RPA 的变革力量
一位男士在电脑前工作的插图
第 2 章

RPA 长期以来一直被视为数字化转型的关键推动者。2021 年,Deloitte 发现 78% 的组织正在实施 RPA,另有 16% 的组织计划在未来三年内实施 RPA,只有 6% 的组织表示没有计划采用 RPA。²

这种近乎普遍的使用率得益于 RPA 极具吸引力的价值主张。在理想的情况下,RPA 支持软件机器人承担日常的重复性任务,从而让人们腾出时间从事更有价值、更愉快的工作。RPA 实施起来既快速又经济实惠,并且不需要后端集成工作,因为自动化是在用户界面级别进行的。

因此,业务流程加快,错误率直线下降,员工的参与度提高。成本也会降低,收入增加,客户体验也得到了改善。

为 RPA 提供可视化效果、治理和可扩展性

查看所有章节

毫无疑问,RPA 可以兑现这一承诺。世界各地的组织都报告了将日常任务委托给机器人能带来变革性的好处。

以负责制定和发布标准的比利时机构 NBN 为例。2021 年,该机构部署了一个机器人来承担收集和输入选票信息的任务 – 这是一项费时费力的工作,以前由手工完成。因此,NBN 从每年发布 800 项标准增加到发布 2,150 个标准。由于每项新发布的标准都被证明每年可使比利时的国内生产总值 (GDP) 增加 204 万欧元³,因此该机器人对比利时经济产生了重大影响。

另一个示例是位于宾夕法尼亚州匹兹堡的标志性连锁餐厅 Primanti Brothers。89 年来,该公司从未停止创新,并于 2021 年发现了一个机会,即借助 RPA 机器人从 40 个站点自动生成每日销售报告。以前每位区域经理每天花费 45 分钟的任务现在只需三分钟即可完成,每年节省超过 2,000 个小时。时间的馈赠意味着区域经理可以将更多时间专注于提升连锁餐厅粉丝的满意度。

还有一个示例,即一家位于佐治亚州亚特兰大的专业消费金融公司 Credigy。该公司早在 2018 年就看到了 RPA 的战略潜力,并且确定了整个企业中可以通过自动化获益的重复性日常任务。将以前占用专家大量时间的低级别任务(例如手动检查和重命名数千个文件)委托给机器人完成。在使用 RPA 的第一年,Credigy 实现了 25 个流程自动化,使其高技能分析师能够专注于复杂交易的谈判,这些交易是它向客户提供的创造性财务解决方案的基础。从那时起,通过自动化节省了更多时间,进而帮助该公司保持两位数的复合年增长率。

这些示例展示了将 RPA 作为业务主导型战略的一部分实施时可能发生的情况,这种战略需要时间来分析流程并确定自动化在哪些方面最有效。

但对于多达一半已部署 RPA 的组织来说,结果并不那么出色。⁴要么 RPA 根本没有实现预期的投资回报率,要么早期的成果没有经过扩展,以实现持续的企业级优化。

有时感觉像是软件问题。但几乎在所有情况下,问题并不在于 RPA 解决方案,而在于部署方式。

尤其是,RPA 的进入门槛较低,这意味着它通常在单个部门内实施,以自动执行占用员工时间或似乎导致瓶颈和效率低下问题的特定任务。

例如,假设一个组织一直收到供应商关于延迟付款的投诉。手动输入纸质发票数据花费的时间似乎是一个问题,因此财务部门使用 RPA 构建一个机器人来扫描发票并将详细信息输入 SaaS 财务系统。

该机器人运行良好,但采购到付款 (P2P) 的交货时间似乎没有改善。最终,构建机器人的人员离开了。其他人都不知道如何保持最新状态,因此当 SaaS 供应商下次更新财务系统时,机器人就会崩溃。

这个简单的示例强调了可能导致 RPA 实施失败的几种原因:

仅解决流程的一部分:采购到付款和订单到现金是现代组织中最复杂的部分流程,跨越多个部门和外部利益相关者,并包含一长串相互依赖的任务。仅解决流程的一部分可能会起到一些缓解作用,但如果流程的其他地方存在瓶颈,则整体改进的可能性很小或根本不存在。对流程某一部分进行孤立修复甚至可能会在上游或下游产生新的问题或瓶颈。

将自动化应用于一个糟糕的流程:该流程涉及纸质发票,可能已将这些发票邮寄给组织,在收发室经过分类,已传递给客户的联系人,并且放在凌乱的办公桌上时,可能已经丢失了一段时间,然后才实际传递给客户。从这些发票中自动提取数据对于加速整个 P2P 周期的作用微乎其微。在应用任何自动化之前,需要重新思考整个过程。

KPI 不明确:组织领导者知道存在问题,但没有思考他们希望进行哪些改进。他们没有指定期望的结果和可衡量的 KPI,而只是将 RPA 作为“膏药”应用于更明显的效率低下问题的来源之一。通过重新考虑并检查整个流程,他们可以查明所有效率低下问题,决定如何进行修复,并在采取行动之前计算修复每个问题可以获得的投资回报率。

临时工具的使用使得自动化变得不可持续:该机器人是由一位对技术充满好奇的财务人员使用低代码 RPA 工具构建而成。他们发现该软件易于使用,但是当他们离开时,这些知识也就随他们离开了。这不仅导致机器人崩溃,而且还错失了扩大 RPA 使用规模来解决其他效率低下问题的机会。

缺乏持续的治理:由于机器人是临时构建和部署的,而不是作为自动化战略的一部分,没有人(也没有监控系统)关注它,因此没有人可以预测财务系统的更新会导致机器人崩溃。

成功实施 RPA 的五个要求

上述场景中缺少的是可以(无论是短期还是长期)成功实施 RPA 的五个要素:

  1. P2P 等复杂流程的端到端可视化效果跨越多个部门、系统、利益相关者和接触点。
  2. 深入了解组织中出现瓶颈和效率低下问题的位置、发生原因以及如何最好地解决这些问题。
  3. 对现有流程进行建模准确模拟对该流程所做的任何更改,以便在实施之前评估任何自动化的影响。
  4. 投资回报率计算用于评估组织从重新设计流程和自动化某些任务中可以获得多少收益。
  5. 持续监控自动化任务及所涉及的更多流程,并设置警报系统以发现即将出现的任何潜在问题。

添加这些元素似乎是一项艰巨的工作,而且到目前为止,工作量一直很大。传统业务流程建模 (BPM) 是一项劳动密集型活动,可能需要数月时间,并且涉及对组织流程进行手动映射和分析,以确定可以在哪些方面提高效率。

但现在,有一种更快、更好的方法可以深入了解阻碍组织发展的隐藏的效率低下问题,并且它每年已经为全球各地的公司释放数十亿美元的未开发价值。

进入 Process Mining。

下一章

 

通过 Process Mining 为 RPA 提供可视化效果、治理和可扩展性。

阅读第 3 章
第 1 章:前所未有的自动化需求 第 3 章:通过 Process Mining 为 RPA 提供可视化效果、治理和可扩展性 第 4 章:Process Mining 和 RPA:自动化强强组合 第 5 章:开始使用 IBM Process Mining 和 RPA 第 6 章:立即迈出实现自动化转型的第一步

Chapter 02

RPA has long been seen as a key enabler of digital transformation. In 2021, Deloitte found that 78 percent of organizations were implementing it, with a further 16 percent planning to implement it in the next three years, and only six percent saying they had no plans to adopt.²

This near-universal uptake is due to RPA’s compelling value proposition. In the ideal scenario, it enables software bots to take on mundane, repetitive tasks, freeing people to do higher-value, more enjoyable work. RPA is fast and affordable to implement and doesn’t require back-end integration work because the automation is conducted at the user interface level.

As a result, business processes speed up, error rates plummet, and employees are more engaged. Costs also go down, revenue increases, and the customer experience improves.

Real-world results from RPA

And there’s no doubt RPA can deliver on this promise. Organizations across the world are reporting transformational benefits from delegating routine tasks to bots.

Take NBN, the Belgian agency responsible for developing and publishing standards. In 2021 it deployed a bot to take on the task of gathering and keying in ballot information—a laborious job previously done by hand. As a result, NBN went from publishing 800 standards a year to publishing 2,150. Since each newly published standard has been shown to increase Belgium’s Gross Domestic Product (GDP) by EUR 2.04m per year³, the bot has had a significant impact on the Belgian economy.

Or Primanti Brothers, the iconic Pittsburgh, PA-based restaurant chain. In its 89 years, it has never stopped innovating—and in 2021 it identified an opportunity to automate the production of daily sales reports from 40 sites using an RPA bot. A task that once took each regional manager 45 minutes per day is now done in three minutes, saving over 2,000 hours annually. The gift of time means managers can spend more time focusing on delighting the chain’s fans.

Or Credigy, a specialist Atlanta, GA-based consumer finance business. It saw the strategic potential of RPA as early as 2018, identifying repetitive, routine tasks across the business that could benefit from automation. Low-level tasks that previously took up much of its experts’ time, such as manually checking and re-naming thousands of files, were delegated to a bot. In the first year of using RPA, Credigy automated 25 processes, freeing its highly skilled analysts to work on negotiating the complex deals that underlie the creative financial solutions it provides to customers. Since then, automation has freed up even more time, helping the firm to maintain a double-digit compounded annual growth rate.

The way RPA is implemented and deployed is crucial to success

These examples show what’s possible when RPA is implemented as part of a business-led strategy that takes time to analyze processes and identify where automation can be most effective.

But for up to half of organizations that have deployed RPA, the results haven’t been so stellar.⁴ Either RPA hasn’t delivered the expected ROI at all, or the early wins haven’t scaled up into continuous, enterprise-wide optimization.

This can sometimes feel like a software problem. But in almost all cases, the problem isn’t with the RPA solution so much as the way it’s deployed.

In particular, the low barriers to entry with RPA mean it’s often implemented within a single department, to automate specific tasks that are tying up employees’ time or which seem to be causing bottlenecks and inefficiencies.

For example, imagine an organization that has been receiving complaints from suppliers about late payments. Time spent manually keying in data from paper invoices seems to be an issue, so the finance department uses RPA to build a bot that scans invoices and enters the details into the SaaS finance system.

The bot works well but procure-to-pay (P2P) lead times don’t seem to improve. Eventually, the person who built the bot leaves. Nobody else knows how to keep it up to date, so when the SaaS vendor next updates the finance system, the bot breaks.

Ways RPA projects can fail

This simple example highlights several ways RPA implementations can fail:

Only one part of the process was addressed: Procure-to-pay and order-to-cash are some of the most complex processes in the modern organization, spanning multiple departments and external stakeholders, and comprising long chains of interdependent tasks. Tackling just one part of the process may bring some relief, but if there are bottlenecks elsewhere in the process, the overall improvement may be minimal or non-existent. An isolated fix to one part of the process can even create new issues or bottlenecks upstream or downstream.

Automation was applied to a bad process: This process involved paper invoices, which may have been mailed to the organization, sorted in the mailroom, passed on to the customer’s contact, and perhaps lost for a while on a messy desk before being physically passed to Accounts. Automating data extraction from those invoices has done very little to accelerate the whole P2P cycle. The whole process needed rethinking before applying any automation.

KPIs weren’t clear: The organization leaders knew there was a problem but didn’t think through what improvement they wanted to see. Rather than specifying a desired outcome and measurable KPIs, they just applied RPA as a sticking plaster to one of the more visible sources of inefficiency. By stepping back and examining the whole process, they could have pinpointed all of the inefficiencies, decided how to fix them, and calculated the ROI of each fix before acting.

Ad-hoc tool use made automation unsustainable: The bot was built by a tech-curious finance person using a low-code RPA tool. They found the software easy to use, but that knowledge departed with them when they left. Not only did this lead to the bot breaking but it was also a missed opportunity to scale the use of RPA to tackle other inefficiencies.

Ongoing governance was lacking: Because the bot was built and deployed ad-hoc rather than as part of an automation strategy, nobody (and no monitoring system) was keeping an eye on it, so nobody could predict that an update to the finance system would break it.

Five requirements for successful RPA

What’s missing from the scenario outlined above are five elements that could have made the use of RPA successful—both in the short and long term:

  1. End-to-end visibility of complex processes like P2P that span multiple departments, systems, stakeholders and touchpoints.
  2. Insight into where bottlenecks and inefficiencies are occurring in the organization, why they’re happening, and how they can best be fixed.
  3. Modeling of existing processes and accurate simulation of any changes made to them, to allow the impact of any automation to be assessed before implementing it.
  4. ROI calculations to assess how much the organization will gain from redesigning processes and automating certain tasks.
  5. Continuous monitoring of automated tasks and the wider processes they contribute to, with alerting systems set up to spot any potential issues coming up on the horizon.  

Adding these elements may seem like a lot of work—and until now, it has been. Traditional Business Process Modeling (BPM) is a labor-intensive activity that can take months and involves manual mapping and analysis of organizational processes to identify where efficiencies can be achieved.

But now, there’s a much faster and better way to get insight into the hidden inefficiencies holding organizations back—and it’s already unlocking billions of dollars of untapped value every year for companies around the globe.

Enter Process Mining.

Chapter 03

Bring visibility, governance and scalability to RPA with Process Mining