业务挑战

新奥集团一直致力于使用当前技术来解决未来的能源难题。这家绿色能源巨头致力于为中国 80 多个城市及其他地区的客户提供服务,它在技术创新方面一直都处于行业领先地位。其最终目标是:提供更多的清洁能源选择,改善人们的生活质量。

2020 年初,随着新冠肺炎疫情的爆发,新奥集团的数千名员工几乎在一夜之间从公司办公模式转变为在家办公模式。与远程办公相关的 IT 客服需求(例如,请求获取 VPN 权限,以及请求下载和重置密码)激增数倍。一时之间,让 IT 客服感到措手不及。

幸运的是,新奥集团当时正准备推出一个新的虚拟助手,它结合了 IBM Watson® AssistantIBM Watson Discovery  的 AI 功能与 IBM® Robotic Processing Automation (RPA) 解决方案的自动化功能,能够理解并响应 IT 客服请求。只用了半天时间,此虚拟助手就帮助数千名员工掌握了远程办公所需的技能。以前,要完成这项任务,需要花费数天甚至数周的时间。

在新冠肺炎疫情爆发之前,该公司的数字自动化之旅就已经开始了。一年前,他们的财务共享中心引入了一个虚拟员工 -“小奥助理”(Little ENN Assistant)。

这个自动化财务助手基于 IBM RPA 技术,可以执行一些基本的后台任务,例如,提取报告或处理每月总账簿。这是一次巨大的成功,该虚拟助手每天可以完成 2,000 至 3,000 个任务,实施 70 多个业务场景,创造数百万美元的价值,并将处理时间缩短 60%。

这只是一个开始。作为一家综合性的多元化公司,新奥集团也面临着各种挑战,例如,运营成本不断攀升、客户对一流产品和服务的期望越来越高、业务需求不断变化、员工满意度要求越来越高。该公司已经为自动化之旅的下一阶段做好了准备:超自动化。“超自动化”被 Gartner Research 评为 2020 年最具战略意义的技术趋势,它将自动化与 AI 技术相结合,利用智能决策来引导行动。

业务转型

双手 + 大脑

为此,新奥集团选择在现有的 IBM RPA 基础上进行构建,将 IBM Cloud Pak® for Automation 产品的 AI 功能与在 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 平台上运行的 IBM Watson Assistant 和 IBM Watson Discovery 解决方案整合在一起。这个平台为新奥集团未来的解决方案奠定了坚实的基础,它能够整合、处理和管理整个运营中的数据,从而降低成本并消除数据孤岛。

这一选择可谓是有理有据:IBM Watson Assistant 软件在 2018 年被分析公司 Forrester 评为“对话式计算先驱”,并且 IBM Watson Discovery 解决方案在 2019 年的 Alconics 企业 AI 颁奖典礼中获得“最佳自然语言处理 (NLP) 创新奖”。最重要的是,IBM Cloud Pak for Automation 提供了预集成自动化技术和低代码工具的便利性,因此客户可以大规模地快速设计、构建和运行自动化应用和服务。

 

新奥集团利用 IBM Watson 技术提供 AI 功能(即“大脑”),升级版的虚拟 AI 助手可以查询用户意图,然后将该信息传递给 IBM RPA 自动化功能(即“双手”)以便其执行适当的操作。

这些智能虚拟助手的用途现在涵盖了员工和客户自助服务功能。在疫情爆发之初推出的 IT 桌面服务 AI 助手将继续运用 IBM Watson Assistant 和 IBM RPA 解决方案来查询并帮助员工处理其 IT 请求。

财务 AI 助手同样基于 IBM Watson Assistant 技术,它可以处理财务相关问题,支持复杂的多周期对话以及不同内部业务和财务团队与财务共享中心之间的交互,因此它能够缩短通信周期,并根据授权和业务需要授予对财务数据的访问权限。

以客户为中心的 AI 助手为客户提供了业务和 IT 服务。客户可以快速轻松地获得问题的答案(如账单支付状态),从而改善客户体验并降低运营成本。

员工 AI 助手让新奥集团的 50,000 名员工能够访问数百个业务系统中存储的信息。员工无需登录各个内部系统或执行手动查询,就可以获取内部流程(例如费用报告)的状态更新。通过 IBM Watson Discovery 解决方案,该虚拟助手可以智能地搜索企业和知识数据库,以帮助客服人员回答客户提出的复杂问题。

