什么是技能提升?
探索 watsonx Orchestrate
同事们在白板前一起工作

发布日期:2023 年 12 月 4 日
贡献者:Tasmiha Khan、Michael Goodwin

什么是技能提升?

技能提升是通过培训和发展计划提高员工技能的过程,能够最大限度地缩小技能差距,让员工为新工作或职位做好准备。

虽然技能提升的概念与多个行业相关,但它在 IT 行业尤为重要,因为这一行业唯一不变的就是变化。

解决技能差距是一个紧迫的问题。根据世界经济论坛发布的《2023 年就业未来报告》,预计到 2025 年,8,500 万个工作岗位将被自动化取代,而工作者 40% 的核心技能将发生变化。1当公司难以找到具备特定技能的新人才时,往往会导致职位空缺、项目延误和业务损失。作为回应,技能提升通过发展现有员工的技能来满足当前和未来的需求,提供了一种变革性的解决方案。

技能提升通常对雇主和雇员都有好处。对于雇主来说,这是一种具有成本效益的策略——内部晋升往往比寻求外部聘用更经济、更高效。1内部候选人已经融入了公司的文化和流程,这反过来又使他们能无缝胜任新的职位并承担相应职责。简而言之,技能提升有助于公司留住优秀人才,并展示对他们的承诺。

对于员工来说,技能提升举措证明了他们在组织中的价值。这是对他们成长的投资,能提供职业发展(和提高薪资)的途径、提升工作满意度并培养社区意识。最近的研究表明,员工对此类计划很感兴趣。O’Reilly 2021 年的一项数据/AI 薪资调查发现,64% 的受访者在过去一年中参加了培训或获得了认证,其中 31% 在培训项目上花费超过 100 小时,包括参与研究生学位课程和阅读博客文章等。2

AI Academy 指南

获取指南,了解如何让 AI 服务于 HR 和人才转型。

相关内容

订阅 IBM 时事通讯

技能提升与再培训

技能提升领域有两个基本概念:技能提升和再培训。技能提升通常涉及强化现有技能,使员工在当前职位更加游刃有余,或为职位做好准备。再培训需要学习全新技能,通常是为了适应不断变化的工作需求。在 IT 行业,技能提升和再培训都是常见且有价值的策略。

例如,疫情显著加快了各行业的自动化和数字化转型3,从而产生了对技能提升和再培训的迫切需求。突然转变为远程办公时,公司不得不迅速为员工提供必要的技能和技术,使他们能够有效地居家办公。例如,销售专员需要熟练使用 Zoom 等工具来寻找潜在客户和开展虚拟会议。

技能提升策略

为满足不断变化的工作要求和行业需求,组织在帮助员工提高现有技能或学习新技能时可以考虑以下策略:

执行行业和组织评估

评估行业趋势和需求,并确定组织所在行业内关键的专门技术。然后,将研究结果与当前员工技能和公司目标进行比较。

更深入地了解组织所在行业的发展方向将有助于识别最有价值的员工(具备哪些技能),并确保技能提升工作符合组织目标。明智的做法是同时考虑短期和长期影响,以确保技能提升投资具有价值且目标准确。

兼顾软技能提升

认识到软技能的重要性,例如沟通、解决问题和领导技能,以及与技术专业知识的协同作用,使专业人士能够全面发展。在您的整体技能评估中,请考虑可能需要与技能提升工作同时进行的各种软技能培训。

融合人工智能与数字化转型

将 AI 和数字化转型目标纳入员工技能提升计划,以帮助员工乃至整个组织跟上技术进步的步伐。

循序渐进和持续学习

鼓励逐步增加与所获技能相匹配的责任,促进持续学习成为工作文化的一部分。在适当情况下,让员工按照自己的节奏学习。

提供无障碍学习体验

确保所有学习者都能获得包容性的学习体验。这有助于在组织内培养广泛的学习文化。人力资源部门可以在技能提升工作中发挥关键作用,帮助打造量身定制的发展计划,并确保技能提升过程顺利、高效,同时兼顾各方利益。

提供激励措施

为了鼓励员工参与技能提升计划,组织可以提供经济激励、福利、认证和资格认定机会,为新获得的技能提供薪酬和验证。新的认证和证书有助于充实简历,而经济和福利激励措施有助于为积极参与技能提升计划的员工提供即时价值和认可。

