可信可靠的存储技术赋能智慧城市
德克萨斯州泰勒对其 IT 基础设施进行现代化改造,以便在疫情期间和之后更好地为社区服务
一名女性信息工程师戴着口罩在服务器机房数据库内工作

德克萨斯州泰勒市的魅力远超眼前所见。穿过郁郁葱葱的玫瑰花园和熙熙攘攘的市中心,您会发现一个紧密团结、技术精湛、使命远大的社区,全方位运用创新技术,提高从紧急响应时间到远程工作访问等各个领域。

泰勒市对数字化转型并不陌生。

此前该城市实施了 IBM Cloud® for VMware 技术和 IBM 全闪存存储系统,增强其中央数据平台。这些解决方案帮助素有“美国玫瑰之都”美誉的泰勒市发展成一个包容、安全、有弹性、可持续的社区。

实时洞察和先进的数据管理赋能泰勒市改善各个部门,并实时连接涵盖广泛服务(警察、消防、公用事业、交通和城市中心)的人员、网络、应用程序和设备,具有持续的可靠性和安全性。

快三倍

 

虚拟桌面的登录时间比行业标准快三倍

零延迟

 

运行数百个活动 VDI 会话,确保延迟、零性能问题

如何快速为第一响应人员提供服务?如何对公民保持透明?这些是我们在应对新冠疫情时寻求并通过 IBM 技术来回答的问题。 Benny Yazdanpanahi 首席信息官 泰勒市

尽管有这些前瞻性的创新,新冠疫情仍给泰勒市议会、政府雇员、志愿者和居民带来新的挑战。工作流程和资源必须虚拟化,数据访问速度和可用性必须增强,城市运营需要更多技术支持——而且都不能以牺牲服务质量为代价。

泰勒市官员明白,为了更好地了解和应对社区的变化,他们需要再次升级 IT 基础设施。

成为更智能的智慧城市

面对疫情引发的对更多远程数据访问的需求时,泰勒市决定扩展已经成功实施的 VMware 虚拟桌面基础架构 (VDI) 运营。该市联系了 IT 转型解决方案提供商和 IBM 业务合作伙伴 Mark III Systems,力图升级基础设施并寻找可提供最高级别保护、隐私和安全的技术解决方案。

Mark III Systems 帮助泰勒市将 IBM® FlashSystem 7200 技术集成到其 IT 堆栈中。IBM FlashSystem 7200 为需要企业中端存储的组织提供高端功能。部署解决方案后,泰勒式使用 IBM FlashSystem 7200 中 IBM® Spectrum Virtualize 软件的存储虚拟化功能,将数据服务扩展到现有存储,从而提高系统的性能和效率。

“IBM Storage 技术帮助我们发挥现有基础设施的优势,”泰勒市首席信息官 Benny Yazdanpanahi 表示,“IBM Spectrum Virtualize 优化并更新了我们现有的闪存存储,推动我们以较低的成本实现基础设施的现代化。”

“IBM FlashSystem 7200 是变革推动者,”泰勒市 IT 基础设施经理 Jeremy English 补充道,“能够提供现代、高效的应用程序并部署虚拟桌面,帮助我们快速过渡到适合每个人的居家工作系统。”

该存储系统用作泰勒市 VDI 运营的后端。该平台提供对闪存模块和增强型处理器的访问,从而减少延迟并提高虚拟系统的性能。

作为 IBM 闪存解决方案的存储管理功能,IBM® Storage Insights 提供自动监控和预测分析能力,帮助泰勒市 IT 团队快速解决问题,同时保持最高水平的可用性和性能。这些解决方案支持的升级后虚拟桌面助力城市雇员(从执法人员到 IT 人员)无论是在办公室、巡逻车还是家里,都能快速访问为社区服务所需的信息。

IBM FlashSystem 7200 改变了我们的游戏规则。能够提供现代、高效的应用程序并部署虚拟桌面,帮助我们快速过渡到适合每个人的居家工作系统。 Jeremy English IT 基础设施经理 泰勒市
使用 IBM 技术响应服务号召

泰勒市依靠 IBM Storage 技术以较低成本支持对市政府工作人员至关重要的虚拟系统、工作负载和应用程序。该市以 Called to S.E.R.V.E(响应服务号召)为座右铭,SERVE 代表 Streamline、Empower、Respond、Venture 和 Evaluate(简化、赋能、响应、冒险和评价)。

虚拟系统比物理桌面的登录速度快,平均登录时间约 20 秒,比行业标准快三倍。这种速度使泰勒市的效率更上一层楼,并为雇员提供随时随地可用的信息。

IBM FlashSystem 7200 以 IBM Spectrum Virtualize 软件和 IBM Storage Insights 为基础,极大改善了泰勒市的数据访问,并为市政府雇员和公民提供了更高的透明度、更好的公共服务和更强大的社区。

“我们齐心打造智慧城市。市议会投资新技术,为雇员及其工作提供支持。反过来,我们也能够创造服务,为公民打造更美好的家园。”Yazdanpanahi 总结道。

泰勒市徽标
关于泰勒市

德克萨斯州泰勒市(ibm.com 外部链接)是史密斯县的治所。市政府为社区提供公共安全、交通、公园和娱乐以及卫生服务。该市的座右铭 Called to SERVE(响应服务号召)是 Streamline、Empower、Respond、Venture 和 Evaluate(简化、赋能、响应、冒险和评价)的缩写,这些都是泰勒市的蓝图目标。

关于 Mark III Systems

Mark III Systems(ibm.com 外部链接)已与 IBM 合作 25 年,是一家跨学科的“全栈”解决方案提供商,拥有各种规模的企业、公共部门和服务提供商客户。由数据科学家、开发人员、DevOps/自动化工程师以及系统架构师和工程师组成的团队,凭借特有的全栈能力,致力于帮助客户创新并推动数字化和 IT 转型。

接下来:
云就绪基础设施助力最终用户应用程序性能提高 20% Mondi Group 成功案例 在 IBM Storage 社区了解更多信息 社区
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM 公司,IBM Systems,New Orchard Road,Armonk,NY 10504

2021 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM FlashSystem 以及 IBM Spectrum 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可参见以下网站的“版权和商标信息”部分:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

VMware 、VMware 徽标、VMware Cloud Foundation、VMware Cloud Foundation Service、VMware vCenter Server 和 VMware vSphere 是 VMware, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和/或其他司法管辖区的注册商标或商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Empowering a smart city with trusted, reliable storage technology
Tyler, Texas modernizes its IT infrastructure to better serve the community during and beyond the pandemic
Female informatic engineer working inside server room database while wearing face mask

There’s more to Tyler, Texas than meets the eye. Look past the lush rose gardens and bustling city center, and you’ll find a close-knit, tech-savvy community committed to the greater good — a community that applies innovative technology to improve everything from emergency response times to remote work access.

The City of Tyler is no stranger to digital transformation.

Previously, it implemented IBM Cloud® for VMware technology and IBM all-flash storage systems to enhance its central data platform. These solutions helped the City of Tyler, the rose capital of America, blossom into an inclusive, safe, resilient and sustainable community.

The real-time insights and advanced data management capabilities allowed the city to improve citywide departments and connect people, networks, applications and devices that span a vast range of services — police, fire, utilities, traffic and city centers — all in real time, with continuous reliability and security.

3X faster

 

Login times for virtual desktops are 3X faster than industry standard

zero latency

 

Hundreds of active VDI sessions run with zero latency or performance issues

How quickly can we deliver rapid service to our first responders? How can we be transparent with our citizens? These are the questions we looked to one another, and IBM technology, to answer as we responded to the pandemic. Benny Yazdanpanahi Chief Information Officer City of Tyler

Despite these forward-thinking innovations, the COVID-19 pandemic raised new challenges for Tyler’s city council, government employees, volunteers and residents. Work processes and resources had to be virtualized, data access needed to increase in speed and availability, and city operations would require additional technological support — all without sacrificing the quality of these services.

City of Tyler officials knew that to better understand and respond to changes in the community, they would need to upgrade their IT infrastructure again.

Becoming a smarter smart city

When faced with the pandemic-driven demand for more remote data access, the City of Tyler decided to expand on an already successful VMware-enabled virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) operation. The city contacted Mark III Systems — an IT transformation solutions provider and IBM Business Partner — to help it upgrade its infrastructure and find technology solutions that deliver the highest levels of protection, privacy and security.

