什么是 MongoDB?

menu icon

什么是 MongoDB?

本指南探讨将 MongoDB 整合至企业数据库管理解决方案后所具备的功能和优势。

什么是 MongoDB?

MongoDB (链接指向 IBM 外部资源) 是一个开源的非关系型数据库管理系统 (DBMS),它不使用表和行,而是采用灵活的文档来处理和存储各种形式的数据。 作为 NoSQL 解决方案,MongoDB 不需要关系数据库管理系统 (RDBMS),因此它提供弹性数据存储模型,助力用户轻松存储和查询多变量数据类型。 这不仅可以简化开发人员的数据库管理,还能为跨平台应用程序和服务创建一个高度可扩展的环境。

文档或文档集合是 MongoDB 中数据的基本单元。 这些文档采用二进制 JSON (Java Script Object Notation) 格式,可以存储各种类型的数据并分布于多个系统中。 由于 MongoDB 采用动态架构设计,用户具备无与伦比的灵活性,可轻松完成创建数据记录、通过 MongoDB 聚合查询文档集合以及分析大量信息等任务。

MongoDB 与其他数据库的对比

当前市面上可用的数据库管理解决方案如此之多,为您的企业选择合适的解决方案并非易事。 以下是一些常见的解决方案比较和最佳用例,或许对您的决策有所帮助。

MongoDB 与 MySQL 的对比

MySQL(链接指向 IBM 外部资源) 使用结构化查询语言来访问存储数据。 在这种格式中,模式用于创建数据库结构,将表格作为标准化数据类型的一种方式,确保可搜索和正确查询各类值。 作为一种成熟的解决方案,MySQL 广泛适用于各种情景,包括网站数据库、应用程序和商业产品管理。

鉴于其精确规范的特性,MySQL 比 MongoDB 更适合必须保持数据完整性和隔离的任务,例如管理事务型数据。 但 MongoDB 的格式限制较少、性能更高,在另一些任务中是更好的选择,尤其是主要关注可用性和速度的任务。

MongoDB 与 Cassandra 的对比

虽然 Cassandra(链接指向 IBM 外部资源) 和 MongoDB 都被视为 NoSQL 数据库,但各有其优势。 Cassandra 采用具有行和列的传统表结构,可让用户在编译数据之前对其进行格式化时保持一致性和持久性。

Cassandra 具有类似于 SQL 的语法,可为寻求 NoSQL 解决方案的企业提供更轻松的迁移方案;它还能安全可靠地处理部署和复制,且无需进行大量配置。 但是,论及处理结构化和非结构化数据集方面的灵活性或在任务关键型云应用程序中的性能和可靠性,它无法与 MongoDB 相匹敌。

用例

移动应用程序

MongoDB 的 JSON 文档模型可让您在任何需要的地方存储后端应用程序数据,包括 Apple iOS 和 Android 设备以及基于云的存储解决方案。 这种灵活性可确保您能通过二级和地理空间索引跨多个环境聚合数据,帮助开发人员无缝扩展他们的移动应用程序。

实时分析

随着企业扩大运营规模,从各类庞大的数据池中获取关键指标和业务洞察变得至关重要。 MongoDB 可以轻松地将 JSON 和 BSON 等类似 JSON 的文档转换为 Java 对象,在 MongoDB 中实现快速的数据读写,并显著提升分析实时信息时的效率,涵盖多个开发环境。 事实证明,这对包括政府、金融服务和零售在内的多个业务领域均大有裨益。

内容管理系统

内容管理系统 (CMS) 是一种功能强大的工具,在用户访问电子商务网站、在线出版物、文档管理平台和其他应用程序和服务时,构成企业提供积极用户体验的重要保障。 借助 MongoDB,您可以使用单一数据库和可用性高的架构轻松地将新功能和属性添加至在线应用程序和网站中。 

企业数据仓库

Apache Hadoop 框架是开源模块的集合,包括 Hadoop 分布式文件系统和 Hadoop MapReduce,它与 MongoDB 协同存储、处理和分析大量数据。 组织可以使用 MongoDB 和 Hadoop 来执行风险建模、预测性分析和实时数据处理。

优势

多年来,许多企业都在寻求功能强大和高度可扩展的 NoSQL 数据库,最终他们都将 MongoDB 视为值得信赖的解决方案。 然而,MongoDB 不仅仅是一个传统的基于文档的数据库,它还拥有多项强大功能,让其从众多 DBMS 系统中脱颖而出。

负载均衡

随着企业云应用规模的扩大和资源需求的增加,保障服务的可用性和可靠性可能会面临种种挑战。 MongoDB 的负载均衡 共享程序一次性将大型数据集分布在多个虚拟机 上,同时仍保持总体适度的读写吞吐量。 这种水平扩展称为分片,可帮助组织避免硬件垂直扩展的成本,同时仍能扩展云端部署的容量。

即席数据库查询

与其他数据库相比,MongoDB 的一大优势是能够处理不需要预定义模式的即席查询。 MongoDB 数据库使用类似于 SQL 数据库的查询语言,对于初学者和高级开发人员来说都极易上手。 得益于这种高度可访问性,使用常用的帮助方法和简单的 shell 命令就能轻松推送、查询、排序、更新和导出数据。

多语言支持

MongoDB 的一大优点是多语言支持。 MongoDB 已发布多个版本,并且仍在持续开发中,其驱动程序支持常用的编程语言,包括 Python、PHP、Ruby、Node.js、C++、Scala、JavaScript 等等。

部署和设置

部署涉及两项主要活动: 安装 MongoDB 和创建数据库。

安装 MongoDB

创建数据库

安装 MongoDB 后,您需要创建存储数据的目录。 这一步可以在本地完成,也可以通过公有云或私有云存储解决方案完成。 有关如何开始使用 MongoDB 的更多信息,请点击此处(链接指向 IBM 外部资源) ,获取全方位的指南、教程和分步说明。

MongoDB 和 IBM

如何在集成至多云 环境的同时管理好 NoSQL 数据库,许多组织正在寻求这方面更好的解决方案,为此,IBM Cloud® Databases for MongoDB  应运而生,提供灵活且可扩展的解决方案,满足这些组织的所有企业需求。 通过充分发挥 MongoDB 强大的索引和查询功能,结合 IBM 完全管理型安全云配置,IBM 打造出高度可持续、安全可靠的企业数据库管理解决方案。

Databases for MongoDB 原生集成至 IBM Cloud 控制台,且高度可用,在维护、协调和监控数据结构时,可覆盖企业整体基础架构,轻松提供无缝顺畅的自动化功能。 借助 IBM 在企业开发和数据库管理方面的多年经验,您的团队无需为业务的安全性、合规性、可扩展性和可靠性操心,可专注于为客户创建更好、更具创新力的解决方案。

如需详细了解在企业环境中轻松部署 MongoDB 的便捷方法,以及如何最大限度提升团队效率,可深入探索 IBM Cloud Databases for MongoDB

更多有关 MongoDB 的深入讨论,请查看数据库深度挖掘 (Database Deep Dives:): MongoDB

IBM 还与 MongoDB 合作推出了 MongoDB Enterprise Advanced,这是一款包含 MongoDB Enterprise Server 以及拥有全面支持、安全性和高级软件工具的软件包。 MongoDB Enterprise Advanced 可作为完全集成的多云数据和 AI 平台 IBM Cloud Pak®  for Data 的附加组件。 或者,您也可以使用 IBM Data Management Platform for MongoDB Enterprise Advanced ,将其集成至现有 x86、IBM Power® 和 IBM Z® 环境的数据管理解决方案之中。

立即注册 IBMid 并创建 IBM Cloud 帐户

What is MongoDB?

menu icon

What is MongoDB?

This guide explores the features and benefits of using MongoDB as part of your enterprise database management solution.

What is MongoDB?

MongoDB (link resides outside IBM) is an open source, nonrelational database management system (DBMS) that uses flexible documents instead of tables and rows to process and store various forms of data. As a NoSQL solution, MongoDB does not require a relational database management system (RDBMS), so it provides an elastic data storage model that enables users to store and query multivariate data types with ease. This not only simplifies database management for developers but also creates a highly scalable environment for cross-platform applications and services.

MongoDB documents or collections of documents are the basic units of data. Formatted as Binary JSON (Java Script Object Notation), these documents can store various types of data and be distributed across multiple systems. Since MongoDB employs a dynamic schema design, users have unparalleled flexibility when creating data records, querying document collections through MongoDB aggregation and analyzing large amounts of information.

Comparing MongoDB to other databases

With so many database management solutions currently available, it can be hard to choose the right solution for your enterprise. Here are some common solution comparisons and best use cases that can help you decide.

MongoDB vs. MySQL

MySQL (link resides outside IBM) uses a structured query language to access stored data. In this format, schemas are used to create database structures, utilizing tables as a way to standardize data types so that values are searchable and can be queried properly. A mature solution, MySQL is useful for a variety of situations including website databases, applications and commercial product management.

Because of its rigid nature, MySQL is preferable to MongoDB when data integrity and isolation are essential, such as when managing transactional data. But MongoDB’s less-restrictive format and higher performance make it a better choice, particularly when availability and speed are primary concerns.

MongoDB vs. Cassandra

While Cassandra (link resides outside IBM) and MongoDB are both considered NoSQL databases, they have different strengths. Cassandra uses a traditional table structure with rows and columns, which enables users to maintain uniformity and durability when formatting data before it’s compiled.

Cassandra can offer an easier transition for enterprises looking for a NoSQL solution because it has a syntax similar to SQL; it also reliably handles deployment and replication without a lot of configuration. However, it can’t match MongoDB’s flexibility for handling structured and unstructured data sets or its performance and reliability for mission-critical cloud applications.

Use cases

Mobile applications

MongoDB’s JSON document model lets you store back-end application data wherever you need it, including in Apple iOS and Android devices as well as cloud-based storage solutions. This flexibility lets you aggregate data across multiple environments with secondary and geospatial indexing, giving developers the ability to scale their mobile applications seamlessly.

Real-time analytics

As companies scale their operations, gaining access to key metrics and business insights from large pools of data is critical. MongoDB handles the conversion of JSON and JSON-like documents, such as BSON, into Java objects effortlessly, making the reading and writing of data in MongoDB fast and incredibly efficient when analyzing real-time information across multiple development environments. This has proved beneficial for several business sectors, including government, financial services and retail.

Content management systems

Content management systems (CMS) are powerful tools that play an important role in ensuring positive user experiences when accessing e-commerce sites, online publications, document management platforms and other applications and services. By using MongoDB, you can easily add new features and attributes to your online applications and websites using a single database and with high availability. 

Enterprise Data Warehouse

The Apache Hadoop framework is a collection of open source modules, including Hadoop Distributed File System and Hadoop MapReduce, that work with MongoDB to store, process and analyze large amounts of data. Organizations can use MongoDB and Hadoop to perform risk modeling, predictive analytics and real-time data processing.

Benefits

Over the years, MongoDB has become a trusted solution for many businesses that are looking for a powerful and highly scalable NoSQL database. But MongoDB is much more than just a traditional document-based database and it boasts a few great capabilities that make it stand out from other DBMS.

Load balancing

As enterprises' cloud applications scale and resource demands increase, problems can arise in securing the availability and reliability of services. MongoDB’s load balancing sharing process distributes large data sets across multiple virtual machines at once while still maintaining acceptable read and write throughputs. This horizontal scaling is called sharding and it helps organizations avoid the cost of vertical scaling of hardware while still expanding the capacity of cloud-based deployments.

Ad hoc database queries

One of MongoDB’s biggest advantages over other databases is its ability to handle ad hoc queries that don’t require predefined schemas. MongoDB databases use a query language that’s similar to SQL databases and is extremely approachable for beginner and advanced developers alike. This accessibility makes it easy to push, query, sort, update and export your data with common help methods and simple shell commands.

Multilanguage support

One of the great things about MongoDB is its multilanguage support. Several versions of MongoDB have been released and are in continuous development with driver support for popular programming languages, including Python, PHP, Ruby, Node.js, C++, Scala, JavaScript and many more.

Deployment and setup

Deployment involves two primary activities: installing MongoDB and creating a database.

Installing MongoDB

Creating a database

After installing MongoDB, you’ll need to create a directory where your data will be stored. This can be done locally or through public or private cloud storage solutions. For more information about getting started with MongoDB, click here (link resides outside IBM) for comprehensive guides, tutorials and walk-throughs.

MongoDB and IBM

For organizations seeking a better solution for managing their NoSQL databases while integrating into a multicloud environment, IBM Cloud® Databases for MongoDB provides a flexible and scalable solution for all their enterprise needs. By leveraging MongoDB’s powerful indexing and querying capabilities with IBM’s fully managed, secure cloud configurations, they get a highly sustainable and secure solution for enterprise database management.

Natively integrated and available in the IBM Cloud console, Databases for MongoDB provides seamless automation capabilities when maintaining, coordinating and monitoring your data structure across your entire infrastructure. With IBM’s years of experience in enterprise development and database management at your disposal, you can let your team focus on creating better, more innovative solutions for your clients, knowing that your business’s security, compliance, scalability and reliability are in the right hands.

To learn more about how easy it can be to deploy MongoDB in an enterprise setting and how you can maximize your team’s efficiency, explore IBM Cloud Databases for MongoDB.

For a more in-depth look at MongoDB, check out Database Deep Dives: MongoDB.

IBM has also partnered with MongoDB to provide MongoDB Enterprise Advanced, a package that includes MongoDB Enterprise Server plus comprehensive support, security and advanced software tools. MongoDB Enterprise Advanced is available as an add-on for IBM Cloud Pak® for Data, a fully integrated, multicloud data and AI platform. Or you can integrate it into your existing data management solution for x86, IBM Power® and IBM Z® environments with IBM Data Management Platform for MongoDB Enterprise Advanced.

Sign up for an IBMid and create your IBM Cloud account.