Salling Group A/S
大型零售商选择 IBM,旨在实现节约、灵活性和可持续性发展
购物者视角拍摄图片:在超市过道中行走

Salling Group 拥有超过 1,500 家店铺,是欧盟最大的零售商之一。它采用在 IBM® Db2® 数据管理系统上运行的 SAP ERP 系统,由 IBM POWER® 服务器和 IBM Global Technology Services® (GTS) 提供支持。因此,Salling Group 可以保持低成本,最大限度地缩短停机时间,并在效率方面超越竞争对手。

业务挑战

Salling Group A/S 在四个国家或地区经营超过 1,500 家店铺。该组织需要强大的企业资源规划 (ERP) 基础架构来处理 9 百万笔日常交易。

变革

13 年来,Salling Group 一直采用 IBM Db2 for SAP 软件作为 ERP 解决方案,并由强大的 IBM POWER 硬件和 IBM Global Technology Services 团队提供支持。

结果 每年节省 520,000 美元
通过 SAP 平台整合实现
2019 年停机时间小于 2 小时
得益于负载均衡功能和弹性基础架构
96% 的硬件可重复使用
恪守对可持续发展的承诺
业务挑战案例
零售业巨头

Salling Group 拥有超过 1,500 家店铺,包括百货商店、大型超市、超市和折扣店,是丹麦等地区的零售业巨头。该公司运营 11 个仓库,每天与超过 7,000 家供应商合作。无论白天还是晚上,客户均可以在网上或店铺购物。Salling Group 每天处理超过 9 百万笔交易。

Salling Group 于 1906 年在奥胡斯成立,最初只有一家店铺,在随后的几年里实现了突飞猛进的发展。如果没有仔细制定从品牌发展到店铺选址再到企业领导力等各个方面的战略,就不会实现这种增长。与任何现代零售商一样,技术对于 Salling Group 尤为重要,该公司会定期评估 ERP 系统。超过 13 年来,由 Global Technology Services 提供支持的 POWER、Db2 和 SAP 技术相结合,帮助 Salling Group 成长为北欧地区最成功的在线和实体零售商之一。

2018 年,该组织从 IBM POWER7® 升级到 IBM POWER8® 服务器,证实并进一步推动了对 IBM 技术的承诺。仅用了六个半月的时间就将 70 多个 SAP 系统迁移到 POWER8,Salling Group 基础架构首席运营官 Steen Isdahl 认为这是一项非常了不起的壮举。“可能会给您留下深刻的印象,”他说,“每个人都是。我们也是。

我们在 SAP 上整合了所有功能,这使我们的效率比使用 SAP Centric 的竞争对手高了 20%。 Steen Isdahl 基础架构首席运营官 Salling Group A/S
变革案例
灵活高效的系统

显然,POWER8 硬件升级的成功值得肯定,但 Salling Group 的整个 ERP 系统同样值得关注。事实上,Isdahl 将该组织的 3 层 SAP 模型视为集团的关键差异化因素。该系统在 Db2 on POWER 技术上运行,包括 SAP ERP Central Component (ECC)、SAP Customer Activity RepositorySAP e-Commerce 以及大约 70 个其他 SAP 产品。“我们的主要优势是,我们拥有单一可信画面。”Isdahl 表示,“我们的竞争对手拥有多个 ERP 系统,但我们在 SAP 上整合了所有功能,这使我们的效率比竞争对手高了 20%。”

Isdahl 指出,SAP Forecasting and ReplenishmentSAP Allocation Management 和 SAP Customer Activity Repository 的 Unified Demand Forecast 组件提供特殊的战略优势,因为借助这些功能,组织可以每天补货两次。如果某件商品在一家店铺售罄,通过 SAP 数据,Salling Group 能够顺利地从其他店铺调货以满足需求。因此,客户可以依靠 Salling Group 店铺购买他们需要的产品。

此外,Salling Group 的店铺现在提供“点击提货”选项,支持客户在线订购产品并在店铺提货。此服务在客户期望越来越高的行业中创造了巨大的实时需求。Isdahl 表示,迄今为止,Salling Group 的“点击提货”购买完成率为 99.94%。

Db2 for SAP 软件和 POWER Systems 模型的另一个关键优势是按需扩容,可以根据需要重新分配 ERP 工作负载。Isdahl 表示,这种功能在 2019 年黑色星期五特别有用,当时在所有电子商务网站中,Salling Group 是销售冠军。

凭借如此强大的 IBM 基础架构,Salling Group 与 Global Technology Services 建立牢固的合作关系也就不足为奇了。Salling Group 的 SAP 基础架构主管 Carsten Holm 解释道:“我们喜欢与 IBM 合作。我们开发了一个强大的流程,对我们来说非常有效。”

我们喜欢与 IBM 合作。我们开发了一个强大的流程,对我们来说非常有效。 Carsten Holm SAP 基础架构主管 Salling Group A/S
案例成果
实现节省,获得收益

Salling Group 的 Db2 for SAP 软件和 POWER Systems 基础架构具有广泛且丰富的业务优点。一项主要优点就是超高性价比。Isdahl 表示,将 ERP 系统整合到 SAP 技术上的决定不仅可以简化运营,还可以将 SAP 应用程序性能标准 (SAPS) 基准提高 100%,他表示,每年可节省约 520,000 美元。

客户也能从 Salling Group 的 ERP 系统中获益。“我们全天候计算每一分钟对最终用户产生的影响,”Holm 解释道,“去年,我们遇到了两个多小时的停机或影响 – 整整一年就两个小时。这一点给人的印象非常深刻。”

Holm 补充道,该组织的日常补货工作已运行近 500 天,且没有出现任何延误。日常补货工作包括通过 SAP Customer Activity Repository、SAP ECC 和 SAP Forecasting and Replenishment 处理来自所有 1,500 家店铺的交易,然后将数据发送到 11 个不同的仓库,以便第二天进行店铺配送。

IBM 解决方案的另一个突出特点是可重用性。Salling Group 非常注重可持续发展和气候友好承诺。这包括推广有机农业方法、减少食物浪费以及减少店铺塑料包装的数量。在升级到 POWER8 服务器后,该组织能够实现 96% 的 POWER 堆栈重用率,这一事实对 Isdahl 和 Holm 都很有意义。“IBM 正在基于 IBM POWER 建立一个可持续的产品组。这对我们来说非常重要,”Isdahl 说。

多年来,通过使用 Db2、POWER Systems 和 SAP 基础架构,Salling Group 取得了积极的成果,该公司的实践可以证明,对其他考虑采用类似设置的公司来说这是一个不错的选择。“如果您想要拥有良好的稳定性和良好的性能,我们建议您使用 IBM POWER、SAP、IBM Db2 和 GTS。这是一个非常强大的组合,”Holm 说。

如果您想要拥有良好的稳定性和良好的性能,我们建议您使用 IBM POWER、SAP、IBM Db2 和 IBM Services。这是一个非常强大的组合。 Carsten Holm SAP 基础架构主管 Salling Group A/S
Salling Group 徽标
Salling Group A/S

Salling Group(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1906 年,是欧盟最大的零售集团之一。其旗下最知名的品牌包括 Bilka 大型超市、Salling 百货商店、føtex 超市和 Netto 折扣店。该组织在四个国家/地区共经营 1,500 多家商店,员工超过 50,000 人。Salling Group 总部位于丹麦布拉布兰德,2018 年报告收入超过 594 亿丹麦克朗。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多客户案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2020 年 5 月

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Db2、Global Technology Services、POWER、POWER7 和 POWER8 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

© 2020 SAP SE. All rights reserved. SAP、SAP Allocation Management、SAP Commerce Cloud、SAP Customer Activity Repository、SAP E-Commerce、SAP ERP Central Component、SAP Forecasting and Replenishment 以及本文提及的其他 SAP 产品和服务及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略和未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时因任何原因进行更改,恕不另行通知。

Salling Group A/S
Major retailer chooses IBM for savings, resiliency and sustainability
Shoppers point of view moving through supermarket aisle

With over 1,500 store locations, Salling Group is one of the largest retailers in the EU. It relies on an SAP ERP system running on the IBM® Db2® data management system supported by IBM POWER® servers and IBM Global Technology Services® (GTS). As a result, Salling Group keeps costs low, minimizes downtime and outpaces its competitors in terms of efficiency.

Business challenge

Salling Group A/S operates more than 1,500 stores across four countries. The organization required a powerful enterprise resource planning (ERP) infrastructure to process its nine million daily transactions.

Transformation

For over 13 years, Salling Group has relied on IBM Db2 for SAP software as its ERP solution, supported by robust IBM POWER hardware and a team from IBM Global Technology Services.

Results USD 520,000 in annual savings
as a result of consolidation on the SAP platform
<2 hours of downtime in 2019
thanks to load balancing capabilities and a resilient infrastructure
96% reusable hardware
in keeping with a commitment to sustainability
Business challenge story
A retail powerhouse

With more than 1,500 shops including department stores, hypermarkets, supermarkets and discount stores, Salling Group is a retail powerhouse in Denmark and beyond. The company operates 11 warehouses and works with more than 7,000 suppliers each day. Its customers can shop online or in stores, day or night. Each day, Salling Group processes more than nine million transactions.

Salling Group began with a single shop in Aarhus in 1906 and has grown by leaps and bounds in the intervening years. That kind of growth doesn’t happen without careful strategizing around everything from brand development to store locations to corporate leadership. As with any modern retailer, technology is of particular importance for Salling Group, and the company regularly assesses its ERP system. For more than 13 years, a combination of POWER, Db2 and SAP technology supported by Global Technology Services has helped make Salling Group one of the most successful online and brick-and-mortar retailers in the Nordic region.

In 2018, the organization confirmed and furthered its commitment to IBM technology when it upgraded from IBM POWER7® to IBM POWER8® servers. It took just six and a half months to move more than 70 SAP systems to POWER8, a feat that Steen Isdahl, Chief Operating Officer of Infrastructure at Salling Group, considers remarkable. “You can be impressed,” he says. “Everybody was. We were, too.”

We have consolidated everything on SAP, and that makes us 20% more efficient than our competitors using SAP Centric. Steen Isdahl Chief Operating Officer of Infrastructure Salling Group A/S
Transformation story
A flexible and efficient system

Clearly, the success of the upgrade to POWER8 hardware deserves recognition, but Salling Group’s entire ERP system is equally noteworthy. In fact, Isdahl credits the organization’s 3-layer SAP model as a key differentiator for the group. The system, which runs on Db2 on POWER technology, includes SAP ERP Central Component (ECC), SAP Customer Activity Repository and SAP e-Commerce along with roughly 70 other SAP products. “Our main advantage is that we have one single picture of the truth,” says Isdahl. “Our competitors have several ERP systems, but we have consolidated everything on SAP, and that makes us 20% more efficient than our competitors.”

Isdahl cites SAP Forecasting and Replenishment, SAP Allocation Management and the Unified Demand Forecast component of SAP Customer Activity Repository with providing a particular strategic advantage because they enable the organization to replenish its stores twice a day. If an item sells out in one store, the SAP data empowers Salling Group to fluidly move inventory from other stores to meet demand. As a result, customers can rely on Salling Group shops to have the products they need.

Furthermore, Salling Group’s shops now offer a click-and-collect option that allows customers to order products online and pick them up in the store. This creates tremendous real-time demand in an industry where customers have increasingly high expectations. To date, according to Isdahl, Salling Group has a 99.94% completion rate for click-and-collect purchases.

Another key advantage of the Db2 for SAP software and POWER Systems model is capacity-on-demand that redistributes the ERP workload on an as-needed basis. That capability was particularly helpful on Black Friday of 2019, says Isdahl, when Salling Group was the sales winner across all e-commerce sites.

With such a powerful IBM infrastructure, it’s no surprise that Salling Group enjoys a strong working relationship with Global Technology Services. Carsten Holm, Head of SAP Infrastructure at Salling Group, explains: “We love working together with IBM. We have developed a strong process that’s working really well for us.”

We love working together with IBM. We have developed a strong process that’s working really well for us. Carsten Holm Head of SAP Infrastructure Salling Group A/S
Results story
Reaping savings and benefits

The business benefits of Salling Group’s Db2 for SAP software and POWER Systems infrastructure are wide and plentiful. One key benefit is in price performance. According to Isdahl, the decision to consolidate its ERP system on SAP technology didn’t just simplify operations. It also brought about a 100% increase in SAP Application Performance Standard (SAPS) benchmarks, which he says results in approximate savings of USD 520,000 per year. 

Customers, too, reap the benefits of Salling Group’s ERP system. “We count every minute that there’s impact to our end users, 24x7,” Holm explains. “Last year, we had a little more than two hours of downtime or impact—two hours for a whole year. That is extremely impressive.”

Holm adds that the organization has gone nearly 500 days without a delay in the daily replenishment run. The run involves processing transactions from all 1,500 stores through SAP Customer Activity Repository, SAP ECC and SAP Forecasting and Replenishment and then sending figures to 11 separate warehouses for grocery distribution the next day.

Another standout feature of the IBM solution is its reusability. Salling Group has a strong focus on sustainability and climate friendliness. This includes promoting organic farming methods, reducing food waste and cutting down on the amount of plastic packaging in its stores. The fact that the organization was able to reuse 96% of its POWER stack after upgrading to POWER8 servers is meaningful to both Isdahl and Holm. “IBM is building a sustainable product group on IBM POWER. That’s very important to us,” says Isdahl.

After so many years and such positive results from its Db2, POWER Systems and SAP infrastructure, Salling Group has a simple message for other companies considering a similar setup. “If you want to have good stability and good performance, our advice would be to use IBM POWER, SAP, IBM Db2 and GTS. It’s a really strong combination,” says Holm.

If you want to have good stability and good performance, our advice would be to use IBM POWER, SAP, IBM Db2 and IBM Services. It’s a really strong combination. Carsten Holm Head of SAP Infrastructure Salling Group A/S
Salling group logo
Salling Group A/S

Established in 1906, Salling Group (link resides outside of ibm.com) is one of the EU’s largest retail groups. Among its most well-known brands are Bilka hypermarkets, Salling department stores, føtex supermarkets and Netto discount stores. In all, the organization operates more than 1,500 stores in four countries and employs more than 50,000 people. Salling Group is based in Brabrand, Denmark, and reported revenue in excess of DKK 59.4 billion in 2018.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

Contact IBM View more client stories
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Services, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, May 2020

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, Db2, Global Technology Services, POWER, POWER7, and POWER8 are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

© 2020 SAP SE. All rights reserved. SAP, SAP Allocation Management, SAP Commerce Cloud, SAP Customer Activity Repository, SAP E-Commerce, SAP ERP Central Component, SAP Forecasting and Replenishment and other SAP products and services mentioned herein as well as their respective logos are trademarks or registered trademarks of SAP SE in Germany and other countries. These materials are provided by SAP SE or an SAP affiliate company for informational purposes only, without representation or warranty of any kind, and SAP SE or its affiliated companies shall not be liable for errors or omissions with respect to the materials. This document, or any related presentation, and SAP SE’s or its affiliated companies’ strategy and possible future developments, products, and/or platform directions and functionality are all subject to change and may be changed by SAP SE or its affiliated companies at any time for any reason without notice.