Mark III Systems helped the city integrate IBM FlashSystem® 7200 technology into its IT stack. The IBM FlashSystem 7200 brings high-end capabilities to organizations in need of enterprise mid-range storage. Once this solution was deployed, the city was able to use the storage virtualization capabilities of IBM Spectrum® Virtualize software within IBM FlashSystem 7200 to extend data services to its existing storage, improving the performance and efficiency of these systems.

“IBM Storage technologies give us the ability to capitalize on our current infrastructure,” says Benny Yazdanpanahi, Chief Information Officer for the City of Tyler. “IBM Spectrum Virtualize optimizes and refreshes our existing flash storage so we can modernize while keeping infrastructure costs low.”

“IBM FlashSystem 7200 was a game changer for us,” adds Jeremy English, IT Infrastructure Manager for the city. “The ability to deliver modern, efficient applications and deploy virtual desktops allowed us to quickly transition to a work-from-home system that worked for everyone.”

This storage system serves as the back end for the City of Tyler’s VDI operation. The platform provides access to flash modules and enhanced processors that reduce latency and improve performance for the virtual systems.

The city’s IT team relies on the automated monitoring and predictive analytics of IBM® Storage Insights, a storage-management feature of IBM flash storage solutions, to ensure that problems are resolved quickly while availability and performance remain at the highest level. The upgraded virtual desktops that these solutions support enable city employees — from law enforcement to IT staff — to quickly access the information they need to serve the community, whether they are in an office, a patrol car, or at home.

IBM FlashSystem 7200 was a game changer for us. The ability to deliver modern, efficient applications and deploy virtual desktops allowed us to quickly transition to a work-from-home system that worked for everyone. Jeremy English IT Infrastructure Manager City of Tyler
Answering the call to S.E.R.V.E. with IBM technology

The City of Tyler relied on IBM Storage technology to cost-effectively support the virtual systems, workloads and applications that are crucial to its workforce, which strives to embody the city’s motto, “Called to S.E.R.V.E.” – an acronym for Streamline, Empower, Respond, Venture and Evaluate.

These virtual systems allow users to log in faster than they could with physical desktops, with average login times of about 20 seconds — three times faster than the industry standard. This speed enables the City of Tyler to achieve higher levels of efficiency and empowers its employees with information that’s readily available, anytime and anywhere.

IBM FlashSystem 7200, built on IBM Spectrum Virtualize software, and IBM Storage Insights have dramatically improved the city’s data access and provided its employees and citizens with greater transparency, better public services and a stronger community.

“We all come together to be a smart city. The council invests in new technologies that empower our employees and the amazing work they do, and in turn, we’re able to create services that make the City of Tyler a better home for our citizens,” concludes Yazdanpanahi.

City of Tyler logo
About the City of Tyler

The City of Tyler (link resides outside of ibm.com), in Texas, is the county seat of Smith County. The city government offers public safety, transportation, parks and recreation, and sanitation services for the community. The city’s motto, “Called to S.E.R.V.E.,” is an acronym for Streamline, Empower, Respond, Venture and Evaluate — the goals established under the Tyler Blueprint.

About Mark III Systems

Mark III Systems, (link resides outside of ibm.com) an IBM Business Partner for 25 years, is a multi-disciplinary, “full stack” solutions provider with enterprise, public sector and service provider clients of all sizes. Its unique enterprise full stack capabilities comprise of a team of data scientists, developers, DevOps/Automation engineers, and systems architects and engineers, all working to help clients innovate and power forward with digital and IT transformation.

Next up:
Achieving a 20% increase in end-user application performance with a cloud ready infrastructure Mondi Group case study Learn more in the IBM Storage Community Community
Footnotes

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, October 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, IBM FlashSystem, and IBM Spectrum are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at https://www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.

VMware, the VMware logo, VMware Cloud Foundation, VMware Cloud Foundation Service, VMware vCenter Server, and VMware vSphere are registered trademarks or trademarks of VMware, Inc. or its subsidiaries in the United States and/or other jurisdictions.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.