深度学习

menu icon

深度学习

深度学习通过模仿人脑(尽管功能远不及人脑),确保系统以极高的准确度完成群集数据并做出各种预测。

什么是深度学习?

深度学习是机器学习的一个分支,它本质上是一个具有三层或更多层数的神经网络。 这些神经网络通过模拟人脑行为(尽管功能远不及人脑)从大量数据中“学习”。 虽然单层神经网络也可以进行近似预测,但额外的隐藏层有助于优化结果和提高准确度。

深度学习推动了很多人工智能 (AI) 应用程序和服务的发展,这些应用程序和服务可以提高自动化程度,在没有人为干预的情况下执行分析和物理任务。 深度学习技术广泛支撑着日常产品和服务(如数字助理、支持语音功能的电视遥控器和信用卡欺诈检测)以及新兴技术(如自动驾驶汽车)等。

深度学习与机器学习

如果深度学习是机器学习的一个分支,那么,它们二者有什么区别呢? 深度学习与传统机器学习的区别在于处理的数据类型以及学习方式。

机器学习算法利用结构化的标记数据进行预测,这意味着特定特征由模型的输入数据定义,并整理后输入表格应用。 这并不表示机器学习不使用非结构化数据,而是指机器学习在使用非结构化数据时,通常会进行一些预处理,将非结构化数据整理为结构化格式。

深度学习消除了机器学习通常会涉及的一些数据预处理工作。 这些算法可以摄取并处理文本和图像等非结构化数据, 并自动提取特征,部分消除了对人类专家的依赖。 例如,假设有一组不同宠物的照片要按照“猫”、“狗”、“仓鼠”等组别进行分类。 深度学习算法可以确定哪些特征(例如耳朵)对区分动物而言最为重要。 在机器学习中,这种特征上的层级结构需由人类专家手动建立。

然后,深度学习算法通过梯度下降和反向传播的过程,进行准确度方面的自我调整和适应,从而以更高的精度对动物的新照片进行预测。  

机器学习和深度学习模型也能够进行不同类型的学习,这些学习通常分为监督学习、无监督学习和强化学习等三种类型。 监督学习利用标记的数据集进行分类或预测,这需要某种人为干预来正确标记输入数据。 相比之下,无监督学习不需要标记的数据集,而是检测数据中的模式,通过任何可区分的特征对数据进行群集汇聚。 强化学习是模型根据反馈在环境中学习,随后以更准确的方式执行操作,从而实现回报最大化的过程。

如需深入了解不同技术之间的细微差别,请参阅“人工智能、机器学习、深度学习与神经网络: 它们有哪些区别?

如需深入了解监督学习和非监督学习之间的具体区别,请参阅“监督学习与非监督学习: 它们有哪些区别?

深度学习的工作原理

深度学习神经网络(又称人工神经网络),通过数据输入、调整权重和消除偏差的组合来模仿人脑。 这些元素协同工作,以准确识别、分类和描述数据中的对象。

深度神经网络由多层互连节点组成,每一层都在前一层的基础上构建,以便改进和优化预测或分类。 这种通过网络的一系列计算进展称为前向传播。 深度神经网络的输入和输出层称为可见 层。 深度学习模型在输入层摄取数据进行处理,并在输出层执行最终预测或分类。

另一种过程称为反向传播,它使用梯度下降等算法 来计算预测中的误差,然后在各层中向后移动来调整函数的权重和偏差,从而达到训练模型的目的。 神经网络通过前向传播和反向传播相结合的方式进行预测并相应地纠正任何错误。 随着时间的推移,算法逐渐变得更加准确。

以上用最简单的术语简要描述了最简单的深度神经网络类型。 然而,深度学习算法异常复杂,有不同类型的神经网络来解决特定的问题或数据集。 例如,

深度学习应用程序

现实世界的深度学习应用已构成我们日常生活的一部分,但在大多数情况下,深度学习都被很好地集成到产品和服务中,以至于用户并没有意识到在后台发生的复杂数据处理。 其中一些例子包括:

执法部门

深度学习算法可以分析和学习事务型数据,以识别可能预示着欺诈或犯罪活动的危险规律。 语音识别、计算机视觉和其他深度学习应用程序可通过从录音、录像、图像及文档中提取模式和证据的方式来提高调查分析的效率和有效性,从而帮助执法部门更快、更准确地分析各种海量数据。

金融服务

金融机构经常使用预测分析来推动股票的算法交易,评估贷款审批的业务风险,检测欺诈行为,并帮助管理客户的信贷和投资组合。

客户服务

很多组织将深度学习技术纳入其客户服务流程。 聊天机器人就是一种简单易懂的 AI 形式,现已被用于各种应用程序、服务和客服门户。 传统聊天机器人会使用自然语言甚至视觉识别技术,此类机器人常见于类似呼叫中心的菜单配置中。 然而,更加复杂的聊天机器人解决方案会通过学习来判断含糊型问题是否有多种答案。 然后,聊天机器人会根据收到的回答,尝试直接回答这些问题或将对话转给人类用户。

Apple Siri、Amazon Alexa 或 Google Assistant 等虚拟助手通过启用语音识别功能而大幅扩展了聊天机器人的概念。 这种创新的方法,可通过个性化方式吸引更多的用户参与进来。

医疗保健

自医院记录和图像实现数字化以来,医疗保健行业从深度学习功能中获益良多。 图像识别类应用程序可以为医学成像专家和放射科医生提供支持,帮助他们在更短的时间内分析和评估更多图像。

深度学习的硬件要求

深度学习需要庞大的计算能力。 高性能图形处理单元 (GPU) 是理想的选择,因为 GPU 可在配备大量可用内存的多个内核中处理巨量计算任务。 但是,在本地管理多个 GPU 可能会在内部资源调度方面产生大量需求,而且扩展成本极高。

深度学习和 IBM

几十年来,IBM 一直是 AI 技术和深度学习发展的先驱,IBM 开发的 AI 聊天机器人 IBM Watson 的研发完全彰显了这一先发优势。 作为在深度学习技术领域最早取得的成就之一,Watson 现已成为一款值得信赖的解决方案,非常适合那些希望在 AI 的采用和实施方面使用成熟的分层方法,从而将先进的自然语言处理和机器学习技术应用于各种系统的企业。

Watson 使用 Apache 非结构化信息管理架构 (UIMA) 框架和 IBM DeepQA 软件为应用程序提供强大的深度学习功能。 借助 IBM Watson Studio 等工具,企业可以对大数据加以深度利用,并将数据科学项目投入生产,同时在任何云端部署和运行模型。

如需深入了解如何开始使用深度学习技术,请探索 IBM Watson Studio

立即注册 IBMid 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户

menu icon

Deep Learning

Deep learning attempts to mimic the human brain—albeit far from matching its ability—enabling systems to cluster data and make predictions with incredible accuracy.

What is deep learning?

Deep learning is a subset of machine learning, which is essentially a neural network with three or more layers. These neural networks attempt to simulate the behavior of the human brain—albeit far from matching its ability—allowing it to “learn” from large amounts of data. While a neural network with a single layer can still make approximate predictions, additional hidden layers can help to optimize and refine for accuracy.

Deep learning drives many artificial intelligence (AI) applications and services that improve automation, performing analytical and physical tasks without human intervention. Deep learning technology lies behind everyday products and services (such as digital assistants, voice-enabled TV remotes, and credit card fraud detection) as well as emerging technologies (such as self-driving cars).

Deep learning vs. machine learning

If deep learning is a subset of machine learning, how do they differ? Deep learning distinguishes itself from classical machine learning by the type of data that it works with and the methods in which it learns.

Machine learning algorithms leverage structured, labeled data to make predictions—meaning that specific features are defined from the input data for the model and organized into tables. This doesn’t necessarily mean that it doesn’t use unstructured data; it just means that if it does, it generally goes through some pre-processing to organize it into a structured format.

Deep learning eliminates some of data pre-processing that is typically involved with machine learning. These algorithms can ingest and process unstructured data, like text and images, and it automates feature extraction, removing some of the dependency on human experts. For example, let’s say that we had a set of photos of different pets, and we wanted to categorize by “cat”, “dog”, “hamster”, et cetera. Deep learning algorithms can determine which features (e.g. ears) are most important to distinguish each animal from another. In machine learning, this hierarchy of features is established manually by a human expert.

Then, through the processes of gradient descent and backpropagation, the deep learning algorithm adjusts and fits itself for accuracy, allowing it to make predictions about a new photo of an animal with increased precision.  

Machine learning and deep learning models are capable of different types of learning as well, which are usually categorized as supervised learning, unsupervised learning, and reinforcement learning. Supervised learning utilizes labeled datasets to categorize or make predictions; this requires some kind of human intervention to label input data correctly. In contrast, unsupervised learning doesn’t require labeled datasets, and instead, it detects patterns in the data, clustering them by any distinguishing characteristics. Reinforcement learning is a process in which a model learns to become more accurate for performing an action in an environment based on feedback in order to maximize the reward.

For a deeper dive on the nuanced differences between the different technologies, see "AI vs. Machine Learning vs. Deep Learning vs. Neural Networks: What’s the Difference?"

For a closer look at the specific differences between supervised and unsupervised learning, see "Supervised vs. Unsupervised Learning: What's the Difference?"

How deep learning works

Deep learning neural networks, or artificial neural networks, attempts to mimic the human brain through a combination of data inputs, weights, and bias. These elements work together to accurately recognize, classify, and describe objects within the data.

Deep neural networks consist of multiple layers of interconnected nodes, each building upon the previous layer to refine and optimize the prediction or categorization. This progression of computations through the network is called forward propagation. The input and output layers of a deep neural network are called visible layers. The input layer is where the deep learning model ingests the data for processing, and the output layer is where the final prediction or classification is made.

Another process called backpropagation uses algorithms, like gradient descent, to calculate errors in predictions and then adjusts the weights and biases of the function by moving backwards through the layers in an effort to train the model. Together, forward propagation and backpropagation allow a neural network to make predictions and correct for any errors accordingly. Over time, the algorithm becomes gradually more accurate.

The above describes the simplest type of deep neural network in the simplest terms. However, deep learning algorithms are incredibly complex, and there are different types of neural networks to address specific problems or datasets. For example,

  • Convolutional neural networks (CNNs), used primarily in computer vision and image classification applications, can detect features and patterns within an image, enabling tasks, like object detection or recognition. In 2015, a CNN bested a human in an object recognition challenge for the first time.
  • Recurrent neural network (RNNs) are typically used in natural language and speech recognition applications as it leverages sequential or times series data.

Deep learning applications

Real-world deep learning applications are a part of our daily lives, but in most cases, they are so well-integrated into products and services that users are unaware of the complex data processing that is taking place in the background. Some of these examples include the following:

Law enforcement

Deep learning algorithms can analyze and learn from transactional data to identify dangerous patterns that indicate possible fraudulent or criminal activity. Speech recognition, computer vision, and other deep learning applications can improve the efficiency and effectiveness of investigative analysis by extracting patterns and evidence from sound and video recordings, images, and documents, which helps law enforcement analyze large amounts of data more quickly and accurately.

Financial services

Financial institutions regularly use predictive analytics to drive algorithmic trading of stocks, assess business risks for loan approvals, detect fraud, and help manage credit and investment portfolios for clients.

Customer service

Many organizations incorporate deep learning technology into their customer service processes. Chatbots—used in a variety of applications, services, and customer service portals—are a straightforward form of AI. Traditional chatbots use natural language and even visual recognition, commonly found in call center-like menus. However, more sophisticated chatbot solutions attempt to determine, through learning, if there are multiple responses to ambiguous questions. Based on the responses it receives, the chatbot then tries to answer these questions directly or route the conversation to a human user.

Virtual assistants like Apple's Siri, Amazon Alexa, or Google Assistant extends the idea of a chatbot by enabling speech recognition functionality. This creates a new method to engage users in a personalized way.

Healthcare

The healthcare industry has benefited greatly from deep learning capabilities ever since the digitization of hospital records and images. Image recognition applications can support medical imaging specialists and radiologists, helping them analyze and assess more images in less time.

Deep learning hardware requirements

Deep learning requires a tremendous amount of computing power. High performance graphical processing units (GPUs) are ideal because they can handle a large volume of calculations in multiple cores with copious memory available. However, managing multiple GPUs on-premises can create a large demand on internal resources and be incredibly costly to scale.

Deep learning and IBM

For decades now, IBM has been a pioneer in the development of AI technologies and deep learning, highlighted by the development of IBM Watson, IBM's AI chatbot. One of the earliest accomplishments in deep learning technology, Watson is now a trusted solution for enterprises looking to apply advanced natural language processing and machine learning techniques to their systems using a proven tiered approach to AI adoption and implementation.

Watson uses the Apache Unstructured Information Management Architecture (UIMA) framework and IBM’s DeepQA software to make powerful deep learning capabilities available to applications. Utilizing tools like IBM Watson Studio, your enterprise can harness your big data and bring your data science projects into production while deploying and running your models on any cloud.

For more information on how to get started with deep learning technology, explore IBM Watson Studio.

Sign up for an IBMid and create your IBM Cloud account.