当 COVID-19 疫情迫使 Ecogas 暂停向阿根廷的 140 万天然气客户暂停面对面服务时,该公司不得不迅速采取行动,为其数字渠道的需求激增做好准备。

为支持每个客户以在线和移动方式完成关键旅程,该公司迁移到下一代内存中平台 SAP HANA® 2.0(链接位于 ibm.com 外部),此平台在以先进的 IBM® POWER9™ 和 IBM Power10 服务器、IBM FlashSystem® 存储和 IBM Power® Systems Virtual Server 实例为基础的混合云环境中运行。

阿根廷六个省份的民众依靠 Ecogas 将将天然气直接输送到家中。 该组织在国家或地区能源监管机构的授权下开展业务,力求提供可靠、便捷且经济的服务。

Ecogas 信息技术主管 Oscar Sobrero 解释说:“在阿根廷,长期以来,面对面服务渠道是能源客户的主要接触点。 客户将访问由 Ecogas 经营的地方分支机构,注册新服务,将地址变更情况通知我们,并到当地银行或第三方收款办事处支付账单。 我们知道,数字渠道可以转变客户体验,为这些旅程提供更快的速度和更大的便利性,因此我们开始转型。”

过去五年,Ecogas 开发了无缝的在线和移动服务渠道,让客户能够管理自己的账户及支付账单。 Ecogas 公司的基础架构与电信主管 Pablo Contreras 证实说:“我们的数字渠道正在稳步增长,但许多客户仍然更愿意与我们面对面互动,因为他们习惯这么做。 当 2020 年 COVID-19 疫情爆发时,我们知道一切都将改变。”

2020 年,阿根廷采取各项措施帮助遏制 COVID-19 的蔓延,包括保持社交距离和局部封锁。 突然之间,面对面服务无法进行,数字渠道几乎一夜之间成为了主要的客户接触点。

Sobrero 说:“我们知道,我们的在线交易量会出现大幅上升,因为以前依赖银行和收款网络支付账单的客户转而使用我们的数字渠道。 为在线和移动服务需求激增提供支持的同时,我们还希望能让客户在不进入分支机构的情况下签署新合同,这项功能我们尚未推出。”

将计算性能提高了

35%
同时将运营成本降低了 20%

促使

80%
客户将数字渠道用作其主要接触点

此前,Ecogas 依靠在 IBM Power 服务器上运行的 SAP for Utilities on SAP HANA 支持其端到端业务运营。 面对同比增长 20%,目前已达 4 TB 的 SAP HANA 数据,该组织意识到其现有的业务系统和基础架构将无法满足预计的数字交易量的增加。 为满足新增需求,公司决定迁移至 SAP HANA 2.0。

“在帮助我们应对疫情这一短期挑战的同时,我们发现,迁移至 SAP HANA 2.0 还将带来许多其他长期优势,” Sobrero 补充道。“通过支持企业实时访问运营数据,我们可以加快决策制定,将员工从耗时任务中解放出来。 迁移至下一代数据平台还有望简化重要的合规性活动,例如为我们的监管机构生成月度报告。”

快速扩展数字渠道

为满足 SAP HANA 2.0 的计算和内存需求,Ecogas 再次求助于 IBM。 该组织将最新一代 IBM Power10 处理器技术与超低延迟的 IBM FlashSystem 存储器相结合,可帮助确保 SAP HANA 2.0 的高性能,同时为未来数据和交易增长创造了巨大的空间。

数据库和 SAP 管理负责人 Alejandro Molina 详述道:“我们开展了广泛的评估,其中包括来自多个不同供应商的 IBM Power 服务器和 x86 系统。 IBM 除了提供我们所请求的全闪存存储架构外,还为我们提供了同类 x86 平台无法比拟的出色性价比。”

在选择过程中,IBM Power10 服务器尚未获得 SAP HANA 2.0 认证。 为证明此概念而不拖延供应商评估流程,IBM 在 IBM Power Systems Virtual Server 中配置了基于云的 IBM POWER9 演示环境,以显示 IBM Power10 平台可以满足并超出目标 SAP HANA 2.0 部署的计算和内存需求。

