什么是医学领域的人工智能?
机器学习可帮助处理医学数据,为医疗专业人员提供重要洞察,从而改善健康状况和患者体验。
Doctors and scientists looking at screens of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) 3 Tesla twin speed scanner
医学领域中如何运用人工智能?

医学领域的人工智能是使用机器学习模型搜索医疗数据,发现洞察,从而帮助改善健康状况和患者体验。 得益于近年来计算机科学和信息技术的发展,人工智能 (AI) 正迅速成为现代医学中不可或缺的一部分。 由人工智能支持的人工智能算法和其他应用程序正在为临床和研究领域的医学专业人员提供支持。

目前,人工智能在医学领域中最常见的职责是临床决策支持和医学影像分析。 临床决策支持工具可让医疗服务提供方快速访问与其患者相关的信息或研究,从而帮助他们制定有关治疗、用药、心理健康和其他患者需求方面的决策。 在医学影像方面,人工智能工具可用于分析 CT 扫描、X 射线、核磁共振影像以及其他影像,以找出人类放射科医师可能会错过的病变或其他检查结果。

新冠病毒疫情为众多医疗系统带来严峻挑战,而这也促使全球许多医疗卫生组织开始实地测试人工智能支持的新兴技术,比如旨在帮助监视患者的算法以及用于筛查新冠患者的基于人工智能的工具。

这些测试的研究和结果仍在收集过程中,且有关在医学领域应用人工智能的总体标准仍在制定过程中。 但人工智能已经让越来越多的临床医生、研究人员以及他们所服务的患者从中受益。 在这个角度来说,人工智能无疑将成为数字化医疗卫生系统的核心,为现代医学的形成和发展提供支持。


人工智能在医学中的应用

人工智能在诸多方面对医学实践产生了积极影响,比如加快了研究步伐,帮助临床医生制定出更加明智的决策。 以下是如何使用人工智能的一些示例:

人工智能在疾病检测和诊断中的应用

与人类不同,人工智能从不不需要睡眠。 机器学习模型可用于观测正在接受加护护理的患者的重要生命体征,并在某项风险指标上升时向医生发出警报。 尽管心脏检测仪一类的医疗设备也可以跟踪重要生命体征,但人工智能可以从这些设备收集数据,发现更加复杂的状况,如败血症。 一家 IBM 客户已开发出一款面向早产儿的预测性 AI 模型,该模型在检测严重脓毒症方面的准确率可达 75%。

个性化疾病治疗

在虚拟人工智能的辅助下,精准医学将更加容易开展。 由于人工智能模型可以学习和保留偏好,因此人工智能可能会 24 小时不间断向患者提供定制化实时建议。 医疗系统可支持患者全天候访问基于人工智能的虚拟助理,虚拟助理可以根据患者的病例、偏好和个人需求回答问题,这样患者就不必每次向新换的医生重复同样的信息。

人工智能在医学影像领域的应用

人工智能已经在医学影像领域中发挥着主导作用。 研究表明 ,基于人工神经网络的人工智能在检测乳腺癌症状及其他状况方面与人类放射科医师表现同样优秀。 除了帮助临床医生发现疾病的早期症状,人工智能还可帮助处理临床医生需要保持跟踪的数量惊人的医学影像,并通过检测患者病历中的重要资料,将相关影像提供给临床医生,实现更好的管理。

临床试验效率

临床试验要花费大量时间,需要为患者疗效分配医学代码并更新相关数据集。 人工智能可通过以更快、更智能的方式搜索医学代码,加速这一过程。 两家 IBM Watson Health 客户最近发现,借助人工智能,他们可以 将医学代码搜索量减少超过 70%

加速药物研发

药物发现通常是药物研发过程中耗时最长、成本最高的环节之一。 人工智能主要通过两种方式帮助降低新药研发开发:打造 更好的药物设计 以及找到 大有希望的全新药物组合。 借助人工智能,生命科学行业所面临的诸多大数据难题都将迎刃而解。

