Trusco Nakayama 公司
转变库存管理,以快速、可靠的服务取悦客户
Trusco Nakayama 公司总部,日本东京

专业机械工具专门批发商 Trusco Nakayama 希望增强库存管理和交付能力。该公司与 IBM® 合作,将其库存和供应链管理应用程序迁移到云环境中的 SAP S/4HANA®,生成切实可行的洞察,助力公司提供一流服务。

业务挑战

客户希望批发商能拥有自己所需产品的库存,并为所有订单提供快速送货。Trusco Nakayama 如何确保全天候提供快速可靠的服务?

变革

Trusco Nakayama 与 IBM 合作,在云环境中将关键任务应用程序迁移到 SAP S/4HANA,改善了库存管理并提高了洞察力,从而加强了客户服务。

结果 >50,000
每天处理报价请求数量,自动化使处理速度大幅提升
500,000
可存放在库存中的物品数量
优化的
订单请求答复速度提升
业务挑战案例
提供超便捷的服务

Trusco Nakayama 的经营座右铭是成为日本批发行业的领军企业。通过提供其他公司不提供的产品系列、跟踪趋势以改善库存,以及在需要时立即交付产品,该公司旨在提高客户便利性。Trusco Nakayama 处理 230 万种产品,库存量为 390,000 件,库存命中率为 90.5%。

作为日常运营的一部分,公司使用库存周转率和库存周转期等关键绩效指标 (KPI) ,衡量库存是否已有效发货。Trusco Nakayama 还将库存命中率作为重要的 KPI,衡量是否尽快发货。

Trusco Nakayama 为 2,500 多家供应商和 5,500 多家零售店提供服务,超过 100 万用户依赖其库存系统。此外,该公司还通过公司目录(称为“橙皮书”)和电子商务网站提供产品信息。为了确保能够按时交付产品,该公司在 97 个地点开展业务,其中包括全国 22 个配送中心。

该公司使用名为“Paradise 3”的 IT 系统来支持这些核心活动。此外,与该核心系统相连,公司还建设了电子商务网站、物流系统、销售支持系统、库存管理系统、交流平台和分析平台。事实上,Trusco Nakayama 在过去 10 年里已在系统上投资了 100 亿日元。

然而,如果公司要实现未来的发展目标,还需要进一步的投资。Trusco Nakayama 数字战略部总监、首席信息官、首席数字官 Atsushi Kazumi 解释道:“为了成为日本领先的批发商,我们需要一种能够利用最新技术提供更多便利的机制——我们不能仅依赖手动流程。”

Kazumi 先生补充道:“为了实现更快的交付目标,我们计划在全国所有配送中心储备 500,000 种商品。当然,不同地区对某些商品的需求有所不同,因此我们需要一个能够准确预测需求并实现快速交付的系统。”

Trusco Nakayama 还旨在确保其能够满足直接交付的要求。虽然网上购物与销售的比例正在迅速变化,但直接交付给最终用户的需求也不断增加,包括一些依靠快速发货来保持生产平稳运行的制造商。这也适用于通过机械工具供应商的“工厂路线”。

Kazumi 先生评论道:“为了满足这些直接配送需求,我们的配送中心每年 365 天、每天 24 小时运营,新的库存管理系统也需要支持这种运营方式。”

除了改进现有核心系统的请求外,Trusco Nakayama 的 SAP ECC 支持合同也即将到期。

 

为了成为日本领先的批发商,我们需要一种能够利用最新技术提供更多便利的机制——我们不能仅仅依靠手动流程。 Atsushi Kazumi Director, Digital Strategy Department, Chief Information Officer, Chief Digital Officer Trusco Nakayama
变革案例
改革供应链管理

将 SAP 系统从 SAP ECC 迁移到 SAP S/4HANA® 为 Trusco Nakayama 提供了数字化转型的机会。

Kazumi 先生表示:“我们设计迁移项目的目的是实现运营改革,而不仅仅是替代;我们的目标是在整个供应链和跨行业中创新运营。”

Trusco Nakayama 在项目启动前花了三个月的时间进行规划。Kazumi 先生表示:“在包括业务部门在内的领导者的参与下,我们发现了整个公司的问题,并追求面向未来的愿景。因此,我们针对新的业务需求建立了 15 个用例。最重要的关键词是自动化、运营效率和数字化。”

Trusco Nakayama 指定 IBM 作为主要合作伙伴,帮助加快实现价值的速度,并在规划和部署阶段提供持续的支持、咨询和系统开发。IBM 还将支持之前的 SAP 系统升级,并将利用其丰富的经验,帮助公司将核心系统迁移到 SAP S/4HANA。通过升级到新的 SAP 解决方案,Trusco Nakayama 将通过开发基于 SAP 云平台的新功能和云应用程序,加速数字化转型,这将使企业能够提高运营效率、实现自动化,并增加外部协作。

Kazumi 先生继续说道:“IBM 非常熟悉我们的业务,并且很乐意讨论我们的目标、我们能做什么,以及现阶段不能做什么。”

他补充说:“IBM 深知客户和供应商保持一致是多么重要。我们与 IBM 的合作伙伴关系,不仅仅是客户与供应商的关系,我们觉得我们可以在平等的基础上与 IBM 合作——这是该项目成功的要素之一。”

项目成员需要通过对配送中心的检查来熟悉自己的业务,并作为一个跨组织边界、具有共同使命感的统一团队并肩合作。

项目会议室入口处的“Team of Teams”标牌,以所有参与成员的留言和照片象征了这一点。Kazumi 先生说:“虽然是 IT,但我想让人们感到人性化。”

此外,该公司还在其电子商务网站的产品搜索服务中引入了一个由IBM Watson® Explorer(一个在 IBM Cloud® 上运行的内容分析平台)构建的系统。当客户通过文本或语音输入有关他们正在寻找的产品的问题时,IBM Watson Natural Language Classifier 会对问题进行分析,并生成与查询相匹配的结果。然后,高度相似的项目会被提取出来作为潜在的回复,并显示在屏幕上。作为该项目的一部分,Trusco Nakayama 还利用 IBM Watson Assistant开发了一个名为 TRUSCO AI Orange Rescue 的聊天机器人。

 

推出 SAP S/4HANA 并不是我们转型之旅的结束,这只是新发展阶段的开始。在部署新系统的同时,我们还计划制定未来创新路线图。 Atsushi Kazumi Director, Digital Strategy Department, Chief Information Officer, Chief Digital Officer Trusco Nakayama
案例成果
效率的新时代

除了开发新功能外,Trusco Nakayama 数字战略部门还将牵头推动业务改革,这将有助于最大程度地减少向 SAP S/4HANA 过渡期间对运营的干扰。

Kazumi 先生表示:“我们已经实现了最初设定的绝大多数目标。除了部署 SAP S/4HANA 之外,我们还在云中构建了一个应用程序,该应用程序可以根据我们的 15 个转型用例提高效率和自动化,从而获得灵活性和更快的决策制定。与此同时,我们开发了云应用程序,以加强与外部各方的合作。”

Trusco Nakayama 的转型目标之一是开发一个可以自动回复报价请求的系统。目前,该公司每天通过传真和电话,向全国各地的分支机构发送 50,000 个报价请求。由 350 人组成的团队致力于响应这些请求,并通过传真为每位客户提供预计价格和交货日期。

通过使用经过历史数据训练的 AI 定价引擎,实现这一流程的自动化,Trusco Nakayama 将能够更快地响应报价请求,即使查询数量不断增加。

Kazumi 先生解释说:“我们应该能够通过自动响应报价请求来提高订单率。

同时,我们将实现供应商传真交换的数字化,并建立一个与 SAP S/4HANA 集成的云门户,进一步加快对供应商请求的响应,确认价格、交货日期和可用库存,所有这些这将提高效率。”

他继续说道:“我们还将推出新服务来提高客户便利性,其中包括名为‘MRO Stocker’的解决方案。该服务提前将工具库存放置在用户站点附近,以便用户在需要时可以立即购买并使用。这是一种“终极即时交付”的形式。

展望未来,我们将实现一种机制,让您可以使用标签和智能手机轻松执行订购、支付、库存管理等操作,分析大量客户数据和天气数据,并提供针对站点优化的产品。”

Kazumi 先生评论道:“未来,业务和 IT 部门对我们系统的需求将会增加。为了满足这一需求,有关各方必须就降落地点达成一致。如果试图做到完美,肯定会失败。目的是坐下来坦诚地讨论系统化的目标和背后的想法。”

Kazumi 先生总结道:“推出 SAP S/4HANA 并不是我们转型之旅的结束,只是新发展阶段的开始。在部署新系统的同时,我们还计划制定未来创新路线图。数据收集和利用将是关键,我们将继续致力于为所有客户提供便利。”

 

Trusco Nakayama 徽标
Trusco Nakayama 公司

Trusco Nakayama (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1959 年,专门从领先供应商处采购专业机械工具,并将其转售给机械经销商以及在线和实体五金店。该公司致力于销售其他公司不提供的商品,并致力于确保其所有产品的快速可靠的交付。

采取下一步行动

如需了解有关 IBM SAP 联盟的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:/sap

要了解有关 IBM 云的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:/cloud

查看 PDF 查看更多案例
法律

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2020 年 8 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud、IBM Services 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copyright-trademark

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

© 2019 SAP SE. 保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

Customers expect wholesalers to stock the products they need and offer fast shipping on all orders. How could Trusco Nakayama ensure rapid, reliable service around-the-clock?

