基于边缘的分析推动更智能的运营
配备 AI 的移动机器人来拓展员工队伍

周五晚上的制造工厂内。Lauren 刚刚接班,她的工作是监管计算机,这些计算机用于监视生产机器上的传感器。

她坐在桌子前监视几块屏幕,屏幕上显示有机器遥测数据,她感到自己的工作有点单调,但令她高兴的是,比起以前必须亲自检查每台机器,现在的工作更有预见性,也更轻松。

这时,警报响起。设备传感器指示压力突然下降,这意味着 Lauren 需要亲自目视检查机器是否存在泄漏。为此,她必须戴上安全帽和护目镜,然后深入工厂车间。这不是她想象中的周五夜班,她不知道自己是否应该另找一份更有趣、更有技术含量的工作。

Lauren 并不是个例。制造商面临着吸引和留住像她这样的优秀员工的问题。

事实上,当今的工业生产线技术含量很高,具有自动化和机器遥测功能,必须全天候监控。所有这些数据都必须由使用剪贴板或平板电脑的人员手动收集,或者由设备本身安装的数百或数千个传感器收集。然后必须手动或通过资产监视系统对数据进行分析。然而,尽管实现了所有这些自动化,但在识别和解决泄漏等问题时,像 Lauren 这样的员工仍然面临着可能的危险。

物联网成本节约

 

Spot 是一款背负传感器设备和分析功能的移动机器人,可降低与物联网仪器相关的成本

提高效率

 

Spot 的例行巡检路线和后续任务分配提高了工人效率

由于安装过程的复杂,使用固定传感器解决数据问题不具可扩展性。而手动方法,并不具有有效性或高效率。这两者都无法提供真正所需的大数据分析工具价值。 Michael Perry Vice President of Business Development Boston Dynamics
工业困境

自 Henry Ford 在工厂生产线上生产出第一辆 T 型车以来,工业设施一直在不断发展演进。如今,自动化和机器人技术已成为工厂车间的常态。不过,制造商和其他工厂运营商必须对这些机器进行维护和修理,以保证工厂的正常运行,这就需要不断收集和分析数据。

全球移动机器人领域的领先企业 Boston Dynamics 业务开发副总裁 Michael Perry 描述了这个问题:“由于工作场地的复杂度与体量,可能会限制轮式机器人和履带式机器人的施展,它们难于应付狭窄的空间、楼梯和不平坦的地形,因而在自动化作业中尚未成功应用。收集数据的机器人引入智能后,将具有最强的实用性,智能不仅指计算,还包括现场发生情况与处理所有现场数据的设施之间的通信。”

随着时间的推移,公司基本上采用了两种方法之一来收集和分析机器生成的数据。更传统的方法是指派技术人员在整个工厂定期记录机器读数。即便一台机器可能一年只出现一次问题,技术人员也需要每天或每周记录该机器的数据,以便在小问题演变成重大故障之前发现它们。工人必须维护和修理设备,有时环境很危险或嘈杂。

另一种方法是在每台设备上安装传感器,然后使用资产管理应用程序收集和分析传感器数据。IBM 设计了 IBM® Maximo® Application Suite 来分析存储在云中的传感器数据。然而,制造商首先面临设备检测的高昂成本,存储数据的进一步成本,最后需要购买解决方案来分析数据。这往往使小型企业无法获得全套仪器。

IBM Research® 的 DE Research 认知物联网解决方案总监 Nancy Greco 解释道:“基于边缘的传感器生成大量数据,并传输到云端。制造商查看他们的云账单,不明白他们为什么要花这么多钱,只是让数据告诉他们一切都正常,没有任何问题。

第三种解决方案是派出一个机器人,该机器人设计为定期检查设备并从其遥测仪器收集数据。这就是 Boston Dynamics 研发的狗形机器人 Spot 的灵感来源。Spot 可以去到人可以去到的任何地方,并能更频繁、更准确地收集数据。不过,即使有摄像头和其他传感器,Spot 也无法自行解读数据。仍然需要分析数据,因此当 Spot 发现异常时,需要人工干预来解决问题。

由于工作场地的复杂度与体量,可能会限制轮式机器人和履带式机器人的施展,它们难于应付狭窄的空间、楼梯和不平坦的地形,因而在自动化作业中尚未成功应用。收集数据的机器人引入智能后,将具有最强的实用性,智能不仅指计算,还包括现场发生情况与处理所有现场数据的设施之间的通信。 Michael Perry Vice President of Business Development Boston Dynamics
移动机器人 + AI