技能提升计划的类型

技能提升可以通过多种方法来实现,具体取决于所教授的技能以及员工的能力和偏好。这包括专门的现场培训研讨会、在线课程、自定进度认证、指导计划和研究生课程。所有这些举措都使个人能够通过获得亟需的技能来保持就业市场的竞争力。

培训计划

培训计划是技能提升的基本组成部分。这些举措提供了结构化的学习体验,使员工能够发展新技能并在各自领域保持竞争力。培训计划有多种形式,组织必须确定最适合其员工队伍的类别。

例如,组织是否有足够的资源提供内部培训,还是会将培训计划外包?培训能否在团体环境中提供?技能是否需要一对一指导?线下培训最有效吗?员工能否在线学习材料?思考此类问题将有助于组织确定最合适的方法。

在线课程

在线课程提供了灵活性和便利性,并且可以设置为允许员工按照自己的进度学习材料。这些课程还可以经常更新和改进,使内容与行业趋势保持同步。

其缺点在于某些技能可能无法通过线上环境有效教授。部分教学需要(或至少受益于)实践或现场教学。同样,组织将根据具体技能来权衡这些决策。

辅导计划

指导计划和团队成员跟踪在技能提升方面起着至关重要的作用。这些方法非常适合传统教学环境中无法教授的技能。员工可以借此机会观察职位的实际情况,获得对工作的真实感受。

组织还能通过指导计划利用公司内部的主题专家,让专家提升领导力,并让受训者直接接触到可以在学习过程中帮助解决问题的人。通常情况下,所有相关人员都能从中得到成长机会。

研究生课程

部分职位可能需要额外的学位和更正式的学习。组织通常投资于员工的教育发展,以换取员工未来对组织的承诺。此类计划有助于培养更多在各自领域处于领先地位的人才,由他们为组织提供更大的价值。

技能提升的优点

技能提升能提供宝贵优势,例如能力更强、面向未来的员工队伍、更高的员工满意度、成本效益等等。

提高员工保留率和满意度

公司对员工技能提升的投资表明他们重视员工的成长和发展。感到被重视的员工更有可能留任。技能提升可以提高员工的整体满意度,因为它为员工打开了通往新职业机会的大门,并展示出公司内部的多种发展途径。

“大辞职潮”期间(ibm.com 外部链接),Amdocs 对 1,000 名美国员工进行的一项调查(ibm.com 外部链接)发现,近三分之二的员工将缺乏培训和发展机会作为他们离开工作岗位的原因。490% 的受访者认为技能提升计划是潜在雇主的一个重要特征——对于科技行业员工来说,这一数据上升至 97%。

与技能提升相关的薪资上涨也有助于提高员工满意度和保留率。O'Reilly 2021 年数据/AI 薪资调查发现,对比在技能提升培训和发展方面花费超过 100 小时的数据和 AI 专业人员与花费 1-19 小时的同类人员,前者薪资增幅高出 55%。2

降低招聘成本

与雇用新员工相比,技能提升通常是一种更具成本效益的解决方案。雇用新员工需要完成大量工作:制作招聘启事、发布招聘广告、寻找和审查候选人、进行面试等等。使用招聘服务或代理机构也会让组织付出成本,通常根据一定比例的员工薪资或其他形式的薪酬来计算。

通过技能提升,公司可以培养知识渊博、多才多艺的员工队伍,并降低员工流失率4,因为参加技能提升计划的员工将感受到组织的支持,积极投身于职业发展。

雇用新员工的成本因行业和职位而异,但技能提升比雇佣新员工更具成本效益,这点已成为共识。Trakstar Hire(ibm.com 外部链接)将雇用新员工的成本定为 5,000 美元。这还不包括入职或培训。世界经济论坛《2023 年就业未来报告》得出结论:雇用一名新员工的平均成本为 4,425 美元,而一名员工技能提升的平均成本为 1,300 美元。1对于 IT 部门和更高级的职位,这些数字通常要高得多。

更具竞争力的员工队伍

不断提升技能的员工会在当前职位更加游刃有余,并且更能适应未来的职位。技能提升可以培养出更多有能力、有才华的员工,他们可以在公司内部担任高级职务,为组织的成功做出更大贡献。

世界经济论坛(ibm.com 外部链接)等组织的报告着重指出技能提升对于在就业市场保持竞争力的重要性。他们强调工作性质的快速变化,以及员工不断提高技能的必要性。

技能提升不仅仅是为了保持竞争力;还要培养适应能力、创造发展机会。员工能够借此机会探索不同的职业道路,优化简历或 LinkedIn 个人资料,朝着职业目标迈进。在 IT 领域,职业发展与技能提升密切相关。

更高的投资回报率

对员工发展的投资最终会带来回报。根据 2020 年 Guild Education 关于教育福利美元价值的报告,与 Guild 学费援助计划合作的公司在教育福利上每投资 1 美元,可净节省 2.84 美元。同一项研究发现,与没有此类计划的组织相比,这些计划还能使留住员工的成功率翻倍。5

相关解决方案
IBM watsonx Orchestrate

您是否意识到,每天列出的清单看似无穷无尽而其中充满了让人沮丧的重复性任务?若您能顺利解决问题并快速完成工作,那会怎么样?2022 年 CES 创新奖的获奖产品 IBM® watsonx Orchestrate 可以帮助您实现这一目标。该产品采用开创性技术,让您有更多的时间去完成自己想做的事情。

探索 watsonx Orchestrate

IBM 业务流程自动化解决方案

业务流程自动化工具使您能够了解并协调关键资源,包括人员、应用程序和系统。借助 IBM 业务流程自动化解决方案,您可以管理端到端业务流程、快速响应不断变化的市场条件、提高组织效率并减少可能对客户体验产生负面影响的错误。

深入了解 IBM 业务流程自动化解决方案

采取后续步骤

使用 IBM watsonx Orchestrate 构建您的 AI 助手,以简化团队的工作,并有效利用您的时间。Orchestrate 使用生成式 AI 和自动化技术管理和简化多个应用程序工作流程,以便您可以改善“待办事项”清单的执行。

探索 watsonx Orchestrate 预约实时演示
脚注

就业未来报告”(ibm.com 外部链接),世界经济论坛,2023 年 5 月
2021 年数据/AI 薪资调查”(ibm.com 外部链接),O’Reilly,2021 年 9 月 15 日
疫情如何加速先进经济体的数字化转型”(ibm.com 外部链接),Florence Jaumotte、Myrto Oikonomou、Carlo Pizzinelli、Marina M. Tavares,2023 年 3 月 21 日
2022 年劳动力:再培训、远程和更多报告”(ibm.com 外部链接),Amdocs,2022 年
教育福利的美元价值”(ibm.com 外部链接),Guild,2020 年 12 月

What is upskilling?
Explore IBM's upskilling solution Subscribe for AI updates
Colleagues working together at white board

Published: 4 December 2023
Contributors: Tasmiha Khan, Michael Goodwin

What is upskilling?

Upskilling is the process of improving employee skill sets through training and development programs to minimize skill gaps and prepare employees for new jobs or roles. 

While the concept of upskilling is relevant across various industries, it holds particular importance in the IT sector, where change is the only constant. 

Addressing the skills gap is a pressing concern. According to the Future of Jobs Report 2023 from the World Economic Forum, 85 million jobs are estimated to be displaced by automation by 2025, and 40% of core skills will change for workers.1 When companies struggle to find new talent possessing specific skills, it often results in vacant positions, project delays and lost business. In response, upskilling offers a transformative solution by developing the skills of existing employees to fill current and future needs.

Upskilling is often beneficial for both employers and employees. For employers, it is a cost-effective strategy—promoting from within often proves more economical and efficient than seeking external hires.1 Internal candidates are also already immersed in the company's culture and processes, which in turn allows them to more seamlessly integrate into new roles and responsibilities. In short, upskilling enables companies to retain, and demonstrate their commitment to, good talent.

For employees, upskilling initiatives are a testament to their value within the organization. It invests in their growth, provides avenues for career advancement and higher salaries (link resides outside ibm.com), enhances job satisfaction and fosters a sense of community. Recent research shows that there is an employee appetite for such programs. A 2021 Data/AI Salary Survey from O’Reilly found that 64% of respondents participated in training or obtained certifications in the past year, with 31% spending over 100 hours in training programs, ranging from graduate degree programs to reading blog posts.2

The data store for AI

Discover the power of integrating a data lakehouse strategy into your data architecture, including enhancements to scale AI and cost optimization opportunities.

Related content

Register for the ebook on generative AI

Upskilling vs. reskilling

In the realm of upskilling, there are two fundamental concepts: upskilling and reskilling. Upskilling typically involves enhancing existing skill sets to make employees more proficient in their current roles or prepare them for new ones. Reskilling requires learning entirely new skills, often to adapt to changing job demands. In the IT industry, both upskilling and reskilling are common—and valuable—strategies. 