另外还有一个“专家”助手,此助手由 IBM Watson Discovery 技术提供支持,可以解析大量的非结构化和结构化数据(例如,厂家手册、开发文件和内部用户指南中的数据),以便员工能够轻松访问以前不可用或只能通过时间密集型训练或搜索才能访问的信息。

结果

0.5天

响应数千个员工服务台请求的时间

2天内

可以启动新的虚拟助手并使其运行的时间(而不是数周)

降低人工成本并加快部署速度

 

我们的 AI 自动化平台为员工提供个性化的 AI 技能,帮他们执行日常任务,把他们从日常工作中解放出来,释放他们的创造力和想象力。

新奥集团 IT 平台部门负责人, 李强

结果 / 后续步骤

获得智能自动化的优势

对于新奥集团来说,通过 IBM 解决方案获得的优势是显而易见的。这种技术易于实现,无需丰富的编码经验即可轻松上手。例如,借助新奥集团的客服助手,熟悉客服对话逻辑的员工可以使用其配置界面轻松开发和训练聊天机器人。

启动并运行虚拟助手所需的时间非常短。以前,新奥集团需要花费多达两个月的时间才能建立虚拟助手。现在,利用 IBM Watson Assistant,只需要几天时间(包括意向训练时间)即可建立虚拟助手,从而降低人工成本并加快部署速度。

此外,该解决方案包含开源代码,能够以 API 形式公开数据、流程和模型,从而实现与业务合作伙伴的协作并改进客户服务。最后,由于 IBM Watson 技术是使用一流的 AI 和自然语言理解 (NLU) 技术来开发的,因此企业可以通过较少的训练和数据来更快地启动并运行解决方案,从而提高其性能。

面向未来,新奥集团大胆地尝试了新的智能工作方式,并致力于实现端到端的自动化功能,以便更好地为其客户、员工、行业和公司本身提供服务。

关于新奥集团

新奥集团是一家纵向一体化的跨国能源供应商。该公司成立于 1989 年,总部位于中国廊坊,拥有 100 多家子公司,专注于能源分配、太阳能、能源化工和能源技术开发。新奥集团为中国 80 多个城市提供天然气储存和配送服务,拥有 50,000 多名员工,总资产超过 400 亿元。

An energy giant takes the leap into AI automation

ENN taps into hyperautomation to boost productivity
by Kristin Johnson
5-minute read
City at night viewed from above

ENN Group Co., Ltd. is deeply committed to solving the energy challenges of tomorrow with the technology of today. The green energy giant — which serves customers in more that 80 cities in China and beyond — has long been at the forefront of technological innovation in the industry. Its ultimate goal: to drive clean energy options that improve the quality of peoples’ lives.

In early 2020, the onset of COVID-19 required thousands of the company’s office-based employees to shift to working from their homes almost overnight. Demand for IT services related to remote working — such as requests for VPN permissions and password downloads and resets — instantly skyrocketed. IT help desk personnel were overwhelmed.

Fortunately, ENN was on the cusp of rolling out a new virtual assistant that combined AI from IBM Watson® Assistant and IBM Watson Discovery technologies, as well as automation capabilities of the IBM® Robotic Process Automation (RPA) with Automation Anywhere solution, to interpret and respond to IT employee service desk requests. Within a half a day, the virtual assistant helped enable thousands of employees with the technology they needed to work remotely. Previously, that effort would have taken days — perhaps even weeks.

The company’s digital automation journey had started well before COVID-19 began making headlines. A year earlier, it introduced a virtual employee — “Little ENN Assistant” — into its Financial Sharing Center.

Close-up of skyscraper windows

Time to respond to thousands of employee help desk requests

0.5

days

Time to get new virtual assistants up and running

2

days, versus multiple weeks

Our AI automation platform provides employees with personalized AI skills, helps employees perform daily tasks, frees them from repetitive daily tasks and unleashes their creativity and imagination.
Li Qiang
IT Platforms Executive, ENN Group Co. Ltd.

Based on IBM RPA technology, the automated financial assistant performed basic back-office tasks, such as pulling reports or handling monthly ledger booking. It was a resounding success, completing 2,000 – 3,000 tasks per day, implementing over 70 business scenarios resulting in millions of dollars of value and reducing processing time by 60%.

And that was just the beginning. As a complex, multifaceted company, ENN faced climbing operating costs, growing customer expectations for top-notch products and services, constantly changing business requirements and an ongoing need to keep employees satisfied. The company was ready for the next step in its automation journey: hyperautomation. Named by Gartner Research as the top strategic technology trend for 2020, hyperautomation combines automation with AI to drive actions based on intelligent decision-making.

Solar panels in a city
Rotating video of brain synapses
Two hands + one brain

To that end, ENN chose to build upon its existing IBM RPA foundation, incorporating the AI capabilities of the IBM Cloud Pak® for Automation offering combined with IBM Watson Assistant and IBM Watson Discovery solutions, both of which run on the IBM Cloud Pak for Data platform. This single platform provides ENN with a foundation for future solutions, as well as the ability to consolidate, operationalize and govern data from across its operations, reducing costs while eliminating data silos.

The choice was well-founded: IBM Watson Assistant software was named as a leader in conversational computing by analyst firm Forrester in 2018, and the IBM Watson Discovery solution garnered “Best Innovation in Natural Language Processing (NLP)” in the Alconics enterprise AI awards in 2019. On top of that, IBM Cloud Pak for Automation offers the convenience of pre-integrated automation technologies and low-code tools, so clients can design, build and run automated applications and services quickly and at scale.

With IBM Watson technology providing the “brain” of AI, ENN’s updated virtual AI assistants are able to query users on intent, then pass that information over to IBM RPA’s “two hands” of automation to perform appropriate actions.

The use of these intelligent virtual assistants now spans employee and customer self-service functions. The IT desktop services AI assistant launched at the beginning of the pandemic continues to apply the IBM Watson Assistant and IBM RPA solutions to query and assist employees with their IT requests.

For finance-related issues, an AI assistant, also built on IBM Watson Assistant technology, supports complex multicycle conversations and interactions between diverse internal business and finance teams and the Financial Sharing Center, shortening communication cycles and granting access to financial data based on authorization and business need.

Illustration of a brain as a circuit board
Woman placing a plant on her desk

Customer-focused AI assistants provide business and IT services to customers. Customers can get their questions answered — such as the status of a bill payment — quickly and easily, improving the customer experience while reducing operating costs.

An employee AI assistant provides ENN’s 50,000 employees access to information housed in hundreds of business systems. Employees can get status updates on internal processes, such as expense reports, without logging into individual internal systems or performing manual queries. Using the IBM Watson Discovery solution, the virtual assistant can intelligently search enterprise and knowledge databases to help customer service personnel answer complex customer questions.

And an “expert” assistant, also powered by IBM Watson Discovery technology, parses through large volumes of unstructured and structured data — such as that found in manufacturing manuals, development files and internal user guides — to provide employees easy access to information previously unavailable or only accessible through time-intensive training or searches.

Reaping the rewards of intelligent automation

For ENN, the advantages of its IBM solution are clear. The technology is easy to implement without extensive coding experience. For example, with ENN’s customer service assistant, employees familiar with customer service conversation logic can easily develop and train chatbots using their configuration interfaces.

Turnaround time for getting virtual assistants up and running is quick. Previously, ENN spent up to two months setting up a virtual assistant. Now, with IBM Watson Assistant, that time — including intent training — is mere days, resulting in lower labor costs and faster deployment.

What’s more, the solution embraces open source and can expose data, processes and models in the form of APIs, enabling collaboration with business partners and improved customer service. And finally, because IBM Watson technologies have been developed with best-in-class AI and natural language understanding (NLU), organizations can have a working solution up and running faster with less training and data to improve its performance.

In moving toward the future, ENN has demonstrated that it boldly embraces new intelligent working methods and is committed to achieving end-to-end automation to better serve its customers, its employees, the industry and the company itself.

ENN logo
About ENN Group Co., Ltd.

ENNExternal Link is a multinational, vertically integrated supplier of energy. Founded in 1989 and headquartered in Langfang, China, it has more than 100 subsidiaries and focuses on energy distribution, solar energy, energy chemicals and the development of energy technologies. ENN provides gas storage and distribution services to more than 80 cities across China, employs more than 50,000 people and reports total assets of more than CNY 40 billion. In 2019, the company listed annual revenues at CYN 164.5 billion.

Solution components
ENN logo
About ENN Group Co., Ltd.

ENNExternal Link is a multinational, vertically integrated supplier of energy. Founded in 1989 and headquartered in Langfang, China, it has more than 100 subsidiaries and focuses on energy distribution, solar energy, energy chemicals and the development of energy technologies. ENN provides gas storage and distribution services to more than 80 cities across China, employs more than 50,000 people and reports total assets of more than CNY 40 billion. In 2019, the company listed annual revenues at CYN 164.5 billion.

Solution components