可持续发展技术如何能协助优化设施运作
IBM Global Real Estate 借助 IBM 可持续发展软件,将洞察融入日常运营决策中,从而实现更具可持续性的设施管理
申请免费试用
一群人在办公室开会

2022 年 9 月,IBM Global Real Estate (GRE) 凭借其多项可持续发展启动计划荣获 Sheila Sheridan 国际设施管理奖 (IFMA)¹ 和印度董事协会金孔雀奖²。而就在几个月前,公司还获得了 2022 年绿色租赁领导者金级认证³。这些成就都是 IBM 在长期环保责任行为记录中额外达成的里程碑。从更广泛的意义上讲,这些奖项证明了 IBM 公司一直秉承着近60年前由时任首席执行官 Thomas J. Watson Jr. 植入 IBM DNA 的价值观:“走在哪些致力于让我们的世界变得更美好的公司前沿。”

IBM 在 100 个国家/地区近 800 个地点管理着超过 5000 万平方英尺的空间,我们充分认识到,负责任的房地产管理可以降低对环境的影响。

IBM 继续履行其 50 多年的负责任环境管理承诺和计划,这包括减少温室气体 (GHG) 排放、回收无害废弃物,以及以值得信任且真实的方式跟踪其绩效并报告结果。其中许多计划都与 IBM 的房地产业务存在交叉,鉴于我们的设施产品服务组合丰富多样,持续实现理想绩效并非一帆风顺。该产品服务组合遍布 100 多个国家/地区,包括办公室、研究实验室、制造工厂、分销站点以及数据中心,有些位于永久产权园区,还有一部分位于多租户环境中。

在 IBM 深厚的技术支持下,IBM Global Real Estate 正在对 IBM 房地产和资产管理实践的诸多方面进行影响深远的改革,以持续提升运营效率和环境绩效。Global Real Estate 利用技术及时准确地跟踪和报告运营指标,并根据因此获得的洞察信息来制定具有商业和环境意义的明智决策。

¹ Sheila Sheridan 国际设施管理奖 (IFMA)
  (链接来自 ibm.com 站外)
² 董事协会金孔雀奖(链接来自 ibm.com 站外)
³ 2022 年绿色租赁领导者金级认证(链接来自 ibm.com 站外)

此外,IBM Global Real Estate 也认识到,在现有和未来客户追求可持续发展目标的过程中,与他们分享自身的转型和经验有许多潜在益处。客户正在寻找成熟、务实的解决方案,以加快实现更具可持续性的运营和流程,同时提高其业务效率和绩效。从这个意义上讲,IBM 是使用自己技术的“零号客户”,并期待着与大家分享这个故事。

Jane Muir-Sands 深谙践行价值观的道理。她在 2020 年加入 IBM 担任全球房地产及运营业务副总裁时,首要任务是做出改变。“我的个人和职业目标,是为我的子孙后代创造一个更可持续发展的未来。”Muir-Sands 说, “我认为 IBM 在可持续发展领域独一无二,在这里,员工能够成为解决重大问题并让世界变得更美好的真正催化剂。我很自豪能够为 IBM 工作。”

上任后几天内,IBM Global Real Estate 最新能源相关计划的轮廓已经初具雏形,这一切始于与 IBM 可持续发展软件总经理 Kareem Yusuf 博士的会谈。对于 Muir-Sands 而言,这些讨论的主要收获在于扩展 GRE 集成 IT 平台功能的机会:用于设施管理的 IBM® TRIRIGA® 解决方案和用于资产管理的 IBM Maximo® 解决方案。“明确的共识在于需要让 IT 工具的用户深刻意识到他们的决策对可持续发展和环境的影响,”她解释道,“同样重要的是,将其融入我们日常房地产、设施和资产管理决策的结构中。”

成本节省


通过利用单个自动化平台替换多个工具,能源报告软件的成本降低了 30%    

跟踪面广


跟踪 100 个国家/地区中 800 个地点的运营数据

我认为 IBM 在可持续发展领域独一无二,在这里,员工能够成为解决重大问题并让世界变得更美好的真正催化剂 Jane Muir-Sands Vice President Global Real Estate and Operations IBM
创新将缔造设施优化的新方式

百分之四十⁴。这大致相当于全球建筑物每年二氧化碳排放量的占比,也是 IBM GRE 在实现公司环境目标方面发挥关键作用的原因。从较高层面来看,GRE 的使命是提供恰当的建筑和设施组合,为全球 IBM 员工提供最优和最高效的体验,无论其工作环境是办公室、制造工厂、数据中心还是其他类型的环境。这与管理空间有关。

对于 GRE 而言,执行这项任务涉及大量决策,包括房间配置、租赁条款,以及资本项目规划和设施维护。为了优化此类决策,GRE 正利用快速发展的物联网传感器(壁挂式和设备嵌入式等)来捕获大量实时数据。此领域创新的标志是复杂人工智能模型的应用,也即从现有传感器中“汲取”更多洞察信息。例如,会议室墙壁上安装的占用传感器?这些传感器曾用于开关灯,现在则可实时报告房间可用性,最终帮助 GRE 预测不同设施的空间需求。

⁴ 来源:architecture2030.org(链接来自 ibm.com 站外)

经过评估,GRE 可持续发展解决方案团队认识到,尽管 IBM 的 TRIRIGA 和 Maximo 平台为 GRE 运营带来诸多优势,但通过标准化、集成和集中化还可以实现更多效益。在报告运营数据方面尤其如此,此类数据会被纳入公司用来跟踪目标进展和支持公司环境信息披露的指标中。总之,这些变化意味着更详细、更频繁的报告要求。

GRE 团队决心应对这些挑战,就此展开与 IBM Consulting™ 流程专家的合作,制定计划大纲。理想情况下,从生成数据的 TRIRIGA 和 Maximo 中自动实时提取和捕获运营数据,并存储在企业范围内的存储库中。但是该团队很快意识到,这一目标存在很大的实际障碍。首先,GRE 一直大量依赖不同工具(其中一些来自第三方)来提取、处理和报告运营数据。不仅如此,在 TRIRIGA 和 Maximo 执行过程中创建的自定义功能令版本升级变得异常困难,从而导致报告自动化变得更具挑战性。

更重要的是,GRE 去中心化的孤立部署导致数据本身不一致。资产和设施管理系统的根本是被称为“数据层次结构”的命名约定,它定义了位置(例如某个建筑物中某个楼层的会议室)和资产类别。Muir-Sands 指出,以能源数据报告为例,不同企业部门之间的数据层次结构不一致可能会导致综合报告变得更加复杂耗时。“我们了解到,当谈到及时准确的报告时,”她解释道,“拥有一致的数据基础,即所有设施和资产的‘单一可信信息源’,可以真正简化并加速报告。”

当谈到及时准确的报告时,拥有一致的数据基础,即所有设施和资产的‘单一可信信息源’,可以真正简化并加速报告。 Jane Muir-Sands Vice President Global Real Estate and Operations IBM
为自动化报告最好准备

这种认识产生了两项重大进展,帮助奠定了这项基础。技术转型经理兼 GRE 可持续发展团队关键成员 Sal Rosato 表示,第一项进展是与 IBM 首席数据办公室的密切合作。“作为转型的一部分,我们与首席数据办公室合作制定了新的数据治理计划。这项计划符合 IBM 的企业数据标准并重点关注数据所有权,”Rosato 解释道,“任何纳入我们的数据字典的房地产数据元素,都需要域数据管理员进行定义和签核,没有得到所有数据管理员的审查和批准时,是不能更改的。”

第二项重大进展是 GRE 决定使用 Envizi(现为 IBM 子公司)能源和可持续发展软件,可以将可持续发展报告的支持数据(包括来自 TRIRIGA 和 Maximo 的关键元素)整合到单个可审计的记录系统中。Muir-Sands 及其团队评估了市场上约 35 个可持续发展报告解决方案,最终选择了 Envizi 解决方案,理由是它具备自动化功能,易于与 TRIRIGA 和 Maximo 等核心系统集成,而且能提供基于仪表板的宝贵洞察信息。“从系统收集、整合和报告数据方面考虑,”Muir-Sands 说,“我们认为该解决方案的灵活性和自动化的结合恰到好处。”IBM 随后决定收购这家总部位于澳大利亚的公司,将产品重新命名为 IBM Envizi ESG Suite,这体现了 IBM 对其能力的极大信任。

虽然衡量和报告运营影响是 GRE 流程转型的重要组成部分,但另一方面,GRE 将洞察融入日常运营决策的方式也同样引人注目。管理大师 Peter Drucker 有一句名言:“如果你不能衡量它,就不能管理它。”就运营对环境的影响而言,这个“它”包括能源和水的消耗、温室气体排放和废弃物产生。从衡量到管理的关键是流程设计。

为此,GRE 团队与 IBM 咨询专家、设施管理提供商以及 IBM 可持续发展软件团队合作,举办了一系列沉浸式设计思维研讨会。通过这些研讨会,团队确定了 450 多个用例,侧重于设施管理、产品服务组合优化、工作场所体验和可持续性。借助 IBM Blueworks Live 解决方案,团队重新设计了 GRE 业务流程,使其与 TRIRIGA、Maximo 和 Envizi 的现成可用的功能保持一致。

作为负责 Maximo 和 TRIRIGA 平台技术的资产管理解决方案首席技术官,GRE 团队成员 Eric Libow 在这项工作中发挥了关键作用。他将研讨会中基于价值的实用方法视为 IBM 客户实现自身可持续发展目标的一种模板。“我们的客户并不是想购买‘有趣’的技术,而是想获得真实的结果。”Libow 谈到,“我们目前开展的工作为客户提供了一个现实的框架,用真实数据展示了客户可持续发展驱动型投资的回报。”

GRE 可以追踪全球约 188,000 项资产,因此,技术支持的用例数量丰富多样,其中包括一系列与可持续发展相关的用例。然而,鲜有用例能像数据中心一样充分展示出以可持续发展为重点的优化潜力,数据中心在计算和冷却方面的功耗使其成为一个非常有利的机会。以维护为例:GRE 使用 Maximo Monitor 分析传感器数据,将基于时间的计划(例如每六个月更换一次冷却剂泵传动带)转为基于状态的计划,并由实际运行时间、过热或振动触发。

 

我们的客户并不是想购买‘有趣’的技术,而是想获得真实的结果。我们目前开展的工作为客户提供了一个现实的框架,用真实数据展示了客户可持续发展驱动型投资的回报。 Eric Libow Distinguished Engineer, CTO Asset Management Solutions - IBM Sustainability Software IBM
数据透明度将可持续性融入决策

正如 Libow 指出的那样,基于状态的维护在可持续发展上有两方面的优势。“让技术人员避免不必要的维修工作,可以减少这些工作带来的碳影响,例如差旅和零件运输。”他谈到,“或者,在例行维护发现之前检测并解决问题,如轴承未润滑或制冷剂泄漏等任何问题,可以避免零件隐形故障导致的额外能源消耗、浪费和排放。这是效率和可持续发展如何紧密结合的一个良好示例。”

然后是另一个方面。涉及到可持续发展驱动的资本规划时,确定优先顺序至关重要,即了解哪些投资将产生最大影响。IBM 借助其通用数据层次结构,致力于将 Maximo 的系统运行状况评估直接集成到 TRIRIGA 的内置资本规划工具中。这意味着规划人员可以使用基于仪表板的实时洞察信息吗,对稀缺资金进行正确的投资分配。它还体现了“界面管理”的能力,即通过战略仪表板和分析报告而非电子表格进行管理,这是 GRE 设施和资产管理决策愿景的核心。

更灵活地追求可持续发展目标

通过近期的投资,IBM 也在提高其报告能力。IBM 的内部能源和环境报告充分利用了自动化和数据集成的优势。过去,编制这些报告需要数月时间,每年只发布一次,但现在很快就能够实现每季度发布,最终接近实时发布。最重要的是,IBM Envizi ESG Suite 取代了此类工作中大量依赖第三方授权工具,使能源报告软件成本降低了大约 30%。

GRE 预计,基于状态的设施和维护管理实践不仅可以减少排放和废弃物,还可以降低运营成本。Libow 表示,其中一个原因是与 GRE 值得信赖的全球维护合作伙伴网络分享这些可持续发展优化实践及其背后的洞察信息和数据。“我们的数据驱动型实践规模越广,实现温室气体减排目标的灵活性就越强。”

“我们致力于不断提高我们的运营和环境绩效,并将继续利用技术工具来实现这一目标。”GRE 全球能源与环境经理 Brody Wilson 谈到,“我也很高兴能与客户分享我们作为‘零号客户’的经验。像团队的其他成员一样,我很自豪能够在这个项目中发挥作用。”