For example, the pandemic significantly expedited the adoption of automation and digital transformation across industries3, leading to a crucial demand for upskilling and reskilling. With the abrupt transition to remote work, companies were compelled to promptly provide their employees with essential skills and technologies to enable them to effectively carry out their jobs from home. Sales professionals, for instance, needed to become proficient with tools like Zoom for lead pursuit and virtual meetings.

Upskilling strategies

Organizations might consider the following strategies as they help employees enhance existing skills, or learn new ones, to meet evolving job requirements and industry demands:

Perform industry and organizational assessment

Assess industry trends and demands, and identify key technical skills in the organization's industry. Then, compare this research to current employee skill sets and company goals.

A stronger understanding of where the organization’s industry is headed will help identify what sort of employees (with what skills) will be most valuable, and will help ensure that upskilling efforts match organizational goals. It’s wise to consider both short and long-term impacts to ensure that upskilling investments are worthwhile and accurately targeted.

Balance with soft skills enhancement

Recognize the importance of soft skills, like communication, problem-solving and leadership skills, and their synergy with technical expertise for well-rounded professionals. In your overall skill assessment, consider any soft skills training that might need to accompany technical upskilling efforts.

Integrate artificial intelligence and digital transformation

Incorporate AI and digital transformation goals into employee upskilling programs to help both employees, and the organization more broadly, keep pace with technological advancements.

Gradual progression and ongoing learning

Encourage a gradual increase in responsibilities aligned with the acquired skills, promoting continuous learning as a part of the work culture. Let employees learn at their own pace when appropriate.

Provide accessible learning experiences

Ensure that learning experiences are inclusive and accessible to all learners. This helps foster a broad culture of learning within organizations. Human resources departments can play a pivotal role in upskilling efforts, helping to shape tailored development programs, and ensuring that the upskilling process is smooth, efficient and takes the interests of all parties into account.

Offer incentives

To encourage employee engagement with upskilling initiatives, organizations can offer financial incentives, benefits, certifications and credentialing opportunities to provide compensation and validation for newly acquired skills. New certifications and credentials help bolster resumes, and financial and benefit incentives help to provide immediate value and recognition to employees who have proactively participated in upskilling programs.

Types of upskilling programs

Upskilling can be accomplished through several methods, depending on the skills being taught and employee capabilities and preferences. This includes specialized in-person training workshops, online courses, self-paced certifications, mentorship programs and graduate courses. All these initiatives empower individuals to stay competitive in the job market by acquiring in-demand skills.

Training programs

Training programs are a fundamental component of upskilling. These initiatives provide structured learning experiences that empower employees to develop new skills and remain competitive in their field. Training programs come in many forms, and organizations will have to decide which is best for their workforce.

For example, does the organization have the resources to provide training in-house, or will training programs be outsourced? Can training be offered in a group setting, or does the skill set require one-on-one instruction? Is the training most effective in-person, or can employees learn the material online? Thinking through these types of questions will help organizations identify the most appropriate approach.

Online courses

Online courses provide flexibility and convenience, and can be set up to allow employees to approach the material at their own pace. These courses can also be frequently updated and improved to keep content up to pace with industry trends.

One drawback, however, is that certain skills may not be as effectively taught in an online setting. Some instruction requires (or at least benefits from) hands-on or in-person instruction. Again, organizations will weigh these decisions on a skill-dependent basis.

Mentorship

Mentorship and shadowing team members plays a crucial role in upskilling. These techniques are great for skills that cannot be taught in a traditional instructional environment. They allow an employee to observe the role in action and get a live feel for the job.

Mentorship also allows the organization to leverage a subject matter expert within the company—and for this individual to sharpen leadership skills—and for the trainee to have direct access to someone who can help with questions along the way. It's a technique that often provides growth opportunities for all involved.

Graduate programs

Some roles may require additional degrees and more formal study. Organizations often invest in an employee’s educational development in exchange for a future commitment to the organization. Such programs help create more talented employees at the forefront of their fields who can provide greater value to the organization.

Benefits of upskilling

Upskilling offers valuable advantages such as a more capable and future-oriented workforce, greater employee satisfaction, cost efficiencies and more.

Improved employee retention and satisfaction

Companies that invest in upskilling their workforce show that they value their employees' growth and development. And employees who feel valued are more likely to stick around. Upskilling enhances overall employee satisfaction as it opens doors to new career opportunities and demonstrates to employees that there are multiple career paths within the company.

During the Great Resignation (link resides outside ibm.com), an Amdocs survey (link resides outside ibm.com) of 1,000 American workers found that nearly two thirds of employees cited a lack of training and development opportunities as the reason they would leave their jobs.4 Ninety percent of those surveyed consider upskilling programs to be an important feature in prospective employers—the figure rose to 97 percent for tech industry employees.

Employee satisfaction and retention is also assisted by the higher salaries associated with upskilling. O’Reilly’s 2021 Data/AI Salary Survey found that data and AI professionals who spent more than 100 hours in upskilling training and development earned a 55% higher salary increase than those who committed 1-19 hours.2

Reduced hiring costs

Upskilling is generally a more cost-effective solution than hiring new employees. New hires require a lot of work: developing job postings, advertising openings, finding and vetting candidates, conducting interviews and so on. Using a recruiting service or an agency will also cost an organization, through a percentage of employee salary or another form of compensation.

Through upskilling, companies cultivate a more knowledgeable and versatile workforce, and can reduce turnover rates4, as employees in upskilling programs feel supported and engaged in their professional development. 

The cost of hiring new employees varies by industry and position, however the consensus is that it is more cost efficient to upskill than to hire new employees. Trakstar Hire (link resides outside ibm.com) pegs the cost of hiring a new employee USD 5,000. This does not account for onboarding or training. The World Economic Forum's Future of Jobs Report 2023 concluded that the average cost of hiring a new employee was USD 4,425 versus USD 1,300 for upskilling an employee.1 These figures are often much higher in IT, and for more advanced positions.

More competitive workforce

Employees who continually enhance their skill sets become more proficient in their current roles and more adaptable to future ones. Upskilling yields more capable and talented employees who can take on advanced roles within the company and provide a greater contribution to the organization’s success.

Reports from organizations like the World Economic Forum (link resides outside ibm.com) highlight the importance of upskilling for staying competitive in the job market. They emphasize the rapidly changing nature of work and the need for employees to continually enhance their skills. 

Upskilling is not just about staying competitive; it's also about fostering adaptability and creating development opportunities. It enables employees to explore different career paths, enhance their resumes or LinkedIn profiles and move toward career goals. In IT, professional growth is closely linked to upskilling.

Greater ROI

Investing in employee development pays dividends down the line. According to a 2020 Guild Education report on the Dollar Value of Educational Benefits, companies that partnered with Guild’s tuition assistance programs realized a net savings of USD 2.84 for every dollar invested in education benefits. The same study found that these programs also made retention efforts twice as successful compared to organizations without such programs.5

Related solutions
IBM watsonx Orchestrate

You know that bottomless list you make every day full of frustrating, repetitive tasks? What if you could clear it and get work done faster? It’s possible, with IBM® watsonx Orchestrate™, a 2022 CES Innovation Award Honoree, featuring groundbreaking technology designed to free you up to pursue more on your “want-to-do" list. 

Explore watsonx Orchestrate

IBM business process automation solutions

Business process automation tools empower you to understand and orchestrate critical resources, including people, applications and systems. With IBM business process automation solutions you can manage your end-to-end business processes, respond quickly to changing market conditions, increase organizational efficiency and reduce errors that can negatively impact the customer experience.

Explore IBM business process automation solutions

Take the next step

Build your AI assistant with IBM watsonx Orchestrate to streamline your team's efforts and reclaim your day. Orchestrate uses generative AI and automation technology to manage and simplify multiple application workflows so you can pursue more on your “want-to-do" list. 

Explore watsonx Orchestrate Book a live demo
Footnotes

Future of Jobs Report,” (link resides outside ibm.com) World Economic Forum, May 2023
2021 Data/AI Salary Survey,” (link resides outside ibm.com) O’Reilly, 15 September 2021
"How the Pandemic Accelerated Digital Transformation in Advanced Economies,” (link resides outside ibm.com) Florence Jaumotte, Myrto Oikonomou, Carlo Pizzinelli, Marina M. Tavares, 21 March 2023
Workforce of 2022: Reskilling, Remote and More Report,” (link resides outside ibm.com) Amdocs, 2022
The Dollar Value of Education Benefits,” (link resides outside ibm.com) Guild, December 2020