CodeObjects
客户顺畅体验,无惧风骤雨狂
阅读 Field Notes 故事 了解 IBM watsonx Assistant
在海洋上空鸟瞰飓风

在保险行业,那些最紧要的电话呼入,往往发生在最紧急的情形之下。这就是 CodeObjects 使用 IBM Watson® 技术来开发 InsurBot.ai 的原因,InsurBot.ai 是一个人工智能助手,它能缩短呼叫中心等待时间,降低运营成本,并帮助用户缓解焦灼恢复平静。

业务挑战

自然灾害发生后,保险电话激增,造成积压,投保人需要长时间等待。CodeObjects 希望利用人工智能技术帮助保险公司更快地响应呼叫。

变革

InsurBot.ai 能够自动响应投保人的问题和请求,并可自动化进行业务交易,帮助保险公司提高响应能力。

结果 即使在重大灾难期间,
投保人呼叫完全无需等待
每分钟节省约 1 美元,
总共节省数十万美元
平均呼叫时间缩短 >75%
得益于人工智能技术,可以有效评估投保人的需求
业务挑战案例
空前的损失

2016 年和 2017 年,美国及其他地区的自然灾害数量创下历史新高。对于财产和意外伤害 (P&C) 保险公司来说,这意味着飓风、洪水、火灾等灾难性损失理赔数量创下新高。伴随理赔数量增加而来的,是 P&C 保险公司提供尽善尽美客户服务的需求。于 CodeObjects 这家全美保险公司核心保险系统开发供应者而言,这是行动的号角。

CodeObjects 产品管理副总裁 Arun Bala 解释说:“如果有人因飓风损坏了房屋而遭受损失,他们可不想花一个小时的时间向保险公司索赔。“许多投保人与保险公司唯一的互动就是当他们需要提出理赔时,因此,让客户获得尽可能正面的体验符合保险公司的最佳利益。”

然而,许多保险公司将这一重要接触点外包给第三方呼叫中心,这可能会造成一些麻烦。外包呼叫中心通常使用自己的系统,因为他们不想对员工进行多种不同应用程序的培训。这可能会影响保险公司获取定损所需的准确信息,进而导致整个理赔处理过程效率低下。

Bala 说:“不仅仅是在发生灾难事件时拨打电话,人们还会打电话来了解自己的保险范围,或询问有关账单的问题。他们与客户服务代表接触的每一个环节都可能效率低下,更不用说还有高昂的成本。这些都是重大的痛点,许多保险公司正在尝试使用自动化来减轻这些痛点。”

Bala 表示:“为了应对这些问题,我们正在用聊天机器人功能增强我们的核心系统产品和服务,让我们的现有客户和潜在客户能够提供卓越的客户体验。”

“我们相信聊天机器人是一个值得期待的方案。一旦模型训练得足够好,它就会提供可预测和可重复的结果。聊天机器人一经得到训练后,可以像五星级 CSR [客户服务代表] 一样进行交谈,那么每一次对话都有可能成为五星级对话。”Bala 说道。

他们与客户服务代表接触的每一个环节都可能效率低下,更不用说还有高昂的成本。这些都是重大的痛点,许多保险公司正在尝试使用自动化来减轻这些痛点。 Arun Bala Vice President of Product Management CodeObjects
Insurbot 徽标
变革案例
成效显著的部署

在探索了多种人工智能方案后,CodeObjects 选择了 IBM Watson 平台来支持其聊天机器人产品,该公司称之为 InsurBot.ai。该解决方案采用 IBM watsonx AssistantIBM Watson DiscoveryIBM Watson Speech to TextIBM Watson Text to Speech 和 IBM® Voice Agent with Watson 服务。

CodeObjects 产品营销副总裁 Anthony Peccerillo 讲述了这个案例:“我们第一阶段的产品计划是针对客户服务领域,将人们每天都在做的可重复任务自动化。”

第一阶段的关键任务包括提交首次损失通知 (FNOL)、检查付款或理赔状态、获取报价和付款。在使用 Watson 技术分析 2017 年伊尔玛飓风后收到的约 50,000 个电话后,开发出了响应投保人的脚本,该解决方案按照这个预先确定的脚本响应投保人的声音。

虽然 InsurBot.ai 的初衷是让投保人获得尽可能简单、无缝的体验,但它也注意让来电者有一种控制感。Bala 解释道:“在我们使用 IBM watsonx Assistant 编写的对话流中,有多个节点,可以根据用户请求或其他内部条件,将呼叫分流到实时代理。”

就在 CodeObjects 完成 InsurBot.ai 计划第一阶段的脚本时,飓风迈克尔首次出现在雷达屏幕上。飓风正向佛罗里达狭长地带袭来,CodeObjects 的许多客户都在那里开展业务。如果模型正确,这将是 1992 年以来袭击该地区的最大风暴之一。灾难性的损失几乎不可避免。

