什么是闪存?

固态数据存储可实现快速吞吐量并高效率使用数据容量、机架空间、电源和冷却设备

数据中心内的服务器机架

数据存储定义

闪存是一种固态技术,这种技术使用闪存芯片来写入和存储数据。 解决方案涵盖了从 USB 驱动器到企业级阵列等众多应用。 与具有活动部件的硬盘驱动器相比,闪存存储可以实现非常快的响应时间(微秒级延迟)。 闪存采用了非易失性存储器,这意味着关闭电源时数据不会丢失。 与机械磁盘存储相比,闪存具有高可用性,并且能耗和占用空间也更低。


闪存类型

存储阵列

存储阵列结合了多个磁盘驱动器以实现基于块的数据存储。 存储阵列将存储与网络通信和连接功能分开,因此提供的容量高于一组文件服务器。 借助存储阵列,组织中的多台服务器可以高效访问相同的存储数据。 也称为磁盘阵列或磁盘存储阵列。

SSD 闪存驱动器

固态磁盘 (SSD) 闪存驱动器使用闪存来存储数据。 较之于硬盘驱动器 (HDD),SSD 有多种优势。 硬盘会不可避免地出现延迟,这是由机械部件导致的。 固态系统没有活动部件,延迟更低,因此需要的 SSD 也就更少。 由于大多数现代 SSD 都是基于闪存的,因此闪存存储也就是固态系统的代名词。

全闪存阵列

全闪存阵列完全使用闪存进行存储。 这些现代架构旨在最大限度提高性能,摆脱了 SSD 存储区域网络 (SAN) 传统功能的限制。 这些架构具有超低延迟且高度可用。 非常适合多云环境和 NVMe 等存储协议。

NVMe 存储

非易失性内存高速 (NVMe) 是一种接口,用于通过外围组件互连高速 (PCIe) 总线访问闪存。 NVMe 在单个连接上支持数千个并行请求。 NVMe 消除了应用程序和存储之间的开销,显著提高了性能。

混合云存储

混合闪存存储混合使用 SSD 和 HDD,为各种工作负载提供平衡的基础架构。 硬盘驱动器是一种廉价的技术,非常适合存储大文件和数据备份。 在需要高吞吐量和低延迟的情况下,可以将数据移动到 SSD 和闪存阵列。

硬盘存储

硬盘驱动器使用机电硬件来存储数字信息。 硬盘驱动器具有成本效益,非常适合长期存储和存储大文件。 硬盘在一段时间后往往会出现物理损坏的情况,并且存在活动部件而造成了延迟问题。 闪存介质可用于扩充此类存储,使应用程序能够更快地工作并进一步扩展。


闪存存储成功案例

闪存存储在基础架构现代化方面发挥了重要作用,有助于改变存储数据的经济性。 将闪存应用于新的或现有的存储时,可以增加可用容量,同时显著提高应用性能。 下面介绍了闪存系统如何满足一系列要求的示例。

全闪存解决方案

为了支持高性能应用,企业需要快速高效地交付数据。 全闪存存储系统提供安全、超低延迟和关键任务可靠性,可满足现代业务需求。

Fosen IKT

了解共享服务组织如何采用闪存存储来增强数据驱动的市政服务。

Compass Health

了解消费者医疗产品制造商如何应对批量作业和订单请求的不断增长。

混合闪存解决方案

组织正在寻找存储解决方案,以便从他们的数据资产中获得更多收益,同时也要管理成本。 高度可用的混合系统可以让数据中心恢复活力并充分利用传统技术和现代技术。

波多黎各财政部

了解波多黎各财政部保护重要的政府服务如何抵御自然灾害的影响。


闪存的过去和未来

闪存的历史

闪存是一种浮栅存储器,在 1984 年由东芝的 Fujio Masuoka 发明。 1986年,东芝推出了第一颗 NAND 型闪存芯片,英特尔发布了 NOR 芯片。 闪存提供了突破性的性能并迅速颠覆了数据存储领域。 随着数据使用量的增长以及设备变得越来越轻量化,闪存系统被证明是存储、写入、重新编程和传输数字信息的最快方式。

当前趋势

2000 年,USB 闪存驱动器被开发用于存储和传输文件。 便携式设备结构紧凑,容量远大于早期系统。 2005 年,Apple 发布了其第一款基于闪存的 iPod。 现在,从移动设备和数码相机到汽车,闪存无处不在。 对于大型企业来说,闪存的速度和密度使其成为首选的存储技术,并且在很大程度上取代了数据中心的硬盘。

闪存的未来

以下领域中呈现明显趋势和进步

硬盘与固态硬盘

SSD 和闪存的吞吐量比 HDD 更高,但前者可能更昂贵。 许多组织正在采用混合方法,将闪存的速度与硬盘驱动器的容量相结合。 平衡的基础架构使公司能够针对不同的存储需求应用正确的技术,提供一种从传统 HDD 过渡而无需完全转向闪存的经济方式。

SAS/SATA

串行连接 SCSI (SAS) 和串行高级技术附件 (SATA) 是用于与 HDD 进行数据传输的闪存存储接口。 SAS 和 SATA 可以延长旧系统的使用寿命,也可用于 SSD 以支持需要快速输入/输出 (I/O) 的应用程序。 SAS 和 SATA 是围绕 HDD 的机制设计的,并且存在一些旧有的限制。 许多组织已经从这些接口过渡到 NVME。

NVME 和多云

NVME 是一种速度极快的协议,非常适合人工智能 (AI) 和实时应用。 NVME 减少了 CPU 和存储之间的 I/O 开销,从而显著提高了吞吐量。 随着向云的迁移,NVME 也可以凭借其内置的性能、数据保护、弹性和高可用性功能,充分地支持混合多云和大型机存储环境。

基于光纤的 NVME

基于光纤的 NVME 支持通过以太网、光纤通道或互联网等网络在主机和 SSD 之间传输数据。 光纤连接的好处包括共享存取、容量增加以及数据保护增强。 使用光纤还可以消除单点故障并简化管理。


相关解决方案

全闪存存储

使用全闪存阵列优化您的多云环境并满足高性能应用的要求。

混合云存储

通过闪存和传统硬盘的最佳组合降低您的总拥有成本。

存储虚拟化

使用虚拟存储改进、保护和简化数据管理。

Flash storage defined

Flash storage is a solid-state technology that uses flash memory chips for writing and storing data. Solutions range from USB drives to enterprise-level arrays. Flash storage can achieve very fast response times (microsecond latency), compared to hard drives with moving components. It uses non-volatile memory, which means that data is not lost when the power is turned off. It is highly available and uses less energy and physical space than mechanical disk storage.

Types of flash storage

Storage array

A storage array combines multiple disk drives to enable block-based data storage. It separates storage from network communication and connection functions to provide more capacity than a group of file servers. With a storage array, multiple servers across the organization can efficiently access the same stored data. Also known as a disk array or disk storage array.

SSD flash drive

A solid-state disk (SSD) flash drive stores data using flash memory. An SSD has advantages over a hard disk drive (HDD). Hard disks have an inherent latency, caused by mechanical components. A solid-state system has no moving parts and therefore less latency, so fewer SSDs are needed. Since most modern SSDs are flash-based, flash storage is synonymous with a solid-state system.

All-flash array

All-flash arrays use only flash memory for storage. These modern architectures are designed to maximize performance, without the constraints of SSD storage area network (SAN) legacy functions. They have ultra-low latency and are highly available. Ideally suited for multicloud environments and storage protocols such as NVMe.

NVMe storage

Non-volatile Memory Express (NVMe) is an interface used to access flash storage over a peripheral component interconnect express (PCIe) bus. NVMe enables thousands of parallel requests on a single connection. It eliminates overhead between applications and storage and significantly improves performance.

Hybrid flash storage

Hybrid flash storage uses a mix of SSDs and HDDs, providing a balanced infrastructure for a range of workloads. Hard drives are an inexpensive technology, well suited for large files and data backups. Where high throughput and low latency are needed, data can be moved to SSDs and flash arrays.