IBM 和 Boston Dynamics 决定提出一个问题:能否在边缘安全地收集和分析工厂数据?降低对每台设备的仪器安装要求和相关成本,同时使得员工无需在工厂车间手动收集数据或避免手动收集数据给员工带来的危险处境,这两家公司,能否做到兼顾这些需求?答案是肯定的。

Boston Dynamics 和 IBM 正在将他们的技术结合在一起,为 Spot 创建基于人工智能的解决方案。“Boston Dynamics 和 IBM 已着手共同解决数据采集和数据智能方面的问题,”Perry 表示,“从不同的客户那里,我们都得到了同样的问题反馈。”怎样才能真实地了解复杂的工业现场中正在发生的情况?”

Spot 的应用,已经降低了在每台设备上都安装传感器的需求。现在,IBM 正在将 AI 和 Maximo 解决方案的强大功能添加到 Spot 中,以提供边缘分析。在 IBM 的帮助下,Spot 可以通过其机载摄像头和传感器解释它“看到”的内容。可以实时在机器人上进行分析,减少了对单独的云数据存储和分析的需求。Spot 是 IBM AI@Edge 混合云战略的延伸。

Greco 说:“Spot 成为一种漫游边缘设备,可以携带有效的分析技术,前往用户需要的任何地方。它可以进入狭小的空间。它可以爬台阶。它将能够处理所有分析。”

高度可定制、优化的人工智能模型不仅仅是识别问题,还可以帮助 Spot 检测异常情况并立即启动纠正措施。Perry 表示,“Spot 可以巡查现场,识别问题,并使用 Maximo 自动生成工作单,并执行后续步骤以解决问题。”

除了 Maximo 之外,IBM 还利用其在资产管理、人工智能和 5G 技术方面丰富的经验和专业知识,与 Boston Dynamics 的 Spot 联合打造了这款具有人工智能功能的产品。

IBM® Consulting 顾问正在为 Boston Dynamics 提供实施和支持服务。他们还将提供行业咨询,帮助满足客户的特定需求。最后,使用 Red Hat® 技术意味着可以在混合云环境中以经济高效的方式轻松部署分析。

Perry 这样描述双方的合作关系:“Boston Dynamics 带来了 Spot,它具有机器人平台的机动性和灵活性,而 IBM 则带来了其系统的智能性,能够了解和洞察 Spot 正在收集的数据。”

机器人与智能的结合正在推动创新。它不仅仅是感知世界的能力,同时也是感知世界并与之交互的能力。 Michael Perry Vice President of Business Development Boston Dynamics
前往人类无法到达的地方

对于任何工业客户来说,保持生产线正常运转都是盈利的关键。最重要的是,结合了人工智能的 Spot 产品有助于缩短发现异常的时间,在异常情况演变成灾难性问题之前将其消灭在萌芽状态。Spot 可以为任何规模的公司提供这种服务,对于那些无法负担 100% 设备仪器或云存储成本的小型企业,也能从 Spot 提供的漫游仪器中获益。

Greco 表示:“我们的客户需要一种经济实惠的方式来降低风险,确保其机器不会出现故障。现在,他们可以经济实惠地实现该目标,减少仪器数量,降低数据迁移量和延迟,并提高数据安全性。”

借助嵌入式 IBM Maximo 分析功能,Spot 可帮助延长设备的正常运行时间。它不仅能识别异常情况,还能解释可能的原因并提出补救措施。它可以为重大问题创建工作单,也可以重新审视小问题。“连接到 IBM 服务的 Spot 可以提供大量洞察,这样客户就可以延长这些资产的运行时间,在问题发生之前及时发现并避免停机,从而保障资产的正常运行,”Perry 说。

Spot 并不是要取代人工。其目的是帮助确保员工安全并提高他们的效率。Lauren 不必随时待命准备检查可能的泄漏,而是可以派 Spot 进行检查并根据需要安排维护。正如搜救犬能够前往驯导员无法到达之处,从而提升救援效果,反应敏捷移动灵活的 Spot,可以进入当下人类工作人员无法进入的化学物质、噪音或其他特殊危险环境。

