Next up:
Read the PDF Technology and business newsletters

Get insights into emerging trends and technology innovations.

Subscribe
Reckitt

Building the factory of the future today.

Read the case study
Autostrade per l’Italia

A singular focus on the road ahead.

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, February 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Cloudant, Enterprise Design Thinking, and IBM Garage are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at https://www.ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.