实用产品创新跟踪记录延长 35 年
长期合作伙伴 Pronto Software 和 IBM 展示了深度合作如何将人工智能等突破性技术推向更广阔的市场
在大堡礁游泳的海龟

在独特技术方面,澳大利亚几乎是无可争议的世界领导者。 无论是在商业领域还是在自然领域,澳大利亚也是世界上最具竞争力的地方之一,其适应能力对增长和成功至关重要。如今,在澳大利亚的商业环境中,ERP 供应商 Pronto Software 是走向成功的一个类似案例,它打破了如何向客户提供一致价值的模式。

在 45 年的发展历史中,Pronto Software 以自己的方式前进,在澳大利亚 ERP 中端市场保持了一贯的强势地位。 其增长是有机增长,并得益于自筹资金;其客户关系深厚、持久且个性化,并得益于其坚定不移地遵守以客户为中心的理念。

在 Pronto Software 工作近二十年来,常务董事兼首席执行官 Chad Gates 近距离了解了公司运营的方方面面,从营销和运营到产品开发。 当被问及公司成功的根源时,他引用了上述因素以及充满活力的创新文化,这种文化使 Pronto Software 整个产品组合都融入了对客户最重要的特性和功能。 “我们真正卖给客户的是信任,”Gates 说。 “我们所做的一切都是为了兑现这一承诺。”——这是更深层次上更基本、更持久的因素。

Gates 解释说,对于中端市场企业而言,对 ERP 供应商的信任归结为提供强有力的支持、兑现与性能和可靠性相关的承诺,当然,还有关系的连续性——“知道我们一直为他们服务” 等因素。 在 Pronto Software 的世界观中,“一直为他们服务”的一个重要组成部分是,确保中端市场客户能够获得潜在的改变游戏规则的技术,例如人工智能和分析,这些技术在大型企业中更为常见。 在这方面,Pronto Software 将自己视为客户创新的渠道。

在 Gates 看来,Pronto Software 与 IBM 的长期合作伙伴关系是实现这一创新的主要渠道之一。 “我们的客户真的了解,Pronto Software 和 IBM 为了他们的利益,整合新技术,并寻求突破极限,”他说。 “他们知悉,我们愿意承担创新风险,为了他们,我们会做正确的事,同時为他们提供值得信赖的优秀解决方案。”

1,500 名客户

 

通过支持 Cognos 的 ERP 为澳大利亚和新西兰近 1,500 个中端市场客户提供支持

45 年

 

该公司是一家独立研发、自资发展、员工持股的 ERP 提供商,为中端市场客户提供服务近 45 年里,一直是 IBM 的技术共享合作伙伴

我们的客户真的了解, Pronto Software 和 IBM 为了他们的利益,整合新技术,并寻求突破极限。 Chad Gates 常务董事兼首席执行官 Pronto Software
通过创新 ERP,实现突破

也许这种联合创新的最佳范例是引入公司的核心 ERP 软件包 Pronto Xi,其中深度集成了 IBM® Cognos Analytics 的报告功能。 Pronto Software 首席营销官 Paul Goepfert 认为,公司发布的紧密耦合解决方案(全球首个 ERP 产品)代表了服务不足的细分市场的真正转折点。 “我们基本上将 Cognos 引入了澳大利亚中端市场,”Goepfert 说道,“并以一种更容易被中端市场客户使用的方式进行包装,这同样重要。”

Goepfert 解释说,在大多数中端市场公司中,如何使技术更易于采用和使用与技术的呈现方式有很大关系。 “与代表更典型的 Cognos 用户的大公司不同,中端市场公司并不能真正证明拥有专门的 BI 团队是合理的,”他说。 “我们战略的本质是智能地嵌入 Cognos 报告和分析功能,这些功能与关键 ERP 功能相吻合,并能在其中创造最大价值。”

简而言之,主要是确定重要用例并将见解引导到正在进行的产品开发工作中。 Gates 曾领导公司研发部门五年,他声称这完美地体现了 Pronto Software 和 IBM 如何不断合作,为中端市场客户带来新的创新。 “我们的产品开发团队定期与 IBM 的研发团队讨论新功能及其对我们自己的产品路线图的意义,”他说。 “我们的合作还扩展到测试,Pronto Xi 作为新功能的 Beta 测试平台,以补充 IBM 在其自己的实验室中进行的测试。”

如今,Pronto Software 和 IBM 正在建立合作关系,致力于为 Pronto Software 的中端市场客户带来人工智能和自动化功能。 目前,双方共同努力正全面展开,重点放在定义人工智能可用于简化和自动化 Pronto Xi ERP 平台核心功能的用例,并根据其价值实现时间对其进行优先级排序。 为了支持和鼓励实现这点,IBM 为 Pronto Software 开发团队提供了人工智能培训基础,随后举办了一次成功的黑客马拉松,将培训付诸实践并加强构思过程。

合并后的团队遵循 IBM Garage 方法相关设计思维流程,为最有前途的 AI 用例构建了实施路线图。 这考虑到了底层数据流和集成点、Prontoi Xi 平台屏幕设计和体验流的必要变化等一切因素。 完成后,团队开始设计概念验证,并由此设计最简化可实施产品 (MVP)。 为了强调两家公司以客户为先的理念,Pronto Software 的产品管理团队正在将选定的 Pronto Xi 用户纳入循环,以获取他们的反馈。

我们基本上将 Cognos 引入了澳大利亚的中端市场,并以一种更易被中端市场客户使用的方式进行包装,这同样重要。 Paul Goepfert 首席营销官 Pronto Software
中端市场的人工智能民主化

在 IBM 方面,澳大利亚和新西兰 IBM Garage 客户工程首席数据科学家 Adam Makarucha 博士正在领导人工智能原型设计工作。 为了让大家了解人工智能如何补充 Pronto Xi 的核心 ERP 功能,他指出了团队最早的用例之一:使维护服务呼叫调度更加高效和自动化,这是 Pronto Software 中端市场真正常见的日常活动。 “首先,您得有一支庞大的从事服务工作的承包商队伍,并且各个队员身怀不同技能,而且您能随时将他们派遣到几个小时路程之现场。 为了优化之目的,您需要派遣具有合适技能并且能在最短时间内完成工作的合适人员。用于做出这些决策的数据需能在 ERP 系统查询。”

Makarucha 博士表示,根据目前正在开发的 MVP,人工智能支持的调度优化将以无缝、直观的方式嵌入到 Pronto Xi 的核心设施管理模块中。 他解释说:“目前,典型的情景是,经验丰富的专家做出心理数学决策,而且基本上能即时做出。” “我们的目标是使基础功能更加高效和自动化,而不增加可能对客户造成干扰的复杂度。”

以客户为中心的创新是什么样的

在 Gates 看来,Pronto Software 与 IBM 近 40 年合作伙伴关系的特点是,专注于为能客户提供价值的实用、易于理解的创新,这反映了公司自己的“客户至上”精神。 “随着技术格局随着客户的业务问题而发展,我们意识到保持相关性以解决这些问题是多么重要,”Gates 说。 “对于我们和我们的客户来说,我们与 IBM 的关系非常令人兴奋,因为我们能够带领他们一起踏上这段旅程,并在未来提供越来越多的好处。”

澳大利亚 IBM 常务董事兼技术副总裁 Nick Flood 认为,Pronto Software 长期以来以客户为中心的创新记录真正脱颖而出。 “Pronto Software 大胆投资研发,并专注于帮助客户深入了解自己的组织,那里蕴藏着最丰富的机会,”他解释道。 “IBM 很荣幸能与一家为客户提供卓越价值并始终处于领先地位的公司合作。”

随着各行各业近 1,500 名客户使用支持 CognoS 的 Pronto Xi,公司与 IBM 的协作创新合作伙伴关系已为澳大利亚很大一部分中端市场公司带来了更快速、更准确决策等诸多好处。 Goepfert 断言,通过专注于整合人工智能、自动化和应用程序容器化等改变游戏规则的技术,这种独特的协作、共同创造的关系将继续丰富两家公司的创新能力,并为客户带来巨大好处。 他说:“每当我们需要任何类型的技术创新时,我们的第一站首先是 IBM。” “与任何值得信赖的合作伙伴一样,我们知道,IBM 会真正倾听需求,这同样重要。”

Pronto Software 徽标
关于 Pronto Software

Pronto Software(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是澳大利亚一家屡获殊荣的 ERP 和分析解决方案开发商,为多个行业的中端市场公司提供服务。 该公司是 IBM 业务合作伙伴,并进行长期重大研发投资,支持其创新驱动战略。 除了公司的核心 ERP 解决方案 Pronto Xi 之外,Pronto Software 还设立了专注于数字化转型的专业业务部门,云和托管服务部门以及商业智能部门。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM Mohegan Sun