燃气灶火焰的特写。

Sobrero 评论道:“IBM 是我们最信任的 IT 合作伙伴之一。 基于 IBM Power Systems Virtual Server 概念证明的结果以及 IBM 与 SAP 之间的紧密战略联盟关系,毫无疑问,IBM Power10 将是我们全新 SAP HANA 2.0 解决方案的最佳平台。 我们对两家公司充满信心,实际上在 IBM Power10 获得 SAP 认证前的几个月我们已经签署了合同。”

Ecogas 与 IBM Systems Lab Services 及其值得信赖的 IBM 业务合作伙伴 The Computer 合作部署了新的 IT 基础架构。 公司全新的 SAP HANA 2.0 生产环境基于单个 IBM Power E1080 服务器,该服务器连接至 IBM FlashSystem 5200 存储器,通过 IBM PowerVM® 实现虚拟化,并运行 SUSE Linux® Enterprise Server (SLES) for SAP Applications(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)操作系统。 Conreras 补充说:“选择 SLES for SAP Applications 后,我们相信,我们所提供的弹性和可用性可以为我们的任务关键型 SAP 业务系统提供支持。”

Molina 说:“与 The Computer 和 IBM Systems Lab Services 合作实施项目的体验非常棒。 我们与 The Computer 的关系可以追溯到多年前,该公司始终愿意承担合同义务以外的责任,帮助我们解决挑战,使部署项目保持正轨。”

为交付强大的灾难恢复功能,该公司创建了一个利用 IBM Cloud® 的混合环境。 Ecogas 使用 IBM Spectrum® Protect 以近乎实时的方式将数据复制到 IBM Power Systems Virtual Server 实例,帮助在其主数据中心发生问题时最大限度减少数据丢失或服务中断的风险。

Sobrero 继续道:“IBM 为确保我们成功付出了加倍的努力,尽管面临没完没了的新冠疫情挑战,IBM 仍利用其在 IBM 和 SAP 解决方案方面的全球化专业知识,加快了我们的部署。 多亏了 IBM 和 The Computer,我们在 60 天内完成了其他供应商花费四个月才能完成的工作。

构建面向未来的客户服务

通过迁移至 IBM Power10 上的 SAP HANA 2.0,Ecogas 可以在疫情期间及以后为客户提供无缝的数字服务,加强对客户的支持。 借助新的解决方案,该组织能够将 IT 运营成本降低 20%,同时将计算性能提高 35%,使其能够满足数字服务需求的大规模增长。

“现在,我们的几乎全部 140 万客户都以数字方式接收账单,而不再用纸质账单,这对客户来说更方便,对 Ecogas 来说更具成本效益,同时也提升了环境的可持续性,”Sobrero 说道。“在短短几个月内,数字账单的采用量骤增,这是 IBM、The Computer 和 Ecogas 在疫情期间出色合作的力证。”

公司在新的 SAP 解决方案中使用电子签名工作流程,形成了一套完整的数字客户引入流程。 因此,该组织甚至在其分支机构关闭的情况下也提供了全面的服务。

“迁移至 IBM Power10 上的 SAP HANA 2.0 对于 Ecogas 在整个疫情期间维持较高的服务水平至关重要,” Contreras 说道。“我们的大多数客户都发现在线和移动渠道非常便捷,互动体验要好过分支机构。 事实上,目前有大约 80% 的客户将数字渠道用作其主要接触点,而所有这些都离不开我们的 IBM 和 SAP 解决方案的支持。”

新业务系统也在 Ecogas 的其他领域发挥优势。 该公司可实时访问 SAP HANA 2.0 中的运营数据,大大加快了关键的报告流程。

“每个月我们都必须向监管机构提交一份账单报告,此前该报告要花费 30 小时才能创建好,”Sobrero 说道。“自从迁移至 SAP HANA 2.0 和 IBM Power10 之后,我们可以在短短 6 小时内生成监管报告,时间缩短了 80%。 总的来说,我们估计,我们的后台团队将报告构建流程加速了 40%,这对我们的整体运营效率影响很大。”

展望未来,Ecosas 计划以其正在开展的数字化转型成功经验为基础,不断向前推进。 该公司正在探索将更多业务系统迁移至 IBM Power Systems Virtual Server 的可能性,并使用 IBM Power Enterprise Pool 2.0 以动态且经济有效的方式灵活运用内部部署的计算资源,以应对峰值业务量。

“到目前为止,与 IBM 合作的最突出优势是其强大的解决方案、出色的技术支持和成熟的产品路线图,” Sobrero 总结道。“随着我们数字化服务的持续推进,IBM 将成为关键合作伙伴,我们期待为阿根廷各地的能源客户带来更高质量的服务。”

Ecogas 徽标

关于 Ecogas

Ecogas(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)专为阿根廷六个省份的家庭和企业配送天然气。 该公司是一家受监管的专营企业,通过跨越近 30000 千米的配送网络为 140 万客户提供服务。

解决方案组件

IBM® FlashSystem® 5200
IBM Power® E1080
IBM Power Enterprise Pools 2.0
IBM PowerVM®
IBM Power Systems Virtual Server
IBM Spectrum® Protect
IBM Systems Lab Services
SAP HANA® 2
SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)

IBM SAP 徽标

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM FlashSystem、IBM Spectrum、Power、POWER8、POWER9、Power10 和 PowerVM 是 International Business Machines Corp., 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

注册商标 Linux® 必须获得 Linux Foundation 的再许可才能使用;Linux Foundation 是 Linus Torvalds 的独家被许可方,也是该标记的全球拥有者。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

客户负责确保对适用的法律和法规的合规性。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品将确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

可能会针对未压缩数据和已压缩数据报告实际可用存储容量,并且容量会有所不同,且可能会小于规定的容量。

© 2022 SAP SE. All rights reserved. SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及本文中提及的其他 SAP 产品和服务及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家或地区的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 关联公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,SAP SE 或其关联公司对这些材料的错误或遗漏不任何承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文档,以及 SAP SE 或其关联公司的战略和可能的未来发展、产品和/或平台方向及功能都可能发生更改,并且 SAP SE 或其关联公司可能随时出于任何理由更改,恕不另行通知。

Delivering digital services to millions of energy customers during the pandemic and beyond

Ecogas deploys SAP HANA 2.0 in a hybrid environment based on IBM Power10 servers, extending high-quality digital services to over one million people

8-minute read
In partnership with
SPA and IBM logo
Aerial view of offshore gas plant.

When the COVID-19 pandemic forced Ecogas to suspend in-person services for its 1.4 million natural gas customers in Argentina, the company had to act fast to prepare for a surge in demand for its digital channels.

To empower every customer to complete key journeys online and on mobile, the company moved to the next-generation in-memory platform SAP HANA® 2.0External LinkSAP HANA® 2.0 running in a hybrid cloud environment based on cutting-edge IBM® POWER9™ and IBM Power10 servers, IBM FlashSystem® storage and IBM Power® Systems Virtual Server instances.

People across six provinces in Argentina rely on Ecogas to deliver natural gas directly to their homes. Operating under a mandate from the country’s energy regulator, the organization strives to provide reliable, convenient and affordable services.

Oscar Sobrero, Information Technology Leader at Ecogas, explains: “For a long time, in-person service channels were the primary touchpoints for energy customers in Argentina. Customers would visit local branches operated by Ecogas to sign up for new services and notify us of a change of address, and attend their local bank or third-party collections office to pay their bills. We knew that digital channels could transform the customer experience, offering far greater speed and convenience for these journeys — so we embarked on a transformation.”