使用 Spot 检测和修复问题不会取代工人,但它为公司提供机会,可以将其员工转岗到能更好发挥技能的职位。Greco 将 Spot 称为“协作机器人”,因为它与人类合作,就像搜救犬与其训导员合作一样。像 Lauren 这样的技术人员现在可以使用和训练 Spot,让它在工厂里巡回解决问题。又或许,她可以转向其他更高技术含量的关键工作,补齐工厂所需的技术人才。

Perry 说:“人的能力最好是用来解决问题...而不是不得不花时间和精力,冒着健康风险去完成乏味且微不足道的任务。这是一个机会,让 Spot 执行一些琐碎、重复的任务,执行危险环境中的任务,这样,人们就可以腾出时间去接受更多高价值的技能培训。”

随着 IBM 和 Boston Dynamics 进一步开发具有人工智能功能的 Spot,两家公司的兴奋之情溢于言表。IBM 的各个团队正在将他们认为可以从使用 Spot 和 IBM 分析中受益的用例,提供给负责该项目的团队。IBM 正在探索与生态系统合作伙伴在 5G 等领域的合作,利用他们的能力将最新技术引入 Spot,为 IBM 和 Boston Dynamics 的客户创造最大价值。

Boston Dynamics 将继续增强 Spot 的功能,IBM 将继续构建更准确的模型。IBM Research 将持续为 Boston Dynamics 提供新的分析方法,包括声学、嗅觉、成分分析等。

就 Spot 而言,“机器人技术和智能的结合正在推动创新。它不仅仅是感知世界的能力,同时也是感知世界并与之交互的能力。”Perry 总结道。

Boston Dynamics 徽标
关于 Boston Dynamics

Boston Dynamics外部链接是开发和部署高移动性机器人的全球领先企业,能够应对最严峻的机器人挑战。该公司的核心使命是引领先进机器人的创造和交付,旨在对社会产生积极影响。该公司成立于 1992 年,前身是麻省理工学院 Leg Lab 实验室,在《Inc.》杂志 2020 年的评选中荣膺最佳职场。

采取下一步行动
探索更多案例研究 以敏捷的系统工程方法迎接工业 4.0 ASTRI
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 5 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Research 以及 Maximo 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade 网站上找到。

Red Hat®、JBoss®、OpenShift®、Fedora®、Hibernate®、Ansible®、CloudForms®、RHCA®、RHCE®、RHCSA®、Ceph® 和 Gluster® 是 Red Hat, Inc. 或其子公司在美国和其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 业务合作伙伴自行设定价格,价格可能会有所不同。 IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

Spot 不是 IBM 产品或服务。Spot 根据 Boston Dynamic 的条款和条件(视情况而定)向用户出售或许可,这些条款和条件随产品或服务一起提供。Spot 的可用性以及所有保证、服务和支持由 Boston Dynamic 直接负责,并直接向用户提供。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Edge-based analytics drive smarter operations

Mobile robots outfitted with AI extend the workforce
by Michelle Cloutier
6-minute read

It’s Friday night at the manufacturing plant. Lauren, whose job it is to supervise the computers that monitor the sensors on the production machines, has just come on shift.

As she settles in at her desk to watch several screens that display machine telemetries, she thinks about how boring her job is, but she’s glad that it is more predictable and relaxing than when she had to inspect every machine herself.

Then, an alarm sounds. An equipment sensor has indicated sudden pressure loss, which means Lauren needs to visually inspect the machine for a possible leak. To do so, she must don a hardhat and goggles and venture deep onto the factory floor. This isn’t how she imagined her Friday night shift would go, and she wonders if she should find another, more interesting and technical job.

Lauren is not alone. And manufacturers face problems attracting and keeping good workers like her.

Today’s industrial production lines are, in fact, highly technical, with automation and machine telemetry that must be monitored around the clock. All that data must be gathered, either manually by someone with a clipboard or a tablet, or by hundreds or thousands of sensors installed on the equipment itself. Then the data must be analyzed, either manually or through asset monitoring systems. Yet, despite all this automation, often when it comes to identifying and solving problems such as leaks, workers like Lauren still face dangerous conditions.

Spot, a mobile robot with sensor devices and analytics on its back,

reduces

costs associated with IoT instrumentation

Spot’s routine inspection routes and follow-up task assignments

improve

worker efficiency

Approaching the data problem with fixed sensors is just not scalable given the complexity of the installation process. And manual methods are just not effective or efficient. Neither provides the value that you really want from big data analytics tools.
Michael Perry
Vice President of Business Development, Boston Dynamics
Woman in hard hat with tablet inspecting machinery

Industrial dilemma

Industrial facilities have been evolving ever since Henry Ford produced the first Model T automobile on a factory production line. Today, automation and robotics are the norm on the factory floor. But manufacturers and other plant operators must maintain and repair those machines to keep their plants running, which requires constant data collection and analysis.

