通过 Process Mining 为 RPA 提供可视化效果、治理和可扩展性
两个人谈论技术的插图
第 3 章

简而言之,Process Mining 是一类企业软件,可自动发现、映射和持续优化组织流程。

Process Mining 通过分析(“挖掘”)用户每次与系统交互或系统每次执行自动化任务时产生的事件日志来实现这一目标。然后,它使用 AI 来识别流程效率低下问题并推荐需要修复的各个方面。同时,任务挖掘功能可以揭示构成流程中活动的各个步骤,并突出需要自动化的候选任务。

Process Mining 和 RPA 并不总被视为互补,因为它们历来由不同的供应商开发,并作为用于不同目的的工具进行营销。因此,Process Mining 通常是企业范围内的 IT 投资,而 RPA 则属于临时部门购买。

但现在越来越多的证据表明,当这两种解决方案结合使用时,可以释放大量未开发的价值。Process Mining 提供缺失的可视化效果、洞察分析和可扩展性,使 RPA 能够在整个组织中充分发挥潜力。事实上,Gartner 在 2021 年的一项调查发现,“首席财务官 (CFO) 认为对流程挖掘的投资是解锁 RPA 回报的关键。”⁵

富有价值的 Process Mining 解决方案功能

但是,这些回报的程度将取决于所选 Process Mining 解决方案的功能。能够实现以下功能的解决方案将获得最大价值:

  • 自动捕获整个组织中与流程相关的所有活动。不只是应有的流程“理想路径”,而是流程在业务中的真正运作方式。每次手动解决问题,每当有人必须从一个系统中获取数据并手动将其输入另一个系统,最佳 Process Mining 工具都会捕获所有数据。
  • 确定瓶颈的发生位置诊断根本原因。很多时候,瓶颈出现在不太明显的位置,只有将 Process Mining 用于可视化整个端到端流程时才会发现。通过根本原因诊断,相关人员能够就如何解决每种效率低下问题的根源做出明智决策。
  • 提供解决流程效率低下问题的智能建议。并非所有效率低下问题都可以通过自动化来解决,也并非每种自动化方法都能带来相同的回报。优秀的 Process Mining 工具可以提出最有效的方法来解决效率低下问题,以满足特定的 KPI。
  • 精确创建组织的数字孪生体 (DTO)。这是流程角度的组织模型,该模型支持模拟潜在的变化,以便评估影响。影响可以从多个维度进行评估,包括对流程变更的上游和下游利益相关者的工作量和日常工作的影响。
  • 精确的 DTO 是一种细粒度模型,可确保任何模拟都能准确预测现实世界的影响。提高精度的关键技术功能是多层次、多对象流程挖掘,它可以准确映射 P2P 等由具有各种层级关系的多个实体/对象组成的复杂流程。如果 Process Mining 工具缺乏此功能,则无法对流程准确建模,并且模拟在现实中可能不会产生相同的影响。
  • 计算精细的投资回报率。Process Mining 最强大的功能之一是,它能够计算流程变更带来的投资回报率,包括任何给定任务的自动化。最佳工具可以根据组织 KPI 计算多个维度的投资回报率:例如,节省的成本、规避的成本、节省的时间或对客户体验的影响。
  • 自动创建软件机器人:高级 Process Mining 工具不仅能够识别需要自动化的候选任务,而且可以使用与 RPA 的内置集成功能,点击按钮即可生成相应的软件机器人。

IBM Process Mining 和 IBM RPA 简介

目前,唯一提供所有这些功能的流程挖掘解决方案是 IBM Process Mining。该解决方案与 IBM RPA 集成,共同组成 IBM Intelligent Automation 平台的关键支柱。了解有关 IBM Intelligent Automation 的更多信息

Process Mining 和 RPA:自动化强强组合

查看所有章节

下一章

 

了解为什么 Process Mining 和 RPA 是自动化强强组合。

阅读第 4 章
第 1 章:前所未有的自动化需求 第 2 章:RPA 的变革力量 第 4 章:Process Mining 和 RPA:自动化强强组合 第 5 章:开始使用 IBM Process Mining 和 RPA 第 6 章:立即迈出实现自动化转型的第一步

Chapter 03

In a nutshell, Process Mining is a category of enterprise software that automates the discovery, mapping and ongoing optimization of organizational processes.

It does that by analyzing (“mining”) the event logs produced every time a user interacts with a system or a system undertakes an automated task. It then uses AI to identify process inefficiencies and recommend areas for remediation. Task mining capabilities, meanwhile, uncover the individual steps that make up the activities in a process and highlight candidate tasks for automation.

Process Mining and RPA haven’t always been viewed as complementary because they have historically been developed by different vendors and marketed as tools for different purposes. As a result, Process Mining has typically been an enterprise-wide IT investment and RPA an ad-hoc departmental purchase.

But there’s now mounting evidence that when the two solutions are used together, they can unlock huge amounts of untapped value. Process Mining provides the missing visibility, insight and scalability that allows RPA to be used to its full potential across the organization. In fact, a 2021 Gartner survey found that “CFOs see investment in process mining as key to unlocking returns from RPA.” ⁵

Capabilities of a value-rich Process Mining solution

The extent of those returns will vary depending on the capabilities of the chosen Process Mining solution, however. The most value will be gained from a solution that can:

  • Automatically capture all activity related to a process, across the whole organization. Not just the “happy path” of the process as it should be, but the way the process really works in the business. Every manual workaround, every time someone has to take data from one system and manually key it into another—the best Process Mining tools will capture it all.
  • Identify where bottlenecks are occurring and diagnose their root causes. Very often, bottlenecks occur in less obvious places and only come to light when Process Mining is used to visualize entire end-to-end processes. Root cause diagnosis enables informed decisions to be made about how to tackle each source of inefficiency.
  • Provide intelligent recommendations for tackling process inefficiencies. Not every inefficiency can be solved with automation, and not every approach to automation will deliver the same returns. A great Process Mining tool will suggest the most effective ways to resolve inefficiencies to meet specific KPIs.
  • Create a precise digital twin of the organization (DTO). This is a model of the organization from a process perspective, which allows potential changes to be simulated so that their impact can be assessed. The impact may be assessed in multiple dimensions, including the impact on the workload and routine of stakeholders upstream and downstream of the process change.
  • A precise DTO is a fine-grained model that ensures that any simulation accurately predicts the real-world impact. The key technological capability that drives precision is multi-level, multi-object process mining, which accurately maps complex processes like P2P that comprises several entities/objects with various hierarchical relationships. If the Process Mining tool lacks this capability, processes cannot be accurately modeled, and simulations may not have the same impact in reality.
  • Calculate granular ROI. One of the most powerful features of Process Mining is its ability to calculate the ROI of a process change, including the automation of any given task. The best tools can calculate ROI in a variety of dimensions based on organizational KPIs: for example, costs saved, costs avoided, time saved, or impact on the customer experience.
  • Automatically create software bots: Advanced Process Mining tools offer the ability not just to identify candidate tasks for automation, but to generate the appropriate software bots at the click of a button using built-in integration with RPA.

 

Introducing IBM Process Mining and IBM RPA

Currently, the only Process Mining solution to offer all of these capabilities is IBM Process Mining, which integrates with IBM RPA to form a key pillar of the IBM Intelligent Automation platform. Learn more about IBM Intelligent Automation.

Chapter 04

Process Mining and RPA: The automation power couple