个性化的数字购物
Harry Rosen 通过 IBM Cloud 在线销售高档男装
一家裁缝店在人体模特上展示正装套装,背景是货架上的衬衫面料

在提供卓越客户服务方面,奢侈男装零售商 Harry Rosen Inc. 不仅打破了常规,还创造了自己的模式。

长期以来,品质、工艺、对细节的关注以及无可挑剔的服务,使这家加拿大家族企业从竞争对手中脱颖而出。自 1954 年公司创始人 Harry Rosen 和他的兄弟 Lou 在多伦多椰菜镇开设第一家以自己名字命名的量身定制男装店以来,公司业务已扩展到 15 家零售店、3 家专卖店和一个强大的电子商务平台。

早期,Harry 在卡片上记录了每位顾客的详细资料:他们的喜好、以前的购物记录、新的工作角色和家庭成员的姓名。他利用这些信息帮助客户完善个人风格,并在此过程中建立了长期的合作关系。

缩短开发时间

 

使用 IBM Cloud® 技术将开发新网站平台的时间缩短了 50%

增强了性能

 

数字化转型后,网站性能速度提高了 100 倍

IBM 云的优势之一是我们不再需要购买和维护 IT 基础架构中的硬件,而且我们知道我们的数据安全且随时可访问。IBM 提供了这种信心保障。 Steve Warriner Chief Technology Officer Harry Rosen Inc.

如今,服装顾问凭借他们全面的业务专业知识(从店内产品、专有品牌到定制剪裁技术),以及一个强大的客户关系管理 (CRM) 系统(这个系统仿照 Harry Rosen 的记录卡系统来存储顾客的详细信息),为客户奉上本店特色的一对一客户体验。

随着客户需求的变化,Harry Rosen 公司已做出转变以适应他们的需求。2015 年,该零售商的现有 IT 基础架构已经无法满足需求,因此对其业务进行了数字化转型。但这并不是一般性的转型,一如既往,该公司的目标是在网上提供与实体店相同水平的个性化服务。

我们能够启动更多容器来处理本地和电子商务系统之间的数据交换。如果没有 IBM 云的性能和功能,我们根本无法实现这一目标。 Steve Warriner Chief Technology Officer Harry Rosen Inc.
云中的转型

为了在业务发展的过程中始终以客户为本,Harry Rosen 公司与 IBM Garage™ 开展合作,IBM Garage™ 是一个经过验证的开发框架,可集成人员、流程和技术,帮助实现业务和文化转型。该公司选择了结合部署 IBM Cloud for VMware SolutionsIBM Cloud Kubernetes Service,作为其新公共云基础架构的基础。这些解决方案共同提供了灵活的 IT 环境,使 Harry Rosen 能够在节奏日益加快的世界中,迅速、安全地适应不断变化的市场需求。

Warriner 表示:“IBM 云的优势之一是我们不再需要购买和维护 IT 基础架构中的硬件,而且我们知道我们的数据安全且随时可访问。IBM 提供了这种信心保障。”

在数字化转型的同时,该公司开始对其应用程序进行现代化改造,包括 CRM 系统。Warriner 说:“我们将应用程序分解为松散耦合的微服务,将其容器化,并使用 Kubernetes 对这些容器进行协调管理。我们的 CRM 系统的性能提高了一百倍,并且管理该系统所需的资源大大减少。”

创新快车道

2020 年新冠疫情爆发后,客户逐渐转向在线购物,该公司网站的流量出现猛增。但该网站没有能力处理这种流量增加。客户在搜索产品时遇到问题,更糟糕的是在结账时无法完成购买。该公司在其为期三年的数字化转型路线图中快速实施了一项计划,即重新构建网站平台,将时间从 12-14 个月缩短至 6 个月。

幸运的是,正确的技术已经就位。“我们能够启动更多容器来处理本地和电子商务系统之间的数据交换,”Warriner 说。“如果没有 IBM 云的性能和功能,我们根本无法实现这一目标。”

事实证明,这种灵活机动的能力在业务的各个方面都非常宝贵。当客户在家工作需要更舒适的运动服装时,公司就能扩大产品种类,满足他们的需求。Warriner 说:“在新冠疫情之前,我们本来不打算这样做。幸运的是,由于我们生态系统的构建方式,也就是在容器和不同的端点中具备微服务,我们能够非常迅速地过渡。”

网站性能的改善非常显著。“随着我们的新电子商务平台运行微服务,我们正在利用最好的工具来加快我们网站的速度,”Warriner 说。“我非常笃定地说,我们的新网站比旧网站快一百倍。”

现在,搜索需要几微秒,几乎可以实时获得库存信息。“借助 IBM Event Streaming(Apache Kafka 事件流平台)和 IBM 服务总线,我们可以在几秒钟内触发任何库存更新,”Warriner 说,“无论是店内购买、在线购买还是商店之间的调货。”

该公司认为,由于新冠疫情而进行的许多调整都具有持久的影响。Warriner 表示:“我们一直以来所做的工作,包括远程运作、在线销售给客户并让他们到店里取货,这些都没有改变。但世界每五分钟,可能是每五微秒,就会发生变化,我们需要及时跟上。”

在这个瞬息万变的世界里,忠实于客户始终是 Harry Rosen 公司数字化转型的核心,这就要求公司愿意从内到外重新思考业务转型。“我们改变了仓库和采购部门的动线流程。我们对组织内的人员进行了分解和重新定位,以支持我们的愿景。我们即将展开新的宏图,拥抱全新的未来,”Warriner 最后总结道。

Harry Rosen 徽标
关于 Harry Rosen Inc.

Harry Rosen(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)是一家总部位于加拿大多伦多的奢侈男装零售连锁店,由 Harry Rosen 和他的兄弟 Lou 于 1954 年创立。凭借对品质、工艺和卓越客户服务的不懈追求,这家家族企业已扩展至 15 家门店、3 家专卖店和一个强大的电子商务渠道。该公司目前由 Harry 的儿子 Larry Rosen 担任董事长兼首席执行官。Larry 的儿子 Ian Rosen 担任数字战略代理副总裁。

 

接下来
接下来 Epiphany S.R.L.
这家初创公司如何使用 IBM Cloud 帮助银行实现数字化转型
阅读成功案例
Etihad Airways
提供优质的旅行体验
阅读成功案例
美国宝石研究院
换种方式闪耀
阅读成功案例
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Garage 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新清单可在网络上的 “版权和商标信息” 中找到,网址为 ibm.com /legal/copytrade。

VMware 、VMware 徽标、VMware Cloud Foundation、VMware Cloud Foundation Service、VMware vCenter Server 和 VMware vSphere 是 VMware, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和/或其他司法管辖区的注册商标或商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

When it comes to providing exemplary customer service, luxury menswear retailer Harry Rosen Inc. doesn’t just break the mold—it creates its own.

Quality, craftsmanship, attention to detail and impeccable service have long distinguished the family-owned Canadian company from its competitors. Since its namesake, Harry Rosen, and his brother, Lou, opened their first made-to-measure menswear store in Toronto’s Cabbagetown in 1954, the business has expanded to include 15 retail stores, three outlets and a robust e-commerce platform.

In the early days, Harry recorded details about each of his customers on recipe cards—their likes and dislikes, previous purchases, new job roles and family members’ names. He used the information to help customers hone their individual styles, establishing long-term relationships in the process.

Shortened time to develop new website platform by

50%
using IBM Cloud® technologies

Increased website performance speed by

100x
following digital transformation

Today, clothing advisors create the store’s signature one-on-one customer experience, equipped with expertise in every aspect of the business—from the product and exclusive brands the store carries to custom tailoring techniques—and a robust customer relationship management (CRM) system that mimics Harry Rosen’s recipe card system for storing customer details.

As customers’ needs have changed, the Harry Rosen company has shifted to accommodate them. In 2015, the retailer had outgrown its existing IT infrastructure and undertook a digital transformation of its business. But it was no generic transformation—true to form, the company aimed to provide the same level of personalized service online as in its stores.

Harry Rosen associate with customer

Transformation in the cloud

Aiming to keep the customer at the center of its business evolution, the Harry Rosen company collaborated with IBM Garage™, a proven development framework that integrates people, processes and technology to transform business and culture. The company chose IBM Cloud for VMware Solutions in combination with IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service as the foundation for its new public cloud infrastructure. Together, the solutions provide a flexible IT environment that enables Harry Rosen to swiftly and safely adapt to shifting market demands in an increasingly fast-paced world.

“One of the advantages of IBM Cloud is that we no longer have to support the hardware in our IT infrastructure—we know our data is secure and accessible,” says Warriner. “IBM has provided that level of confidence.”

In tandem with its digital transformation, the company began modernizing its applications, including its CRM system. “We broke down applications into loosely coupled microservices, containerized them and orchestrated management of those containers with Kubernetes,” says Warriner. “Performance of our CRM system increased by a hundred-fold and the resources needed to manage it were greatly reduced.”

Woman with shoes in Harry Rosen store

Fast track to innovation

When COVID-19 hit in 2020, traffic to the website jumped as customers shifted to online shopping. But the website wasn’t equipped to handle the uptick. Customers had issues searching for products and, worse, with finalizing purchases at checkout. The company quickly fast-tracked a plan in its three-year digital transformation roadmap to re-platform its website—shortening the timeline from 12–14 months to six months.

Fortunately, the right technology was already in place. “We were able to spin up more containers to handle the data exchange between our on-premises and e-commerce systems,” says Warriner. “Without the performance and capabilities of IBM Cloud, we never would have been able to get there.”

That ability to pivot proved invaluable across every aspect of the business. When customers wanted more comfortable activewear for working from home, the company was able to expand its offerings to accommodate them. “Pre-COVID we weren’t looking to do that,” says Warriner. “Fortunately, due to the way our ecosystem was built—with microservices in containers and different endpoints—we were able to transition very quickly.”

The improvements in website performance were dramatic. “With our new e-commerce platform running microservices, we’re taking advantage of the best tools out there to speed up our website,” says Warriner. “I would say, without even batting an eye, that our new website is a hundred times faster than the old one.”

Searches now take microseconds and inventory information is available in near real time. “With IBM Event Streaming—the Apache Kafka event streaming platform—and IBM service bus, we can trigger any inventory updates in seconds,” says Warriner, “whether from in-store or online purchases or store-to-store transfers.”

The company sees many of the adjustments it’s made due to COVID-19 as having lasting impact. “The things we’ve undertaken—to be able to function remotely, sell to our clients online and have them pick up in the store—we don’t see those changing,” says Warriner. “The world is changing every five minutes—probably every five microseconds—and we need to keep up.”

Staying true to its customers in that changing world has remained at the heart of Harry Rosen’s digital transformation—and has required a willingness to rethink its business from the inside out. “We changed the dynamics of our warehouse and of our buying department. We broke things apart and repositioned people within the organization to support our vision. It’s a new future. A new landscape,” Warriner concludes.

Harry Rosen logo

About Harry Rosen Inc.

Founded in 1954 by Harry Rosen and his brother, Lou, Harry Rosen (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a luxury menswear retail chain headquartered in Toronto, Canada. With an emphasis on quality, craftsmanship and exemplary customer service, the family-owned business has expanded to include 15 stores, three outlets and a robust e-commerce channel. The company is currently led by Harry’s son, Larry Rosen, as chairman and chief executive officer. Larry’s son, Ian Rosen, is serving as acting vice president of digital strategy.



Solution components

IBM Cloud® for VMware Solutions
IBM Cloud Kubernetes Service
IBM® Event Streaming
IBM Garage™

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, July 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM Cloud and IBM Garage are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

VMware, the VMware logo, VMware Cloud Foundation, VMware Cloud Foundation Service, VMware vCenter Server, and VMware vSphere are registered trademarks or trademarks of VMware, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other jurisdictions.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.