Transformation

Trusco Nakayama worked with IBM to move mission-critical applications to SAP S/4HANA in a cloud environment, delivering improved inventory management and insights to strengthen customer service.

Results

>50,000

quote requests processed much quicker each day with automation

500,000

items can be stocked on inventory

Improved

rate of answering order requests

Business challenge story

Delivering ultra-convenient services

The management motto of Trusco Nakayama is to become the leading player in the wholesale sector in Japan. By offering a product range that other companies do not handle, by tracking trends to improve inventory, and by delivering products as soon as they are needed, the company aims to improve customer convenience. Trusco Nakayama handles 2.3 million products, keeps its inventory stocked with 390,000 items, and provides an inventory hit rate of 90.5 percent.

As part of its daily operations, the company uses key performance indicators (KPIs), such as inventory turnover ratio and inventory turnover period, to measure whether or not inventories have been shipped efficiently. Trusco Nakayama also uses inventory hit ratio as an important KPI to measure whether it is shipping items as quickly as possible.

Trusco Nakayama serves over 2,500 suppliers and over 5,500 retail outlets, and more than one million users rely on its inventory systems. In addition, the company provides product information through the company’s catalog (called “Orange Book”) and e-commerce sites. And to ensure that it can deliver its products on time, the company operates in 97 locations, including 22 distribution centers nationwide.

The company uses an IT system called ‘Paradise 3’ to support these core activities. Additionally, linked with this core system, the company has built an e-commerce site, logistics system, sales support system, inventory management system, communication platform, and analysis platform. Indeed, Trusco Nakayama has invested 10 billion yen in systems over the past 10 years.

However, if the company is going to achieve its future development goals, further investment is required. Atsushi Kazumi, Director, Digital Strategy Department, Chief Information Officer, Chief Digital Officer at Trusco Nakayama, explains, “In order to become the leading wholesaler in Japan, we need a mechanism that can provide more convenience by utilizing the latest technologies—we can’t rely on manual processes alone.”

Mr. Kazumi adds, “To meet even faster delivery targets, we plan to stock an assortment of 500,000 items at all distribution centers nationwide. Naturally, demand for certain items differs from region to region, so we need a system that can accurately forecast demand and enable rapid delivery.”

Trusco Nakayama also aimed to ensure that it could meet the requirements for direct delivery. While the ratio of online shopping to sales is changing rapidly, there is also increasing demand for direct delivery to end users, including to some manufacturers who rely on fast shipments to keep production running smoothly. This also holds true with the ‘factory route’ via machinery tools vendors.

Mr. Kazumi comments, “In order to meet these direct delivery needs, we operate our distribution centers 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, and the new inventory management system will also need to support this way of operating.”

In addition to the request to improve the existing core systems, Trusco Nakayama’s support contract for SAP ECC was due to expire. 
 

In order to become the leading wholesaler in Japan, we need a mechanism that can provide more convenience by utilizing the latest technologies—we can’t rely on manual processes alone.

Atsushi Kazumi, Director, Digital Strategy Department, Chief Information Officer, Chief Digital Officer, Trusco Nakayama

Transformation story

Transforming supply chain management

Migrating its SAP systems from SAP ECC to SAP S/4HANA® presented Trusco Nakayama with an opportunity for digital transformation.

Mr. Kazumi says, “We designed our migration project so that it would deliver operational reform, not just replacement; we aim to innovate operations across the entire supply chain and across industries.”

Trusco Nakayama spent three months planning the project before its launch. Mr. Kazumi says, “With the participation of leaders, including business departments, we identified issues across the entire company and pursued a future-oriented vision. As a result, we established 15 use cases for new business requirements. The overarching key words are automation, operational efficiency and digitization.”

Trusco Nakayama appointed IBM as the main partner to help accelerate time to value, and to provide ongoing support, consulting, and system development both at the planning and deployment stage. IBM will also support the previous SAP system upgrade and will utilize its extensive experience to help move the company’s core systems to SAP S/4HANA. And by upgrading to the new SAP solution, Trusco Nakayama will accelerate digital transformation by developing new capabilities and cloud applications, built on the SAP Cloud Platform, that will enable the business to improve operational efficiency, realize automation and increase external collaboration.

Mr. Kazumi continues, “IBM is very familiar with our business, and is happy to discuss our goals, what we can do, and also what we cannot do at this stage.”

He adds, “IBM recognizes how important it is for a client and a vendor to be on the same page. Our partnership with IBM is more than a client-vendor relationship, we feel as though we can work with IBM on an equal footing—one of the ingredients for success in this project.” 

Project members are required to familiarize themselves with their business through inspections of distribution centers, as a Single Team that shares a sense of mission across organizational boundaries. 

The “Team of Teams” board at the entrance of the project room symbolizes this with messages from all participating members with photos. Mr. Kazumi says, “It’s IT, but I want to make people feel human.”

In addition, the company has introduced a system built with IBM® Watson™ Explorer, a content analysis platform that runs on IBM Cloud®, into the product search service on its e-commerce site. When the customer inputs a question about the product that they are looking for, either via text or speech, IBM Watson Natural Language Classifier analyzes the question and generates results that match the query. Items that are highly similar are then extracted as potential responses and displayed on the screen. As part of this project, Trusco Nakayama also built a chatbot using IBM Watson Assistant called TRUSCO AI Orange Rescue.
 

Launching SAP S/4HANA will not be the end of our transformation journey, this is just the beginning of a new stage of development. As we deploy the new system, we also plan to develop a road map for future innovation.

Atsushi Kazumi, Director, Digital Strategy Department, Chief Information Officer, Chief Digital Officer, Trusco Nakayama

Results story

New era of efficiency

In addition to developing new functions, the Trusco Nakayama Digital Strategy Department will take the lead in promoting business reforms that will help to minimize the disruption to operations during the transition to SAP S/4HANA. 

Mr. Kazumi says, “We have been able to achieve the vast majority of the objectives that we initially set out. In addition to deploying SAP S/4HANA, we’ve also built an application in the cloud that enables improved efficiency and automation in line with our 15 use cases for transformation, gaining flexibility and faster decision making. At the same time, we have developed cloud applications that will strengthen collaboration with external parties."

One of Trusco Nakayama’s transformation goals was to develop a system that can automatically reply to requests for quotes. Currently, 50,000 quote requests are sent to branch offices all over the country each day, by fax and telephone. A team of 350 people work to respond to these requests and provide estimated prices and delivery dates for each customer by fax.

By automating this process with an AI-powered pricing engine trained with historical data, Trusco Nakayama will be able to respond to quote requests much faster, even as the number of inquiries increases. 

Mr. Kazumi explains, “We should be able to increase our order rates by responding to quote requests automatically. 

At the same time, we will digitize fax exchanges with suppliers, and we will build a cloud portal that integrates with SAP S/4HANA to further speed up responses to requests from suppliers, to confirm prices, delivery dates, and available inventory, all of which will improve efficiency."

He continues, “New services will also be introduced to improve customer convenience, including a solution called ‘MRO Stocker’. This service places stocks of tools near the user’s site in advance so that the user can purchase and use it immediately when they want it. It is a form of ‘ultimate instant delivery’. 

Looking ahead, we will realize a mechanism that allows you to easily perform operations such as ordering, payment, and inventory management, using tags and smartphones, analyze large volumes of customer data and weather data, and provide products optimized for the site.”

Mr. Kazumi comments, “In the future, there will be increased demand on our systems from business and IT departments. To meet this demand, it is important for the pertinent parties to agree on where to land. If you try to make it perfect, you will definitely fail. The aim is to sit down and discuss frankly the objective of systematization and thoughts behind it.”

Mr. Kazumi concludes, “Launching SAP S/4HANA will not be the end of our transformation journey, this is just the beginning of a new stage of development. As we deploy the new system, we also plan to develop a road map for future innovation. Data collection and utilization will be key here, and we will stay committed to delivering convenience for all of our customers.” 
 

Truso Nakayama logo

Trusco Nakayama Corporation

Founded in 1959, Trusco Nakayama specializes in procuring professional machine tools from leading suppliers and reselling them to machinery dealers as well as online and brick-and-mortar hardware stores. The company is committed to selling items that other companies do not offer, and aims to ensure fast, reliable delivery for all of its products.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM SAP Alliance, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: /sap

To learn more about the IBM Cloud please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: /cloud

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Cloud