香港应用科技研究院有限公司

以敏捷的系统工程方法迎接工业 4.0

香港应用科技研究院 (ASTRI) 致力于帮助客户快速创建智能制造设备并加速数字化转型。利用 IBM® Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody® 软件,ASTRI 使用基于模型的系统工程 (MBSE) 来构建其所使用设备的数字“双胞胎”,帮助工程师更早地开发和测试软件,并更快地识别缺陷。

业务挑战

为帮助开发智能制造技术,香港应用科技研究院有限公司 (ASTRI) 希望为其客户引入更敏捷的开发方法。

变革

ASTRI 利用 Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody 软件进行需求驱动分析和基于模型的设计,从而缩短了集成时间并降低了成本。

结果 将软件系统
集成到物理设备所需的时间减少 40%
使用数字和物理双胞胎方法
进行开发所需成本降低 30%
荣获
2018 年香港工业奖之设备及机械设计奖
业务挑战案例
新工业革命

我们正置身于一场工业革命之中。第四次工业革命(即工业 4.0)是制造业的下一阶段。这将是传统制造业的数字化转型,涉及在制造设备中添加自动化、智能技术和物联网 (IoT),从而产生能够协作、自我诊断问题和自我修复的智能机器。

ASTRI 成立于 2000 年,旨在通过应用研究提升香港科技产业的竞争力。ASTRI 的信息物理系统部门致力于使用 MBSE 为工业 4.0 时代的智能工厂设计、综合和验证关键任务系统。该部门创建的解决方案可帮助其制造客户优化整个工程生命周期,以缩短上市时间、降低开发成本并提高质量标准。

ASTRI 信息物理系统总监 T. John Koo 博士表示:“我认为数字化是实现工业 4.0 的关键词。数字世界为信息技术领域带来了许多伟大的创造,但制造业的数字化意味着是时候将物理世界与数字世界真正连接起来了。”

然而,在制造设备中引入数字技术,带来许多好处的同时也带来了新的挑战。为了修复设备软件中的错误或排除网络故障而关闭装配线,这种代价是制造商所无法承受的。ASTRI 希望找到一种方法,更有效地迭代开发其制造业客户所需的智能设备,从而优化运营、改善质量、提高生产力并应对不断上涨的制造成本。

我认为数字化是实现工业 4.0 的关键词。 Dr. T. John Koo Director of Cyber-Physical Systems Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited
变革案例
数字双胞胎加速开发

ASTRI 采用了需求驱动的分析和设计方法,可以更灵活地开发更智能的制造设备。该公司为其正在研发的设备创建了“双胞胎”版本,一个物理版本和一个数字版本。

ASTRI 使用 Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody 软件创建数字双胞胎及其系统模型。IBM 软件通过支持系统建模语言 (SysML) 和统一建模语言 (UML) 来实现 MBSE,以进行建模、模拟、测试和代码生成。利用系统模型,设计工程师就可以对数字双胞胎系统进行模拟和测试。如果工程师发现任何设计缺陷,他们可以使用 Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody 软件进行分析和解决。一旦数字双胞胎运行良好,应用程序代码就会被编译并加载到物理双胞胎上。

测试数字双胞胎使 ASTRI 能够在开发周期的早期发现设计缺陷。Koo 说:“如果采用传统方法,在软件和硬件全部就位之前,我们无法进行任何测试。这意味着我们只能测试完成的物理系统,也就表示我们在开发周期的后期才能发现缺陷”。此外,基于模型的系统开发使团队能够在生命周期的早期征求和验证客户需求,并能够更灵活地处理未来的设计变更。

数字双胞胎还使得项目开发的协作变得更加容易。过去依赖文本文档的工程团队,现在可以使用数字双胞胎中的数字资产作为协作的基础。

案例成果
打造屡获殊荣的智能设备

使用数字双胞胎,ASTRI 工程师显著减少了在物理双胞胎上验证软件性能所需的时间。此外,MBSE 使团队能够在开发生命周期的早期征求和验证客户需求,并能够更灵活地处理未来的设计变更。ASTRI 估计,双胞胎方法已将集成时间缩短了 40%,并将开发总成本降低了 30%。

利用这种新方法,ASTRI 与其一位客户共同创建了名为协作移动机械手 (CMM) 的机器人设备。CMM 设计为在洁净室内环境中自主运行,无需任何人工干预。CMM 配备了深度传感器、视觉系统和机械手,可以在环境中进行导航并执行拾取和放置任务。

自成功开发以来,CMM 一直在 24x7 连续运行,完成以前每班需要五名操作员才能完成的工作。2018 年,在享有盛誉的香港工业奖 (HKAI) 评选中,ASTRI 及其客户凭借 CMM 共同荣获设备及机械设计奖。

ASTRI 预计,对CMM 等智能工业设备的需求将继续增加。Koo 表示:“以往的需求就很旺盛,在新冠疫情之后更是格外高涨,这次疫情确实带来了不少新变化。对医疗设备等各种产品的需求不断增加。制造设施需要每天 24 小时运行的原因有很多,因此自动化和机器人技术的需求将会越来越大。”

ASTRI 工程师接受 IBM Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody 软件培训后,将继续帮助 ASTRI 客户缩短开发时间,同时确保他们正在开发系统的质量和可靠性。

香港应用科技研究院有限公司徽标
香港应用科技研究院有限公司

香港应用科技研究院有限公司(链接位于 IBM.com 外部)由香港特别行政区政府于 2000 年成立,旨在通过应用研究提高香港在科技行业的竞争力。ASTRI 的研发活动主要集中在智慧城市、金融技术、智能制造、健康技术和专用集成电路等领域。ASTRI 已建立了丰富的知识产权组合,并为各个行业和领域培养了许多优秀的研究人员。ASTRI 位于沙田香港科学园的办公空间拥有约 670 名员工。

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:

查看更多客户案例 查看敏度图
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Engineering, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 2 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 Rhapsody 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: https://ibm.com/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

To help develop smart manufacturing technology, Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited (ASTRI) wanted to introduce a more agile development approach for its customers.