Over the past five years, Ecogas has developed seamless online and mobile service channels that allow customers to manage their accounts and pay bills. Pablo Contreras, Infrastructure and Telecommunications Leader at Ecogas, confirms: “Our digital channels were growing steadily, but many customers still preferred to engage with us in person, since that was what they were accustomed to. When the COVID-19 pandemic struck in 2020, we knew all of that was set to change.”

In 2020, Argentina introduced measures to help contain the spread of COVID-19, including social distancing and local lockdowns. With in-person services suddenly inaccessible, digital channels became the primary customer touchpoint almost overnight.

Sobrero says: “We knew that there would be a big uptick in our online transaction volumes, as customers who previously relied on banks and collection networks to pay their bills turned to our digital channels instead. As well as supporting the surge in demand for online and mobile services, we also aimed to allow customers to sign up for new contracts without coming into a branch — a capability we’d not yet rolled out.”

Technicians attending to machinery in gas plant

Boosts compute performance by

35%

while reducing operational costs by 20%

Inspires

80%

of customers to use digital channels as their primary touchpoint

IBM is one of our most trusted IT partners. Based on the results of our proof of concept with IBM Power Systems Virtual Server and the close strategic alliance between IBM and SAP, we were left with no doubt that IBM Power10 is the optimal platform for our new SAP HANA 2.0 solution.
Oscar Sobrero
Information Technology Leader, Ecogas

Previously, Ecogas relied on SAP for Utilities on SAP HANA to support its end-to-end business operations, running on IBM Power servers. With 4 TB of SAP HANA data growing at a rate of 20% year-on-year, the organization realized that its existing business systems and infrastructure would be unable to accommodate the projected increase in digital transaction volumes. To meet the new requirements, the company decided to move to SAP HANA 2.0.

“As well as helping us tackle the near-term challenges of the pandemic, we saw that moving to SAP HANA 2.0 would bring many other long-term advantages,” adds Sobrero. “By offering the business real-time access to operational data, we could accelerate decision-making and free employees from time-consuming tasks. Moving to the next-generation data platform also promised to streamline important compliance activities, such as generating monthly reports for our regulator.”

Close up of flame from gas stove.

Rapidly scaling up digital channels

An IT technician attends to servers

To deliver on the compute and memory requirements for SAP HANA 2.0, Ecogas turned again to IBM. By combining the latest-generation IBM Power10 processor technology with ultra-low-latency IBM FlashSystem storage, the organization can help ensure high performance for SAP HANA 2.0 while creating substantial headroom for future data and transaction growth.

Alejandro Molina, Database and SAP Administration Leader, elaborates: “We carried out an extensive evaluation, which included IBM Power servers and x86 systems from a number of different vendors. As well as providing us with the all-flash storage architecture we requested, IBM offered us a price to performance ratio that none of the equivalent x86 platforms could match.”

During the selection process, IBM Power10 servers had not yet been certified for SAP HANA 2.0. To prove the concept without delaying the vendor evaluation process, IBM configured a cloud-based IBM POWER9 demonstration environment in IBM Power Systems Virtual Server to show that an IBM Power10 platform could meet and exceed the compute and memory requirements of the target SAP HANA 2.0 deployment.

Sobrero comments: “IBM is one of our most trusted IT partners. Based on the results of our proof of concept with IBM Power Systems Virtual Server and the close strategic alliance between IBM and SAP, we were left with no doubt that IBM Power10 is the optimal platform for our new SAP HANA 2.0 solution. We have such confidence in both companies that we actually signed the contract several months before IBM Power10 was certified by SAP.”

Working with IBM Systems Lab Services and its trusted IBM Business Partner The Computer, Ecogas deployed the new IT infrastructure. The company’s new SAP HANA 2.0 production environment is based on a single IBM Power E1080 server connected to IBM FlashSystem 5200 storage, virtualized with IBM PowerVM® and running the SUSEExternal Link Linux® Enterprise Server (SLES) for SAP Applications operating system. Contreras adds: “By selecting SLES for SAP Applications, we were confident we could deliver the resilience and availability to support our mission-critical SAP business systems.”

