针对业务关键型工作负载优化云
Tomago 将 SAP HANA 迁移到私有云
Tomago 总部

铝冶炼设施一旦启动,生产就不能停止。这是因为清理液态金属已凝固的生产槽会带来巨大的成本。自 1983 年以来,澳大利亚 Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited 的工厂一直每天 24 小时不间断生产。工厂的所有设备都支持使用 840 个熔炼炉将氧化铝加工成金属,这些熔炼炉分为三条巨大的生产线。

Tomago IT 部门在保持电解槽生产线正常生产方面发挥着关键作用。Tomago 的 IT 主管 Dennis Moncrieff 说道:“例如,我们有一个大型仓库,用于存放关键工厂基础设施的备件,如果出现故障,我们需要依靠 SAP ERP 平台来快速找到这些备件。我们需要尽快恢复生产。”

几年前,一家第三方供应商找到 Tomago 的 IT 团队,向 Tomago 提供了将其业务必需的 SAP 软件升级到 SAP HANA 平台的机会,前提是 Tomago 也需要迁移到公共云提供商。

但是,在 Tomago 完成迁移后不久,问题开始浮出水面。Moncrieff 说:“云是一个真正的黑匣子。我们根本无法深入了解它。做出决策很有挑战性,因为我们无法看到环境使用了多少容量。我们所能做的只是监控其运行情况。”

IBM 合作伙伴 Advent One 的首席技术官 Talor Holloway 说道:“Tomago 知道服务正在运行,但除此之外他们所知不多。他们怎么能启动沙箱环境,又怎么知道备份正在进行,证据在哪里?”

与公共云合作也给开发计划带来了障碍。Moncrieff 指出:“该提供商希望当前的解决方案具有可靠性和正常运行时间,因此我们很难做出任何创新。我们无法在工作时间以外进行开发工作,因此进展受阻。”

当与该公共云提供商的合同计划于 2020 年 10 月到期时,Moncrieff 看到了另一个机会。在迁移到公共云之前,Tomago 在企业本地部署有早期 SAP ERP 版本,该版本托管在较早一代的 IBM® Power Systems 基础架构上。Power Systems 硬件当时未通过 SAP 认证,这影响了 Tomago 迁移到 SAP 认证的公共云解决方案的决定。

增强了性能

 

与公共云平台相比,IBM Power Systems 平台的性能提升了 75%

缩短安装时间

 

IBM Power Systems 基础架构的安装仅需 6 天,而不是典型安装所需的几周

提高效率

 

月末报告处理速度提高了 66%,提高了财务部门的效率

在现场部署 SAP、IBM Power Systems 和 IBM 闪存存储解决方案更有利于我们的业务。这些部署让我确信,我们拥有一个非常稳定且富有弹性的系统。 Dennis Moncrieff IT 主管 Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited

然而,当 Moncrieff 了解到 IBM Power Systems 已通过 SAP HANA 认证时,一个更好的选择出现了。Moncrieff 说:“如果工厂中有许多办公地点和许多互联网连接,那么公共云就很有意义。但我们工厂有一条电缆很容易受到挖掘机的影响。如果我们那根电缆中断了,就无法访问云。”

2015 年之前,Tomago 在 Power Systems 服务器上运行其内部部署 SAP 平台,Moncrieff 对其所拥有的控制力和可见性表示赞赏。现在,他已经准备好在私有云环境中利用最新一代的 IBM 解决方案,以实现其公共云解决方案所缺乏的性能和灵活性。

Moncrieff 表示:“一旦意识到自己受到了限制,人们就不想再受到限制了。”

快速部署和紧密的团队合作

根据 Advent One 的建议和 Tomago 之前在现场运行 IBM 系统的成功经验,Tomago 决定不再使用公共云提供商,并基于 IBM 系统和 Red Hat 解决方案的集成基础架构,在私有云模式上运行其 SAP 解决方案套件。

除了将 SAP ERP 平台用于备件仓库管理外,Tomago 还将 SAP 用于其他重要业务,如薪资、采购、人力资源、财务和其他功能。任何因中断而造成的数据丢失或延迟都会对业务产生重大影响,因此 Tomago 的 IT 部门与 Advent One 和 IBM 密切合作,管理向其自有私有云的平稳过渡,该私有云旨在支持 SAP 解决方案,包括:

由 SAP HANA 提供支持的 SAP Business Warehouse,这是一个用于整合数据、协调主数据并提供灵活报告方案的数据仓库。

由 SAP HANA 提供支持的 SAP ECC,这是一个在 SAP HANA 数据库上运行的 ERP 中央组件,可简化物流、财务、销售和仓储等业务任务。

SAP Fiori,一个用户体验平台,为设计人员和开发人员提供快速创建应用程序的敏捷工具和指南。SAP Fiori 实现了移动设备用户界面的快速开发,使用户能够在庞大的 Tomago 工厂中访问 SAP 工具。

IBM Lab Services 和 Advent One 在极其紧迫的期限内合作完成转型,在六天内部署了新的 IBM Power Systems、存储和备份基础架构(包括所有操作系统安装和配置)。Holloway 说道:“硬件交付后不到一周,“所有系统都已移交给 SAP 团队。”

Moncrieff 说:“我们知道,我们必须尽快交付和移交一切。我们要向 Advent One 和 IBM 团队中的每个人致敬。”

私有云基础架构包括 IBM Power Systems H924 (PDF) 和 IBM® PowerVM 服务器虚拟化,旨在将多个工作负载整合到更少的系统上,提高服务器利用率并提供端到端的安全性。

IBM 闪存存储解决方案IBM 混合闪存存储IBM 存储区域网络IBM® Spectrum Storage 软件提供了具有人工智能功能的完整存储解决方案,提高了内部存储和混合云存储的经济性。IBM® FlashSystem 以及所有闪存和混合闪存存储解决方案均采用 IBM Spectrum Virtualize 技术构建,用于软件定义的复制或迁移。

基于其实施 SAP 认证的 Red Hat 解决方案的经验,Advent One 建议 Tomago 将其多个操作系统整合到 Red Hat 平台上。Moncrieff 说:“拥有多个操作系统并不理想,我们不想让孤立的信息和关键资源依赖于一个人。Red Hat 为我们提供了操作系统方面的技术和开发知识,为我们在时机成熟时部署物联网做好了准备。”

将操作系统与 Red Hat Enterprise Linux(ibm.com 外部链接)整合,提供了一致性和弹性,并使 Tomago 能够利用 SAP 软件和 IBM Power Systems 平台之间的运营协同效应。

Tomago 的所有系统都向 Red Hat Insights (ibm.com 外部链接)软件即服务 (SaaS) 解决方案进行数据报告。Holloway 说:“借助 Insights,我们能够识别安全漏洞或配置问题,并根据安全基线对其进行基准测试。他们对正确开启安全设置感到放心。”

如此快速地建立基础设施的关键之一是使用 Red Hat Ansible 自动化平台(ibm.com 外部链接)来自动化整个部署。Holloway 说:“一旦硬件安装完毕并启动,其他一切都会自动化完成。我们提前一个多月就做好了准备。Tomago 能够非常快速、轻松地将 SAP HANA 系统从公共云复制到 IBM Power Systems,然后再进行切换。这里的关键之处在于移动非常轻松容易。”

管理层看到处理时间大大缩短,因此非常高兴。成本一致性也有了很大改进,因此我们可以在不增加额外成本的情况下为企业提供更好的服务。 Dennis Moncrieff IT 主管 Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited
利用基础应用程序的力量

通过对创新的投资,Tomago 现在可以充分利用其核心 SAP 应用程序的全部功能,并通过更具可操作性的洞察力做出更快更好的决策。与之前的公共云解决方案相比,Tomago 利用其内部的 IBM 私有云基础架构实现了显著的性能提升。Holloway 说道:“与之前的云平台相比,Tomago 在使用 IBM Power Systems 平台时发现性能提高了 75%。Tomago 的首席财务官还表示,这是他们有史以来最成功的项目之一。”

另一个改进例子是,过去在基于 x86 的公共云服务器上需要 60 秒才能处理的月末财务报告,现在只需 20 秒就能完成,速度提高了 66%。

Tomago 的新混合云系统运行效率也更高。Holloway 表示:“这比他们以前的情况要好得多。他们在公共云上有效使用了 32 个 CPU,现在他们在 IBM Power Systems 上使用了 8 个 CPU。即使做了这样的缩减,速度仍然快了 75%。”

与在公共云上运行相比,Tomago 可从自己的混合云系统的卓越成本控制和定价一致性中获益。该公司可以通过 IBM Power Systems 服务器内置的虚拟化功能轻松扩大容量。

硬件虚拟化还为开发人员和设计人员快速创建、测试和扩展新应用程序提供了更广阔的环境。Moncrieff 说:“无论我们是开启额外的模块,还是为开发建立沙盒环境,我们现在都能灵活地启用新的功能。成本管理的一致性是一项重大改进,我们可以在不增加额外成本的情况下为企业提供更好的服务。”

系统性能的可见性还能促进为系统用户提供更好的服务,优化洞察力,并实时显示决策的实际影响。Moncrieff 说:“我们有一个仪表板,在这里我们可以看到系统在数据库大小和内存使用方面的行为。有了这些洞察力,我们就能与同事就优化流程和改造流程进行对话。”

由于冶炼铝所需的电力成本不断变化,全球金属价格难以预测,Tomago 是在一个复杂且不断变化的行业中竞争。但为了应对这些挑战,Moncrieff 认为他的 IT 部门已经做好准备,在未来为公司提供支持。Moncrieff 说道:“在现场拥有 SAP、IBM Power Systems 和 IBM Storage 对我们的业务来说是一个更好的解决方案。这些部署让我确信,我们拥有一个非常稳定且富有弹性的系统。我们已经做好了准备,随时应对可能出现的任何情况。”

Tomago Aluminum Company Pty. limited 徽标
关于 Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited

Tomago(ibm.com 外部链接)位于澳大利亚新南威尔士州,自 1983 年开始生产以来一直每天 24 小时运营。冶炼厂拥有 1,100 名员工和承包商,年产铝 580,000 吨,每年为澳大利亚经济贡献 15 亿澳元。Tomago 是一家独立管理的合资企业,由 Rio Tinto Alcan、CSR 和 Hydro Aluminium 共同拥有。

 关于 Advent One

总部位于澳大利亚墨尔本的 IBM 合作伙伴 Advent One(ibm.com 外部链接)提供 IT 咨询和管理服务已有 20 年之久。该公司专注于云技术、网络安全、数据中心以及反欺诈和反洗钱技术。Advent One 还在企业存储、虚拟化、UNIX、IBM-i、Linux 和 Microsoft Windows 等领域拥有深厚的实力,可实现云迁移和 IT 转型。

阅读更多
智能制造,让地球更清洁 简化供应链,减少对环境的影响 针对包装解决方案的深度数据洞察
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM FlashSystem、IBM Spectrum、IBM Systems、Power 和 PowerVM 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Linux 注册商标是根据 Linux 基金会的再许可使用的,该基金会是 Linus Torvalds 的独家许可证持有人,也是该商标的全球所有者。

Microsoft 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

Red Hat, Inc. 的 Red Hat、Red Hat 徽标和 Ansible 是 Red Hat 公司或其子公司在美国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。

SAP、SAP HANA 和本文提及的其他 SAP 产品和服务及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

© 2021 SAP SE. 保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Optimizing the cloud for business-critical workloads

Tomago moves SAP HANA to private cloud
by Michael Tucker
10-minute read
Tomago headquarters

Once an aluminium smelting facility starts up, production cannot stop. That’s because cleaning out production pots where the liquid metal has solidified brings significant costs. At the Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited plant in Australia, production has continued 24 hours a day since 1983. Everything at the plant supports the processing of alumina into metal using 840 smelting pots organized into three enormous production lines.

The Tomago IT department plays a critical role in keeping the pot lines in production. “For example, we have a large warehouse of spare parts for critical plant infrastructure, and we depend on our SAP ERP platform to locate those parts quickly if something breaks,” says Dennis Moncrieff, IT Superintendent at Tomago. “We need to get production back online as soon as possible.”

Several years ago, the IT team was approached by a third-party provider, which offered Tomago the opportunity to upgrade its business-essential SAP® software to the SAP HANA® platform — if Tomago also migrated to a public cloud provider.

However, not long after Tomago completed its migration, issues began to surface. “The cloud was a true black box. We had no insights into it at all,” says Moncrieff. “It was challenging to make decisions because we couldn’t see how much capacity was being used by the environment. All we had was up-or-down monitoring.”

“Tomago knew that the service was running, but they didn’t know much more than that,” says Talor Holloway, Chief Technical Officer of IBM Business Partner, Advent One. “How could they spin up a sandbox environment or how would they know that backups were occurring — where’s the proof?”

Working with the public cloud also presented obstacles when it came to development initiatives. “The provider wanted reliability and uptime for the current solution, and it became difficult for us to do anything innovative,” says Moncrieff. “We couldn’t do development work outside of business hours, so that stymied progress.”

When the contract with the public cloud provider was scheduled to expire in October 2020, Moncrieff saw another opportunity emerge. Prior to migrating to the public cloud, Tomago operated an earlier SAP ERP version on-premises, hosted on an earlier-generation IBM® Power® Systems infrastructure. The fact that the Power Systems hardware was not SAP-certified at the time influenced the decision to migrate to an SAP-certified public cloud solution.

Tomago smelting facility

Performance improvement with IBM Power Systems platform

75%

compared to public cloud platform

Installation of IBM Power Systems infrastructure

6 days

instead of weeks required for typical installation

Improved finance department efficiency with

66%

faster end-of-month report processing

Having SAP, IBM Power Systems and IBM flash storage solutions onsite is better for our business. It gives me confidence that we have a very stable and resilient system.
Dennis Moncrieff
IT Superintendent, Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited

However, when Moncrieff learned that IBM Power Systems were now certified for SAP HANA, a better option presented itself. “The public cloud makes sense if you have many locations and many internet connections,” Moncrieff says. “But I’ve got one cable that’s susceptible to the inevitable backhoe. If we lose that cable, we lose access to the cloud.”

Prior to 2015, when Tomago operated its on-premises SAP platform on Power Systems servers, Moncrieff appreciated the control and visibility he had. Now, he was ready to take advantage of the newest generation of IBM solutions available in a private cloud environment with the performance and flexibility his public cloud solution lacked.

“Once you become aware that you are restricted,” Moncrieff says, “you don’t want to be restricted anymore.”

Tomago smelting facility
Tomago smelting facility
Management has seen considerable improvements in processing times, so they are very happy. Cost consistency is also a big improvement so we can deliver better for the business at no extra cost.
Dennis Moncrieff
IT Superintendent, Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited
Rapid deployment and close teamwork
Management has seen considerable improvements in processing times, so they are very happy. Cost consistency is also a big improvement so we can deliver better for the business at no extra cost.
Dennis Moncrieff
IT Superintendent, Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited

Based on Advent One’s recommendations and its previous successful experience with running IBM systems onsite, Tomago decided to leave its public cloud provider and operate its suite of SAP solutions on a private cloud model, based on an integrated infrastructure of IBM systems and Red Hat solutions.

In addition to using its SAP ERP platform for warehouse management of spare parts, Tomago relies on SAP for other business-essential tasks such as payroll, procurement, HR, finance and other functions. Any loss or delay of data as the result of outages would have significant business impact, so Tomago’s IT department worked closely with Advent One and IBM to manage a smooth transition to its own private cloud, designed to support SAP solutions including:

SAP Business Warehouse powered by SAP HANA, a data warehouse to consolidate data, harmonize master data and provide flexible reporting scenarios.

SAP ECC powered by SAP HANA, an ERP Central Component that operates on the SAP HANA database and simplifies business tasks such as logistics, finance, sales and warehousing.

SAP Fiori®, a user experience platform that equips designers and developers with agile tools and guidelines to rapidly create apps. SAP Fiori enabled the quick development of user interfaces for mobile devices to provide users access to SAP tools throughout the sprawling Tomago plant facility.

Working together under an extremely tight deadline to complete the transformation, IBM Lab Services and Advent One deployed the new IBM Power Systems, storage and backup infrastructure — including all operating system installation and configuration — in six days. “In less than a week after hardware delivery,” says Holloway, “all systems were handed over to the SAP team.”

“We knew we had to deliver and turn everything over as fast as possible,” says Moncrieff. “Kudos to everyone on the Advent One and IBM team.”

The private cloud infrastructure included IBM Power Systems H924 and IBM PowerVM® server virtualization, designed to consolidate multiple workloads on fewer systems, increase server utilization and provide end-to-end security.

IBM flash storage solutions, IBM hybrid flash storage, IBM Storage Area Networks and IBM Spectrum® Storage software provided a complete storage solution with AI-infused capability that improves the economics of storage on-premises and for hybrid cloud. The storage units included IBM FlashSystem® 5100 and IBM FlashSystem 5010 solutions. Both units are built with IBM Spectrum Virtualize technology for software-defined replication or migration.

Based on its experience with implementing SAP-certified Red Hat solutions, Advent One recommended that Tomago consolidate its multiple operating systems onto Red Hat platforms. “Having multiple operating systems was not ideal and we didn’t want siloed information and critical resources dependent on one person,” says Moncrieff. “Red Hat gives us technical and development knowledge across the operating system and prepares us for IoT deployment when the time comes.”

Tomago smelting facility
Tomago smelting facility

Consolidating operating systems with Red Hat® Enterprise Linux® [external link] provided consistency and resiliency, and it enabled Tomago to take advantage of operational synergies between SAP software and IBM Power Systems platforms.

All of Tomago’s systems report to the Red Hat Insights [external link] software as a service (SaaS) solution. “With Insights, we’re able to identify security vulnerabilities or configuration issues and benchmark them against security baselines,” says Holloway. “They have a level of comfort in that the correct security settings are switched on.”

One of the keys to standing up the infrastructure so quickly was using the Red Hat Ansible® Automation Platform [external link] to automate the entire deployment. “Once the hardware was racked up and turned on, everything else was automated,” says Holloway. “We got them ready over a month early. Tomago was able to replicate the SAP HANA system from the public cloud to IBM Power Systems very quickly and painlessly, and then flip the switch. The key point here is just how easy it is to move.”

Harnessing the power of essential applications

By investing in innovation, Tomago can now harness the full power of its core SAP applications and make faster and better decisions through more actionable insights. With its IBM private cloud infrastructure on-premises, Tomago experienced significant performance improvements when compared to the previous public cloud solution. “Tomago saw a 75% performance increase using the IBM Power Systems platform when compared to the previous cloud platform,” says Holloway. “Tomago’s CFO also said that this was one of the most successful projects they ever had.”

For another improvement example, an end-of-month financial report that used to require 60 seconds to process on x86-based public cloud servers can now be completed in 20 seconds, which is 66% faster.

Tomago’s new hybrid cloud system also runs more efficiently. “It’s far better than what they had before,” says Holloway. “They effectively used 32 CPUs on a public cloud, and now they now have eight CPUs on IBM Power Systems. Even after making that reduction, it’s still 75% faster.”

Compared to running on the public cloud, Tomago benefits from the superior cost control and pricing consistency of its own hybrid cloud system. The company can easily scale up capacity through the virtualization built into IBM Power Systems servers.

Hardware virtualization also provides an expanded environment for developers and designers to rapidly create, test and scale up new apps. “Whether we turn on additional modules or stand up sandboxing environments for development, we now have the agility to look at what’s new,” says Moncrieff. “The consistency of cost management is a big improvement, and we can deliver better for the business with no extra costs.”

Visibility into system performance also promotes better service for system users, optimizes insights and displays the actual impacts of decisions in real time. “We have a dashboard where we can actually see the behavior of the system in terms of database size and memory usage,” Moncrieff says. “Having these insights enables us to have conversations with colleagues about optimizing processes and transforming them.”

With the cost of electricity required for smelting aluminium in flux and the unpredictability of global metal prices, Tomago competes in a complex and constantly changing industry. But in response to these challenges, Moncrieff believes that his IT department is well-positioned to support the company in the future. “Having SAP, IBM Power Systems and IBM Storage onsite is a better solution for our business,” says Moncrieff. “It gives me confidence that we have a very stable and resilient system. We’re ready and prepared to deal with anything that comes up.”

Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited logo
About Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited

Located in New South Wales, Australia, TomagoExternal Link has operated 24 hours a day since starting production in 1983. Staffed by 1,100 employees and contractors, the smelter produces 580,000 tons of aluminium annually and contributes AUD 1.5 billion to the Australian economy every year. Tomago is an independently managed joint venture owned by Rio Tinto Alcan, CSR and Hydro Aluminium.

About Advent One

Based in Melbourne, Australia, IBM Business Partner, Advent OneExternal Link has provided IT consulting and managed services for 20 years. The firm specializes in cloud, cybersecurity, data center and anti-fraud and anti-money laundering technologies. Advent One also offers deep capabilities in enterprise storage, virtualization, UNIX, IBM-i, Linux and Microsoft Windows to enable cloud migration and IT transformation.

Solution components
Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited logo
About Tomago Aluminium Company Pty. Limited

Located in New South Wales, Australia, TomagoExternal Link has operated 24 hours a day since starting production in 1983. Staffed by 1,100 employees and contractors, the smelter produces 580,000 tons of aluminium annually and contributes AUD 1.5 billion to the Australian economy every year. Tomago is an independently managed joint venture owned by Rio Tinto Alcan, CSR and Hydro Aluminium.

About Advent One

Based in Melbourne, Australia, IBM Business Partner, Advent OneExternal Link has provided IT consulting and managed services for 20 years. The firm specializes in cloud, cybersecurity, data center and anti-fraud and anti-money laundering technologies. Advent One also offers deep capabilities in enterprise storage, virtualization, UNIX, IBM-i, Linux and Microsoft Windows to enable cloud migration and IT transformation.

Solution components