 

了解人工智能如何帮助临床医生发现有关患者的洞察

对临床试验进行医学编码费时费力,但人工智能可提供一臂之力


人工智能在医学领域的优势
更加可靠的患者护理

将医疗人工智能整合到临床医生的工作流程中,以便在医疗服务提供方制定护理决策时提供有价值的背景参考。 有了经过训练的机器学习算法,患者无需离开病房,临床医生便可获得有关治疗和规程的有价值搜索结果以及基于证据的洞察。

减少错误

有证据表明,人工智能可帮助提高患者安全性。 最近一项系统化评审评估了人工智能对于患者安全性的影响,本次评审共产生了 53 份研究报告,其结果表明基于人工智能的决策支持工具可帮助改进错误检测和药物管理。

降低医疗成本

人工智能可通过多种方式降低医疗行业的成本。 其中最有前景的一些方式包括减少用药错误、定制化虚拟健康辅助、内部欺诈预防,以及提高管理和临床工作流程的效率。

增加医患互动

许多患者都会在正常工作时间以外想到一些问题。 人工智能可通过聊天机器人提供全天候支持,聊天机器人可在医疗服务提供方的非营业时间内回答基本问题,并为患者提供资源。 还可以通过人工智能将问题分类并标记信息,以供进一步复审,这样一来,如果健康状况发生变化,需要额外看护,便会向医疗服务提供方发出警报。

提供上下文相关性

深度学习的一大主要优势是人工智能算法可利用上下文区分不同类型的信息。 例如,如果临床报告中包含患者当前用药的列表及其服务提供方建议的新型药物,那么经过良好训练的人工智能演算法可以使用自然语言处理识别出哪些药物应归入患者病历。


相关解决方案

使用 Watson™ 的 DynaMed® 和 Micromedex®

为临床医生提供基于人工智能的支持,帮助他们制定出更加明智的循证决策。


IBM® Watson Annotator for Clinical Data

从临床报告和其他医疗记录中提取关键的临床信息,比如诊断和用药等。


IBM® Watson Assistant for Health Benefits

快速、轻松地回答有关复杂的医疗保健计划所提供优势的一些实际问题。


IBM® Clinical Development

管理端到端临床试验,其中包括一个人工智能组件以简化医学编码。


IBM® Citizen Engagement

将社会工作者和公民提供其所需的服务信息。


IBM® Flexible Analytics

实施强大的分析功能,其中的医疗保健计划需要让利益相关方感到满意。

What is artificial intelligence in medicine?

Machine learning can help process medical data and give medical professionals important insights, improving health outcomes and patient experiences.

Doctors and scientists looking at screens of Magnetic Resonance Imaging (MRI) 3 Tesla twin speed scanner

How is artificial intelligence used in medicine?

Artificial intelligence in medicine is the use of machine learning models to search medical data and uncover insights to help improve health outcomes and patient experiences. Thanks to recent advances in computer science and informatics, artificial intelligence (AI) is quickly becoming an integral part of modern healthcare. AI algorithms and other applications powered by AI are being used to support medical professionals in clinical settings and in ongoing research.

Currently, the most common roles for AI in medical settings are clinical decision support and imaging analysis. Clinical decision support tools help providers make decisions about treatments, medications, mental health and other patient needs by providing them with quick access to information or research that's relevant to their patient. In medical imaging, AI tools are being used to analyze CT scans, x-rays, MRIs and other images for lesions or other findings that a human radiologist might miss.

The challenges that the COVID-19 pandemic created for many health systems also led many healthcare organizations around the world to start field-testing new AI-supported technologies, such as algorithms designed to help monitor patients and AI-powered tools to screen COVID-19 patients.

The research and results of these tests are still being gathered, and the overall standards for the use AI in medicine are still being defined. Yet opportunities for AI to benefit clinicians, researchers and the patients they serve are steadily increasing. At this point, there is little doubt that AI will become a core part of the digital health systems that shape and support modern medicine.


