Banrisul
为巴西 400 万客户提供快速手机银行服务
两人与第三人达成交易。

随着业务不断增长,Banrisul 需要投资尖端技术解决方案。凭借全套 IBM® 高端解决方案产品组合,包括 IBM DS8880F 全闪存存储、IBM Spectrum Storage 软件和 IBM® Z 解决方案等,Banrisul 降低了成本,改善了客户服务。

业务挑战

经历快速增长后,Banrisul 的存储性能开始给关键的银行系统造成影响。重要的程序需要更快的执行速度,以免影响生产环境。

变革

Banrisul 利用 IBM DS8886F 全闪存存储、HyperSwap 和 IBM Spectrum Control,性能和弹性显著提高,可以应对未来的增长,并改善了客户体验,还降低了成本。

结果 最多可减少 60%
的批处理作业时间
高效
管理灾难恢复和存储解决方案
启用
帮助 Banrisul 追求手机和在线银行业务增长
业务挑战案例
面临的挑战

Banrisul 对流程和应用程序进行了数字化转型,为巴西国内和国外超过 400 万客户提供更加便利的全新体验。然而,随着客户交易量的增加,后台交易工作量也随之增加,给银行的 IT 基础设施带来了巨大的压力。

系统性能不断下降,Banrisul 如何继续提供卓越的客户服务?

为了支持其运营,Banrisul 选择了合作了数十年的 IBM 为其部署 IBM Z 企业服务器和 IBM® Db2 数据管理软件。当时,数据存储子系统逐渐过时,其使用水平始终在总容量的 70% 以上。此外,数据存储子系统无法利用 IBM Z 平台最新的 IBM zHyperWrite 技术。IBM zHyperWrite 是 IBM 存储系统的专有技术,可在 DB2 上实现卓越的写入性能。

除了这些挑战之外,备份和灾难恢复程序也非常复杂,需要一个冗长的手动过程才能启用故障转移。Banrisul 通过公开招标,邀请供应商提交新数据存储建议,然后根据法律要求寻找最具成本效益的解决方案。

Banrisul 的 IT 基础设施和运营经理 José Andrade 评论道:“不仅进一步增长的空间很小,而且糟糕的存储性能还影响了我们的 IBM Db2 数据库,而这个数据库涉及许多至关重要的业务流程。为了更有效地为客户服务,实现继续增长,在下一个 Banrisul IT 硬件更新周期之前,我们需要亚毫秒级响应时间、更高的吞吐量和足够的存储容量,才能满足预计业务增长的需求。”

由于性能卓越,且总体拥有成本较低,IBM DS8886F 将直接促进改善客户体验,帮助 Banrisul 业务持续取得成功。 José Andrade IT 基础设施和运营经理 Banrisul
变革案例
打造更加光明的数据未来

Banrisul 使用 IBM z14 服务器运行 IBM z/OS 2.2.0 IBM Db2 数据库软件来支持其核心银行业务,并设计了存储规格来支持和优化 z14 的处理能力和容量。银行对该解决方案进行了公开招标,三家供应商提交了建议书。经过仔细评估,IBM 中标。

Banrisul 选择了 IBM DS8886F 全闪存存储解决方案。该解决方案旨在提供极短的响应时间,非常适合新兴的云、移动、社交、分析和认知工作负载。Banrisul 与 IBM Systems Lab Services and Training 合作,根据其期望对存储基础设施进行了全面改造,使用了全新的全闪存 IBM 存储技术和 IBM Spectrum Storage 软件。

Banrisul 选择使用 IBM Transparent Data Migration Facility for z/OS 5.7 来迁移分布在 4,270 个数据卷上的 22TB 数据,无需让操作系统脱机。数据迁移耗时 15 小时,现有的备份服务也仍在继续,确保在迁移过程中也能充分保护 Banrisul 的数据。

完成向 DS8886F 数据系统迁移后,Banrisul 利用 IBM HyperSwap® 技术提供高可用性,旨在满足业务连续性的监管要求。借助 HyperSwap,数据可以在两个全双工存储系统之间进行镜像;如果一个站点不可用了,HyperSwap 将自动故障转移到可的辅助站点,确保可持续访问数据。

银行还结合使用在 Microsoft Windows 操作环境中运行的现有 IBM Copy Services Manager 软件,该软件与银行的 IBM z/OS 分区进行通信,自动执行和管理复制任务。Banrisul 使用 IBM® Storage FlashCopy 软件创建时间点副本,可立即提供读取或写入访问权限。

此外,Banrisul 还实施了 IBM® Spectrum Control Standard Edition 软件,辅助规划和管理所有存储设备的性能和容量,帮助银行优化现有投资,规划未来增长。

IBM Systems Lab Services and Training 与 Banrisul 合作部署和配置了 IBM DS8886F 系统和软件,希望最大限度提高可用性,增强数据保护,并优化 IBM z14 和存储环境。Banrisul 大型机运营支持经理 Jorge Motter 表示:“整个迁移过程非常顺利,我们在尽可能减少业务中断的情况下完成了部署。”

凭借 IBM Systems Lab Services and Training 的卓越服务和 IBM Spectrum Storage 解决方案,IBM DS8886F 和 IBM z14 为 Banrisul 提供了一个非凡、高性能且富有弹性的解决方案。 José Andrade IT 基础设施和运营经理 Banrisul
案例成果
经济高效,可应对未来增长

手机银行和家庭银行在线服务依赖的数据由 IBM z14 服务器处理、由 IBM Db2 管理、存储在 IBM DS8886F 上。部署了集成的 IBM 解决方案后,Banrisul 发现性能显著提升,其直接体现是客户体验明显改善。

José Andrade 表示:“更新支票账户交易的日常流程以前需要 19 小时,现在只需 13 小时;处理直接借记以前需要 10 小时,现在只需 4 小时;更新贷款支付金额以前需要 20 小时,现在只需 6 小时。我们没有升级服务器CPU;这些收益完全是因为全闪存 DS8886F 解决方案提升了数据 I/O 性能。”

对 Banrisul 而言,IBM 存储技术提高了其业务弹性和连续性,正如 José Andrade 所言:“以前,系统故障转移过程可能需要长达两个小时,其中许多流程依赖人工干预。借助 IBM HyperSwap,只需点击几下鼠标即可确认故障转移,而且我们最多只需 28 秒即可备份并在另一个实例上运行。

“在巴西,法律要求银行证明自己具有将数据处理故障转移到辅助站点的技术能力,通常每年要完成一至两次验证。借助 IBM DS8886F 和 HyperSwap 解决方案,我们可以立即轻松地证明合规性,而且无需中断业务,显著节省了时间和成本。”

Banrisul 还使用容量规划和存储管理软件 IBM Spectrum Control 进行性能监控,捕获并监测其存储环境中的 200 多个指标。这可帮助银行更好地管理这些关键的 IT 资源,而且无需增加技术团队的人数。

虽然 Banrisul 的主要目标是通过解决技术挑战来改善客户服务,但他们还因能耗降低、服务器机房空间减小而降低了总体拥有成本。全闪存 DS8886F 的重量和尺寸大约是磁盘阵列的一半,能耗也差不多只有它的一半,因而减少了数据中心的空调负载,降低了对 IT 环境的影响。

José Andrade 总结道:“由于性能卓越,且总体拥有成本较低,IBM DS8886F 将直接促进改善客户体验,帮助 Banrisul 业务持续取得成功。凭借 IBM Systems Lab Services and Training 的卓越服务和 IBM Spectrum Storage 解决方案,IBM DS8886F 和 IBM z14 为 Banrisul 提供了一个非凡、高性能且富有弹性的解决方案。”

Banrisul 徽标
Banrisul

Founded in 1928, Banco do Estado do Rio Grande do Sul (Banrisul)(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 1928 年,是南里奥格兰德州最大的银行,也是巴西第七大银行。2017 年,Banrisul 的年收入约为 30 亿美元,拥有 11,000 名员工和 400 多万位客户,在 433 个城市设有 500 多个网点。