在 IBM Cognos Analytics 软件的支持下,酒店运营得到显著改善

阅读成功案例
爱尔兰卫生服务执行局 (HSE)

卫生服务管理局在两周内建立初始疫苗平台

阅读成功案例
Mana Vox

利用人工智能帮助遏制全球森林滥伐

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国制造。2023 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、Cognos 和 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新清单可在 ibm.com/trademark 上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Extending a 35-year track record of pragmatic product innovation
Long-time partners Pronto Software and IBM show how deep collaboration can bring breakthrough technologies like AI to broader markets
Sea turtle swimming in the Great Barrier Reef

When it comes to unique species, Australia is pretty much the undisputed world leader. It’s also one of the most competitive places in the world—in both the business and natural domains—where the ability to adapt is essential to growth and success. Today, in the business landscape of Australia, ERP vendor Pronto Software stands as a similar example of successful evolution, one that breaks the mold on how to deliver consistent value to customers.

Over its 45-year history, Pronto Software has maintained a consistently strong, presence in the middle tier of Australia’s ERP marketplace by marching to its own drum. Its growth has been organic and self-funded; its customer relationships deep, long-lasting and personal; and its focus on the customer unwavering.

In his nearly two decades with Pronto Software, Managing Director and CEO Chad Gates has seen just about every facet of the company’s operations up close, from marketing and operations to product development. When asked about the root of the company’s success, he cites the factors mentioned above, along with a vibrant culture of innovation that has kept the entire Pronto Software product portfolio infused with the features and capabilities that matter most to its customers. At a deeper level, he points to a more fundamental and enduring quality: “What we’re really selling to our customers is trust,” says Gates. “Everything we do is geared toward delivering on that promise.”

For mid-market businesses, Gates explains, trust in an ERP vendor comes down to factors like strong support, kept promises related to performance and reliability, and, of course, the continuity of the relationship—“knowing that we’re going to be there for them down the road.” In Pronto Software’s world view, part and parcel of “being there” is making sure that mid-market customers get access to the potentially game-changing technologies, like AI and analytics, that are more common among large enterprises. In this respect, Pronto Software views itself as a kind of conduit of innovation to its customers.

And in Gates’s view, Pronto Software’s long-term partnership with IBM is one of the primary channels for delivering that innovation. “Our customers really understand that both Pronto Software and IBM are pushing the envelope in terms of incorporating new technologies for their benefit,” he says. “They recognize that we’re willing to take risks to innovate, and that we’re going to do right by them and provide them with a great solution they can trust.”

1,500 customers

 

Supports nearly 1,500 mid-market customers in Australia and New Zealand with Cognos-enabled ERP

45 years

 

Has been a technology sharing partner of IBM for nearly all of its 45 years of serving mid-market customers as an independent, self-funded and employee-owned ERP provider

Our customers really understand that both Pronto Software and IBM are pushing the envelope in terms of incorporating new technologies for their benefit. Chad Gates Managing Director and CEO Pronto Software
Breaking though with innovative ERP

Perhaps the best exemplar of this joint innovation in action was the introduction of the company’s core ERP package, Pronto Xi, with the reporting capabilities of IBM® Cognos® Analytics deeply integrated into it. In the view of Paul Goepfert, Pronto Software’s Chief Marketing Officer, the company’s release of the tightly coupled solution—a global first among ERP offerings—represented a true turning point for an underserved segment. “We essentially brought Cognos to the mid-market in Australia,” says Goepfert, “and just as importantly, we packaged it in a way that made it much more easily consumable by mid-market customers.”

Among most mid-market companies, Goepfert explains, the way to make a technology easier to adopt and use has a lot to do with how it’s presented. “Unlike the larger companies that are more typical of Cognos users, mid-market companies can’t really justify having a dedicated BI team,” he says. “The essence of our strategy is to intelligently embed Cognos reporting and analytics functionality that dovetails with—and can create the most value within—key ERP functions.”

In short, it’s about identifying the use cases that matter and channelling those insights into ongoing product development efforts. Gates, who headed the company’s R&D unit for five years, claims this perfectly encapsulates how Pronto Software and IBM continuously work together to bring fresh innovations to mid-market customers. “Our product development team regularly speak with IBM’s R&D teams about new functionality and what it means for our own product roadmaps,” he says. “Our collaboration also extends to testing, with Pronto Xi serving as a beta test platform for new features to complement the testing IBM does in its own labs.”

Today, Pronto Software and IBM are building on their collaborative relationship to work to bring AI and automation functionality to Pronto Software’s mid-market customers. Now in full swing, the joint effort is focused on defining use cases where AI can be used to streamline and automate core functions of the Pronto Xi ERP platform and prioritizing them based on their time to value. To support and encourage it, IBM provided the Pronto Software development team with a foundation of AI training, followed by a successful Hackathon to put that training into action and enhance the ideation process.

Following the Design Thinking processes associated with the IBM Garage™ methodology, the combined teams then built an implementation roadmap for the most promising AI use cases. This took into account everything from underlying data flows and integration points to necessary changes in the Prontoi Xi platform’s screen design and experience flow. Once completed, the team then set out to design proofs of concept and, from there, minimum viable products (MVPs). Underscoring both companies’ customer-first approach, Pronto Software’s product management team is bringing select Pronto Xi users into the loop to get their feedback.

We essentially brought Cognos to the mid-market in Australia, and just as importantly, we packaged it in a way that made it much more easily consumable by mid-market customers. Paul Goepfert Chief Marketing Officer Pronto Software
Democratizing AI for the mid-market

On the IBM side, Dr. Adam Makarucha, Lead Data Scientist for Client Engineering for the IBM Garage in Australia and New Zealand, is heading up the AI prototyping work. To give a flavor of how AI can complement Pronto Xi’s core ERP functionality, he pointed to one of the team’s earliest use cases: making maintenance service call scheduling—a truly common and everyday activity for Pronto Software’s mid-market base—more efficient and automated. “First, you have a large contractor force doing the service work that has very different skillsets, and you’re sending them to sites hours away. To optimize, you need to send the right people with the right skills who can do the job in the shortest amount of time. And the data used to make those decisions lives in the ERP system.”

Under the MVP now being developed, Dr. Makarucha says, AI-enabled scheduling optimization will be embedded into Pronto Xi’s core facilities management module in a seamless and intuitive way. “Right now, the typical scenario involves experienced experts making mental math decisions, essentially on the fly,” he explains. “Our aim is to make that bedrock function more efficient and automated, without adding the complexity that can be disruptive for customers.”

What customer-focused innovation looks like

To Gates, the hallmarks of Pronto Software’s nearly 40-year partnership with IBM—focuses on practical, accessible innovation that delivers value for customers—mirroring the company’s own “customer-first” ethos. “As the technology landscape evolves along with our customers’ business problems, we recognize how critical it is to stay relevant to addressing those problems,” says Gates. “Our relationship with IBM is an exciting place to be for us and for our customers, because we’re able to bring them along for the journey and deliver more and more benefits in the future.”

To Nick Flood, Managing Director and Vice President of Technology for IBM Australia, Pronto Software’s long track record of customer-centric innovation truly stands out from the crowd. “By investing boldly in R&D, Pronto Software is focusing on helping its customers gain insights into their own organizations, where the richest opportunities lie,” he explains. “We at IBM are proud to partner with a company that has so consistently led the way in delivering outstanding value to its customers.”

With nearly 1,500 customers across a wide range of industries using Cognos-enabled Pronto Xi, the collaborative innovation partnership with IBM has already helped bring benefits like faster and more accurate decision-making to a large share of Australia’s mid-market companies. By focusing on the incorporation of game-changing technologies like AI, automation and application containerization, Goepfert asserts, this unique collaborative, co-creative relationship will continue to enrich both companies’ innovation capabilities—with big benefits for customers. “Whenever we have a need of for any kind of technology innovation, the first stop for us is IBM,” he says. “And as with any trusted partner, we know that, just as important, IBM truly listens.”

Pronto Software logo
About Pronto Software

Pronto Software (link resides outside of ibm.com) is an Australian developer of award-winning ERP and analytics solutions, serving mid-market companies across multiple industries. The company, an IBM Business Partner, supports its innovation-driven strategy with a long record of significant R&D investment. In addition to Pronto Xi, the company’s core ERP solution, Pronto Software also has specialized business units focused on Digital Transformation; Cloud and Hosting services; and Business Intelligence.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more case stories Contact IBM Mohegan Sun

Significant improvements in hotel operations driven by IBM Cognos Analytics software

Read the case study
Health Services Executive of Ireland (HSE)

Health Service Executive builds initial vaccine platform in two weeks

Read the case study
MANA VOX

Helping halt global deforestation with AI

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America. August 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, Cognos, and IBM Garage are trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client's results will depend entirely on the client's systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.