Michael Perry, Vice President of Business Development at Boston Dynamics, the global leader in mobile robotics, describes the problem: “Automation with traditional robots hasn’t been successful because of the complexity and scale of the sites, which can be limiting for wheeled and tracked robots that struggle with tight spaces, stairs and uneven terrain. Robots gathering data are also most useful when connected to intelligence, which is not just the computing, but also the communication between what’s happening in the field and whatever is processing all the onsite data.”

Over time, companies have largely adopted one of two ways to collect and analyze the data their machines generate. The more traditional method involves sending technicians throughout the plant to record machine readings on a regular basis. Even if a machine may only exhibit issues once a year, the technician needs to record the data from that machine daily or weekly to spot minor problems before they can become major failures. And workers must maintain and fix equipment, sometimes in hazardous or noisy environments.

Spot inspecting steam pipes
Spot inspecting machinery

The other method is to install sensors on each piece of equipment, then collect and analyze that sensor data with asset management applications. IBM designed its IBM® Maximo® Application Suite to analyze this sensor data, which is stored in the cloud. However, manufacturers first face high costs to instrument their equipment, further costs to store the data and finally the need to purchase the solution to analyze it. This often puts full instrumentation beyond the reach of smaller enterprises.

Nancy Greco, Director, DE Research Cognitive IoT Solutions at IBM Research®, explains: “Edge-based sensors generate a massive amount of data going to the cloud. The manufacturers look at their cloud bill and wonder why they’re spending so much money to see that the data is telling them everything is okay, that there’s nothing wrong.”

A third solution is to send in a robot designed to regularly inspect equipment and collect data from its telemetry instruments. This was the inspiration for Spot, the dog-like robot created by Boston Dynamics. Spot can go anywhere a person can go and collect data more frequently and more accurately. However, even with cameras and other sensors, Spot cannot interpret data for itself. The data still needs to be analyzed, so when Spot finds an anomaly, it needs human intervention to resolve the problem.

Automation with traditional robots hasn’t been successful because of the complexity scale of the sites, which can be limiting for wheeled and tracked robots that struggle with tight spaces, stairs and uneven terrain. Robots gathering data are also most useful when connected to intelligence, which is not just the computing, but also the communication between what’s happening in the field and whatever is processing all the onsite data.
Michael Perry
Vice President of Business Development, Boston Dynamics

Mobile Robots + AI

IBM and Boston Dynamics decided to ask the question: can plant data be safely collected and analyzed at the edge? Could the two companies help eliminate the need for personnel to manually collect data or put themselves in harm’s way on factory floors while reducing the requirement, and associated costs, of instrumenting every piece of equipment? The answer was a resounding “yes.”

Boston Dynamics and IBM are bringing their technologies together to create an AI-based solution for Spot. “Boston Dynamics and IBM came to the table trying to solve the same combination of data acquisition and data intelligence problems,” says Perry. “Both of us were hearing the same questions from our customers. ‘How can I get a real, true picture of what’s happening on this complicated industrial site?’”

Using Spot already helps eliminate the need to put sensors on every piece of equipment. Now, IBM is adding the power of AI and Maximo solutions to Spot to provide analytics at the edge. With help from IBM, Spot can interpret what it “sees” through its onboard cameras and sensors. The analytics happens on the robot in real time, reducing the need for separate cloud data storage and analysis. Spot is an extension of the IBM AI@Edge Hybrid Cloud strategy.

Spot in boiler room
Mumbai cityscape at Grant Road Station, India

“Spot becomes a roaming edge device, carrying a payload of analytics technology wherever the user needs it to go,” says Greco. “It can get into tight spaces. It can climb steps. And it’s going to bring all those analytics with it.”

Instead of just identifying a problem, highly customizable, optimized AI models help Spot to detect anomalies and immediately initiate corrective actions. According to Perry, “Spot can go around a site, identify a problem and, using Maximo, automatically generate a work order with next steps to resolution.”

Beyond Maximo, IBM is bringing the full breadth and depth of its experience and expertise in asset management, AI and 5G technology to create this joint offering with Boston Dynamics of Spot with AI capabilities.

IBM Global Business Services® consultants are providing implementation and support services to Boston Dynamics. They will also provide industry consulting to help address customers’ specific needs. Finally, using Red Hat® technology means that the analytics are readily deployable, in a cost-effective way, in a hybrid cloud environment.

Perry describes the relationship in this way: “Boston Dynamics is bringing the mobility and the flexibility of Spot as a robotic platform, and IBM is bringing the intelligence of its systems to understand the data that Spot is collecting.”

The combination of robotics and intelligence is driving innovation. It’s not just the ability to sense the world, but to sense the world and interact with it.
Michael Perry
Vice President of Business Development, Boston Dynamics

Going where no human can go

Woman seated at double monitors

For any industrial customer, keeping production lines up and running is the key to profitability. Most critically, the joint Spot offering helps reduce the time to detect anomalies, spotting them before they can become catastrophic problems. And Spot can do this for companies of any size, allowing small facilities that could not otherwise afford 100% equipment instrumentation or the cost of cloud storage to benefit from the roaming instrumentation that Spot provides.

“Our clients needed an affordable way to reduce the risk, to make sure their machines don’t go down,” says Greco. “Now they can do that in an affordable manner, reducing the amount of instrumentation, reducing the amount of data movement and latency, and improving data security.”

With its embedded IBM Maximo analytics, Spot can help increase equipment uptime. Not only can it identify anomalies; it can interpret their probable cause and suggest remedies. It can create work orders for major problems or take a second look at minor issues. “Spot connected to IBM services can provide a lot of insight, so that customers can run these assets for longer periods of time, catch problems before they happen and avoid downtime so that they can keep their assets up and running,” says Perry.

Spot isn’t meant to replace human workers. It’s meant to help keep them safe and make them more efficient. Instead of Lauren gearing up to inspect a possible leak, she can send Spot to inspect it and schedule maintenance as needed. Like a search and rescue dog that augments its handler’s effectiveness by going where they cannot go, an agile, mobile Spot can enter dangerous environments where today, workers cannot go because of chemicals or noise or other hazards.

Using Spot to detect and repair problems will not replace workers, but it may provide an opportunity for companies to elevate their workforce to roles that better use workers’ skills. Greco calls Spot a “co-bot” because it works with the human, much as the search dog works with its handler. A technician such as Lauren can now handle and train Spot to roam the factory and fix problems. Or she may move on to other, critical high-tech jobs that the manufacturer hasn’t been able to fill.

“It’s better to leverage the capabilities of people to problem solve … rather than having to spend the time and energy and potentially risk their health doing very tedious, menial tasks,” says Perry. “This is an opportunity to take some of those mundane, repetitive tasks, some of those dangerous-environment tasks, and use Spot, freeing the human to go and get more high-value training.”

As IBM and Boston Dynamics further develop Spot with AI capabilities, the excitement at both companies is palpable. Teams throughout IBM are bringing use cases that they feel could benefit from using Spot and IBM analytics to the team working on this project. IBM is exploring working with ecosystem partners in areas such as 5G to use their capabilities to bring the latest technology to Spot, creating the greatest value for IBM and Boston Dynamics’ clients.

Boston Dynamics will continue to augment Spot’s capabilities, and IBM will continue to build more accurate models. IBM Research will bring a continuous pipeline of new analytics to the relationship with Boston Dynamics, including acoustics, smell, compositional analysis and more.

In the case of Spot, “The combination of robotics and intelligence are driving innovation. It’s not just the ability to sense the world, but to sense the world and interact with it,” concludes Perry.

Boston Dynamics logo

About Boston Dynamics

Boston DynamicsExternal Link is the global leader in developing and deploying highly mobile robots capable of tackling the toughest robotics challenges. The company’s core mission is to lead the creation and delivery of advanced robots designed to positively impact society. Founded in 1992, Boston Dynamics spun out of the MIT Leg Lab and is one of Inc. Magazine’s Best Workplaces of 2020.

Solution components
Boston Dynamics logo

About Boston Dynamics

Boston DynamicsExternal Link is the global leader in developing and deploying highly mobile robots capable of tackling the toughest robotics challenges. The company’s core mission is to lead the creation and delivery of advanced robots designed to positively impact society. Founded in 1992, Boston Dynamics spun out of the MIT Leg Lab and is one of Inc. Magazine’s Best Workplaces of 2020.

Solution components