为数据驱动的世界节约能源
丹麦气象研究所 (Danish Meteorological Institute) 与 IBM 合作,采用更加可持续的现代化存储系统
我们谈谈天气吧。对于丹麦气象研究所 (DMI) 来说,这不仅仅是咖啡时间闲聊的话题。从实时预报和恶劣天气预警到基于 100 余年观测的长期气候研究,DMI 利用天气和气候数据对社会产生关键且持久的影响。

这家拥有 150 年历史的研究所负责监测和预报丹麦王国(包括丹麦、法罗群岛和格陵兰)的空中、陆地和海洋天气、气候和环境状况。为此,研究所通过王国各地的气象站和卫星收集数据。

但是它的影响范围远远超出其地理边界。虽然研究所的总部位于哥本哈根并将大部分数据存储于那里,但作为丹麦王国与冰岛、荷兰和爱尔兰合作计划的一部分,它在冰岛的一台超级计算机上进行预测计算。这种合作关系加强 DMI 对采用全球方法共享预报和气候信息的承诺。

“整个世界正处于绿色转型之中,”DMI 总干事 Marianne Thyrring 说,“我们提供数据,助力管理风电场、太阳能发电场等,并将在未来继续这样做。另一方面,气候变化已经到来,不是尚未到来。因此,作为天气预报方面的权威以及与民防机构的合作组织,我们也需要在这方面承担重要责任。而且,在恶劣天气频发的情况下,这个角色越来越重要。”

过去,DMI 向商业用户收取数据费用。但是几年前,DMI 开始逐步停止商业业务,专注于为公众服务,向所有提出要求的个人和实体(包括个人、研究机构和企业)免费提供数据。

这个决定支撑 DMI 的双重目标。“我们的战略选择是专注于公共机构角色,在发生严重天气灾害时照顾人员和财产安全,”Thyrring 说,“作为国家气候研究中心的主持方,我们也是气候研究的相关机构。”

人和环境是 DMI 使命的核心,但数据是实现使命的驱动力。DMI 的气候科学家团队依赖于数据的准确性、及时性和可用性。而且数据量正在以越来越快的速度增长。

“每次我对一个冰盖运行气候模型时,生成的数据可能与 DMI 的第一个百年所生成的数据一样多,”DMI 高级气候科学家 Ruth Mottram 说道,她研究全球变暖对格陵兰冰盖的影响。“我们现在正在产生更多的数据。我们处理卫星数据,并且越来越多的卫星任务具有更高的分辨率。因此,模型在不断改进,我们需要为模型提供的数据量也在不断增加。

1 个存储系统

 

将多供应商存储系统替换为 1 个融合闪存、旋转磁盘和磁带介质的端到端 IBM 存储系统

150 年数据

 

实施多层存储系统,管理 150 年的气象数据

IBM 与我们积极合作。IBM 在为海量数据打造新型存储方式方面经验丰富,也展示了我们需要的开放性,让我们相信听从供应商的引导将带来良好的结果。 Marianne Thyrring 总干事 丹麦气象研究所
集成式存储系统

2020 年底,DMI 准备对哥本哈根数据中心迁址。这是重新评估研究所过时的存储系统的绝佳机会。

“我们的存储系统陈旧不堪,无法满足未来的需求,”DMI 副总干事 Thomas Kjellberg 说道,“我们希望减少存储对环境的影响,因为存储对能源消耗巨大。我们还希望以更低的成本更轻松、更好地访问数据,为多元化用户提供支持。我们需要一种不仅可以在本地扩展,还可以扩展到云端的解决方案——混合云解决方案。”

从环境和成本角度来看,将数据归档到磁带对于 DMI 尤为重要。与存储在光盘上的数据不同,存储在磁带上的数据在闲置时不耗电。“我们为未来五年到十年完成的重新预测和重新建模存储大量数据,”Kjellberg 说,我们不需要高速、高能耗的存储设施。”

在 DMI 评估的所有存储方案提供商中,IBM 高居榜首。IBM 不仅提供集成式硬件和软件存储系统,而且还将其纳入统包解决方案,由 IBM 监督整个实施过程并提供专家支持。

该解决方案的核心是 IBM® Storage Scale。这款企业级文件存储系统具有处理大型、复杂数据工作负载所需的可扩展性和性能,并能够将闪存、磁盘、磁带和云存储组合成统一系统。

对于长期数据存储,IBM Storage Archive 可将归档数据存储在磁带上,IBM Storage Protect 可将数据移动到磁带上,并根据用户请求进行检索。整个过程对最终用户具有透明性,最终用户通过单一界面即可访问位于各地的数据。

团队于 2021 年 1 月正式启动工作。IBM 项目经理从始至终监督实施过程,IBM 团队也始终与 DMI 密切合作。

IBM 通过一系列研讨会启动该项目,收集 DMI 各个部门(从 IT 到管理层)关键用户的意见,努力了解用户需求并让他们了解新系统的功能。在研讨会上,IBM Systems Lab Services 代表提供了有关新系统的指导,解释了文件系统每个区域的各种数据服务级别、目录结构和备份例程。

在实施过程中,团队需要将数据从 DMI 的旧数据中心移动到新数据中心,而不中断用户对数据的访问。为此他们分两部分进行数据实现和物理迁移。“我们在旧位置建造一半系统,将数据从旧磁带库移至新存储系统,”Kjellberg 说,“然后,我们将整个存储系统移至新位置并在那里进行设置。接着我们实施新系统的第二部分。”

可持续性新高度

随着新 IBM 存储系统的启动和运行,DMI 正在加深对可持续性的关注。“2023 年,我们非常希望在丹麦的绿色转型中拥有更大的发言权,”Thyrring 说道,“鉴于当前世界事件对能源市场的影响,欧洲的绿色转型成为大家最关心的问题。因此,关键在于利用气候数据来调节和预测能源消耗并提高能源效率。”

“因此,我们下一步要在气候和危害天气领域大力运用我们的数据和科学家的知识。当然,如果没有强大的技术,我们就无法处理所有数据、所有预测和所有技术工作。”

DMI 正与 IBM 合作开发该技术,特别是扩展其存储解决方案的云功能并深入研究人工智能。“我们开始大力投资机器学习,”Mottram 说,“所以我们的数据将非常有价值,我们可以用它训练未来的机器学习模型。在生成数据时,有很多事情我们并不知道,但在五年或十年后,我们能够回过头说,‘得到这些数据真的很好。这很有用。’”

拥有统一的存储系统也为 DMI 带来优势。“对我们来说重要的是,我们获得的存储系统可以控制数据存储位置方面的底层结构,”Mottram 说,“与旧系统相比,新系统中磁带上存储每 PB 数据的成本更低。当然,随着我们的前进,继续为最终用户提供良好、可信的体验至关重要。”

信任也是 DMI 与 IBM 成功合作的关键。“与 IBM 合作开发该解决方案是我们的一次学习练习。”Thyrring 说,IBM 与我们积极合作。IBM 在为海量数据打造新型存储方式方面经验丰富,也展示了我们需要的开放性,让我们相信听从供应商的引导将带来良好的结果。

“我们正在处理如此复杂的问题,只有集思广益才能找到好的解决方案,”她总结道,“购买这个存储系统后,知道未来几年内我们将继续合作,这对我们非常重要。”

关于丹麦气象研究所 (DMI)

DMI 成立于 1872 年,总部位于哥本哈根,为丹麦王国(包括丹麦、法罗群岛和格陵兰)公民提供气象服务。研究所的职责包括监测和预报空中、陆地和海洋的天气、气候和环境条件。

接下来:
伯明翰大学

通过控制数据,推动创新研究

阅读成功案例
pixitmedia

混合云中的“好莱坞”:数据管理解决方案,让好戏连台

阅读成功案例
Orange Caraïbe

通过更环保、更强大的数据中心节省时间、金钱和精力

阅读成功案例
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023.IBM Corporation, IBM Storage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504.

2023 年 6 月在美国制作。

IBM 和 IBM 徽标是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新清单可在 ibm.com /trademark 上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Conserving energy in a data-driven world
The Danish Meteorological Institute teams with IBM to adopt a modernized, more sustainable storage system
Let’s talk about the weather. For the Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI), it’s much more than a topic of coffee-hour chatter. From real-time forecasts and severe weather warnings to long-term climate studies based on 100+ years of observations, the institute uses weather and climate data to make critical and lasting impacts on society.

The 150-year-old institute is responsible for monitoring and forecasting weather, climate and environmental conditions in the air, land and sea for the Kingdom of Denmark, which includes Denmark, the Faroe Islands and Greenland. To that end, it collects data from weather stations and satellites from across the kingdom.

But its reach extends far beyond its borders. While the institute is headquartered in Copenhagen and stores much of its data there, it does its forecasting calculations on a supercomputer in Iceland as part of a partnership with Iceland, the Netherlands and Ireland. The collaborative relationship reinforces the institute’s commitment to a global approach to sharing forecasting and climate information.

“The whole world is in a green transition,” says Marianne Thyrring, Director General at DMI. “We provide data to help manage wind farms, solar farms and the like, and will continue to do so in the future. On the other hand, climate change is here. It is not something we are waiting for. So our responsibility as the authoritative voice in weather forecasting and collaboration with the civil protection agencies is a very, very important part of our duties as well. And it is a role that has a growing importance when it comes to severe weather situations.”

In the past, DMI charged commercial users for its data. But a few years ago, the institute started phasing out its commercial business to focus solely on serving the public, offering its data for free to any person or entity—from individuals to other research institutes to corporations—that requested it.

The decision supports DMI’s two-fold purpose. “We made a strategic choice to focus on our role as the public authority taking care of human beings and property in cases of severe weather hazards,” says Thyrring. “We also are a relevant body in climate research, as hosts of the National Center for Climate Research.”

While people and the environment are at the heart of DMI’s mission, data is the driver that makes fulfilling that mission possible. Within the organization, a team of climate scientists relies on that data being accurate, timely and available. And the quantity of data is growing with ever-increasing speed.

“Every time I run a climate model over one of the ice sheets, I’m probably generating as much data as the first hundred years of DMI,” says Ruth Mottram, Senior Climate Scientist at DMI, who studies the effect of global warming on the ice sheets of Greenland. “We’re producing a lot more data now. We work with satellite data, and there are ever more satellite missions coming with higher resolution. So the models are constantly improving, and the amount of data we want to assimilate into them is also increasing.”

1 Storage system

 

Replaced a multi-vendor storage system with 1 end-to-end IBM storage system that integrates flash, spinning disk and tape media

150 years’ data

 

Implemented a multi-tiered storage system to manage 150 years’ worth of meteorological data

The way IBM has worked with us has been really positive. IBM has a lot of experience in new ways of establishing storage for huge amounts of data and has demonstrated the openness we need to trust that listening vendors will lead to good things. Marianne Thyrring Director General Danish Meteorological Institute
An integrated storage system

In late 2020, DMI was preparing to move its Copenhagen data center to a new location in the city. It was the perfect opportunity to reevaluate the institute’s outdated storage system.

“Our storage system was getting too old to cope with future demands,” says Thomas Kjellberg, Deputy Director General at DMI. “We wanted to reduce the environmental footprint of storage, because it was an area of huge energy consumption. We also wanted to support our diverse users with easier and better access to data at a lower cost. And we needed a solution that could scale, not just on premises but also into the cloud—a hybrid cloud solution.”

The ability to archive data to tape was particularly critical to DMI, from both environmental and cost perspectives. Unlike data stored on discs, data stored on tape uses no electricity when not in use. “We store a lot of data for reforecasting and remodeling purposes, which might be done in five or 10 years,” says Kjellberg. We don’t need high speed, energy-consuming storage to store that data.”

Of all the storage providers DMI evaluated, IBM rose to the top. Not only did IBM offer an integrated hardware and software storage system, but it also provided it as part of a turnkey solution, with IBM overseeing the entire implementation and providing expert support along the way.

At the core of the solution is IBM® Storage Scale. The enterprise-level file storage system has the scalability and performance needed to handle large, complex data workloads and the capacity to combine flash, disk, tape and cloud storage into a unified system.

For longer-term data storage, IBM Storage Archive stores archived data on tape and IBM Storage Protect moves the data to tape and retrieves it when a user requests it. The entire process is transparent to the end users, who access all data, regardless of where it resides, from a single interface.

The team began work in earnest in January 2021. An IBM project manager oversaw the implementation from start to finish, and the IBM team collaborated closely with DMI throughout.

IBM launched the project with a series of workshops to gather input from key users across various DMI departments—from IT to management—in an effort to understand users’ needs and educate them on the new system’s capabilities. During the workshops, an IBM Systems Lab Services representative provided guidance on the new system, explaining the various data service levels, directory structures and backup routines for each area of the file systems.

During the implementation, the team needed a way to move the data from DMI’s old data center to its new one without disrupting users’ access to that data. The solution was to do the data implementation and physical migration in two parts. “We built half the system in the old location, moving data out of the old tape library into the new storage system,” says Kjellberg. “Then we moved the entire storage system to our new location and set it up there. We then implemented the second part of the new system.”

The next level of sustainability

With its new IBM storage system up and running, DMI is now deepening its focus on sustainability. “In 2023, we are really keen on having a bigger voice in the green transition in Denmark,” says Thyrring. “With the effect of current world events on energy markets, the green transition in Europe is top of everybody’s minds. So using climate data to regulate and predict energy consumption and increase its efficiency is really key.

“That’s why the next step for us is to make even more use of our data and our scientists’ knowledge in the areas of climate and hazardous weather situations. Of course, we can’t handle all the data, all our forecasts and all the technical pieces without a robust technological setup.”

DMI is working with IBM to build upon that technology, especially in expanding the cloud capabilities of its storage solution and delving into AI. “We’re starting to invest heavily in machine learning,” says Mottram. “So our data is going to be hugely valuable because we can use it to start training machine learning models in the future. There are a lot of things we don’t know at the time we’re producing data, but in five-years’ or ten-years’ time, we’ll be able to go back and say, ‘It’s good that we got that. And that was useful.’”

Having a unified storage system is also reaping benefits for DMI. “The important thing for us is that we have one storage system that keeps control of the underlying structure in terms of where data is stored,” says Mottram. “There has been a reduction in the cost per petabyte of data that is stored on tape in the new system compared to the old system. As we move forward, of course, it’s vital that we continue to provide end users a good, trustworthy experience.”

Trust is also key in the successful relationship between DMI and IBM. “Working with IBM to develop this solution has been a learning exercise for us,” says Thyrring. “The way IBM has worked with us has been really positive. IBM has a lot of experience in new ways of establishing storage for huge amounts of data and has demonstrated the openness we need to trust that listening vendors will lead to good things.

“We are dealing with such complex matters that only by putting our brains together can we find good solutions,” she concludes. “After buying this storage system, it’s really important to us to know we are going to work together in the years to come.”

About Danish Meteorological Institute (DMI)

Founded in 1872, DMI provides meteorological services to the citizens of the Kingdom of Denmark, which comprises Denmark, the Faroes and Greenland. The institute’s responsibilities include monitoring and forecasting weather, climate and environmental conditions in the air, land and sea. The institute is headquartered in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Next up:
University of Birmingham

Driving innovative research forward by taking control of data

Read the case study
pixitmedia

Hollywood in the hybrid cloud: Data management solutions keep the action rolling

Read the case study
Orange Caraïbe

Saving time, money and effort with a more eco-friendly, powerful data center

Read the case study
Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, IBM Storage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504.

Produced in the United States of America, June 2023

IBM, and the IBM logo are trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client's results will depend entirely on the client's systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.