作为 CodeObjects 的现有客户之一,Security First Insurance 预计在飓风来袭后会有大量的 P&C 索赔涌入,因此决定在风暴来临前推出新的人工智能助手。在不到一周的时间里,InsurBot.ai 和 Security First Insurance 团队就开始从试点转向正式部署。Bala 说:“我们进入了部署模式,所有人齐心协力。我们对其进行了测试,确保稳定,并将生产环境从标准 Watson 计划迁移到高级 Watson 计划。对于很多活动来说,这是一个很短的时间窗口,但我们正面迎接了挑战并取得了成功。”

Security First Insurance 首席运营官 Werner Kruck 对此表示赞同:“我们不仅能够提高客户满意度,InsurBot.ai 团队还帮助我们制定了一项技术战略,使我们提供的体验更加与众不同,并且从长远来看降低了成本。”

案例成果
可喜的成果

迈克尔飓风过后,在选择使用 InsurBot.ai 的投保人中,75% 的投保人能够完成业务办理,而无需转给真人客服。在迈克尔飓风登陆后,InsurBot.ai 处理了 Security First Insurance 接到的所有电话中的 30%。使得在暴风雨过后的高峰电话期,每分钟可节省约 1 美元。

此外,选择使用 InsurBot.ai 的呼叫者经历了零等待时间,这也与 CodeObjects 帮助客户创造顺畅客户体验的宗旨相一致。去年飓风期间,平均等待时间约为 8 分钟,有些电话甚至需要长达 30 分钟。显然,这对保险公司及其投保人来说都是一个巨大的进步。

InsurBot.ai 在迈克尔飓风期间取得的成功,让 CodeObjects 确信,其解决方案将有助于解决整个保险理赔行业的客户服务问题。最终,InsurBot.ai 将支持多种语言和多种渠道,并将与许多现有的保险系统集成。

CodeObjects 计划利用分析技术进一步完善解决方案。Peccerillo 解释道:“例如,我们可以将预测风暴路径的数据与客户名单叠加,主动发送风险缓解措施、文件或视频,以便处于风暴轨迹上的人们做好准备。”

分析也可以使保险公司本身受益。Bala 说:“我们希望为客户提供工具,告诉他们发生了什么。机器人的哪些方面运作良好,哪些方面运作不佳,以及热点在哪里,以便他们可以快速解决这些问题。”

凭借这些附加功能,CodeObjects 相信 InsurBot.ai 将能够无缝处理几乎所有呼叫,即使在灾难性事件期间也是如此。“它的目标就是处理可能出现的最大量来电。无论您是第一个人还是第 100 个人,您的来电都会立即得到答复。这就是我们的目标。”Bala 总结道。

CodeObjects 徽标
CodeObjects

CodeObjects 成立于 2006 年,为美国各地的保险公司开发核心系统。2018年,CodeObjects 推出了旗舰产品InsurBot.ai,这是一项由人工智能驱动的客户援助服务,它正在改变保险公司与客户沟通的方式。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:

https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/watson

查看 PDF 查看更多客户案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2019. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2019年 1 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business Challenge

Insurance calls surge after natural disasters, creating backlogs and long waits for policyholders. CodeObjects wanted to use AI technology to help insurance companies respond to calls more quickly.

Transformation

InsurBot.ai helps insurance companies improve responsiveness by automatically responding to policyholders’ questions and requests, and automating business transactions.

Results

Completely eliminates call wait times

for policyholders, even during major disasters

Saves approximately $1 per minute

resulting in hundreds of thousands of dollars in total savings

>75% reduction in average call time

thanks to AI technology that efficiently assesses policyholder needs

Business challenge story

Record losses

The years 2016 and 2017 saw record numbers of natural disasters in the US and beyond. For property and casualty (P&C) insurers, this meant record numbers of catastrophic loss claims from hurricanes, floods, fires and more. As the number of claims grew, so did the need among P&C insurers to provide impeccable customer service. This was a call to action for CodeObjects, which develops core insurance systems for insurance companies throughout the US.

“If someone suffers a loss from a hurricane that damaged their house, they don’t want to spend an hour filing a claim with their insurance company,” explains Arun Bala, Vice President of Product Management for CodeObjects. “The only interaction many policyholders have with their insurance company is when they need to file a claim, so it’s in the insurer’s best interest to make the customer experience as positive as possible.”

However, many insurance companies outsource this vital touchpoint to third-party call centers, which can create complications. Outsourced call centers typically use their own systems because they don’t want to train their staff on several different applications. This can impact an insurance company’s ability to obtain accurate information about the nature of the loss, which in turn creates inefficiencies in the entire claim handling process.

“And it’s not just calls related to catastrophic events,” says Bala. “People call to find out what sort of coverage they have, or to ask questions about their bills. Every single touchpoint they have with customer service reps can be fraught with inefficiency, not to mention the high cost. These are significant pain points, and many insurance carriers are trying to mitigate them using automation.”

“In response,” says Bala, “we are augmenting our core system offerings with chatbot capabilities that will allow our existing and prospective customers to provide a superior customer experience.”

“We believe chatbots make a compelling case. Once you train the model well enough, it provides predictable and repeatable outcomes. Once you train the chatbot to converse like your five-star CSR [customer service representative], every single conversation has the potential of being a five-star conversation,” says Bala.

Every single touchpoint they have with customer service reps can be fraught with inefficiency, not to mention the high cost. These are significant pain points, and many insurance carriers are trying to mitigate them using automation.

Arun Bala, Vice President of Product Management, CodeObjects

Transformation story

A dramatic rollout

After exploring a number of options for AI, CodeObjects selected the IBM Watson platform to support its chatbot product, which the company calls InsurBot.ai. The solution features IBM Watson Assistant, IBM Watson Discovery, IBM Watson Speech to Text, IBM Watson Text to Speech and IBM Voice Agent with Watson services. 

Anthony Peccerillo, Vice President of Product Marketing for CodeObjects, picks up the story: “Our plan for phase one of the product was to target the customer service area and automate repeatable tasks that people are doing on a daily basis.”

Critical first-phase tasks included filing a first notice of loss (FNOL), checking payment or claims status, getting a quote and making a payment. The solution responds to policyholders’ voices, following a predetermined script that was developed after using Watson technology to analyze approximately 50,000 calls received after Hurricane Irma in 2017.

Although the intention was to make the experience as easy and seamless as possible for policyholders, InsurBot.ai was also careful to give callers a sense of control. Bala explains: “In the dialog flow we wrote using Watson Assistant, there are various nodes where the call could be branched off to a live agent, either because of user request or because of some other internal condition.”

Just as CodeObjects was finishing up the scripts for the first phase of the InsurBot.ai initiative, Hurricane Michael made its first appearance on radar screens. The hurricane was headed for the Florida Panhandle, where many of CodeObjects’ customers had operations. If the models were correct, it would be one of the largest storms to hit the area since 1992. Catastrophic losses were virtually inevitable.

Anticipating a huge influx of P&C claims after the hurricane hit, Security First Insurance, one of CodeObjects’ existing customers, decided to roll out the new AI assistant in advance of the storm. With less than a week’s notice, the InsurBot.ai and Security First Insurance teams got to work on moving from pilot to production. “We went into deployment mode,” says Bala. “It was all hands on deck. We tested it, stabilized it and migrated the production environment from standard to premium Watson plan. It was a short window for a lot of activity, but we met the challenge head on and had a successful outcome.”

Werner Kruck, Chief Operating Officer at Security First Insurance, agrees: "Not only are we able to improve customer satisfaction, the team at InsurBot.ai enabled us to create a technology strategy to further differentiate the experience we offer and lower costs in the long term.”

Results story

Promising results

Among the policyholders who chose to use InsurBot.ai after Hurricane Michael, 75 percent were able to complete their business without being diverted to a live agent. In total, InsurBot.ai handled 30 percent of all of the calls Security First Insurance received after Hurricane Michael’s devastating landfall. This resulted in savings of approximately $1 per minute during the post-storm spike.

Furthermore, in keeping with CodeObjects’ tenet of helping its customers create frictionless customer experiences, callers who chose to use InsurBot.ai experienced zero wait times. During a hurricane the previous year, the average wait time was approximately eight minutes, and some calls took as long as 30 minutes. Clearly, this was a huge improvement for the insurer—and for its policyholders.

The success of InsurBot.ai during Hurricane Michael confirmed for CodeObjects that its solution will help address customer service concerns throughout the P&C industry. Ultimately, InsurBot.ai will support multiple languages and multiple channels, plus it will integrate with many existing insurance systems.

CodeObjects plans to use analytics to round out the solution further. Peccerillo explains: “For example, we could overlay data that’s projecting the path of a storm with the client list and proactively send risk mitigations, documentation or videos so people who are in the track of the storm can prepare.”

Analytics could also benefit the insurance companies themselves. Says Bala: “We want to provide our customers with tools that tell them what’s going on. What’s working well with the bot, what’s not working well, and where the hotspots are so that they can quickly address them.”

With these additional capabilities, CodeObjects believes that InsurBot.ai will be able to handle nearly all calls seamlessly, even during catastrophic events. “It’s designed to handle the highest volume you could possibly throw at it. Whether you’re the first person or the 100th person, your call will be answered immediately. That’s our goal,” Bala concludes.

business logo

About CodeObjects

Founded in 2006, CodeObjects develops core systems for insurance companies across the US. In 2018, CodeObjects introduced its flagship product, InsurBot.ai, an AI-powered customer assistance service that is changing the way insurance companies communicate with their customers.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following websites:

The With Watson program is a global client success initiative that can help accelerate your AI vision through exclusive access to Watson experts and education. With Watson, learn how to enhance your products and applications while growing the power of your brand. To find out more, visit us at: www.ibm.com/watson/with-watson/