采取下一步行动

如需进一步了解 IBM DS8880F 全闪存存储,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站: https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/products/ds8000f

 

了解更多信息 查看更多案例研究
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2019 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Db2、FlashCopy、HyperSwap、IBM Spectrum、IBM Spectrum Storage、IBM Z 和 z/OS 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 上的“版权和商标信息”部分中提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Microsoft、Windows 和 Windows NT 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

可能会报告未压缩和压缩数据的实际可用存储容量,并且会有所不同,并且可能会小于规定的容量。

Business challenge

As Banrisul experienced rapid growth, the performance of its storage was impacting key banking systems. Important procedures needed to execute more rapidly in order not to impact the production environment.

Transformation

With IBM DS8886F all-flash storage, HyperSwap and IBM Spectrum Control, Banrisul has gained significant performance and resiliency for future growth and better customer experience at a lower cost.

Results

Up to 60% reduction

in processing time for batch jobs

Efficient

management of disaster recovery and storage solutions

Enables

Banrisul to pursue its mobile and online banking growth

Business challenge story

Challenges of success

Digital transformation of processes and applications at Banrisul allows the delivery of new experiences and more convenience to its more than 4 million customers in Brazil and abroad. However, as customer transaction levels increase, the back-office transaction workload also grows, placing significant strain on the bank’s IT infrastructure.

Faced with declining systems performance, how could Banrisul continue to deliver outstanding customer service?

To support its operations, Banrisul, which keeps a decades-long partnership with IBM, relies on IBM Z® enterprise servers and IBM Db2® data management software. The data storage subsystem was getting obsolete with usage levels consistently above 70 percent of total capacity. In addition, the data storage subsystem was unable to take advantage of the latest IBM zHyperWrite technology for the IBM Z platform. IBM zHyperWrite is a technology exclusive for IBM storage and allows superior write performance on DB2.

Adding to these challenges, backup and disaster recovery procedures were complex, involving a lengthy set of manual procedures to enable failover. Banrisul invited vendors to submit proposals for new data storage capabilities in an open tender, and, as required by law, looked for the most cost-effective solution.

José Andrade, IT Infrastructure and Operations Manager at Banrisul, remarks, “Not only was there little room for further growth, but poor storage performance was also impacting our IBM Db2 database, which supports a number of critically important business processes. To serve our customers more effectively and continue our successful growth, we wanted sub-millisecond response times, higher throughput, and enough storage capacity for projected business growth until the next Banrisul IT hardware refresh cycle.”

The performance and lower total cost of ownership of the IBM DS8886F will directly contribute to enhancing the customer experience and supporting Banrisul’s ongoing business success.

José Andrade, IT Infrastructure and Operations Manager, Banrisul

Transformation story

Building a brighter data future

Banrisul uses IBM z14 servers running IBM z/OS 2.2.0 and IBM Db2 database software to support its core banking operations, and designed the storage specifications to support and optimize the processing power and capacity of the z14. The bank issued a public tender for the solution; three vendors made proposals, and, after careful evaluation, IBM’s proposal won the tender.

Banrisul selected IBM DS8886F all-flash storage solutions, designed to deliver extremely low response times, ideal for emerging cloud, mobile, social, analytics and cognitive workloads. Working with IBM Systems Lab Services and Training, Banrisul undertook a comprehensive overhaul of its storage infrastructure, based on new all-flash IBM Storage technology and IBM Spectrum Storage software, which performed according to expectations.

Banrisul selected IBM Transparent Data Migration Facility for z/OS 5.7 to migrate 22TB of data, distributed over 4,270 volumes, without the need to take operational systems offline. Data migration took 15 hours, and existing backup services continued, too, ensuring Banrisul’s data was fully protected even during the transition process.