Molina says: “It was a great experience working with The Computer and IBM Systems Lab Services on the implementation project. Our relationship with The Computer goes back many years — and the company was always willing to go beyond their contractual obligations to help us solve challenges and keep the deployment project on track.”

To deliver robust disaster recovery capabilities, the company has created a hybrid environment that leverages IBM Cloud®. Ecogas uses IBM Spectrum® Protect to replicate data to an IBM Power Systems Virtual Server instance in near-real time, helping to minimize the risk of data loss or service disruption in the event of an issue at its primary data center.

Sobrero continues: “IBM went the extra mile to ensure we succeeded, leveraging their global expertise in IBM and SAP solutions to accelerate our deployment — all despite the ever-present challenges of Covid. Thanks to IBM and The Computer, we did in 60 days what might have taken other vendors four months to complete.”

Moving to SAP HANA 2.0 on IBM Power10 played a key role in allowing Ecogas to maintain high service levels throughout the pandemic. In fact, around 80% of our customers now use digital channels as their primary touchpoint — all enabled by our IBM and SAP solutions.
Pablo Contreras
Infrastructure and Telecommunications Leader, Ecogas

Building future-ready customer services

By moving to SAP HANA 2.0 on IBM Power10, Ecogas can support its customers with seamless digital services through the pandemic and beyond. The new solution has allowed the organization to reduce IT operational costs by 20% while boosting compute performance by 35% — empowering it to accommodate a massive increase in demand for digital services.

“Almost all our 1.4 million customers now receive their bills digitally rather than on paper, which is more convenient for the customer, more cost-effective for Ecogas, and more sustainable for the environment,” says Sobrero. “In just a few months, adoption of digital billing shot through the roof, which is a testament to the excellent collaboration between IBM, The Computer and Ecogas during the pandemic.”

Using e-signature workflows in the new SAP solution, the company has shaped an entirely digital customer onboarding workflow. As a result, the organization offered a full service even while its branches were closed.

“Moving to SAP HANA 2.0 on IBM Power10 played a key role in allowing Ecogas to maintain high service levels throughout the pandemic,” says Contreras. “Most of our customers find the online and mobile channels so convenient that they prefer them to the in-branch experience. In fact, around 80% of our customers now use digital channels as their primary touchpoint — all enabled by our IBM and SAP solutions.”

The new business systems are also delivering advantages in other areas of Ecogas. The company has real-time access to operational data in SAP HANA 2.0, which dramatically accelerates key reporting processes.

“Each month, we must deliver a billing report to our regulator, which previously took 30 hours to create,” comments Sobrero. “Since moving to SAP HANA 2.0 and IBM Power10, we can generate regulatory reports in just six hours — a time reduction of 80%. In total, we estimate that our back-office teams have accelerated report-building processes by 40%, which contributes significantly to our overall operational efficiency.”

Looking ahead, Ecogas plans to build on the successes of its ongoing digital transformation. The company is exploring the possibility of moving more of its business systems to IBM Power Systems Virtual Server, and using IBM Power Enterprise Pools 2.0 to dynamically and cost-effectively flex its on-premises compute resources to accommodate peaks in business volumes.

“By far the best aspects about partnering with IBM are their rock-solid solutions, excellent technical support and mature product roadmap,” concludes Sobrero. “IBM will be a key partner as we continue to enhance our digital services — and we look forward to bringing even higher-quality services to energy customers across Argentina.”

Ecogas logo
About the Ecogas

EcogasExternal Link specializes in distributing natural gas to households and businesses across six provinces in Argentina. A regulated monopoly, the company serves 1.4 million customers via a distribution network spanning almost 30,000 km.

Solution components
Ecogas logo
About the Ecogas

EcogasExternal Link specializes in distributing natural gas to households and businesses across six provinces in Argentina. A regulated monopoly, the company serves 1.4 million customers via a distribution network spanning almost 30,000 km.

Solution components