将出色的移动应用程序交付给客户
OVERBLIQ 平台利用 IBM Cloud 加速并简化移动应用程序开发
一位年轻女士一边推着自行车一边看手机

无论您经营咖啡馆还是城堡,为新娘或船主提供服务,还是希望游客和居民体验您所在城市提供的一切,您都需要一个交互式移动应用程序。

静态网站,即使是针对移动设备进行了优化的静态网站,也不足以满足当今时代的需求。当今的消费者、游客和居民希望通过移动设备与企业和目的地建立联系时获得引人入胜的最新体验。

在瑞典,IBM 合作伙伴 Sisyfos Digital AB 为企业、城市和旅游景点提供咨询服务,这些企业、城市和旅游景点了解,自己必须拥抱数字化趋势(包括出色的移动应用程序),否则就有落后的风险。2017 年,Wenngarn Castle 与 Sisyfos 取得联系,希望帮助它为这座拥有 500 年历史的城堡的宾客创建一个新移动门户。其目的是让宾客能够使用手机执行所有事项,从打开酒店房间门到预订餐厅,再到探索附近的历史和自然景点。

在这个项目中,Sisyfos 意识到为宾客创建交互式移动应用程序是多么繁重。在花费数百小时创建 Wenngarn 应用程序后,Sisyfos 询问如何帮助宾客克服这一耗时的障碍。

缩短开发周期

 

移动应用程序开发时间缩短 50%

成本节省

 

可扩展的灵活平台上的开发成本比典型的内部成本低 80%

如果我们正在寻找其他解决方案,我们需要基础架构即服务产品;我们需要托管自己的虚拟机并自行部署 Kubernetes。我们需要采取所有这些额外步骤才能从使用 IBM Cloud 的第一天起就达到这个水平。 Robin Eriksson 首席技术官 Sisyfos Digital AB

“我们需要加快移动开发的各个方面,”Sisyfos 首席技术官 Robin Eriksson 说,“我们希望找到一种方法来兼顾部署、可操作性、可扩展性和安全性。我们不可能每次做项目时都全部重来,所以一切都需要到位,这样我们才能专注于移动应用程序的实施。”

Sisyfos 团队决定基于为 Wenngarn Castle 创建的平台为客户推出新产品/服务。该公司将移动应用程序开发平台重新命名为 OVERBLIQ,此名称源自瑞典语,意为 Overview,即“概况”。Sisyfos 需要在云环境中托管 OVERBLIQ,以实现可扩展性和速度,以便客户可以专注于开发内容,而不是为其新应用程序构建基础架构。

IBM Cloud 支持快速、灵活的应用程序开发

与开发 Wenngarn 移动应用程序时一样,Sisyfos 选择了 IBM Cloud® 作为其新 OVERBLIQ 平台的托管环境。通过在 IBM Cloud 上构建和部署基础架构,Sisyfos 可以为客户提供类似 WordPress 的平台,在该平台上构建内容丰富的移动应用程序。客户专注于内容开发和管理,而 Sisyfos 提供解决方案即服务 (SaaS) 支持和托管。

“我们在其他项目中使用了 IBM Cloud,”Sisyfos 首席执行官 Jimmy Eriksson 说,“它是构建成本最低的平台,并且具有我们为移动应用程序构建平台所需的所有功能。”

Robin Eriksson 表示同意:“它完全满足我们的需求。一切都封装得非常简洁,可以托管我们的解决方案。”

Sisyfos 正在使用 IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service 和多个 IBM Cloud 托管服务产品,包括 IBM® Certificate ManagerIBM Cloud Command Line InterfaceIBM Cloud File StorageIBM Cloud Log AnalysisIBM Cloud Monitoring with SysdigIBM Cloud Object Storage。该平台还包括关键数据库,例如 IBM Cloud Databases for PostgreSQLIBM Cloud Databases for Redis

