利用人工智能帮助遏制全球森林滥伐
MANA Community 利用 Twittersphere 获取切实可行的环境洞察

几乎所有东西都含有棕榈油,包括冰淇淋、披萨面团、方便面、化妆品、肥皂和牙膏。油棕榈树产量高、成本低,使棕榈油作为商品大受欢迎。然而,在生长着世界 85% 油棕榈树的马来西亚和印度尼西亚,跨国公司为了棕榈油产量,持续毁坏无可替代的雨林和富碳泥炭地资源。

这仅仅是全球森林遭受破坏性压力的一个例子。森林滥伐会减少生物多样性,释放温室气体,减少就业并影响社区,引发森林火灾并扰乱水循环。然而,希望跟踪和防止森林滥伐的非政府组织 (NGO) 和其他实体却面临着海量且不断增长的非结构化数据,而这些数据实际上是无法管理的。

MANA Community 创始人兼首席执行官 Kiti Mignotte 试图收集和整理所需的见解,以帮助制止这种猖獗的环境破坏行为。她在法国巴黎创立了一个非政府组织 MANA,构建了 MANA-Vox 解决方案,这是一个人工智能增强平台,可以根据从社交媒体收集来的实时信息,监视个别企业在当地有争议生态问题中的参与情况。

通过发布这些信息,消费者、非政府组织、保护机构、金融机构和企业自身可以在造成进一步损害之前根据这些见解采取行动。

“我们正处于人类历史的关键节点,需要统计信息来做出明智决策,即我们希望看到哪些类型的活动蓬勃发展,哪些类型的活有所收敛,”Mignotte 解释说。“逐利是资本主义企业的天性。然而,并不能只是为赚取更多的金钱,也要为我们的自然资本注入更多的价值。”

覆盖面广

 

MANA-Vox 平台可以在社交媒体上关注 740 个可靠来源,了解 450 家企业的相关情况

使用人工智能进行分析

 

该平台每天分析数千条推文和链接内容,使用人工智能将约 98% 的内容标记为不相关

并不能只是为赚取更多的金钱,也要为我们的自然资本注入更多的价值。 Kiti Mignotte CEO and Founder MANA Community
携手共进,共创科技

为了给她的愿景插上翅膀,MANA 需要一个能够快速挖掘海量数据的系统,因为与森林砍伐有关的知识体系仍在快速增长。她还需要一个能够根据信息需求快速扩展的平台。

法国的 IBM Garage™ 团队非常乐意提供帮助。他们认为,云平台上的人工智能服务可以提供 MANA 所需的内容。

IT 架构师兼 IBM Garage 工程师 Nicolas Comete 和 IBM Garage 软件开发人员 Quentin Siraut 与 MANA 团队就该项目开展密切合作。作为狂热的徒步旅行者和露营者,他们认为这是一个利用自己的专业知识造福环境的机会。

上图:2020 年 9 月,亚马逊地区的一名原住民男孩(图片来源:Thomas Pizer/aquaverde.org)

Comet 说:“开拓者所做的事情并不总是符合我们价值观。在我看来,我们今天面临的许多问题都来自于我们对待自然的方式,包括森林和动物。与 MANA 的合作是我帮助地球变得更好的一种方式。

除了支持 MANA 的事业,Comete 和 Siraut 还拥有项目所需的人工智能和云计算专业知识。Comete 十几岁时第一次尝试软件开发。他说:“我从小就喜欢玩电子游戏。15 岁时,我开始开发电子游戏和编写算法。”

而 Siraut 则一直希望创新,这吸引他进入软件开发领域。现在,他自称为人工智能、机器学习和深度学习爱好者,喜欢以新颖的方式应用 IBM Watson® 的功能。

“人工智能为各行各业带来了越来越多的创新;我很高兴我们能帮助 MANA 利用 Watson AI,做对环境有利的事,”他说。

这次与 MANA 的合作是我帮助地球变得更美好的一种方式。 Nicolas Comete IT Architect and Engineer, IBM Garage IBM Garage
放大本地声音

全球森林滥伐的驱动因素因地区而异,但主要归因于人类活动,包括商业和小规模农业、伐木、畜牧业和采矿业。然而,Global Canopy 报告(链接位于 IBM.com 外部)称,在 500 家供应链危及森林的公司和金融机构中,43% 没有制定减少砍伐森林的政策。

在使用 IBM Garage(一个将人员、流程和技术结合在一起的转型框架)之前,MANA 已经从国际非政府组织那里收集了数千个可信来源。这些联系人包括进行实地考察的环保活动人士以及原住民社区和其他农村社区(通常是偏远社区)的居民,他们掌握着砍伐森林热点地区当前问题的第一手资料。“正是这些人真正知道企业不应该做什么以及他们的活动对该地区有何影响,”Mignotte 说。

这些信息来源通常依靠社交媒体和其他数字渠道,提醒自然保护组织和其他组织注意即将发生的环境破坏行为。然而,由于社交媒体上的新闻和信息相互竞争,有时甚至相互矛盾,它们往往无法与目标受众建立联系。

MANA-Vox 平台将在云端利用人工智能主动倾听他们的声音。在这一过程中,需要扫描各个信息来源发布的信息(包括文章和网站链接),查找相关帖子,然后核实来源、交叉检查信息,并利用由此获得的洞察编制企业排名。在 Twitter 等来源上谈论该公司的人越多,该公司的排名就越高。

 

当 IBM Garage 团队接手该项目时,MANA 及其志愿者已经开发了第一个 MANA-Vox 算法。法国的 IBM 团队还帮助推进了基本应用程序的设计和开发,包括部署一些 IBM Watson 服务。下一步是采用最佳实践,打造一个稳定的、可投入生产的最简化可实施产品 (MVP)。

“MANA 有很多热情和智慧的志愿者,他们参与了该工具不同部分的工作,但由于它不是由一个人或一个团队创建的,因此缺乏统一性。我们向 IBM Garage 团队求助,希望他们能够帮助推进项目,在一个特定的空间里创建一个独特的工具。我们还需要它易于使用,”MANA Community 技术顾问兼产品经理 Zoe Berenger 说道。

我们向 IBM Garage 团队求助,希望他们能够帮助推进项目,在一个特定的空间里创建一个独特的工具。 Zoe Berenger Technology Consultant and Product Manager MANA Community
灵活的按需云服务

Garage 团队采用敏捷的 IBM Garage 方法来满足 MANA 团队的需求,首先确定了 MANA 的 MVP 特定目标。“首先,他们希望我们确保现有的应用程序功能得到充分利用,以满足他们的所有业务需求,”Siraut 说。“其次,他们希望优化资源,以便应用程序全天候处理信息,然后关闭,而且应用程序还能以符合成本效益的方式按需扩展。”

接下来,团队进行了基础架构评估。“我们研究了现有的解决方案,也就是我们所说的原样,并对其现状进行了盘点,”Comet 解释道。“我们找出了痛点,以及可以利用哪些内容,哪些内容需要更新和现代化。我们还概要确定了如何完善解决方案流程。”

IBM Garage 团队采用分阶段方法与 MANA 合作,构建了一个由两个基于云的模块组成的 AI 驱动平台。他们开发的第一个模块使用查询服务和自定义代码,来监视受信任的非政府组织和其他信息源的社交媒体订阅源,包括 RSS Web 订阅源和引用网页中的链接信息。该模块将信息存储在数据库中,并对其进行分析,以找到 MANA 可以跟踪的其他来源,从而获得可靠的见解。

然后,他们构建了第二个模块,该模块使用 IBM Cloud® 上的 IBM Watson 服务分析经过验证的内容,以确定其是否与 MANA 的目标相关。这一过程依靠 IBM Watson Language Translator 解决方案将所有内容翻译成英文,并依靠 IBM Watson Natural Language Understanding 解决方案识别关键词,以便进一步分析。接下来,IBM Watson Assistant 解决方案会对专门提及环境破坏事件相关公司的内容进行分类。

为了确保经济高效的数据处理,Garage 团队建议使用 IBM Cloud Functions 服务的无服务器基础架构,该基础架构基于事件驱动的工作流程执行。例如,当应用程序不处理来自可信来源的数据时,就会将其缩放为零。Comete 解释道:“像 MANA 这样的非营利组织可以从小规模开始使用云服务,这些服务可以很容易地按需扩展,而且他们只需支付所消耗的费用。”

现在,IBM Garage 团队已经帮助 MANA 综合并统一了他们现有的算法,该初创公司正在继续扩展并测试该应用程序。Berenger 和 Garage 团队计划利用结对编程和持续集成/持续部署 (CI/CD) 等技术来稳步完善代码。

在整个项目过程中,Garage 开发人员始终致力于帮助 MANA 实现其目标,有时甚至会调整他们的工作日程,在晚上开展协作。“MANA 团队规模很小,因此我们可以灵活地工作并建立良好的一对一关系,”Siraut 强调。“在这个项目上,我们集中了所有力量,不遗余力。”

Mignotte 和 Berenger 非常重视这个项目,在完成项目过程中,与 Comete 和 Siraut 的合作也非常愉快。

Mignotte 表示:“IBM Garage 很快就适应了我们的工作需求和工作方式,令我感到非常惊喜。在精神层面,我们达成了共鸣,即不是只为了赚钱,而是要有所追求。此外,他们非常善于倾听和理解。就像珠宝工匠使用最好的工具来镶嵌宝石一样,开发人员也类似,他们总是找到合适的工具来满足我们的特定需求并适应最小的功能。”

“在这个项目上,我们集中了所有力量,全力投入。” Quentin Siraut Software Developer IBM Garage
推文蕴含着宝贵的当地洞察

共同构建 MVP 后,IBM Garage 团队通过 API 服务器将其连接到 Twitter 进行测试。他们决定只对 Twitter 上的信息源进行测试,因为 Twitter 为他们提供了一个深度但相对封闭的数据集,其中包含各种语言。

Siraut 解释说:“一条推文本身就可以链接到一篇文章或一个网站,其中有包含上百行的几段内容需要分析。”

目前,MANA-Vox 解决方案每天分析数千条推文和链接内容,并且团队每天都会添加更多信息源。在分析的内容中,该解决方案将大约 98% 的内容标记为不相关。然后,MANA 员工和志愿者手动审核 2% 的相关内容,以验证其是否是 MANA 所需的信息类型。然后可以根据结果对算法进行微调。

“通过快速处理 Twitter 订阅源并精确定位相关内容,该应用程序的人工智能节省了 MANA 大量的手动工作时间。工作人员可以集中精力评估非常有限的相关信息,而不是在大量数据上浪费时间,”Siraut 解释道。

在接下来的解决方案阶段,MANA 将完成面向公众的仪表板的设计,并开发一个后台解决方案,以方便解决方案的管理。MANA 预计 MANA-Vox 平台将于 2022 年初上线。此外,它最近还与一个主要的非政府组织达成协议,允许该组织在其网站上介绍 MANA-Vox 的观点和见解。同时正在与其他非政府组织进行类似的讨论。

追究公司责任

一旦投入生产,MANA 将逐步扩大 MANA-Vox 解决方案的规模,以便从多个数字渠道和数千个可信来源收集情报。目前,该解决方案跟踪了 740 个可信来源,以了解 450 家公司的情况。

借助该平台,MANA 可以帮助开创企业问责制的新时代。有关公司环境足迹的大多数信息传统上都来自公司的年度报告,而这些报告往往缺乏及时性、透明度和可追溯性。MANA 将为环保人士、非政府组织和其他组织提供近乎实时的造成最大环境破坏公司的名单,从而使他们能够更有效地推动变革。

例如,他们可以采取直接的法律行动来阻止森林滥伐,或者发起消费者运动,迫使公司对棕榈油和其他大宗商品采用更为环保的生产和采购方法。财务顾问还可以利用排名来投资那些采取零砍伐政策的公司。

“MANA 提倡民主方法,来自不同部门的人可以团结起来,为同一个目标而努力,”她说。

Mignotte 表示,金融公司尤其期待获得 MANA-Vox 的见解,因为这些见解与其他组织提供的见解不同。由于 MANA-Vox 平台分析的数据来自民间社会和亲眼目睹森林滥伐的实地人员,因此对于从破坏环境所带来的原材料中获益的分销商(而不仅仅是供应商),可以有更深入的了解。

随着 MANA 不断发展 MANA-Vox 平台,IBM Garage 团队随时准备为小公司提供所需的支持。“我们能够帮助 MANA 这样的非政府组织开发解决方案,这真是太好了,”Comet 说。“我们的合作让每一天都过得非常有意义,且充满乐趣。”

探索帮助您管理客户数据盲点的解决方案

Mana-Vox 徽标
关于 MANA Community

MANA 总部位于法国巴黎,是一家初创非政府组织,致力于帮助保护全球森林生态系统。MANA-Vox 平台启动后,可提供近乎实时的企业环境足迹排名,使非政府组织和其他实体能够做出更多循证决策。MANA 成立于 2015 年,其核心团队由一个庞大的志愿者网络提供协助。