Transformation

ASTRI adopted requirements-driven analysis and model-based design using Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody software, resulting in reduced integration time and decreased costs.

Results

40% reduction

in the time required to integrate software systems into physical equipment

30% decrease

in development costs using the digital and physical twin approach

Recognized at the Hong Kong Awards for Industries

with the prize for Equipment and Machinery Design in 2018

Business challenge story

A new industrial revolution

We’re in the middle of an industrial revolution. The Fourth Industrial Revolution, or Industry 4.0, is the next step in manufacturing. It’s the digital transformation of traditional manufacturing, and it involves adding automation, smart technology and the Internet of Things (IoT) to manufacturing equipment, resulting in smart machines that can collaborate, self-diagnose problems and fix themselves.

ASTRI was founded in 2000 to promote Hong Kong’s competitiveness in technology-based industries through applied research. The Cyber-Physical Systems department at ASTRI is dedicated to using MBSE to design, synthesize and validate mission-critical systems for smart factories in the Industry 4.0 era. The department creates solutions that help its manufacturing customers optimize the entire engineering life cycle to shorten time to market, reduce development costs and enhance quality standards.

“I think digitalization is the key word for enabling Industry 4.0,” says Dr. T. John Koo, Director of Cyber-Physical Systems at ASTRI. “The digital world has enabled many great creations in the information technology domain, but digitalization for manufacturing means that it is time to really connect the physical world with the digital one.”

However, while adding the digital technology to manufacturing equipment brings many benefits, it also introduces new challenges. Manufacturers can’t afford to shut down an assembly line to fix a bug in the equipment’s software or to troubleshoot a network failure. ASTRI wanted to find a way to more effectively iterate on the development of smart equipment that its manufacturing customers need to optimize operations, improve quality, increase productivity and address the rising costs of manufacturing.

I think digitalization is the key word for enabling Industry 4.0.

Dr. T. John Koo, Director of Cyber-Physical Systems, Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited

Transformation story

A digital twin accelerates development

ASTRI adopted an approach to requirements-driven analysis and design that allows for a more agile way to develop smarter manufacturing equipment. The company creates “twin” versions of the piece of equipment it’s working on, one physical version and one digital version.

ASTRI creates the digital twin with its system model using Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody software. The IBM software enables MBSE with its support for Systems Modeling Language (SysML) and Unified Modeling Language (UML) for modeling, simulation, testing and code generation. Using the system model, design engineers can then perform simulations and tests on the digital twin. If the engineers identify any design defects, they can analyze and resolve them using the Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody software. Once the digital twin is performing well, the application code is compiled and loaded onto the physical twin.

Testing the digital twin enables ASTRI to find design defects much earlier in the development cycle. “With the conventional approach, we can’t do any testing until we have the full software and hardware in place,” says Koo. “That meant we could only test the finished physical system, which meant we were finding defects much later in the development cycle.” Plus, model-based systems development enables the team to solicit and validate customer requirements early in the life cycle and allows greater agility in handling future design changes.

The digital twin also makes it easier to collaborate on the development of the project. Engineering teams that used to rely on text-based documentation can now use the digital assets from the digital twin as the basis for collaboration.

Results story

Creating award-winning smart equipment

Using the digital twin, ASTRI engineers have significantly reduced the amount of time needed to validate software performance on the physical twin. In addition, MBSE enables the team to solicit and validate customer requirements earlier in the development life cycle and allows greater agility in handling future design changes. ASTRI estimates that the twin approach has reduced integration time by 40% and cut the total cost of development by 30%.

Using this new methodology, ASTRI co-created robotic equipment called the collaborative mobile manipulator (CMM) with one of its customers. The CMM is designed to operate autonomously in a clean-room environment without any human intervention. The CMM is equipped with depth sensors, a vision system and a manipulator that allows for conducing navigation in the environment and performing pick-and-place tasks.

Since its successful development, the CMM has been running 24x7, doing work that previously required five operators in each work shift. ASTRI and its customer co-received the prize for Equipment and Machinery Design at the prestigious Hong Kong Awards for Industries (HKAI) in 2018 for the CMM.

ASTRI anticipates that demand for smart industry equipment such as the CMM will continue to increase. “The demand was high before, but it’s extremely high after COVID-19,” says Koo. “COVID has created every kind of disruption. And there’s an increased demand for all kinds of products, such as medical devices. There are numerous reasons why manufacturing facilities would need to run 24 hours a day, so automation and robotics will be increasingly in demand.”

After receiving training from IBM on the Engineering Systems Design Rhapsody software, ASTRI engineers are positioned to continue helping ASTRI customers shorten development time, while ensuring the quality and reliability of the systems they are developing.

Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited  Logo

Hong Kong Applied Science and Technology Research Institute Company Limited

ASTRI (external link) was founded in 2000 by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region to enhance Hong Kong’s competitiveness in technology-based industries through applied research. ASTRI’s R&D activities focus on Smart City, Financial Technologies, Intelligent Manufacturing, Health Technologies and Application-Specific Integrated Circuits. ASTRI has built a rich portfolio of intellectual properties and nurtured many talented researchers for various industries and sectors. ASTRI has approximately 670 employees in its facilities at the Hong Kong Science Park in Shatin.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solution featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: