全球农业综合企业
通过 IBM® 提供的 SAP 智能企业战略,瞄准行业领先地位
了解更多信息
正在切割谷物的大型收割机

这家国际农业企业每年都会处理数百万吨商品,但其加速全球综合农业供应链增长的雄心却因 100 个孤立的后台系统而受到阻碍。该公司引入 IBM Services® 来部署集成式 SAP 解决方案,以便提供统一的数据洞察,从而推动效率和增长。

业务挑战

这家价值数十亿美元的农业企业旨在推动快速增长,同时减少员工数量,但其收购的遗留系统却阻碍了这一进程。

变革

该企业与 IBM Services 开展合作,在集成式 SAP 解决方案(包括 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA)的支持下,成功转变其核心应用程序环境。

结果 创建
统一的业务数据从而赋能企业决策,进而提升效率
对各项流程
进行标准化,从而增强治理并降低业务风险
助力 APL 获得细致的洞察力,

精干团队来推动数十亿美元的业务,从而促进增长

业务挑战案例
瞄准行业领导地位

这家农业综合企业着眼于全球领导地位,目标是成为该行业最大的五家企业之一。

该公司通过多个法律实体在多个国家/地区开展业务。其中很多实体均来自多次收购,且每个实体都有自己的遗留流程和独立的 IT 系统。

该农业企业的一名发言人解释说:“收购两家中型公司后,我们的业务量迅速增长,年收入也大幅攀升。尽管有此变化,但我们仍然是一个精益型组织。”

该发言人继续说道:“我们知道,这么多不同的遗留系统会产生不同的业务数据集,从而影响效率并最终减慢我们的决策速度,因此很难实现快速增长。为了解决这一挑战,我们开始寻找一种新方法。”

该公司相信,整合其传统业务系统将带来深远的好处。通过集中提供 IT 服务,该公司可停用成本高昂的本地数据中心基础设施,从而立即降低运营成本。最为重要的是,转向统一的工作方式将使该公司能够利用单一的业务数据源来提高人力资源、采购、财务会计等方面的效率,而这对于在有限员工人数的前提下推动全球增长至关重要。

让 IBM Services 作为我们值得信赖的顾问,无论是过去还是现在都对我们非常有帮助。 Spokesperson global agribusiness
变革案例
选择久经验证的解决方案

为了最大限度地提高与同样依赖 SAP 解决方案的其他部门的协同效应,该农业企业决定转向 SAP S/4HANA 和 SAP Master Data Governance。通过结合 SAP Ariba(一种端到端采购解决方案,其中包括供应商生命周期管理、合同管理和战略采购功能)、适用于人力资源管理的 SAP SuccessFactors 以及适用于差旅和费用管理的 SAP Concur,该解决方案可实现基于单一全企业数据基础的全球统一运营。

该发言人解释说:“我们希望有一个单一的全球平台来长期支持我们并加强我们与集团其他部门的联系。通过选择一家在我们行业内拥有良好成功履历的老牌供应商,这正是我们期盼已久的收获。”

为了实现灵活性、可扩展性和成本优化,该企业选择在 Microsoft Azure 上部署 SAP S/4HANA 和 SAP Master Data Governance。

该发言人表示:“通过在 Microsoft Azure 上选择先进的 SAP S/4HANA,我们有信心利用与 SAP Ariba 等云平台的本机集成来降低实施流程的复杂性和时长。我们还看到了采用 SAP Fiori 用户体验所带来的巨大好处,尤其是因为企业移动性是我们业务转型之旅下一阶段的关键诉求。”

与专家合作

为了将全球后台流程模板的愿景变为现实,该农业企业引入 IBM Services 来推动其业务转型项目。

该发言人解释说:“经过彻底的供应商评估流程后,IBM Services 脱颖而出,成为不二的领导者人选。IBM 之前曾为我们的一家子公司部署了 SAP ERP 解决方案,因此他们对我们的业务流程、企业文化和前台商品交易系统已有充分的实际了解。

“事实证明,这些洞察信息为该项目奠定了坚实的基础。IBM Services 让我们充满信心,它让我们相信我们能够迅速采取行动,实现 SAP 解决方案部署的宏伟目标。同样,IBM 和 SAP 之间密切的战略合作伙伴关系也让我们坚信,两家公司都能快速、有效地解决期间出现的所有技术挑战。”

充分利用最佳实践

IBM Services 建议将 IBM Ascend for SAP Application Development 方法用于该转型项目。这种分阶段方法可引导公司完成探索、需求收集、差距分析和流程设计等迭代阶段。除了作为单独的内部项目来管理的 SAP Concur 部署之外,该农业企业还与 IBM Services 就 SAP 解决方案实施流程开展密切合作。

通过结合 IBM Ascend 方法,IBM 使用了 IBM IMPACT 这一系列有助于加速 SAP 部署的工具和最佳实践。通过使用 IMPACT 工具集,IBM 从设计流程的最早阶段便在沙箱环境中创建出 SAP S/4HANA 实例。除从一开始就帮助吸引业务用户之外,IBM IMPACT 工具集还可让项目团队快速了解哪些 SAP 解决方案功能可以直接使用,以及哪些方面需要定制开发。

通过使用 IBM Blueworks Live(IBM IMPACT 工具集的一个组件),IBM Services 助力该公司利用最佳实践模板和强大的数据可视化来加速业务流程的建模工作。

“IBM 为转型计划带来的敏捷方法、IBM Ascend 方法和 IBM IMPACT 工具集打造出一个新环境,可让来自全球业务的团队与其他区域和地区的同行自由分享专业知识和见解”,该发言人补充道。“通过分配全球业务流程负责人并组建新的流程咨询委员会,我们在整个组织员工的参与下收集了相关需求和最佳实践,并共同设计出新的全球流程。”

将愿景变为现实

得益于从设计过程的最初阶段便开始采用的敏捷方法,该农业企业在不到八个月的时间内便完成了其全球后台模板,并与 IBM 合作在 Microsoft Azure 上部署了 SAP S/4HANA 以便启动初始试点项目。与此同时,该公司还向全球多个地区的用户群推出了 SAP Ariba 采购与合同管理解决方案。

该发言人评论说:“我们以前从未经历过如此规模的全球项目。让 IBM Services 作为我们值得信赖的顾问,无论是过去还是现在都对我们非常有帮助。IBM 团队在类似项目方面拥有更丰富的经验,因此能为我们内部讨论的框架提供指导,提出最佳实践建议,并在必要时与我们一起开展头脑风暴,讨论我们的设计方案。

“令人高兴的是,我们第一年的 SAP 部署进展非常顺利,这些解决方案现在正在为我们收入最高的某一业务部门提供支持。这一成功案例让团队充分相信我们的设计正确无误,而这种推动作用非常重要,因为我们扩大了范围,计划在 2020 年和 2021 年将 SAP 解决方案部署到下一轮的各个国家/地区。”

得益于我们与 IBM Services 合作在 Microsoft Azure 上部署 SAP S/4HANA,我们正在构建全球领先的数字功能,其总投资却不到最接近竞争对手的三分之一。 Spokesperson Global Agribusiness
案例成果
保持精益,快速成长

该公司相信 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA 将使其保持精益,继续延续其快速的全球增长势头,并最终继续以世界一流的农业企业身份参与竞争。

该发言人详细阐述道:“转型计划已经对我们的工作方式产生了根本性改变,我们毫不怀疑在 IBM Services 支持下的转型之旅将对我们的运营效率产生巨大、积极的影响。

“比如,通过在 SAP S/4HANA 中移动单个会计科目表,我们便有机会自动进行交易处理并增强月末和年末结算周期。效率的提高不仅只是针对我们的财务职能。我们最近开设了一个新的卓越中心 [CoE],该中心已在使用 SAP Ariba 为我们的业务提供采购服务。展望未来,我们计划将大量后台流程集中到 CoE,包括人力资源管理、费用管理、招聘和会计,所有这些都会用 SAP 解决方案进行管理。”

随着这家农业企业将更多业务流程转移到 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA 和 SAP SuccessFactors 等云服务,它将停用大部分本地基础设施。此流程旨在降低运营成本并使 IT 人员能够专注于价值更高的工作。

提高效率,改善满意度

该公司预测,过渡到 SAP SuccessFactors 进行人力资源管理以及 SAP Concur 进行费用管理,将简化员工的关键管理流程,从而节省时间并提高员工满意度。

该发言人表示:“过去,当员工预订假期请假、查看剩余假期天数或申请费用时,他们和他们的经理,尤其是那些驻扎在不同国家/地区的经理,往往需要在多个不同的系统中进行操作,同时还/或需要获得行政员工的支持。”

该发言人继续表示:"有了 SAP SuccessFactors 和 SAP Concur,所有员工都能在线或通过移动设备使用自助服务功能,自行完成常规的用户旅程。最终,我们计划将 SAP SuccessFactors 和 SAP Concur 与 Microsoft Azure 上的 SAP S/4HANA 集成,这将为我们人才战略的绩效提供前所未有的洞察力。

该发言人总结道:“得益于我们与 IBM Services 合作在 Microsoft Azure 上部署 SAP S/4HANA,我们正在构建全球领先的数字功能,其总投资却不到最接近竞争对手的三分之一。随着我们继续与 IBM 开展合作,我们将处于十分有利的位置,从而构建起我们达到行业顶尖水平所需的精益、高效运营。”

全球农业综合企业

作为大型国际公司集团的一部分,这家农业企业致力于成为该行业的全球领导者。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM SAP 联盟的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或是访问:/cloud/sap/alliance

阅读 PDF 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2020 年 9 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Services 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark。

Microsoft、Windows 和 Windows NT 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

可能会报告未压缩和压缩数据的实际可用存储容量,并且会有所不同,并且可能会小于规定的容量。

© 2020 SAP SE。保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。 这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

This multi-billion-dollar agribusiness aimed to drive fast growth whilst reducing headcount—but acquired legacy systems stood in the way.

Transformation

The business worked with IBM Services to transform its core application landscape, powered by integrated SAP solutions, including SAP S/4HANA® on Microsoft Azure.

Results

Creates

unified business data to enable enterprise decision-making, boosting efficiency

Standardizes

processes, enhancing governance and reducing business risk

Empowers

a lean team to drive a multi-billion-dollar business, facilitating growth

Business challenge story

Targeting industry leadership

This agribusiness has set its sights on global leadership, and aims to become one of the five largest players in the industry.

The company operates through multiple legal entities across many countries. Many of these entities were the result of several acquisitions, each with their own legacy processes and independent IT systems.

A spokesperson for the agribusiness explains, “After acquiring two medium-sized companies, our business volumes grew rapidly and annual revenues climbed dramatically. Despite that change, we’ve remained a lean organization.”

The spokesperson continues, “We knew that it would be impossible to achieve fast growth with so many different legacy systems resulting in different sets of business data, hampering efficiency and ultimately slowing down our decision-making. To solve the challenge, we looked for a new approach.”

The company was confident that consolidating its legacy business systems would bring far-reaching benefits. By centralizing the delivery of IT services, the company could decommission costly on-premises data center infrastructure, resulting in an immediate reduction in operational costs. Most importantly, the move to a harmonized way of working would enable the company to harness a single source of business data to unlock efficiencies in human resources, procurement, financial accounting and more—vital to drive global growth with a limited headcount.

Having IBM Services as our trusted advisor was, and continues to be, extremely helpful.

Spokesperson, global agribusiness

Transformation story

Selecting a proven solution

To maximize the synergies with other parts of its organization that also rely on SAP solutions, the agribusiness decided to move to SAP S/4HANA and SAP Master Data Governance. Combined with SAP® Ariba® (an end-to-end procurement solution that includes supplier lifecycle management, contract management and strategic sourcing capabilities), SAP SuccessFactors® for human resource management, and SAP Concur for travel and expense management, the solutions enable unified global operations based on a single, enterprise-wide data foundation. 

The spokesperson elaborates, “We wanted a single global platform that would support us in the long term and enhance our ties with the rest of the group. By choosing a long-established vendor with a proven track-record of success in our industry, that’s precisely what we’ve gained.”

For flexibility, scalability, and cost optimization, the enterprise chose to deploy SAP S/4HANA and SAP Master Data Governance on Microsoft Azure.

The spokesperson says, “By selecting cutting-edge SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure, we were confident that we could harness native integration with cloud platforms such as SAP Ariba to reduce the complexity and duration of the implementation process. We also saw great benefit in embracing the SAP Fiori® user experience, particularly as enterprise mobility is a key aspiration for the next phase of our business transformation journey.”
 

Thanks to our work with IBM Services to deploy SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure, we are building world-leading digital capabilities for less than a third of the total investment of our nearest competitor.

Spokesperson, global agribusiness

Partnering with the experts

To turn its vision for a global back-office process template into a reality, the agribusiness engaged IBM Services to drive its business transformation project.

The spokesperson explains, “After a thorough vendor evaluation process, IBM Services stood out as the clear leader. IBM had previously worked to deploy SAP ERP solutions to one of our subsidiaries, so they already had a solid working knowledge of our business processes, culture and commodities trading systems in the front office. 

“These insights proved to be a solid foundation for the project, and IBM Services gave us the confidence that we would be able to move quickly to meet our aggressive target for the SAP solution deployment. Equally, the close strategic partnership between IBM and SAP assured us that both companies would be able to resolve any technical challenges along the way quickly and effectively.”