With the migration to the DS8886F data system complete, Banrisul took advantage of IBM HyperSwap® technology to provide high availability, designed to comply with regulatory demands for business continuity. With HyperSwap, data is mirrored between two fully duplexed storage systems; if one site is no longer available, HyperSwap will automatically failover to the available system, providing continuous access to data.

The bank used this technology with its existing IBM Copy Services Manager software running in a Microsoft Windows operating environment that communicates with the bank’s IBM z/OS partitions to automate and manage replication tasks. Banrisul uses IBM Storage FlashCopy® software to create point-in-time copies that are immediately available for read or write access.

Additionally, Banrisul implemented IBM Spectrum® Control Standard Edition software to support performance and capacity planning and management across all its storage devices, helping the bank to optimize its existing investments and plan for future growth.

IBM Systems Lab Services and Training worked with Banrisul to deploy and configure the IBM DS8886F systems and software to maximize availability, enhance data protection and optimize the IBM z14 and storage environments. Jorge Motter, Mainframe Operations Support Manager at Banrisul, says, “The migration process was smooth, and we completed the deployment with minimal business disruption.”

Combined with excellent services from IBM Systems Lab Services and Training and the IBM Spectrum Storage solutions, IBM DS8886F and IBM z14 offer an outstanding, high-performance and high-resilient solution for Banrisul.

José Andrade, IT Infrastructure and Operations Manager, Banrisul

Results story

Cost-effective and ready for future growth

Mobile and home banking online services rely on the data processed by the IBM z14 server, managed by IBM Db2 and stored on IBM DS8886F. With the integrated IBM solutions in place, Banrisul is seeing significant performance improvements that translate directly into enhanced customer experience.

José Andrade remarks, “The daily process to update checking account transactions that formerly took 19 hours now takes just 13 hours; processing direct debits formerly took 10 hours and now takes 4 hours; and loan payment value updates that formerly took 20 hours now take 6 hours. We did not upgrade the server CPU; these gains are all due to improved data I/O performance from the all-flash DS8886F solution.”

For Banrisul, the introduction of IBM storage technologies has strengthened business resilience and continuity, as José Andrade explains: “The previous system failover process could take up to two hours, with many processes relying on manual intervention. With IBM HyperSwap, failover can be confirmed with a few clicks of a mouse, and we can be back up and running on the second instance in up to 28 seconds.

“In Brazil, banks are required by law to demonstrate that they have the technical capability to failover data processing to a secondary site, and validation is normally completed once or twice a year. With the IBM DS8886F and HyperSwap solution, we can demonstrate compliance immediately and easily with no business downtime, a significant time and cost saving.”

Using IBM Spectrum Control performance monitoring, a capacity planning and storage management software, Banrisul captures and monitors more than 200 metrics across its storage landscape. This helps the organization improve the management of these critical IT resources without increasing headcount in its technical team.

While Banrisul’s primary objective was to enhance customer service by solving technical challenges, the bank has also reduced its total cost of ownership through lower energy consumption and reduced server room real estate. The all-flash DS8886F is around half the weight and size of a disk-based array, and consumes about half the energy – and, consequently reduces the data center air conditioning load, lessening the IT environmental impact.

José Andrade concludes, “The performance and lower total cost of ownership of the IBM DS8886F will directly contribute to enhancing the customer experience and supporting Banrisul’s ongoing business success. Combined with excellent services from IBM Systems Lab Services and Training and the IBM Spectrum Storage solutions, IBM DS8886F and IBM z14 offer an outstanding, high-performance and resilient solution for Banrisul.”

business logo

About Banrisul

Founded in 1928, Banco do Estado do Rio Grande do Sul (Banrisul), is the largest Bank in the Rio Grande do Sul state, and the seventh-largest Brazilian bank. Banrisul generated an annual revenue of roughly USD 3 billion in 2017, has 11,000 employees, more than 4 million customers, and over 500 branches across 433 cities.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM DS8880F all-flash storage, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: www.ibm.com/us-en/marketplace/ds8000f

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware