Mohegan Sun 致力于追求卓越
在 IBM Cognos Analytics 软件的支持下,酒店运营得到显著改善
Mohegan Sun 挂满豆类植物和藤蔓的露台

即使从远处看,Mohegan Sun 也耸立于康涅狄格州,其周边景观一览无余,吸引着游客进入一个“游戏世界”:在赌场掷骰子、在泳池边放松、观看表演、购物、享受美食和体验娱乐活动。

抵达酒店后,客人最不想做的事情就是等待。

但是,该酒店拥有 1,563 间酒店客房和两座巨大的塔楼,因此一天之内可以接待一千次入住。过多的延迟退房、工作人员效率低下、客房调整或客房服务要求有时会导致许多客人不满意,因为他们需要等待领取客房钥匙、寄存行李然后才能开始体验住宿。

过去,客房服务和前台没有充分配备信息设备。仅将重要数据存储在酒店的一个物理位置,这导致主管在酒店不同楼层工作的同时检查更新变得很麻烦。

节省时间

 

增强入住率和库存的可见性,每天为楼层主管节省约 1 小时的时间

运营改进

 

通过让工作人员获得及时的 见解来改善客房服务和前台运营

使用 Cognos Analytics 对整个资产都有好处。这样减少了调整次数,实现了成本节约并全面提高了客户满意度。 Jesse Sturges Director of Strategic Marketing Mohegan Sun

Mohegan Sun 收益管理分析师 Johanna Thibdeau 拥有丰富的酒店运营背景,她认识到客房服务人员有机会自行访问实时数据。“客房服务人员没有携带任何数据,因此主管需要在楼梯上跑上跑下检查客房状态,”Thibdeau 说道。由于一栋大楼有 36 层,许多主管浪费了宝贵的时间在大楼内奔波只是为了获取最新信息。

而且,每位客房管家分配 65-90 间客房,他们需要在没有可用的手动更新的情况下满足客人的具体要求和调整,因此使得客房维护、客户服务和人员配备成为一项艰巨的挑战。

运营团队不知道的是,Mohegan Sun 内部已经设有解决方案。

升级的世界

Mohegan Sun 收入管理团队多年来一直依赖早期版本的 IBM® Cognos® Business Intelligence 平台。然而,它的界面更适合知识渊博的分析专业人员,因此客房部和前台等不太注重分析的部门必须依赖收入管理团队来提供报告和分析见解。

“当我们开始使用 Cognos Business Intelligence 时,我们使用它来生成固定报告、查找酒店入住率、待售客房以及最基本的基本信息,”Mohegan Sun 战略营销总监 Jesse Sturges 说道。

升级到 IBM Cognos Analytics 11 平台后,全新的用户友好型工具变得可用,Mohegan Sun 的其他部门都可以使用这些工具,而不仅仅是收入管理团队。

“随着团队在利用 Cognos Analytics、使用多个表格以及获取我们真正需要的信息方面变得更加熟练,我们不仅能够帮助自己做出决策,而且还能够帮助推动其他部门进行决策,”Sturges 说道。

为了帮助 Mohegan Sun 团队适应升级后的 Cognos Analytics 软件,来自 IBM 业务合作伙伴 LPA Software Solutions 的一组专家对他们进行了报告、仪表板、数据模块等方面的培训。

在为期一周的内部培训课程中,大家的想法不断涌现。就在那时,收入管理团队萌生了将 Cognos Analytics 交互式仪表板用于客房服务和前台运营的想法。

“对于我们这些负责报告的人来说,Cognos Analytics 提供了新功能,但仪表板最初看起来并不能提供直接帮助,”Sturges 说道。“然后我们意识到,如果我们能够为其他部门提供自助服务仪表板,我们就不再需要为他们提供支持,届时我们可以腾出时间来处理其他事情。”

客房服务和前台仪表板的创建将使这些部门变得更加自立,同时还能显著改进运营并节省时间。他们可以立即修改信息和视觉呈现,定制细节,并根据每个团队的具体需求筛选数据。

“我们花了几周时间才将仪表板深入到我们真正想要的内容。"创建后端数据集和数据模块需要一些时间,但现在效率提高了很多;我们可以非常轻松地实施更改或添加信息,”Thibdeau 说道。

我们花了几周时间才将仪表板深入到我们真正想要的内容……但现在效率提高了很多;我们可以非常轻松地实施更改或添加信息。 Johanna Thibdeau Revenue Management Analyst Mohegan Sun
运营独立性