Harnessing best practices

IBM Services recommended the IBM Ascend for SAP Application Development methodology for the transformation project. This phased approach guides companies through iterative stages of exploration, requirements-gathering, gap analysis and process design. With the exception of the SAP Concur deployment, which was to be managed as a separate internal project, the agribusiness worked closely with IBM Services on the SAP solution implementation process.

In conjunction with the IBM Ascend methodology, IBM used IBM IMPACT—a collection of tools and best practices that help to accelerate SAP deployments. Using the IMPACT toolset, IBM made an instance of SAP S/4HANA available in a sandbox environment from the earliest stage of the design process. As well as helping to engage business users from the outset, the IBM IMPACT toolset empowered the project team to quickly understand which SAP solution functionality it could use straight out of the box, and which areas would require custom development. 

Using IBM Blueworks Live, a component of the IBM IMPACT toolset, IBM Services enabled the company to accelerate the business process modelling process using best practice templates and powerful data visualizations.

“The agile approach, IBM Ascend methodology and IBM IMPACT toolset that IBM brought to the transformation initiative created an environment where teams from across the global business could freely share expertise and insights with their peers in other regions and geographies,” adds the spokesperson. “By assigning global business process owners and forming a new process advisory council, we gathered requirements and best practices with the involvement of employees from across the organization—and together we have designed our new global processes.”

Making the vision a reality

Thanks to its agile approach from earliest phase of the design process, the agribusiness completed its global back-office template in less than eight months and worked with IBM to deploy SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure for an initial pilot project. In parallel, the company rolled out SAP Ariba procurement and contract management solutions to user communities in a number of global regions. 

The spokesperson comments, “We hadn’t experienced a global project of this scale before. Having IBM Services as our trusted advisor was, and continues to be, extremely helpful. The IBM team has more experience of similar projects, and were therefore able to provide guidance on the framework for our internal discussions, suggest best practices, and brainstorm our design options with us, when needed.

“Happily, our first year of SAP deployments went very smoothly, and the solutions are now supporting one of our largest business units by revenue. This success gives the team a great deal of confidence that our designs are correct, and this boost is extremely important as we widen our scope to deploy the SAP solutions to the next wave of countries in 2020 and 2021.”

Results story

Staying lean, growing fast

The company is confident that SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure will enable it to stay lean, continue its fast-paced global growth, and ultimately continue to compete as a world-class agribusiness.

The spokesperson elaborates, “The transformation initiative is already making fundamental changes to the way that we work, and we have no doubt that the transformation journey we’re on with IBM Services will have a powerful, positive impact on our operational efficiency. 

“For example, by moving a single chart of accounts in SAP S/4HANA, we will create opportunities to automate transaction processing and enhance our month- and year-end closing cycles. The efficiency improvements won’t be limited to our finance function. We recently opened a new center of excellence [CoE], which is already delivering sourcing and procurement services to our business using SAP Ariba. Looking ahead, we plan to centralize many of our back-office processes to the CoE, including human resources administration, expenses management, recruitment, and accounting—all managed using SAP solutions.”

As the agribusiness moves more of its business processes to SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure and cloud services such as SAP SuccessFactors, it will decommission much of its on-premises infrastructure. This process is designed to reduce operational costs and enable IT personnel to focus on higher-value work.

Boosting efficiency, improving satisfaction

The company predicts that transitioning to SAP SuccessFactors for human resource management and to SAP Concur for expense management will streamline employee journeys for key administrative processes, saving time and improving employee satisfaction.

The spokesperson remarks, “In the past when employees booked vacation leave, checked their remaining vacation days or claimed for expenses, they and their managers—particularly those based in different countries—often needed to work in several different systems, and/or needed to get support from administrative employees.”

The spokesperson continues, “With SAP SuccessFactors and SAP Concur, all employees will be able to use self-service capabilities online and via mobile devices to complete common user journeys themselves. Eventually, we plan to integrate SAP SuccessFactors and SAP Concur with SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure, which will offer unprecedented insight into the performance of our people strategy.”

The spokesperson concludes, “Thanks to our work with IBM Services to deploy SAP S/4HANA on Microsoft Azure, we are building world-leading digital capabilities for less than a third of the total investment of our nearest competitor. As we continue our collaboration with IBM, we are in a strong position to build the lean, efficient operations we need to reach the very top of our industry.”

About Global agribusiness

Part of a large, international group of companies, this agribusiness is focused on becoming a world leader in its industry.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM SAP Alliance, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: /sap

To learn more about IBM IMPACT solutions, please contact your IBM representative or visit: /services/sap/digital-transformation 

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Services