“当我们与开发人员交谈时,他们真正喜欢的是在 Kubernetes 上进行轻松部署,”Robin Eriksson 继续说,“如果我们正在寻找其他解决方案,我们需要基础架构即服务产品;我们需要托管自己的虚拟机并自行部署 Kubernetes。我们需要采取所有这些额外步骤才能从使用 IBM Cloud 的第一天起就达到这个水平。”

Robin Eriksson 还称赞了 IBM Cloud Object Storage 服务的灵活性和速度。“我们有很多图片内容,需要以各种格式提供,”他说,“如今的存储并不是真正的问题。但是我们还需要拥有最新访问权限,这样我们就不用从存档中请求图片了。我们需要消除所有延迟并将其缓存,因此当用户调用船舶的图片时,他们会立即看到一艘船。”

(船舶)展览会必须继续

提供经济高效的开发解决方案,使客户能够快速启动交互式、内容驱动的移动应用程序,这证明了它在新冠疫情期间对 Sisyfos 的价值。瑞典最大的活动组织者 Stockholmsmässan 就是这样的客户之一,它与 Sisyfos 合作,使其年度船舶大会成为数字现实。

2020 年,在每年 3 月初举行的 Allt för Sjön (All About Boats) 贸易展览会期间,疫情爆发。它标志着划船季节的开始,吸引了超过 70,000 名游客和 400 家参展商。在 2021 年的展会上,Stockholmsmässan 需要创建一个 Allt för Sjön 数字移动应用程序,以完全在线方式将游客和参展商聚集在一起。

作为一家专注于现场会议的公司,Stockholmsmässan 需要一名数字专业人士使在线会议取得成功。“我们在这个领域毫无经验,因为我们没有应用程序开发人员和内部支持,”Stockholmsmässan 的数字经理 Tommy Bryngelsson 表示,“而且我坚信,如果解决方案已经存在,您就不应该自己进行开发了。您应该尝试找到适合您需求的最佳解决方案,然后根据您的情况进行调整。”对于 Stockholmsmässan 来说,该解决方案就是 OVERBLIQ 平台及其从 Sisyfos 获得的支持。

Stockholmsmässan 为 Allt för Sjön 应用程序创建了内容,然后邀请船舶和划船生活方式供应商添加自己的内容来吸引游客。“回想起来,让参展商真正提供自己的信息是相当困难的,因为我们拥有的其他数字解决方案并非用户友好型,”Bryngelsson 说,“OVERBLIQ 是用户友好型平台,非常简单明了。”

OVERBLIQ 定制编辑器界面不需要任何专门的编码或编辑培训或经验。从用户的角度来看,Sisyfos 开发该平台的目的是尽可能简化设计,同时仍能提供质量控制。

“如果上传的图片尺寸不正确,向导会告诉您这张图片不可用,”Bryngelsson 说,“其他工具可能无论如何都会让您上传,这会让人感觉平台的整体质量较低。”

事实证明,Stockholmsmässan 的 Allt för Sjön 应用程序取得了巨大成功。“发布当天,它在应用商店中排名第四,”Bryngelsson 表示。此外,IBM Cloud 对用户的大幅增长提供了无缝支持。

OVERBLIQ 是用户友好型平台,非常简单明了。 Tommy Bryngelsson 数字经理 Stockholmsmässan
移动应用程序意味着新的收入来源

通过在 IBM Cloud 上托管 OVERBLIQ 平台并使用多个 IBM Cloud 服务、工具和数据库,Sisyfos 估计将应用程序开发时间缩短约 50%。客户可以在几分钟内加入,这使他们几乎可以立即使用 OVERBLIQ 解决方案中的内容创建工具。根据定制和个性化的程度,Sisyfos 可以在几周内推出完整的客户移动应用程序。

Sisyfos 估计,除了加快速度之外,使用 OVERBLIQ 启动移动应用程序的成本远远低于内部开发移动应用程序的成本,最多可降低 80%。

由于 Sisyfos 将 OVERBLIQ 作为 SaaS 产品提供,因此其客户可以不断升级、更改移动应用程序并添加功能,作为订阅服务的一部分。正如 Bryngelsson 指出的那样,“与 Sisyfos 合作的好处在于它是一种伙伴关系。我不觉得我们只是买了东西的客户,然后他们就放任我们不管了。”

事实上,在为 2021 年船舶展成功部署 Allt för Sjön 应用程序后,Stockholmsmässan 已经与 Sisyfos 合作增强该应用程序,旨在将其集成到希望在 2022 年春季举办的现场船舶展中。

“我们为 2022 年 Allt för Sjön 庆祝 100 周年制定了宏伟计划,”Bryngelsson 说,“我们希望该应用程序成为人们参观贸易展时的自然伴侣。我们希望基于位置的优惠和活动仅在某人使用该应用程序并且在展会上时才可用。我们希望增加而不是减少实体会议,因为这是我们的核心业务。”Stockholmsmässan 已经与 Sisyfos 合作开发其他应用程序。

随着 Sisyfos 扩大其客户群(目前包括旅游景点、瑞典的一个主要城市和体育赛事组织者等),它预计将从主要的咨询业务转向提供混合咨询和 SaaS 提供商业务模式,就像它与 Stockholmsmässan 的合作一样。“当数字化影响您的业务模式时,真的很不错呢,因为您实际上可以找到新的赚钱方式,”Robin Eriksson 说。

Sisyfos 的客户还可以通过其应用程序创造新的收入来源。例如,他们可以提供付费广告或为 Allt för Sjön 等应用社区创建多层供应商套餐。对于 Bryngelsson 来说,通过供应商参与和广告来增加新收入是一个制胜法宝。“与实体展厅不同,”他说,“使用数字解决方案,您永远不会用完广告空间。如果您出售一个区域的所有广告,您就可以拥有一个新的区域!”

Sisyfos 徽标
关于 Sisyfos Digital AB

Sisyfos外部链接 于 2017 年在瑞典乌普萨拉成立,旨在为企业数字化之旅提供咨询服务。2018 年,Sisyfos 推出了 OVERBLIQ 平台,协助客户快速创建和推出交互式、可扩展的移动应用程序,帮助产生重复业务和新的收入来源。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 7 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Cloud 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 业务合作伙伴自行设定价格,价格可能会有所不同。 IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Getting a great mobile app into customers’ hands

OVERBLIQ platform speeds and simplifies mobile app development with IBM Cloud
by Michelle Cloutier
5-minute read
Young woman looking at her mobile phone while pushing her bicycle

Whether you operate a café or a castle, offer services to brides or boat owners, or want both tourists and residents to experience all that your city has to offer, you need an interactive mobile app.

Gone are the days when a static website, even one optimized for mobile, was enough. Today’s consumers, tourists and citizens expect an engaging and up-to-date experience when they connect with businesses and destinations on their mobile devices.

In Sweden, IBM Business Partner Sisyfos Digital AB provides consulting services to businesses, cities and tourist attractions that understand that they must embrace the trend toward digitization — including a great mobile app — or risk falling behind. In 2017, Wenngarn Castle approached Sisyfos to help it create a new mobile portal for guests of the 500-year-old castle. The aim was to enable visitors to use their mobile phones to do everything from opening their hotel room doors to making restaurant reservations to exploring the nearby historical and natural sites.

During this project, Sisyfos realized just how onerous it can be for its customers to create interactive mobile apps. After spending hundreds of hours creating the Wenngarn app, Sisyfos asked how it could help its customers overcome this time-consuming hurdle.

young woman waiting for the train

Mobile app development time

50%

faster

Development costs on the scalable, flexible platform

80%

less than typical in-house costs

If we were looking at other solutions, we would need an infrastructure-as-a-service offering; we’d need to host our own virtual machines and deploy Kubernetes ourselves. We’d need to take all these extra steps just to get where we were from day one with IBM Cloud.
Robin Eriksson
Chief Technology Officer, Sisyfos Digital AB

“We needed to speed up every aspect of mobile development,” says Robin Eriksson, Chief Technical Officer at Sisyfos. “We wanted to find a way to take care of the deployment, operability, scalability and security. We can’t reinvent the wheel every time we’re doing a project, so it all needs to be in place so we can focus solely on the mobile app implementation.”

The Sisyfos team decided to launch a new offering for its customers based on the platform it created for Wenngarn Castle. It renamed its mobile app development platform OVERBLIQ, from the Swedish word for overview. Sisyfos needed to host OVERBLIQ in a cloud environment for scalability and speed, so that customers could focus on developing content, not on building infrastructure for their new apps.

Wenngarn Castle, Sweden
Screenshot of Allt för Sjön app superimposed on picture of person on a bench holding a mobile phone
The OVERBLIQ platform is very user friendly, very straightforward.
Tommy Bryngelsson
Digital Manager, Stockholmsmässan
IBM Cloud supports fast, flexible app development
The OVERBLIQ platform is very user friendly, very straightforward.
Tommy Bryngelsson
Digital Manager, Stockholmsmässan

As it had when developing the Wenngarn mobile app, Sisyfos chose IBM Cloud® as the hosting environment for its new OVERBLIQ platform. By building and deploying the infrastructure on IBM Cloud, Sisyfos can offer its customers a WordPress-like platform on which to build their content-rich mobile apps. Customers focus on content development and management, while Sisyfos offers solution-as-a-service (SaaS) support and hosting.

“We had used IBM Cloud in other projects,” says Jimmy Eriksson, Chief Executive Officer at Sisyfos. “It was the least expensive platform to build on, and it had the all the functions that we needed for building a platform for mobile apps.”

Robin Eriksson concurs: “It suited our needs perfectly. Everything was packaged very neatly to host our solution.”

Sisyfos is using IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service and several IBM Cloud managed services offerings, including IBM® Certificate Manager, IBM Cloud Command Line Interface, IBM Cloud File Storage, IBM Cloud Log Analysis, IBM Cloud Monitoring with Sysdig and IBM Cloud Object Storage. The platform also includes critical databases such as IBM Cloud Databases for PostgreSQL and IBM Cloud Databases for Redis.

“When we talk to the developers, what they really like is the ease of having things deployed on Kubernetes,” Robin Eriksson continues. “If we were looking at other solutions, we would need an infrastructure-as-a-service offering; we’d need to host our own virtual machines and deploy Kubernetes ourselves. We’d need to take all these extra steps just to get where we were from day one with IBM Cloud.”

Robin Eriksson also touts the flexibility and speed of the IBM Cloud Object Storage service. “We have a lot of image content, and it needs to be available in various formats,” he says. “Storage today isn’t really a problem. But we also need to have really hot access, where we’re not requesting images from an archive. We need to get rid of all the latency and have it cached, so when the user calls up a picture of a boat, they immediately see a boat.”

The (boat) show must go on

Offering a cost-effective development solution that allows its customers to quickly launch interactive, content-driven mobile apps proved its value for Sisyfos during the COVID-19 pandemic. One such customer, Stockholmsmässan, the largest event organizer in Sweden, turned to Sisyfos to make its annual boat convention a digital reality.

In 2020, the pandemic hit during the Allt för Sjön (All About Boats) trade fair, held in early March each year. Signaling the start of the boating season, it draws over 70,000 visitors and 400 exhibitors. For the 2021 show, Stockholmsmässan needed to create an Allt för Sjön digital mobile app to bring those visitors and exhibitors together, entirely online.

As a company whose focus is on in-person conventions, Stockholmsmässan needed a digital pro to make an online convention a success. “We’re not structured to do anything in this field at all because we don’t have the app developers and support internally,” says Tommy Bryngelsson, Digital Manager at Stockholmsmässan. “And it’s my firm belief that if it’s out there, you shouldn’t develop it yourself. You should try to find the best solution that fits your needs, and then adapt it to your situation.” For Stockholmsmässan, that solution was the OVERBLIQ platform and the support it received from Sisyfos.

Stockholmsmässan created the content for the Allt för Sjön app and then invited boat and boating lifestyle vendors to add their own content to reach visitors. “Looking back, it’s been quite difficult to get the exhibitors to actually provide their own information, because the other digital solutions we’ve had weren’t user friendly,” says Bryngelsson. “The OVERBLIQ platform is very user friendly, very straightforward.”

The OVERBLIQ customized editor interface doesn’t require any specialized coding or editing training or experience. Sisyfos developed the platform to make design as easy as possible from a user standpoint, while still providing quality control.

“If you upload an image with the wrong dimensions, the wizard will let you know that this image is not usable,” says Bryngelsson. “Other tools might let you upload it anyway, which makes the overall quality of the platform feel lower.”

The Allt för Sjön app proved wildly successful for Stockholmsmässan. “It shot to number four on the app store on launch day,” according to Bryngelsson. And the IBM Cloud seamlessly supported the huge jump in users.

Mobile apps mean new revenue streams

By hosting the OVERBLIQ platform on IBM Cloud and using multiple IBM Cloud services, tools and databases, Sisyfos estimates that it cuts app development time by approximately 50%. Customers can be onboarded in minutes, which allows them to use the content creation tools within the OVERBLIQ solution almost immediately. Depending on the level of customization and personalization, Sisyfos can launch a completed customer mobile app within a few weeks.

In addition to being faster, Sisyfos estimates that launching a mobile app using OVERBLIQ is significantly less expensive, up to 80% less, than the cost of developing one in house.

Because Sisyfos offers OVERBLIQ as a SaaS offering, its customers can continuously upgrade, change and add features to their mobile app as part of their subscription service. As Bryngelsson notes, “The great thing about working with Sisyfos is that it’s a partnership. I don’t feel like we’re just a customer that purchased something and then they just let us be.”

In fact, after its successful deployment of the Allt för Sjön app for the 2021 Boat Show, Stockholmsmässan is already working with Sisyfos to enhance the app to integrate it into what it hopes will be an in-person boat show in the Spring of 2022.

“We have big plans for 2022, when Allt för Sjön celebrates 100 years,” says Bryngelsson. “We want the app to be a natural companion when people visit a trade show. We want location-based offers and happenings that are only available if someone has the app and is at the show. We want to add to, not take away from, the physical meeting because that is our core business.” Stockholmsmässan already has other apps in the works with Sisyfos.

As Sisyfos expands its customer base — which now includes tourist attractions, a major city in Sweden and sports events organizers, among others — it expects to pivot from its primary consulting business to offering a hybrid consulting and SaaS provider business model, as it did with Stockholmsmässan. “Digitization is really cool when it affects your business models, and you can actually find new ways to earn money,” says Robin Eriksson.

Sisyfos’ customers can also create new revenue streams from their apps. For example, they can offer paid advertisements or create multitier vendor packages for app communities such as Allt för Sjön. Driving new revenue with vendor participation and ads is a winning proposition for Bryngelsson. “Unlike in a physical exhibit hall,” he says, “with a digital solution you’ll never run out of ad space. If you sell all the ads in one area, you can just come up with a new one!”

Sisyfos logo
About Sisyfos Digital AB

SisyfosExternal Link was founded in 2017 in Uppsala, Sweden, to provide consulting services to companies along their journeys to digitization. In 2018, Sisyfos launched its OVERBLIQ platform to help its customers quickly create and launch interactive, scalable mobile apps that help generate repeat business and new revenue streams.

Solution components
Sisyfos logo
About Sisyfos Digital AB

SisyfosExternal Link was founded in 2017 in Uppsala, Sweden, to provide consulting services to companies along their journeys to digitization. In 2018, Sisyfos launched its OVERBLIQ platform to help its customers quickly create and launch interactive, scalable mobile apps that help generate repeat business and new revenue streams.

Solution components