概述

推进 AI 与自动化承诺的“五月花”号

IBM 与海洋研究非盈利组织 ProMare 合作的多年期项目的最终成果

海洋研究船"五月花"号自动航行船舶开启自动航行船舶之先河,而 IBM 则在其诞生过程中发挥了举足轻重的作用。 在首次旅程中,该船将遵循其横跨大西洋的航线,以此纪念原先的"五月花"号。 但这一现代的"五月花"号将收集关于气候变化和污染影响的关键海洋数据,以便海洋研究人员能够更深入地了解和保护我们的海洋,不论是现在还是未来。   

IBM 利用三层技术设计了这艘无人船: 感官输入、实时机器学习和分析,以及决策引擎。 IBM 专家使用 PB 级数据来训练机器学习模型,并为决策引擎编写基于规则的决策,使船舶能够对通常危险的海洋环境做出反应,而不需要人为干预。 它遵守海事法,同时能够在霎那间做出关键的决策。 它能够在恶劣的天气环境下变更航线。 它还可以收集和分析大量的海洋数据。 这一切都以 24/7 方式完成。

通过扩展该船突破性的智能自动化运营决策边缘计算和 AI 驱动的远程监控技术 ,我们可以为您的企业开展下一代创新、提高效率、安全性和节约成本铺平道路。

没有船员的里程:

3,349

收集数据的船载传感器:

30

分析数据的边缘设备:

15

AI 船长

若要使无人船顺利下水航行,就需要具备能够驱动自主智能的技术。 IBM 打造了认知领航员,它能够制定有关船舶的所有决策,也称为“AI 船长”。

全新的"五月花"号是系统构建过程中迈出的一大步,这种系统就如何行动有自己的看法,并能够自行采取果断行动。

AI 船长根据模式识别的 if/then 规则和机器学习模型做出决策,但并不只是这些部分的简单总和。 它会从决策的结果中学习,对未来作出预测,管理风险,并通过经验优化知识。 与人类相比,它通过实时整合更多输入来完成这一切。

在首次航程的大部分航段,人类都不会进行干预。 这艘船将需要自行做出最佳决策。 我们正在为企业创造类似的自主运营技术。

提升整个运营的绩效

AI 船长所使用的智能决策功能只是更大的 AI 驱动的业务运营自动化解决方案的一部分。 企业还可以依赖于 IBM 自动化功能来执行任务、工作流程、内容服务和流程挖掘,这些功能已纳入集成软件集,旨在帮助解决最困难的运营难题。

利用智能决策高效运营

当 AI 船长通过 IBM 的自动化规则管理软件运行周围环境的感知数据和 AI 注释模型来修改航线和避免碰撞时,企业已经使用该软件来记录它所提供的决策,例如,在批准贷款和个性化客户优惠时所提供的决策。

根据在边缘获取的洞察采取行动

AI 船长可以独立做出决策,因为由 IBM 软件统筹的 15 个边缘设备可处理来自 30 个传感器的数据,包括雷达、GPS、摄像头和海拔和水深探测器。 利用相同的软件,企业可以在任何地方通过扩展和运行边缘解决方案实现转型,并在更接近数据创建位置的地方根据洞察采取行动。

船舶的工作原理

感官输入

"五月花"号自动航行船舶的彩色横截面,蓝线指向船舶的雷达

感官输入

船上有许多感知设备,包括雷达、GPS、天气、海拔和水深探测器,以及用于向 IBM 计算机视觉系统发送视觉输入的高清船载摄像头。 该系统经过训练,可查明潜在的危险,包括货船、渔船,甚至是水中漂浮的部分浸入水里的集装箱。

实时分析

"五月花"号自动航行船舶的彩色横截面,蓝线指向船内较小的计算机

实时分析

使用通过 IBM 计算机视觉技术生成的推理算法和模型,该船接受了超过一百万张航海图像的训练,旨在识别其他船只、碎片、桥梁和其他危险。 ODM 对有关附近船只的国际防撞规则进行了评估,生成指示“不安全”情况的风险图并给出建议。

决策引擎

"五月花"号自动航行船舶的彩色横截面,蓝线指向船内较大的计算机

决策引擎

AI 船长摄取 ODM 建议,解释计算机视觉输入和其他数据,并分析预测天气以确定如何避免危险。 其他海洋 AI 数学建模围绕最佳行动提供决策支持,包括指示船舶改变航向或速度。 该船的安全经理会验证决策是否安全,甚至允许 AI 船长在霎那间做出决策。

Get the latest updates on the Mayflower's voyage

Overview

A Mayflower to advance the promise of AI and automation

The culmination of a multi-year project with IBM and marine research non-profit ProMare

The maritime research vessel Mayflower Autonomous Ship is a first-of its-kind autonomous ship — and IBM technology played a central role in bringing it to life. On its inaugural journey, the ship will commemorate the original Mayflower by following its transatlantic route. But this modern Mayflower will gather critical ocean data on the impact of climate change and pollution so that marine researchers can better understand and protect our oceans — now and into the future.   

IBM and ProMare co-engineered the software for the crewless ship with three layers of technology: sensory inputs, real-time machine learning and analytics, and a decision engine. IBM and ProMare experts used petabytes of data to train machine learning models and wrote rules-based decisioning for the decision engine, enabling the ship to react to an often-treacherous ocean environment — with zero human intervention. It adheres to maritime law while making crucial split-second decisions. It reroutes itself around harsh weather environments. It collects and analyzes massive amounts of ocean data. And it does it all 24/7. 

By extending the ship’s groundbreaking intelligent automation, operational decision-making, edge computing and AI-powered remote monitoring technologies across industries, we can pave the way for the next generation of innovation, efficiency, safety and cost-savings in your business.

Miles without onboard crew:

3,349

Onboard sensors gathering data:

30

Edge devices analyzing data:

15

AI Captain

Launching a crewless ship requires technology that can power autonomous intelligence. IBM built the cognitive pilot that makes all of the ship’s decisions, nicknamed the "AI Captain."

The new Mayflower is a huge step forward in building a system that has opinions about how to act and can then take decisive action — all on its own.

The decisions that the AI Captain makes are based on if/then rules and machine learning models for pattern recognition, but it’s more than just the sum of those parts. It learns from the outcomes of its decisions, makes predictions about the future, manages risks and refines its knowledge through experience. And it does it by integrating more inputs in real time than a human can do alone.

For large portions of the inaugural trip, there won’t be the ability for a human to intervene. The ship will need to make the best decisions on its own. We’re creating similar self-operating technologies for businesses.

See how you can give your business its own AI Captain (PDF, 941 KB).

Boost performance across operations

Intelligent decisioning used by the AI Captain is just one piece of a larger AI-powered automation solution for business operations. Businesses also rely on IBM automation for tasks, workflows, content services and process mining — capabilities that come as part of a set of integrated software designed to help solve even the toughest operational challenges.

Operate with smart decisioning

Where the AI Captain runs sensory data and AI-annotated models of the surrounding context through IBM’s automated rule management software to modify routes and avoid collisions, businesses already use the software for the decision-making records it provides when, for example, approving loans and personalizing customer offers.

Act on insight at the edge

The AI Captain can make decisions because 15 edge devices, orchestrated by IBM software, process data from 30 sensors, including radar, GPS, cameras, and altitude and water-depth detectors. With the same software, businesses can scale and run edge solutions anywhere, acting on insight closer to where data is created.

How the ship works

Sensory inputs

A color cross-section of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship with a blue line pointing to the ship’s radar

Sensory inputs

The dozens of sensory devices on the ship include radar, GPS, weather, and altitude and water-depth detectors as well as high-definition onboard cameras that send visual input to an IBM computer vision system. The system has been trained to identify potential dangers, including cargo ships, fishing vessels and even partially submerged shipping containers floating in the water.

Real-time analytics

A color cross-section of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship with a blue line pointing to a smaller computer inside the ship

Real-time analytics

Using inference algorithms and models generated from IBM computer vision technology, the ship was trained on more than one million nautical images to recognize other ships, debris, bridges and other hazards. ODM evaluates international collision-preventing regulations regarding nearby vessels, generates a risk map indicating “unsafe” situations and makes recommendations.

Decision engine

A color cross-section of the Mayflower Autonomous Ship with a blue line pointing to a larger computer inside the ship

Decision engine

The AI Captain ingests ODM recommendations, interprets computer vision inputs and other data, and analyzes forecasted weather to determine how to avoid hazards. Additional Marine AI math modeling provides decision support on the best action, including instructing the ship to change course or speed. The ship’s Safety Manager verifies decisions are safe, even allowing the AI Captain to make split-second decisions.