IBM 徽标
IBM Global Real Estate 简介

GRE 团队在 100 个国家/地区近 800 个办公地点管理着超过 5000 万平方英尺的空间。凭借着如此庞大的全球覆盖区,GRE 团队集成了 IBM 可持续发展软件产品服务组合中的新 AI 功能,以便克服在打造满足员工需求的产品服务组合方面所面临的挑战,同时控制成本,并为企业提供最佳价值。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多案例 IBM Hursley
推动创新,同时尽量减少对环境的影响
阅读成功案例
皇家墨尔本医院
医疗保健设施管理走向数字化
阅读成功案例
Downer Group
基于科学的可持续性需要基于现实的报告
阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023。IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品。2023 年 3 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Consulting、Maximo 以及 TRIRIGA 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

When IBM Global Real Estate (GRE) won the Sheila Sheridan International Facilities Management Award (IFMA)¹ and the Institute of Directors Golden Peacock Award² for its sustainability-driven initiatives in September 2022—just months after gaining a Gold Accreditation as a 2022 Green Lease Leader³—they were additional milestones in IBM’s long record of environmentally responsible behavior. In a broader sense, these awards showed how IBM as a company has stayed true to the values its then-CEO Thomas J. Watson Jr. embedded in IBM’s DNA nearly 60 years ago, “to be at the forefront of those companies which are working to make our world a better place.”

With over 50 million square feet of space under management, across some 800 locations in 100 countries, IBM has a social and environmental responsibility to improve sustainability of its facilities and operations. IBM believes that responsible real estate management can be a part of the solution to the planet’s biodiversity and climate crisis rather than part of the problem.

Like other corporations, IBM is on a journey to not only reduce its greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions, water consumption and waste, but also to track, analyze and report its progress toward carbon reduction goals in a timely, accurate and authentic way. And also like many corporations, IBM is facing a range of complex challenges to successfully deliver this across a diverse facilities portfolio. Spread across more than 100 countries, this portfolio includes offices, research labs, manufacturing and distribution sites, and data centers—some located in freehold campuses, others in multi-tenant environments.

In the face of this once-in-a-generation challenge, IBM GRE is determined to show leadership in addressing it. Its vision is predicated on the idea that buildings and cities need to shift from being part of the problem to being part of the solution. To act on this vision, IBM GRE is leading a far-reaching transformation of nearly every facet of IBM’s real estate and asset management practices, all enabled by a broad base of IBM technology. By using its technology to track, analyze and report its progress toward carbon neutrality goals in a timely, accurate and authentic way, IBM is using the insights it generates to align its decision-making with what’s good for the world.

¹ Sheila Sheridan International Facilities Management Award (IFMA) (link resides outside of ibm.com)
² Institute of Directors Golden Peacock Award (link resides outside of ibm.com)
³ Gold Accreditation as a 2022 Green Lease Leader (link resides outside of ibm.com)

Perhaps more important, IBM sees the fruits of its own transformation and learning as a way to help guide its current and future clients on their sustainability journeys. Clients are looking for mature, real-world solutions that can shorten their path to sustainability, while helping improve the efficiency and performance of their operations. In that sense, IBM—in using its own solutions—is “client zero,” and it’s eager to tell the story.

Acting on values is something Jane Muir-Sands knows well. When she joined IBM as Vice President Global Real Estate and Operations in 2020, making a difference was top of mind. “I see my personal and professional purpose as creating a sustainable future for my children and their children beyond,” says Muir-Sands. “I see IBM as a unique company in the sustainability space, where one can be a genuine catalyst to solving a profound problem, and to helping the world work better. I am very proud to work for IBM.”

The contours of IBM’s sustainability transformation vision began to take shape within days of her arrival, first in a meeting with IBM’s General Manager of Sustainability Software, Dr. Kareem Yusuf. To Muir-Sands, the key takeaway of these discussions was the opportunity to extend the capabilities of GRE’s most integral platforms: the IBM® TRIRIGA® solution for facilities management and the IBM Maximo® solution for asset management. “The clear consensus was the need to make the sustainability and environmental impacts of decisions more transparent,” she explains. “And just as importantly, to embed them into the fabric of our day-to-day real estate, facilities and asset management decisions.”

Reduced sustainability reporting costs by

30%

by replacing multiple tools with a single, automated platform

Reduced carbon emissions by

Innovation creates new pathways to facilities optimization

Forty percent⁴. That’s roughly the share of annual carbon dioxide emissions estimated to come from buildings globally, and a huge reason IBM GRE plays such a central role in the company’s sustainability push. At a high level, GRE’s mission is to provide the right mix of buildings and facilities that enable the best and most productive experience for IBM employees around the world, whether they work in offices, manufacturing sites, data centers or any other kind of environment. It’s about managing space.

For GRE, executing on this mission involves a staggering number of decisions, ranging from room configurations and leasing terms, to capital project planning and facilities maintenance. To help optimize these decisions, GRE is tapping into a rapidly growing base of IoT sensors—from wall-mounted to equipment-embedded—to capture vast amounts of real-time data. Emblematic of innovation in this area is the application of sophisticated AI models to essentially “squeeze” more insights from the existing sensors. For instance, those occupancy sensors on conference room walls? Once used to turn lights off and on, they’re now reporting real-time room availability and will eventually help GRE predict space requirements in different facilities.

⁴ Source: architecture2030.org (link resides outside of ibm.com)

Focused female in server room, IBM Yorktown

Taking stock, the GRE sustainability solutions team recognized that for all the numerous upsides of IBM’s TRIRIGA and Maximo platforms for GRE’s operations, even further benefits could be achieved by standardizing, integrating and centralizing them. This was especially true in the area of sustainability reporting, in light of the increasingly stringent sustainability reporting requirements of the US, UK and EU, and the aggressive 2030 carbon neutrality goals they support. Together, these changes meant not only more detailed reporting requirements, but also more frequent.

Determined to meet these challenges, the GRE team began working with process experts from IBM Consulting™ to create the outlines of a plan. In their ideal scenario, sustainability and operational data would be extracted and captured automatically and in real time from TRIRIGA and Maximo, where it was generated, and stored in a centralized, enterprise-wide repository. But the team soon realized that the practical barriers to getting there were significant. For one, GRE had been relying on a large number of disparate tools—some from third parties—to extract, process and report sustainability data. On top of that, customizations that had been created in their TRIRIGA and Maximo implementations made version upgrades prohibitively difficult, thereby making the automation of reporting vastly more challenging.

The even more fundamental outgrowth of GRE’s decentralized, siloed deployments was inconsistencies in the data itself. At the root of asset and facilities management systems are naming conventions known as data hierarchies, which define both locations—say a conference room on a certain floor of a certain building—and asset classes. For the purposes of sustainability reporting, notes Muir-Sands, even slight differences in data hierarchies across different parts of the business made consolidated reporting far more complicated and time consuming. “We learned that when it comes to timely and accurate sustainability reporting,” she explains, “having a consistent base of data—a ‘single source of truth’ underlying all facilities and assets—is an absolute prerequisite.”

Setting the stage for automated reporting

That recognition led to two major developments that helped put this foundation in place. The first, says Sal Rosato, Technology Transformation Manager and a key member of the GRE sustainability team, was a close collaboration with the IBM Chief Data Office. “As part of our transformation, we worked with the office to build a new data governance program that’s aligned with IBM’s enterprise data standards and emphasizes data ownership,” Rosato explains. “For any real estate data elements to get into our data dictionary, domain data stewards need to define it and sign off on it, and it can’t be changed without all data stewards reviewing and approving it.”

The second big step was GRE’s decision to use Envizi (now an IBM company) energy and sustainability software to help consolidate sustainability data including key elements from TRIRIGA and Maximo into a single, auditable system of record. Having evaluated some 35 sustainability reporting solutions on the market, Muir-Sands and her team—in conjunction with the IBM Sustainability Software team—selected the Envizi solution on the basis of its automation capabilities, its ease of integration with core systems like TRIRIGA and Maximo, and its ability to deliver valuable dashboard-based insights. “Think of Envizi as the third leg of the stool—the reporting dimension—of IBM’s overall sustainability software strategy,” says Muir-Sands. “In terms of collecting, consolidating and reporting sustainability data from our systems, we saw its combination of flexibility and automation as a perfect fit with our vision.” IBM’s subsequent decision to acquire the Australia-based company—whose offering is now known as the IBM Envizi ESG Suite—is a strong vote of confidence in its capabilities.

Engineer in data center uses a computer connected to the to the back of the IBM z16. The z16 is featured within a row of other servers and storage racks.

While measuring and reporting sustainability impacts is a huge part of GRE’s unfolding sustainability journey, the other side of the story—the way GRE is embedding insights into everyday operating decisions—is equally compelling. There’s a well-known quote commonly associated with the management guru Peter Drucker: “If you can’t measure it, you can’t manage it.” In the realm of sustainable operations, the “it” are variables like energy consumption, GHG emissions, waste and water consumption. The key to getting from measuring to managing is process design.

To that end, the GRE team worked with IBM Consulting specialists, facilities management providers and the IBM Sustainability Software Team in a series of immersive Design Thinking workshops. Through these workshops more than 450 use cases focused on facilities management, portfolio optimization, workplace experience and sustainability were identified. Using the IBM Blueworks Live solution, the teams redesigned the GRE business processes to align them with TRIRIGA, Maximo and Envizi’s out-of-the-box capabilities.

As CTO for Asset Management Solutions—with technical responsibility for the Maximo and TRIRIGA platforms—GRE team member Eric Libow played a pivotal role in the effort. He sees the practical, value-based approach of the workshops as a kind of template for IBM clients to meet their own sustainability goals. “Our clients aren’t looking to buy ‘interesting’ technology, they’re looking to get real results,” Libow explains. “What we’re doing provides them with a realistic framework—using real data—for showing the payoff of their sustainability-driven investments.”

GRE has some 188,000 assets tracked globally, so the sustainability use cases are widespread and diverse. But few illustrate the potential for sustainability-focused optimization more richly than data centers, whose power consumption (for computing and cooling) make them an especially strong opportunity. Take maintenance: using Maximo Monitor, GRE will be analyzing sensor data to move from time-based scheduling—think changing a coolant pump belt every six months—to condition-based, triggered by actual run time, excessive heat or vibration.

Data transparency brings sustainability into decision-making

As Libow points out, the sustainability benefits of condition-based maintenance go two ways. “By enabling technicians to skip unnecessary repairs, it avoids the incidental carbon impacts they cause, like travel and parts shipping,” he explains. “Alternatively, by detecting and fixing problems before scheduled maintenance would find them—anything from an ungreased bearing to a freon coolant leak—it eliminates the extra energy consumption, waste and emissions that invisibly failing parts would cause. That’s a great example of how efficiency and sustainability are interwoven.”

Here’s another. When it comes to sustainability-driven capital planning, prioritization—knowing which investments will drive the biggest impact—is essential. Leveraging its common data hierarchies, IBM is working to integrate system health assessments from Maximo directly into TRIRIGA’s built-in capital planning tool. It means that planners will be able to use real-time, dashboard-based insights to allocate scarce funding to the right investments. And it exemplifies the ability to “manage on the glass,” from strategic dashboards and analytical reports instead of from spreadsheets, which is at the core of GRE’s vision for facilities and asset management decision-making.

Bikes parked in front of IBM Munich

A more agile pursuit of sustainability goals

As GRE’s transformation continues to unfold, it’s already achieving solid results. In 2021, IBM registered a 61.6% emission reduction against base year 2010, placing the company on track to meet its goal of a 65% reduction by 2025, adjusted for acquisitions and divestitures. And with its recent investments, IBM is also improving its reporting capabilities. On the strength of automation and centralized data, sustainability compliance reports—whose months-long compilation enabled only annual releases—will soon be available quarterly, and not long after in real time. On top of that, the fact that IBM Envizi ESG Suite replaces the many licensed third-party tools used in those efforts has enabled a roughly 30% reduction in reporting costs.

Over time, as the extent of condition-based facilities and maintenance management practices grows within its portfolio, GRE expects to achieve major reductions in not only emissions and waste, but also operating costs. One big reason, says Libow, is the ability to share these sustainability-optimized practices—along with the insights and data behind it—with GRE’s network of trusted maintenance partners around the world. “The broader the scale of our data-driven practices, the more agility we gain toward hitting our 2030 carbon-neutrality goals.”

In addition to providing a model for its customers’ sustainability journey, Sustainability Manager Brody Wilson sees IBM’s role of “client zero” as demonstrating a kind of leadership that transcends conventional business considerations. “IBM has a very clear-eyed view of its responsibility—to the world and to its peers—to make all our sustainability reporting as accurate and transparent as possible, and our actions authentic,” says Brody. “Like the rest of our team, I’m proud to play a role in that mission.”

 

Solution components

IBM logo

About IBM Global Real Estate

The GRE team oversees approximately 800 office locations that cover 50 million square feet across 100 countries. With such a large, global footprint, the GRE group integrates new AI capabilities from the IBM Sustainability Software portfolio to help overcome its challenge of creating a portfolio that addresses the needs of employees while helping to control costs and deliver the best value to the business.

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America. December 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Consulting, Maximo, and TRIRIGA are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at http://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.