佛罗里达大学
旨在支持学生取得最高成绩
了解 Cognos Analytics
大学图书馆

大学教育不仅能提升学生毕业后的职业前景,还能提高劳动力技能,造福整个社会。佛罗里达大学 (UF) 正在利用 IBM Analytics 解决方案来监控和预测学生的表现,并帮助他们走上成功之路。

业务挑战

在全国各地学生流失率不断上升的背景下,佛罗里达大学如何帮助更多的学生顺利完成学业?

变革

学校的分析团队知道学生行为数据可能是关键,因此使用 IBM Cognos Analytics 将数据转化为教职工可落实的洞察。

结果 启用
教师识别风险学生并加强支持支持
撤消锁定
制定针对性计划以提高保留率和毕业率的可能性
要点
帮助该大学跻身美国公立大学十强之列的关键指标
业务挑战案例
让学生留在学校

美国各地大学的学生流失率很高:最近一项研究表明,只有 54.8% 的学生在六年内取得学位。佛罗里达大学 (UF) 要逆流而上,帮助更多学生完成学业并加强学校的卓越学术声誉。

“佛罗里达大学的目标是确保学生充分发挥潜力,为自己和家人打造光明的未来,”佛罗里达大学 (UF) 副首席信息官 Dave Gruber 解释道,“为此,我们不仅致力于让学生努力完成学业,而且致力于帮助他们在佛罗里达大学学习期间取得成功。”

与大多数机构一样,佛罗里达大学可以访问大量学生数据,包括人口统计数据、高中成绩和当前成绩。随着在线学习系统的兴起,学校还有新的数据来源,包括每个学生学习习惯的详细信息。例如,学校可以监视学生观看视频讲座、阅读课程资料和完成作业的时间。

学校分析团队认识到,将所有信源结合起来可能会揭示一些模式和洞察分析,这正是提高学生留存率并帮助学生完成学业的关键。

Gruber 继续道:“我们知道可以更好地利用我们拥有的数据。例如,如果能够确定哪些学生落后,我们就可以更早、更有针对性地干预,让他们重回正轨。越早知道学生需要支持,就越有机会让他们保持参与并帮助他们进步。”

为了帮助大学各个部门做出数据驱动的决策以提高学生成绩,佛罗里达大学决定让更多用户更轻松地获取信息。

Gruber 说:“我们现有的分析平台主要支持财务和人力资源领域的用户,他们天生是‘数据人’。我们希望提供更现代、更直观的界面,让教职员更容易上手。”

在某些情况下,用户已经开始使用现代数据可视化工具来深入了解部门级别的数据,但该大学知道,采用更集中的方法将是更好的长期策略。

Gruber 解释道:“信息安全和数据隐私管理工作的复杂性逐年增长。信息分析和可视化只是问题的一半;我们还需要强大的数据治理框架,防止学校遭遇监管和声誉风险。这意味着企业级平台是唯一出路。”

来自 IBM Cognos Analytics 的洞察分析有助于我们在整个学校实施更有效的政策。通过识别哪些学生面临风险,我们能更早、更有效地干预。 Dave Gruber Associate CIO University of Florida
变革案例
为获得学术成就做好准备

为了帮助学术和行政人员更清楚地了解学生的进展,佛罗里达大学升级到 IBM® Cognos® Analytics,以期加强数据分析和可视化功能。

Gruber 说道:“十多年来,我们一直在人力资源和财务职能中使用 IBM Cognos 解决方案,因此我们对该平台的数据治理能力充满信心。尽管如此,我们还是考虑放弃 Cognos Business Intelligence,因为我们认为它无法满足我们的现代企业可视化平台需求。

“当我们看到新版 IBM Cognos Analytics 时,它完全改变了我们的看法。它为用户提供更强大的前端功能、直观的界面、全新的自助服务功能和更先进的可视化效果。”

佛罗里达大学还使用 IBM InfoSphere® DataStage® 从多个来源提取数据,并将数据传输和加载到 IBM Cognos Analytics ,并使用 IBM SPSS® Modeler 支持数据建模和预测分析。这些解决方案共同加强了学校对学生进展的洞察能力。

Gruber 说:“我们尚未将学生进度监控解决方案推广到大学的所有领域,但我们已经取得了许多重要的早期成果。例如,我们一直在开发一些仪表板,可以汇总不同类型的信息,例如学生的学业成绩记录和学习模式,并可以帮助我们确定学生何时以及为何在特定课程上遇到困难。”

“这个解决方案的潜力是巨大的;我们可以使用大量数据来更深入地研究学生流失和学业成绩低下的原因。例如,我们可以查看在线学习平台上的数据,了解哪些学生阅读了教科书的哪些章节,并评估这些阅读习惯如何影响他们在课程模块上的成绩。借助 IBM Cognos Analytics 为我们提供数据分析支持,我们可以轻松地深入了解这些类型的可能性。”

Cognos Analytics 的不同之处在于它为前端用户提供了强大的功能,包括直观的界面、新的自助服务功能、更高级的可视化效果。 Dave Gruber Associate CIO University of Florida
案例成果
引导学生抓住大好机会

通过认识助力学生提高成绩的因素,佛罗里达大学将加强准备,战略性地利用资源,帮助学生取得成功。

在接下来的一年中,该大学将逐个部门推出升级后的分析功能。

“IBM Cognos Analytics 提供的洞察分析应该支持我们在整个大学实施更有效的政策,”Gruber 说道,“通过帮助我们识别哪些学生面临风险,应该可以帮助我们更早、更有效地进行干预。”

通过更详细地了解学生的学习习惯和个人情况,甚至应该可以针对每个学生量身定制这些干预措施并提供个性化支持。

“通过专注于帮助各个学生取得进步,整个大学最终都会受益,”Gruber 评论道,“我们目前位列全国公立院校十强,如果我们能够提高学生保留率和毕业率,将有利于我们保持或提高这一排名。”

除了学生成绩之外,佛罗里达大学还预计,IBM 解决方案将帮助招生、录取、人力资源和财务部门增强运营。

Gruber 总结道:“借助 IBM Cognos Analytics,我们能够就如何开展大学生活的各个方面做出更明智的决策,并且能够更好地利用我们的资源,为每个学生提供充分发挥潜力的最佳机会。”

佛罗里达大学校徽。
佛罗里达大学

佛罗里达大学(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)于 1853 年成立于盖恩斯维尔,位列全美最综合性、最学术多元化的大学之列,被《美国新闻与世界报道》评为美国十佳公立大学。学校拥有 5,000 多名员工,为 55,000 多名学生提供广泛的学术和体育课程。

采取下一步行动

IBM Analytics 提供世界上最深入、最广泛的分析平台、领域和行业解决方案之一,为企业、政府和个人带来新价值。欲了解有关 IBM Analytics 如何利用数据帮助行业和职业转型的更多信息,请访问 ibm.com/analytics。在 Twitter 上关注我们:@IBMAnalytics,在我们的博客上关注我们:ibmbigdatahub.com,并加入 #IBMAnalytics 对话。

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Analytics 的更多信息

法律

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 美国出品,2018 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Cognos、InfoSphere 以及 SPSS 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

With student attrition rates on the rise across the United States, how could the University of Florida empower even more of its students to keep themselves on track for successful graduation?

Transformation

The university’s analytics team knew that data on student behavior could hold the key to retention, and used IBM® Cognos® Analytics to turn data into actionable insight for faculty and administrators.

Results

Enables

faculty members to identify at-risk students and provide additional support

Unlocks

the potential to create targeted programs to boost retention and graduation rates

Highlights

key metrics that help the university rank among the top 10 US public schools

Business challenge story

Keeping students in college

Student attrition rates are high in universities across the US: one recent study shows that only 54.8 percent of students complete their degree within six years. The University of Florida (UF) is on a mission to combat this trend, helping more students complete their courses of study and strengthening the university’s reputation for academic excellence.

“Our goal at the University of Florida is to ensure that students reach their full potential so they can build a bright future for themselves and their families,” explained Dave Gruber, UF’s associate chief information officer. “To do this, we not only focus on keeping students enrolled in their courses, but on helping them succeed throughout their time at the University of Florida.”

Like most institutions, UF has access to large amounts of student data, including demographic data, previous high school grades and current course grades. With the rise of online learning systems, it also has access to new sources of data, including details on each students’ study habits. For example, it is now possible to monitor how long students spend watching video lectures, reading course literature, and working on assignments.

The university’s analytics team realized that combining all these sources of information might reveal patterns and insights that would hold the key to keeping students in college and helping them achieve their full potential.

“We knew that we could make much better use of the data we have,” Gruber continued. “For instance, if we can identify which students are falling behind, we can make earlier, more targeted interventions to get them back on track. The sooner we can tell that a student needs support, the better the chances that we can keep them engaged and help them progress.”

To help all university departments make data-driven decisions to improve student outcomes, the University of Florida decided it needed to make information more easily available to a wider audience of users.

“Our existing analytics platform focused on supporting users in finance and HR—who are naturally ‘data people,’” said Gruber. “We wanted to make it more approachable for administrators and faculty by providing a more modern, intuitive interface.”

In some cases, users had already started using modern data visualization tools to gain insight into their data at the departmental level—but the university knew that a more centralized approach would be a better long-term strategy.

“The complexity of managing information security and data privacy is growing year-on-year,” explained Gruber. “Analyzing and visualizing information is only half the problem; we also need a robust data governance framework to protect the university against regulatory and reputational risks. That means an enterprise-class platform is the only way to go.”

Insights from IBM Cognos Analytics should enable us to implement more effective policies across the university. By helping us identify which students are at risk, it should help us intervene earlier and more effectively.

—Dave Gruber, Associate CIO, University of Florida

Transformation story

Gearing up for academic attainment

To help academic and administrative staff at the university gain a clearer picture of student progression, the University of Florida evolved its data analysis and visualization functions by upgrading to IBM® Cognos® Analytics.

“We have used IBM Cognos solutions to support our human resources and finance functions for over a decade, so we were confident in the data governance aspect of the platform,” said Gruber. “Nevertheless, we were considering moving away from Cognos Business Intelligence because we didn’t think it could meet our needs as a modern enterprise visualization platform.

“When we saw the new version of IBM Cognos Analytics, it changed our perception completely. It gives users so much more power on the front end, with an intuitive interface, new self-service features, and much more advanced visualizations.”

The University of Florida also uses IBM InfoSphere® DataStage® to extract, transfer and load data from multiple sources into IBM Cognos Analytics, as well as IBM SPSS® Modeler to support data modeling and predictive analytics. Combined, these solutions enable the university to enhance its insight into student progression.

Gruber said, “We haven’t yet rolled out our student progression monitoring solution to all areas of the university, but we’ve achieved a number of important early wins. For example, we have been working on some dashboards that aggregate different types of information, such as students’ academic records and study patterns, and can help us identify when and why a student may be struggling with a particular course.

“The potential for this solution is vast; there’s just so much data we could use to dig even deeper into the causes of attrition and low academic attainment. For instance, we could look at data from our online learning platform to see which students have read which chapters of a textbook, and assess how those reading habits impact their attainment on course modules. With IBM Cognos Analytics powering our data analysis, we can explore these types of possibilities with ease.”

The difference with Cognos Analytics is the power that it gives to users on the front end, with an intuitive interface, new self-service features, and much more advanced visualizations.

—Dave Gruber, Associate CIO, University of Florida

Results story

Guiding students to great opportunities

By gaining insight into the factors that help students achieve better grades, the University of Florida will be better prepared to direct its resources strategically and empower students to succeed.

Over the next calendar year, the university will be rolling out its upgraded analytics capabilities on a department-by-department basis.

“Insights from IBM Cognos Analytics should enable us to implement more effective policies across the university,” said Gruber. “By helping us identify which students are at risk, it should help us intervene earlier and more effectively.”

With more detailed insights into students’ study habits and personal circumstances, it should even be possible to tailor these interventions on a student-by-student basis and offer personalized support.

“By focusing on helping individual students progress, the whole university will ultimately benefit,” Gruber commented. “We’re currently ranked among the top 10 public schools in the country, and if we can lift our student retention and graduation rates, we’ll be in a strong position to maintain or improve that ranking.”

In addition to student achievement, the University of Florida also anticipates that the IBM solution will also help the enrollment, admissions, human resources and finance departments enhance their operations.

Gruber concluded, “With IBM Cognos Analytics empowering us to make smarter decisions on how to run each aspect of university life, we will be better placed to direct our resources to give every student the best chance to achieve their full potential.”

business logo

About University of Florida

Founded in Gainesville in 1853, the University of Florida is among the nation's most comprehensive and academically diverse universities, and has been ranked in the country’s top ten public universities by U.S. News & World Report. The university employs over 5,000 people and offers a wide range of academic and athletic programs to more than 55,000 students.

Take the next step

IBM Analytics offers one of the world's deepest and broadest analytics platform, domain and industry solutions that deliver new value to businesses, governments and individuals. For more information about how IBM Analytics helps to transform industries and professions with data, visit ibm.com/analytics. Follow us on Twitter at @IBMAnalytics, on our blog at ibmbigdatahub.com and join the conversation #IBMAnalytics.

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Analytics.