现在,有关客房入住率和库存的重要数据显示在前台的大屏幕上,供所有人查看。这些信息还可以在前台和楼层主管的平板电脑上获取。Cognos Analytics 数据集支持每 3–5 分钟刷新一次缓存数据,因此当发生任何调整时,会近乎实时地显示更改。

主管不再需要赶到办公室核实客房状态,平均每个主管每天预计节省 1 小时的时间,同时也减少了错误。前台分配客房状态后,主管即可看到该更新。如果客房服务人员知道优先考虑哪些客房时,客人的等待时间就会大大减少。

新的 Cognos Analytics 仪表板还通过个性化体验来改善客户服务。现在,每位客人的姓名和确切需求都会在屏幕上显示在客人入住客房信息的旁边。

运营独立性和完善的通信服务极大地改善了客房服务和前台运营,因此其他部门现在正在将 Cognos Analytics 解决方案视为一种选择。酒店采购部门正在探索是否可以使用仪表板来管理订单和比较采购人员,其他更加注重以客户为中心的日常运营部门也是如此,例如代客泊车和接待部。

但酒店的 Cognos Analytics 之旅并不止于此。最近,Mohegan Sun 升级到了新版本的平台。最新版本 Cognos Analytics 11.1 提供了增强的报告和仪表板功能,包括 AI 支持的自动化见解、探索功能和数据准备。各部门可以完善他们的分析,并使用高级分析和机器学习来生成更相关的见解。

Mohegan Sun 徽标
关于 Mohegan Sun,LPA Software Solutions

Mohegan Sun(ibm.com 外部链接)被称为“游戏世界”,它位于美国康涅狄格州安卡斯维尔,是一个游戏和娱乐胜地。酒店由两座玻璃塔楼组成,设有两座独特的赌场、超过 40 家餐厅、酒吧和休息室、一个设有 10,000 个座席的竞技场、两个水疗中心和会议设施。Mohegan Sun 由 Mohegan Tribe 所有,接受 Mohegan Gaming & Entertainment 管理。

关于 LPA Software Solutions

LPA(ibm.com 外部链接)被称为“游戏世界”,是一家咨询公司和提供全方位服务的 IBM 业务合作伙伴。它提供基于预测和认知分析、商业智能、数据科学、大数据和财务绩效管理的跨行业咨询。其顾问团队由分析软件和解决方案方面的专家组成。

采取下一步行动
查看更多案例研究 FleetPride 通过无缝的供应链管理保持商业运转 成功案例 Heather Gardner 阐述了分析和能源行业 “AI 之旅”博客 IBM Cognos Analytics 在 Ventana 的 2021 年分析和数据价值指数中被评为模范供应商 “AI 之旅”博客
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 和 Cognos 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 业务合作伙伴自行设定价格,价格可能会有所不同。 IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

For Mohegan Sun the ability to get near real-time data into the hands of the housekeeping department and front desk staff opened up opportunities for efficiencies and reduced dependence on other teams for relevant insights.

Transformation

With the adoption of Cognos Analytics software, the operations teams were able to create their own analytics solutions that have driven significant operational improvements and time savings.

Results

Enables operations

to improve customer service with near real-time data that improves efficiency

Saves time

by an estimated 1 hour per day for floor supervisors

Increases self-sufficiency

of the day-to-day operations teams

Business challenge story

A world in need of real-time data

Even from a distance, Mohegan Sun can be seen towering over the surrounding Connecticut landscape, enticing travelers to enter a “world at play” — to throw some dice at the casino, relax by the pool, catch a show, shop, eat and be entertained.

Upon arrival, the last thing a hotel guest wants is to wait.

But, with a property boasting 1,563 hotel rooms and two massive towers, it’s possible for a thousand check-ins to occur in a single day. Too many delayed checkouts, staffing inefficiencies, room adjustments or housekeeping requests can sometimes result in a fair amount of displeased guests waiting to get their room keys, drop off their luggage and start enjoying their stays.

In the past, housekeeping and the front desk were not adequately equipped with information. Essential data existed in only one physical place on the property, making it a hassle for supervisors to check updates while working on different floors of the hotel.

With an extensive background in hotel operations, Johanna Thibdeau, Revenue Management Analyst at Mohegan Sun, recognized the opportunity for housekeeping staff to have their own access to real-time data. “Housekeeping didn’t carry any data with them, and had supervisors running up and down the stairs to check room status,” says Thibdeau. With 36 floors in one tower, many supervisors wasted valuable time rushing around the property just to receive updates.

And, with each housekeeper assigned 65 – 90 rooms, keeping up with the guests’ specific requests and adjustments without updates available on hand made room upkeep, customer service and staffing a daunting challenge.

Unknown to the operations team, a solution already existed within Mohegan Sun.

Using Cognos Analytics is good for the entire property. It resulted in fewer adjustments, cost savings and an overall increase in customer satisfaction.

Jesse Sturges, Director of Strategic Marketing, Mohegan Sun

Transformation story

A world upgraded

The Mohegan Sun revenue management team had relied on an earlier version of the Cognos Business Intelligence platform for years. However, its interface was more suitable for knowledgeable analytics professionals, so less analytics-focused departments, like housekeeping and the front desk, had to rely on the revenue management team for reporting and analytic insights.

“When we started with Cognos Business Intelligence, we used it for canned reports, looking up hotel occupancy, rooms left for sale, bare-bones basic information,” says Jesse Sturges, Director of Strategic Marketing at Mohegan Sun.

After an upgrade to the Cognos Analytics version 11 platform, a whole new world of user-friendly tools became available, and other departments across Mohegan Sun were able to use them — not just the revenue management team.

“As the team became a little savvier with leveraging Cognos Analytics, using multiple tables and getting the information we really needed, we were not only able to help ourselves with yielding decisions, but we were able to help drive decisions in other departments too,” says Sturges.

To help the Mohegan Sun team get acclimated to the upgraded Cognos Analytics software, a group of experts from LPA trained them in reporting, dashboards, data modules and more.

During their week-long, in-house training session, the ideas were flowing. That’s when the revenue management team had the inspired notion to use the Cognos Analytics interactive dashboards for housekeeping and front-desk operations.

“For those of us on the reporting side, Cognos Analytics offered new functionality, but the dashboards didn’t initially look like a direct help,” Sturges says. “Then we realized if we could enable the other departments with self-service dashboards, we would no longer have to be a support branch for them, and we could free up time to work on other things.”

The creation of housekeeping and front-desk dashboards would allow those departments to become more self-sufficient while also driving significant operational improvements and time savings. They could immediately modify the information and visual presentation, customize details, and filter data to each team’s specific needs.

“It took a couple of weeks to get dashboards drilled down to what we really wanted. Creating the back-end datasets and data modules took some time, but now it’s a lot more efficient; we can implement changes or add information very easily,” says Thibdeau.

Results story

A world modernized

Now, crucial data concerning room occupancy and inventory is displayed in the front office on a large screen for all to see. The information is also available at the front desk and on tablets for the floor supervisors. Using Cognos Analytics datasets allows cached data to refresh every 3 – 5 minutes, so when any adjustments occur, the changes are displayed in near-real time.

Supervisors no longer have to hustle down to the office to verify a room status, saving on average an estimated hour per day per supervisor while also reducing errors. As soon as the front desk assigns a room status, it is made available to the supervisor. When housekeeping knows which rooms to prioritize, the guests’ wait times decrease significantly.

The new Cognos Analytics dashboard also improves customer service by personalizing the experience. Now the name and exact needs of every guest appear on screen next to the guest’s room information.

Operational independence and refined communications have helped improve housekeeping and front-desk operations so much that other departments are now looking at the Cognos Analytics solution as an option. Hotel purchasing is exploring the possibility of using a dashboard to manage orders and compare buyers, and so are other, more customer-focused, day-to-day operations, like valet and hosting.

But the hotel’s Cognos Analytics journey doesn’t stop there. Recently Mohegan Sun upgraded to an even newer version of the platform. The latest release, Cognos Analytics V11.1, offers enhanced reporting and dashboard capabilities including automated insights, exploration capabilities, and data prep supported by AI. Departments can refine their analysis and use the advanced analytics and machine learning to generate more relevant insights.

business logo

About Mohegan Sun

Known as “a world at play,” Mohegan Sun is a gaming and entertainment destination located in Uncasville, Connecticut.  Two glass towers make up the hotel, with two unique casinos, more than 40 restaurants, bars and lounges, a 10,000-seat arena, two spas, and meeting facilities. Mohegan Sun is owned by the Mohegan Tribe and managed by Mohegan Gaming & Entertainment.

About LPA Software Solutions

LPA is a consulting firm and full-service IBM Business Partner. It provides cross-industry consulting based on predictive and cognitive analytics, business intelligence, data science, big data and financial performance management. Its consultants are experts in analytics software and solutions.

Solution component

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solution featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.