采取下一步行动
订阅精选简讯,了解最新的技术、商业和思想领导力。 充分利用收件箱,从 IBM 获取最佳资源。
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Garage, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Garage 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 业务合作伙伴自行设定价格,价格可能会有所不同。 IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Helping halt global deforestation with AI

MANA Community taps the Twittersphere for actionable environmental insights
by Karen Boush
10-minute read

Palm oil can be found in virtually everything, including ice cream, pizza dough, instant noodles, cosmetics, soaps and toothpaste. The oil palm tree delivers a high yield at a low cost, fueling the oil’s popularity as a commodity. Yet in Malaysia and Indonesia, where 85% of the world’s palm oil is grown, multinational corporations continually destroy irreplaceable rainforests and carbon-rich peatlands for its production.

This is just one example of the destructive pressures being put on forests worldwide. Deforestation reduces biodiversity, releases greenhouse gas emissions, destroys jobs and communities, contributes to forest fires and disrupts water cycles. Yet nongovernmental organizations (NGOs) and other entities looking to track and prevent deforestation are faced with vast and growing amounts of unstructured data that are practically impossible to manage.

Kiti Mignotte, CEO and Founder of MANA Community, sought to gather and organize the insights needed to help put a stop to this type of rampant environmental destruction. She founded MANA, an NGO based in Paris, France, to build the MANA-Vox solution, an AI-enhanced platform that can monitor individual corporations’ involvement in local ecological controversies based on real-time information compiled from social media.

By publishing this information, consumers, NGOs, conservation agencies, financial institutions and the corporations themselves can act on those insights before further damage is done.

“We’re at a point in human history where we need statistical information to make wise decisions about what types of activity we’d like to see flourish and what types we don't want to see flourish,” explains Mignotte. “Our capitalistic enterprises look toward making more money. However, it’s not about making more money but about giving more value to our natural capital.”

The MANA-Vox platform can follow 740 credible sources on social media for

450

corporations

The platform analyzes thousands of tweets and linked content daily, using AI to label

~98%

as nonrelevant

It's not about making more money but about giving more value to our natural capital.
Kiti Mignotte
CEO and Founder, MANA Community
Mignotte portrait, CEO and Founder, MANA Community
Teaming on tech for good

To give her vision wings, MANA needed a system that could rapidly mine huge data volumes, as the body of knowledge around deforestation continues to rapidly grow. She also needed a platform that could quickly scale in line with the demand for this information.

The IBM Garage™ team in France was happy to step up and help. They understood that AI services on a cloud platform could deliver what MANA needed.

Nicolas Comete, IT Architect and IBM Garage Engineer, and Quentin Siraut, IBM Garage Software Developer, worked closely with the MANA team on the project. As avid hikers and campers, they saw it as an opportunity to use their expertise to benefit the environment.

Indigenous child with typical clothes hugging a tree
Laptops And Computer On Desk In Office

Image above: An indigenous boy in the Amazon, September 2020 (Credit Thomas Pizer/aquaverde.org)

“It’s not always the case that developers can commit ourselves to something that corresponds to our values,” says Comete. “From my point of view, many of the problems we face today are coming from the way we behave with nature, including forests and animals. This engagement with MANA was one way I could help make the planet a little better.”

In addition to supporting MANA’s cause, Comete and Siraut had the requisite AI and cloud expertise for the project. Comete first tried his hand at software development when he was a teenager. “Since I was a child, I enjoyed playing video games. When I turned 15 years old, I began to develop video games and write algorithms,” he says.

Siraut, in turn, always wanted to innovate, which attracted him to the field of software development. Now a self-described AI, machine learning and deep learning enthusiast, he enjoys applying IBM Watson® capabilities in novel ways.

“More and more, innovation is brought to various industries with AI; I like that we can help MANA use Watson AI for good,” he says.

This engagement with MANA was one way I could help make the planet a little better.
Nicolas Comete
IT Architect and Engineer, IBM Garage
Nicolas Comete portrait, IT Architect and Engineer, IBM Garage
Amplifying local voices

The drivers of worldwide deforestation vary by region but are largely attributed to human activities, including commercial and small-scale agriculture, logging, cattle ranching and mining. However, Global Canopy reportsExternal Link that out of 500 companies and financial institutions whose supply chains put forests at risk, 43% do not have a policy to reduce deforestation.

Prior to engaging with IBM Garage — a transformation framework that brings together people, processes and technology — MANA had compiled thousands of trusted sources from international NGOs. These contacts, which included environmental activists in the field and residents of indigenous and other rural, often remote communities, held firsthand knowledge of ongoing issues in deforestation hot spots. “It’s these individuals who really know what corporations shouldn’t be doing and how their activities impact the region,” says Mignotte.

Oil palm plantation on in Borneo, Malaysia, on newly deforested land
Person holding a smartphone to check messages

These sources generally rely on social media and other digital channels to alert conservation and other organizations to pending acts of environmental destruction. Yet given the competing, sometimes contradictory news and messages on social media, they often can’t connect with their intended audiences.

The MANA-Vox platform would actively listen to their voices using AI in the cloud. The process entailed scanning collective communications — including links to articles and websites — for relevant posts and then verifying the sources, cross-checking the information, and using the resulting insights to compile corporate rankings. The more people are speaking about the corporation on sources such as Twitter, the higher it will rank.

When the IBM Garage team picked up the project, MANA and its volunteers had already developed the first MANA-Vox algorithms. The IBM team in France had also helped advance the basic application design and development, including deploying some IBM Watson services. The next step was to build a stable, production-ready minimum viable product (MVP) using best practices.

“MANA has a lot of passionate, intelligent volunteers that worked on different parts of the tool, but because it wasn’t created by one person or team it lacked unity. We turned to the IBM Garage team to move the project forward and create a unique tool in a unique space. We also needed it to be easy to use,” says Zoe Berenger, Technology Consultant and Product Manager at MANA Community.

Young black man on yellow shirt and wearing glasses talking close to three colleagues
We turned to the IBM Garage team to move the project forward and create a unique tool in a unique space.
Zoe Berenger
Technology Consultant and Product Manager, MANA Community
Zoe Berenger portrait, Technology Consultant and Product Manager, MANA Community
Flexible, on-demand cloud services
Man drawing a diagram on a white board

Adapting the agile IBM Garage Methodology to meet the MANA team’s needs, the Garage team began by identifying MANA’s specific objectives for the MVP. “First, they wanted us to make sure that the existing application functionality was being fully used to meet all their business requirements,” says Siraut. “Second, they wanted to optimize resources so that the application processed information every night or day and then shut down, and also that the application could cost-effectively scale on demand.”

The team next conducted an architecture assessment. “We looked at the existing solution, what we call the as-is, and made an inventory of where it was at,” explains Comete. “We identified the pain points, what we could use and what needed to be updated and modernized. We also outlined how to refine the solution processes.”

Taking a phased approach, the IBM Garage team collaborated with MANA to build an AI-driven platform comprising two cloud-based modules. The first module they developed uses query services and custom code to monitor social media feeds of trusted NGOs and other information sources, including linked information in RSS web feeds and referenced web pages. The module stores the information in a database and analyzes it to find additional sources that MANA might follow to acquire reliable insights.

They then built the second module, which analyzes the validated content using IBM Watson services on IBM Cloud® to determine if it’s relevant to MANA’s objectives. The process relies on the IBM Watson Language Translator solution to translate all content to English, and the IBM Watson Natural Language Understanding solution to identify keywords for further analysis. Next, the IBM Watson Assistant solution classifies content that refers specifically to corporations associated with incidents of environmental destruction.

To ensure cost-efficient data processing, the Garage team recommended a serverless architecture using IBM Cloud Functions services, which execute based on event-driven workflows. For example, the application scales to zero when it is not processing data coming in from trusted sources. “Nonprofits such as MANA can start small with cloud services that can easily scale on demand, and they pay for only what they consume,” explains Comete.

Now that the IBM Garage team has helped MANA synthesize and unify their existing algorithms, the startup is moving forward to scale and test the application. Berenger and the Garage team plan to take advantage of techniques such as pair programming and continuous integration/continuous deployment (CI/CD) to steadily polish the code.

Diverse team standing at table working with documents
Visual representation of a system using IBM Cloud

Throughout the project, the Garage developers remained dedicated to helping MANA realize its goals, sometimes adjusting their schedules to collaborate in the evenings. “The MANA team is small, so we could work with agility and build great one-to-one relationships,” Siraut emphasizes. “We put all our strengths together on this project.”

Mignotte and Berenger also enjoyed the process of working with Comete and Siraut on a project dear to their hearts.

“What I found amazing about the IBM Garage was their ability to adapt to who we are and how we work. Psychologically, we could meet on the same ground, in a place where it wasn’t about making money. It was about making sense,” says Mignotte. “Also, they could listen and understand. Like jewelers who use the finest tools to fit precious stones, the developers are craftspeople who always found the proper tool to meet our specific needs and fit in the smallest features.”

We put all our strengths together on this project.
Quentin Siraut,
Software Developer, IBM Garage
Quentin Siraut portrait, Software Developer, IBM Garage
Tweets hold valuable local insights

After jointly building the MVP, the IBM Garage team connected it through an API server to Twitter for testing. They decided to limit testing to information sources found on Twitter, which provided them with a deep but relatively contained data set with diverse vernacular.

“A single tweet in itself can link to an article or website with several paragraphs and hundreds of lines of copy that need to be analyzed,” explains Siraut.

Currently, the MANA-Vox solution analyzes thousands of tweets and linked content daily, and the team adds more information sources each day. Of the analyzed content, the solution labels approximately 98% as nonrelevant. MANA employees and volunteers then manually review the 2% of relevant content to verify that it’s the type of information MANA needs. The algorithms can then be fine-tuned based on the findings.

Screenshot of Mana-Vox solution analysis, showing a pie chart of companies ranking as a sample
Screen capture of programming code on a dark theme

“By quickly processing Twitter feeds and pinpointing relevant content, the application’s AI saves MANA countless hours of manual work. Workers can focus their attention on evaluating a very limited set of pertinent information rather than losing time on a large quantity of data,” explains Siraut.

In the next solution phases, MANA will finish designing a public-facing dashboard and develop a back-office solution to facilitate solution administration. MANA anticipates the MANA-Vox platform will go live in early 2022. In addition, it recently reached an agreement with a major NGO that would allow it to feature MANA-Vox insights on its website. It is engaged in similar discussions with other NGOs.

Holding corporations accountable
Asian boys laughing outdoors on a rain, one of them holding a huge banana tree leaf

Once in production, MANA will gradually scale the MANA-Vox solution to gather intelligence from multiple digital channels and thousands of credible sources. Currently, the solution follows 740 credible sources for insights on 450 corporations.

With the platform, MANA can help usher in a new era of corporate accountability. Most information about companies’ environmental footprints has traditionally come from their own annual reports, which often lack timeliness, transparency and traceability. MANA will arm conservationists, NGOs and other organizations with a near real-time list of corporations posed to do the greatest environmental damage, empowering them to work more effectively for change.

For example, they can take direct legal actions to stop deforestation, or launch consumer campaigns pressuring companies to employ environment-friendly production and sourcing practices for palm oil and other commodities. Financial advisers can also use the rankings to invest in companies that have adopted zero-deforestation policies.

“MANA fosters a democratic approach, where people from different sectors can unite and work towards the same goal,” she says.

Mignotte says that financial companies especially look forward to accessing MANA-Vox insights, which stand apart from those provided by other organizations. Because the MANA-Vox platform analyzes data from civil society and from people in the field who personally witness deforestation, it can provide deeper visibility into distributors — and not just suppliers — benefiting from raw materials produced through environmental destruction.

As MANA continues evolving the MANA-Vox platform, the IBM Garage team stands ready to support the small company however needed. “It’s really nice when we can help develop solutions for NGOs like MANA,” says Comete. “We can meet people who really make our day and have fun.”

Discover solutions to help you manage blind spots in your customer data

Mana-Vox logo

About MANA Community

Based in Paris, France, MANA is a startup NGO that seeks to help protect global forest ecosystems. Once launched, the MANA-Vox platform can empower NGOs and other entities to make more evidence-based decisions by providing near real-time rankings of corporations’ environmental footprints. Founded in 2015, MANA’s core team is assisted by a large network of volunteers.

Solution components
Mana-Vox logo

About MANA Community

Based in Paris, France, MANA is a startup NGO that seeks to help protect global forest ecosystems. Once launched, the MANA-Vox platform can empower NGOs and other entities to make more evidence-based decisions by providing near real-time rankings of corporations’ environmental footprints. Founded in 2015, MANA’s core team is assisted by a large network of volunteers.

Solution components