Hard drive storage

Hard drives use electro-mechanical hardware to store digital information. They are cost-effective and ideal for long-term storage and large files. Hard drives are vulnerable to physical damage over time and have latency issues due to moving components. Flash media can be used to augment this type of storage, enabling applications to work faster and scale further.


Flash storage use cases

Flash storage plays a significant role in infrastructure modernization, and it has helped transform the economics of storing data. When applied to new or existing storage, it increases usable capacity while significantly improving application performance. The following are examples of how flash systems can meet a range of requirements.

All-flash solutions

To support high-performance applications, enterprises need to deliver data quickly and efficiently. All-flash storage systems provide secure, ultra-low latency and mission-critical reliability to meet modern business demands.

 

Fosen IKT

See how the shared services organization embraces flash storage to enhance data-driven municipal services.

Advanced Manufacturing Research Centre

Learn how the organization is driving Industry 4.0 innovations with world-class, factory-ready AI solutions.

Hybrid flash solutions

Organizations are looking for storage solutions to get more from their data assets, while also managing costs. Highly available hybrid systems can revitalize data centers and make the best use of both legacy and modern technology.

 

Department of the Treasury of Puerto Rico

See how the department is protecting vital government services from natural disasters.


Flash storage past and future

History of flash storage

Flash is a type of floating-gate memory, which was invented in 1984 by Fujio Masuoka at Toshiba. In 1986, Toshiba introduced the first NAND-type flash chip, and Intel released the NOR chip. Flash memory offered breakthrough performance and quickly disrupted the data storage world. As data usage grew and devices became lighter and smaller, flash systems proved the fastest way to store, write, reprogram and transfer digital information.

Current trends

In 2000, the USB flash drive was developed to store and transfer files. The portable device was compact, with far more capacity than earlier systems. In 2005, Apple released its first flash-based iPods. Today, flash memory is in everything from mobile devices and digital cameras to vehicles. For large enterprises, the speed and density of flash has made it the storage technology of choice, and it has largely displaced hard disks in data centers.

Future of flash storage

Trends and advancements are occurring in these areas:

HDD vs SSD

SSDs and flash offer higher throughput than HDDs, but they can be more expensive. Many organizations are adopting a hybrid approach, mixing the speed of flash with the capacity of hard drives. A balanced infrastructure enables companies to apply the right technology for different storage needs, and it offers an economical way to transition from legacy HDDs without going entirely to flash.

SAS/SATA

Serial attached SCSI (SAS) and serial advanced technology attachment (SATA) are flash storage interfaces used for data transfer to and from HDDs. They can extend the lifespan of legacy systems and are also used in SSDs to support applications requiring fast input/output (I/O). SAS and SATA are designed around the mechanics of HDD, and have some legacy constraints. Many organizations have transitioned from these interfaces to NVME.

NVME and multicloud

NVME is an extremely fast protocol that is well suited for artificial intelligence (AI) and real-time applications. It reduces I/O overhead between CPUs and storage, resulting in significant throughput improvements. With the move toward cloud, NVME is also well placed to support hybrid multicloud and mainframe storage environments with its built-in performance, data protection, resiliency and high availability features.

NVME over fabric

NVME over fabric enables data transfer between a host computer and an SSD over a network such as Ethernet, Fibre Channel or the internet. The benefits of fabric connectivity include shared access, greater capacity and enhanced data protection. Using a fabric also eliminates single points of failure and simplifies management.

Learn more about flash storage

Flash storage buyer's guide

Find answers to common questions about flash storage.

Blog

Read the six hot storage trends for 2020.

Blog

Storage made simple for hybrid multicloud.

Related IBM solutions

All-flash storage

Use all-flash arrays to optimize your multicloud environments and meet high-performance application requirements.

Hybrid flash storage

Lower your total cost of ownership with the best mix of flash and traditional spinning drives.

Storage virtualization

Improve, secure and simplify data management with virtual storage.