AI applications in medicine

There are numerous ways AI can positively impact the practice of medicine, whether it's through speeding up the pace of research or helping clinicians make better decisions. Here are some examples of how AI could be used:

AI in disease detection and diagnosis

Unlike humans, AI never needs to sleep. Machine learning models could be used to observe the vital signs of patients receiving critical care and alert clinicians if certain risk factors increase. While medical devices like heart monitors can track vital signs, AI can collect the data from those devices and look for more complex conditions, such as sepsis. One IBM client has developed a predictive AI model for premature babies that is 75% accurate in detecting severe sepsis.

Personalized disease treatment

Precision medicine could become easier to support with virtual AI assistance. Because AI models can learn and retain preferences, AI has the potential to provide customized real-time recommendations to patients around the clock. Rather than having to repeat information with a new person each time, a healthcare system could offer patients around-the-clock access to an AI-powered virtual assistant that could answer questions based on the patient's medical history, preferences and personal needs.

AI in medical imaging

AI is already playing a prominent role in medical imaging. Research has indicated that AI powered by artificial neural networks can be just as effective as human radiologists at detecting signs of breast cancer as well as other conditions. In addition to helping clinicians spot early signs of disease, AI can also help make the staggering number of medical images that clinicians have to keep track of more manageable by detecting vital pieces of a patient's history and presenting the relevant images to them.

Clinical trial efficiency

A lot of time is spent during clinical trials assigning medical codes to patient outcomes and updating the relevant datasets. AI can help speed this process up by providing a quicker and more intelligent search for medical codes. Two IBM Watson Health clients recently found that with AI, they could reduce their number of medical code searches by more than 70%.

Accelerated drug development

Drug discovery is often one of the longest and most costly parts of drug development. AI could help reduce the costs of developing new medicines in primarily two ways: creating better drug designs and finding promising new drug combinations. With AI, many of the big data challenges facing the life sciences industry could be overcome.

 


Benefits of AI in medicine

Informed patient care

Integrating medical AI into clinician workflows can give providers valuable context while they're making care decisions. A trained machine learning algorithm can help cut down on research time by giving clinicians valuable search results with evidence-based insights about treatments and procedures while the patient is still in the room with them.

Error reduction

There is some evidence that AI can help improve patient safety. A recent systemic review of 53 peer-reviewed studies examining the impact of AI on patient safety found that AI-powered decision support tools can help improve error detection and drug management.

Reducing the costs of care

There are a lot of potential ways AI could reduce costs across the healthcare industry. Some of the most promising opportunities include reducing medication errors, customized virtual health assistance, fraud prevention, and supporting more efficient administrative and clinical workflows.

Increasing doctor-patient engagement

Many patients think of questions outside of typical business hours. AI can help provide around-the-clock support through chatbots that can answer basic questions and give patients resources when their provider’s office isn’t open. AI could also potentially be used to triage questions and flag information for further review, which could help alert providers to health changes that need additional attention.

Providing contextual relevance

One major advantage of deep learning is that AI algorithms can use context to distinguish between different types of information. For example, if a clinical note includes a list of a patient's current medications along with a new medication their provider recommends, a well-trained AI algorithm can use natural language processing to identify which medications belong in the patient's medical history.


Related solutions

DynaMed® and Micromedex® with Watson™

Provide AI-powered support to clinicians to help them make more informed, evidence-based decisions.

IBM® Watson Annotator for Clinical Data

Extract key clinical information, like diagnoses, medications and more, from clinical notes and other medical records.

IBM® Watson Assistant for Health Benefits

Answer real-world questions about complex health plan benefits quickly and easily.

IBM® Clinical Development

Manage clinical trials end-to-end, including an AI component to ease medical coding.

IBM® Citizen Engagement

Connect caseworkers and citizens with the services information they need.

IBM® Flexible Analytics

Implement robust analytic capabilities that health plans need to satisfy stakeholders.