CSM BVBA
帮助更多小企业获得全球贸易机会
了解更多信息
CSM BVBA 船

CSM BVBA 的海关解决方案使中小型企业可以轻松进行国际贸易。为了应对预期的业务量激增,CSM BVBA 升级到了高性能、高可用性的 IBM Power Systems 平台,使其能够全天候 (24/7) 向更多客户提供增值服务。

业务挑战

随着业务的增长,CSM BVBA 希望能够找到一种方法,以支持更多客户在其平台上创建报关单,同时确保其服务的响应能力或可用性不会降低。

变革

CSM BVBA 部署了运行 IBM i 的 IBM Power Systems 服务器,为其提供了所需的性能和可用性,以随着客户群的增长提供始终如一的高质量服务。

结果 50%
处理的海关文件数量增加,推动业务增长
50%
支持客户群增长,且对服务级别没有任何影响
100%
提高可用性,降低意外停机带来的声誉风险
业务挑战案例
开创一个充满贸易机会的世界

国际贸易对中小企业特别有利,使他们能够开辟新的收入来源并使客户群多样化。然而,对于没有专门法律部门的企业来说,满足海关文件的严格要求可能是一项艰巨的挑战。

CSM BVBA 总部位于比利时,可以为各行各业的中小企业提供基于云的海关解决方案。该平台可推动和处理海关相关文件,帮助客户满足欧洲境内外跨境贸易的法律要求。

提交海关文件的截止日期通常非常紧迫:空运到达欧盟的货物必须至少提前两小时申报,海运货物必须提前 4 至 24 小时申报。为了帮助客户满足这些要求,CSM BVBA 必须确保其解决方案全天候 (24/7) 可用。

由于英国海关法规即将发生变化,CSM BVBA 看到了针对向英国出口的公司推出一项新服务的机会。该公司相信,这项新服务将推动其客户群大幅增长。添加新客户端也会增加对其服务器平台的需求,这可能会降低其能力,使其无法实现面向客户的服务在响应性和可用性方面的服务水平目标。

CSM BVBA 总经理 Bart Decorte 解释道:“我们的客户每年通过我们的平台生成数十万份报关单,因此,我们的服务始终在线至关重要。多年来,我们一直依靠 IBM Power Systems 解决方案提供的高度安全、高度可用的平台来支持我们的客户服务,这个平台从未让我们失望过。”

“为了创造业务增长的空间,我们决定在通过 IBM 取得成功的基础上升级到性能和可用性更高的新服务器平台,以支持我们持续增长。”

根据我们的经验,与 IBM i 相关的问题非常罕见,而且由于管理平台所需的精力很少,我们可以将更多的时间投入到支持客户进行复杂的国际贸易业务中。 Bart Decorte 常务董事 CSM BVBA
变革案例
部署平台,实现增长

为了准备好迎接涌入的新客户,CSM BVBA 升级到了 IBM Power Systems S814 服务器和 IBM Power Systems 8202-E4B 服务器(运行的是 IBM i 操作系统)。

Bart Decorte 评论说:"自 2009 年创立 Customs IT 以来,我们一直与 IBM Power Systems 合作,该平台始终如一的高可靠性及其卓越的性能给我们留下了深刻的印象。继续使用 IBM Power Systems 平台对我们来说是显而易见的选择:我们知道我们可以依靠 IBM 来提供高质量的解决方案,而且我们的团队已经接受过平台管理方面的培训。”

他继续说:“IBM i 因其灵活性和稳定性而深受客户和员工的欢迎。根据我们的经验,与 IBM i 相关的问题非常罕见,而且由于管理平台所需的精力很少,我们可以将更多的时间投入到支持客户进行复杂的国际贸易业务中。这些增值服务帮助我们建立了忠实的客户群,而 IBM 解决方案在其中发挥了重要作用。”

为了帮助减少迁移到新服务器平台所需的时间和业务风险,CSM BVBA 聘请 IBM 合作伙伴 CD Invest 提供专家指导和支持。

“CD Invest 自 2009 年以来一直为我们提供支持,当时他们帮助我们创建了客户平台,并且始终如一地为我们提供高质量的服务,”Bart Decorte 回忆道。“CD Invest 在 IBM Power Systems 升级方面的工作也非常出色,该团队帮助我们做好了万全的准备,确保能成功实施。”

我们的目标是让客户尽可能简单地满足国际贸易的要求,而 IBM 解决方案为我们在未来几年扩大客户群提供了空间。 Bart Decorte 常务董事 CSM BVBA
案例成果
推动增长,提升服务

通过继续在配有 IBM i 的 IBM Power Systems 上运行其业务,CSM BVBA 处于可实现持续增长的有利地位。如今,该公司每年为客户处理约 250,000 份与海关相关的文件,增幅达 50%。

“自从将服务转移到新 IBM 平台以来,我们的客户群成功增长了约 50%,而且 IBM Power Systems 解决方案正在帮助我们满足不断增长的服务需求,同时不会降低我们面向最终用户的服务水平。”Bart Decorte 继续说道,“实际上,新部署让我们将服务可用性提高了 100%。这有助于我们确保我们的海关平台全天候 (24/7) 在线,并降低意外停机造成的声誉风险。”

Bart Decorte 总结说:“借助 IBM Power Systems 上的 IBM i,我们拥有了一个高性能服务器平台,可以帮助我们为未来的业务增长机会做好准备。我们的目标是让客户尽可能简单地满足国际贸易的要求,而 IBM 解决方案为我们在未来几年扩大客户群提供了空间。

CSM BVBA

CSM BVBA(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于比利时奥斯特坎普,是一家软件和 IT 服务提供商,在为中小型企业提供海关解决方案方面拥有超过 28 年的经验。

CD Invest

CD Invest 提供 ICT 和商业咨询服务,帮助最大限度地发挥客户的商业潜力。如需更多信息,请访问 cdinvest.be(ibm.com 外部链接)。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM i 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/products/ibm-i

要了解有关 IBM Power Systems 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:ibm.com/power

了解更多信息 查看更多案例研究
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2019 年 4 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 和 Power Systems 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

Microsoft、Windows 和 Windows NT 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business challenge

With business growth on the horizon, CSM BVBA looked for a way to allow more clients to create customs declarations on its platform without reducing the responsiveness or availability of its services.

Transformation

CSM BVBA deployed IBM Power Systems servers running IBM i—offering it the performance and availability for consistent, high-quality services as its client base grows.

Results

50%

rise in number of customs documents processed, driving business growth

50%

growth in client base supported without any impact on service levels

100%

increase in availability, reducing the reputational risk of unplanned downtime

Business challenge story

Opening up a world of trade opportunities

International trade can be particularly beneficial for small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), empowering them to open new revenue streams and diversify their client bases. However, meeting stringent requirements around customs documentation can be a tough challenge for businesses that lack a dedicated legal department.

Based in Belgium, CSM BVBA provides cloud-based customs solutions to SMEs from a wide range of sectors. The platform facilitates and processes customs-related documentation, helping clients fulfil their legal requirements for trading across international borders, both within Europe and beyond.

Deadlines for submitting customs documents are often extremely tight: goods arriving by air into the European Union must be declared at least two hours ahead of time, and sea freight must be declared between four and 24 hours ahead. To help its clients meet these requirements, CSM BVBA must ensure that its solutions are available 24/7.

With changes to UK customs regulations on the horizon, CSM BVBA saw an opportunity to launch a new service targeted at companies exporting to the UK. The company was confident the new service would drive significant growth in its client base. Adding new clients would also increase the demands on its server platform, which threatened to reduce its ability to meet service-level targets around the responsiveness and availability of its client-facing services.

Bart Decorte, Managing Director at CSM BVBA, explains: “Our clients generate hundreds of thousands of customs declarations via our platform each year, and it’s vital that our service is always online. For many years, we have relied on IBM Power Systems solutions to deliver a security-rich, highly available platform for our client services, and the platform has never let us down.

“To create the headroom for business growth, we decided to build on our success with IBM by upgrading to a new server platform with the increased performance and availability to support our continued growth.”

In our experience, issues with IBM i are extremely rare—and because managing our platform requires so little effort, we are free to invest more of our time in supporting our clients’ complex international trading operations.

Bart Decorte, Managing Director, CSM BVBA

Transformation story

Deploying a platform for growth

To prepare for an influx of new clients, CSM BVBA upgraded to an IBM Power Systems S814 server and an IBM Power Systems 8202-E4B server, running the IBM i operating system.

Bart Decorte comments: “We have been working with IBM Power Systems since we founded Customs IT in 2009, and we have been impressed with the consistently high reliability of the platform, as well as its excellent performance. Staying with the IBM Power Systems platform was the obvious choice for us: we knew that we could depend on IBM to provide a high-quality solution, and our team was already trained to manage the platform.”

He continues: “IBM i is very popular with both our clients and our employees because of its flexibility and stability. In our experience, issues with IBM i are extremely rare—and because managing our platform requires so little effort, we are free to invest more of our time in supporting our clients’ complex international trading operations. These value-added services have helped us build a loyal client base, and our IBM solutions have had a significant role to play in that achievement.”

To help reduce the time and business risk involved in its migration to the new server platform, CSM BVBA engaged IBM Business Partner CD Invest to provide expert guidance and support.

“CD Invest has been supporting us since 2009, when they helped us create our client platform—and they consistently deliver a high-quality service for us,” recalls Bart Decorte. “CD Invest’s work on the IBM Power Systems upgrade was no exception, and the team ensured we had everything we needed to guarantee a successful implementation.”

Our goal is to make it as simple as possible for our clients to navigate the requirements of international trade—and our IBM solutions offer us the headroom to grow our client base for years to come.

Bart Decorte, Managing Director, CSM BVBA

Results story

Driving growth, enhancing service

By continuing to run its business on IBM Power Systems with IBM i, CSM BVBA is in a strong position to support continued growth. Today, the company processes around 250,000 customs-related documents per year for its clients—an increase of 50 percent.

“Since moving our services to the new IBM platform, we’ve succeeded in growing our client base by around 50 percent—and our IBM Power Systems solutions are helping us to accommodate the increased demand for our services without any reduction in service levels for our end users,” continues Bart Decorte. “In fact, our new deployment has enabled us to drive a 100 percent increase in service availability. This helps us to ensure that our customs platform is online 24/7—and to reduce the reputational risk of unplanned downtime.”

Bart Decorte concludes: “With IBM i on IBM Power Systems, we have a high-performance server platform that prepares us for the business growth opportunities ahead. Our goal is to make it as simple as possible for our clients to navigate the requirements of international trade—and our IBM solutions offer us the headroom to grow our client base for years to come.”

About CSM BVBA

Based in Oostkamp, Belgium, CSM BVBA is a software and IT service provider with more than 28 years’ experience providing customs solutions for small and medium-sized enterprises. 

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM i, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: www.ibm.com/it-infrastructure/power/os/ibm-i

To learn more about IBM Power Systems, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites: http://www.ibm.com/it-infrastructure/power

CD Invest delivers ICT and business consultancy services to help maximize its clients’ business potential. For more information, visit cdinvest.be  

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware