Supreme Petrochem
创新,提高工作效率,减少能源和环境影响
了解更多信息
夕阳下的天然气输送管道,一切都映在橙色的世界中

为了赢得市场份额,Supreme Petrochem Limited (SPL) 旨在扩大产品范围并提高产能,同时减少对环境的影响。通过将关键应用程序迁移到基于 IBM® Power® Systems、IBM FlashSystem® 和 Cisco 网络交换机解决方案的 SAP S/4HANA®,SPL 可以快速了解运营效率以推动增长。

业务挑战

SPL 如何平衡雄心壮志:增加制造、确保生产成本效益和保护环境?

变革

为了帮助发展业务,SPL 将任务关键型业务应用程序迁移到基于 IBM Power Systems 和 IBM Storage 解决方案运行的 SAP S/4HANA。

结果 推动
通过自动化在线订单处理和支付系统提升销售额,并减少原材料和成品库存管理的资本需求
减少 85%
减少完成月末报告所需的时间,从一周减少到一天
加快超过 60%
加快系统重启流程,帮助简化 IT 系统管理,而高峰时段 CPU 利用率低于 50%,可保持运营平稳运行
业务挑战案例
实现可持续增长的机遇

随着越来越多的企业寻求减少产品和服务对环境的影响,对可重复使用和可回收塑料材料的需求正在上升。

SPL 是印度领先的塑料和聚合物制造商,渴望抓住这一扩张机会,并制定了扩大市场份额的远大计划。

“近年来,我们一直在扩大我们的产品范围,以满足对高质量塑料材料不断增长的需求,”SPL 的 IT 主管 Hemant Pandit 评论道,“特别是,我们希望增加我们产品系列中增值化合物的产量。”

SPL 认识到,通过生产更多用于建筑隔热材料的聚合物,它还可以为创建节能家庭和企业提供更大的支持。

“我们认真承担保护环境的责任,这就是我们多年来采取措施稳步降低净能源消耗的原因,”Hemant Pandit 说,“为了继续以环境可持续的方式发展我们的业务,我们还致力于在不增加碳足迹的情况下提高产能。”

SPL 系统经理 Isha Raina 补充道:“为了推动创新并帮助扩大市场份额,我们决定加强支持我们核心运营的 IT 基础架构。具体来说,我们着手通过简化后台运营来帮助提高生产力,同时确保我们的业务尽可能节能。”

借助 IBM、SAP 和 Cisco 解决方案,SPL 能够更好地发展和适应,以满足客户需求。 Hemant Pandit IT 主管 Supreme Petrochem
变革案例
建立新的合伙关系

作为第一步,SPL 希望实现关键工作流程的数字化和自动化,特别是依赖电子邮件和手动数据输入的订单处理。此外,随着销售额增加和产量攀升,财务报告的处理时间过长,从而降低了管理洞察。在技术方面,随着数据中心的占地面积、能源消耗和 IT 维护工作量的不断增加,即使对新功能的需求不断增长,减少管理费用的压力也越来越大。

为了应对挑战,SPL 决定部署新的 IT 基础架构,以实现其容量、能力和灵活性目标。 同时,该公司选择将其现有的 SAP 应用程序从 SAP ECC 移至 SAP S/4HANA,以提供完全集成的业务运营,帮助提高效率并支持其增长目标。

Hemant Pandit 评论道:“其他供应商建议使用多台服务器支持我们的 SAP 工作负载,而 IBM 证明,他们的解决方案可以在一台服务器上容纳我们的生产工作负载、应用程序、数据库和开发环境。这种方法提供了一个机会,可以显着减少我们的数据中心占地面积并简化我们 IT 系统的管理。使用 IBM System i 基础架构已有十多年,我们也知道我们可以相信 IBM 能够提供扩展业务所需的强大、可靠、灵活的解决方案。”

SPL 在一个 IBM Power Systems S824 服务器上运行新的 SAP S/4HANA 解决方案,该服务器基于 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications(ibm.com 外部链接)运行。为了最大限度地提高服务器利用率,SPL 使用 IBM PowerVM® 创建多个虚拟环境,并针对每个应用程序进行了优化。

Isha Raina 补充道:“我们决定在 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 上运行 SAP 应用程序,因为这样可以帮助我们确保提供始终如一的强大性能,并保护我们的系统免受意外停机的影响。结合 IBM PowerVM 中的虚拟持久内存功能,SUSE 操作系统可帮助我们在打修补和更新后快速重新启动系统。”

SPL 还部署了 IBM FlashSystem® 5000 来存储 SAP S/4HANA 备份数据以及其他关键应用程序数据,包括电子邮件和非结构化文件数据。为了提高弹性,SPL 还安装了 Cisco MDS 16GB SAN Switch 和 IBM 存储阵列。

Hemant Pandit 继续说道:“IBM FlashSystem 存储给我们留下了深刻的印象;它以令人难以置信的速度备份我们的大型 SAP S/4HANA 数据库,以释放时间来实施更频繁的系统备份,从而增强业务连续性。Cisco MDS 交换机通过减少存储环境中的故障点来增强系统弹性,同时还为我们提供多达 12 个端口用于连接其他设备,从而在需要增加容量时轻松扩展我们的存储。”

Isha Raina 补充道:“我们知道 IBM 和 Cisco 作为战略合作伙伴密切合作,我们相信,将两家公司的解决方案和专业知识相结合,从长远来看可以为 SPL 带来最佳成果,并帮助推动我们的业务向前发展。”

为了加速实施,SPL 寻求其长期合作伙伴 Intellect Bizware 的帮助,后者帮助该公司完成了 SAP S/4HANA 配置和部署。IBM Systems Lab Services 还帮助 SPL 部署和配置 IBM Power System S824 和 IBM FlashSystem 5000 设备以获得最佳性能。

Isha Raina 表示:“IBM Systems Lab Services 团队花时间了解我们的独特基础架构,并与我们的合作伙伴 Intellect Bizware 密切合作,确保我们能够尽快启动并运行 IBM 硬件。IBM Systems Lab Services 做得非常出色,收集了硬件升级所需的所有数据,帮助我们在安装过程中实现了最佳实践,确保所有要求都得到满足,并保障实施顺利进行。”

在 IBM 和 Intellect Bizware 的支持下,SPL 成功地在三个月内将 SAP 环境迁移到 SAP S/4HANA,并在长达一个月的用户验收期后启用了新的 IBM 和 SAP 解决方案。

其他供应商建议使用多台服务器支持我们的 SAP 工作负载,而 IBM 证明,他们的解决方案可以在一台服务器上容纳我们的生产工作负载、应用程序、数据库和开发环境。 Hemant Pandit IT 主管 Supreme Petrochem
案例成果
增加产量,提高效率

自从迁移到 SAP S/4HANA、IBM Power Systems 和 IBM FlashSystems 后,SPL 获得了准确的洞察,有助于优化原材料和成品的资本投资,从而提高运营效率,释放更多资源用于创新。该公司在实现这一目标的同时,也赢得了大量的后台业务。

Isha Raina 解释说:“通过在 IBM Power Systems 上运行我们的应用程序,我们减少了数据中心的占地面积。以前,SPL 依靠两个机架服务器来支持我们的生产应用程序,而现在我们只需要一个机架。因此,我们将占地面积要求减少了 50%,并显著降低了相关的能源和冷却成本,同时也减少了对环境的影响。”

在继续谈论这个主题时,Isha Raina 补充道:“SPL 还将核心应用程序的重启时间减少了 60%,从 15 分钟缩短到不到 5 分钟。然而,在三年多的运营中,SPL 从未遇到过意外停机的情况。同时,该公司的性能稳定可靠,即使在高峰时段,CPU 使用率也保持在 50% 以下,从而确保我们拥有未来增长空间。”

技术增强也可以直接转化为业务优势。Isha Raina 阐述道:“IBM 和 SAP 解决方案帮助我们保持精简的后台基础架构并更高效地运营业务。例如,借助 SAP S/4HANA,我们将月末财务报告从过去的一周缩短到现在的一天,速度提高了 85%。这种速度有助于提供对业务绩效的深入、细致的洞察。如今,我们可以及时获取所需信息,做出快速的数据驱动型决策。”

Hemant Pandit 评论道:“SAP S/4HANA、IBM Power Systems 和 IBM FlashSystems 为 SPL 客户提供更现代、更便捷的订单和支付流程奠定了基础。因此,我们可以处理更多的交易量,这将有助于我们扩大业务并增加收入。由于 IBM Power Systems 为 SAP S/4HANA 应用程序提供了非常稳定、强大的环境,因此 SPL 计划在未来几年升级到基于 IBM POWER9® 处理器的基础架构:此举将进一步增强系统性能和可扩展性。”

总之,Hemant Pandit 补充道:“借助 IBM、SAP 和 Cisco 解决方案,SPL 能够更好地发展和适应,以满足客户需求。我们期待与 IBM 和 SAP 合作,探索增强运营和推动创新的新方法。”

IBM Systems Lab Services 团队花时间了解我们的独特基础架构,并与我们的合作伙伴 Intellect Bizware 密切合作,确保我们能够尽快启动并运行 IBM 硬件。 Isha Raina Systems 经理 Supreme Petrochem
Supreme Petrochem 徽标
Supreme Petrochem

Supreme Petrochem Limited(ibm.com 外部链接)在印度各地运营最先进的石化生产设施,并在纳戈塔尼和钦奈设有工厂。Supreme Petrochem 提供多种聚合物产品,向超过 100 个国家或地区出口聚苯乙烯、聚合物级和其他苯乙烯类产品。

关于 Intellect Bizware

Intellect Bizware(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于新孟买,帮助全球企业实施、增强和支持任务关键型 SAP 应用程序。

采取下一步行动

如需了解有关 IBM SAP 联盟的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问以下网站:/sap

阅读 PDF 了解更多信息
查看更多案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2020 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM FlashSystem、Power、PowerVM 和 POWER8 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

© 2020 SAP SE。保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。 这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

How could SPL balance its ambitions: increase manufacturing, ensure cost-effective production, and protect the environment?

Transformation

To help grow its operations, SPL moved its mission-critical business applications to SAP S/4HANA running on IBM Power Systems and IBM Storage solutions.

Results

Boosts

sales with automated online order processing and payments system and reduces capital requirements for raw materials and finished goods inventory management

85% reduction

in time taken to complete month-end reporting, reduced from one week to a single day

>60% faster

system restart processes help streamline IT system administration while CPU utilization of <50% during peak times keeps operations running smoothly

Business challenge story

Opportunities for sustainable growth

As more businesses seek to reduce the impact of their products and services on the environment, demand for re-usable and recyclable plastics is on the rise. 

SPL, a leading manufacturer of plastics and polymers in India, is keen to seize this opportunity for expansion, with ambitious plans to increase its market share.

“We’ve been broadening our product range in recent years to meet growing demand for high-quality plastics,” comments Hemant Pandit, Head of IT at SPL. “In particular, we looked to increase the production of value-added compounds in our product range.”

By producing more polymers for use in building insulation, SPL recognized that it could also offer greater support for the creation of energy-efficient homes and businesses.

“We take our responsibility to protect the environment seriously, which is why we’ve taken steps to steadily reduce our net energy consumption over the years,” says Hemant Pandit. “To continue to grow our business in an environmentally sustainable way, we also aim to boost production capacity without increasing our carbon footprint.”

Isha Raina, Systems Manager at SPL adds, “To drive innovation and help expand our market share, we decided to step up the IT infrastructure supporting our core operations. Specifically, we set out to help accelerate productivity by streamlining our back-office operations, while also ensuring that we run our business as energy-efficiently as possible.”

With IBM, SAP and Cisco solutions in place, SPL is better positioned to grow and adapt to meet the needs of our clients.

Hemant Pandit, Head of IT, Supreme Petrochem

Transformation story

Forging new partnerships

As a first step, SPL was looking to digitize and automate key workflows, particularly its order processing, which relied on email and manual data entry. In addition, as sales increased and production volumes climbed, financial reports were taking too long to process, reducing management insight. On the technical side, with data center footprint, energy consumption, and IT maintenance workloads all rising, pressure mounted to reduce overheads even as the desire for new capabilities grew.

To address its challenges, SPL decided to deploy new IT infrastructure designed to deliver on its capacity, capability and flexibility objectives. At the same time, the company chose to move its existing SAP applications from SAP ECC to SAP S/4HANA, offering fully integrated business operations that could help drive greater efficiency and support its growth goals.

Hemant Pandit comments, “Where other vendors proposed multiple servers to support our SAP workloads, IBM showed that their solutions could house our production workloads, applications, our database and a development environment on just one server. This approach presented an opportunity to significantly reduce our data center footprint and simplify the management of our IT systems. And having used IBM System i infrastructure for over a decade, we also knew that we could trust IBM to deliver the robust, reliable and flexible solutions we required to expand our business.”

SPL implemented its new SAP S/4HANA solutions on a single IBM Power Systems S824 server running SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications (external link). To maximize server utilization, SPL uses IBM PowerVM® to create multiple virtual environments, optimized for each application. 

Isha Raina adds, “We decided to run our SAP applications on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications, as this would help us ensure consistently strong performance and protect our systems against unplanned downtime. Combined with the Virtual Persistent Memory feature in IBM PowerVM, the SUSE operating system helps us to quickly restart our systems following patches and updates.” 

SPL also deployed IBM FlashSystem® 5000 to store SAP S/4HANA backup data as well as other critical application data, including email and unstructured file data. To increase resiliency, SPL installed a Cisco MDS 16GB SAN Switch alongside its IBM storage array.

Hemant Pandit continues, “We were impressed with IBM FlashSystem storage; it backs up our large SAP S/4HANA database incredibly quickly, which releases time to implement more frequent system backups, strengthening business continuity. The Cisco MDS switch enhances system resiliency by reducing points-of-failure in our storage environment, while also providing us with up to 12 ports for connecting additional devices—making it easy to scale-up our storage if we need to increase capacity.”

Isha Raina adds, “Knowing that IBM and Cisco work closely together as strategic partners, we felt confident that the combined solutions and expertise of both companies would deliver the best results for SPL in the long run and help drive our business forward.”

To accelerate implementation, SPL enlisted the help of its long-term business partner Intellect Bizware which helped the company with the SAP S/4HANA configuration and deployment. IBM Systems Lab Services also helped SPL deploy and provision the IBM Power System S824 and IBM FlashSystem 5000 devices for optimum performance.  

Isha Raina says, “The IBM Systems Lab Services team took the time to understand our unique infrastructure and worked closely with our partner Intellect Bizware to ensure that we could get our IBM hardware up and running as soon as possible. IBM Systems Lab Services did a great job, gathering all the data required for the hardware upgrade, helping us achieve best practices during installation, making sure that all our requirements were met and ensuring that the implementation ran smoothly.”

With support from IBM and Intellect Bizware, SPL managed to migrate its SAP environment to SAP S/4HANA in three months and then went live with the new IBM and SAP solutions after a month-long user acceptance period. 

Where other vendors proposed multiple servers to support our SAP workloads, IBM showed that their solutions could house our production workloads, applications, our database and a development environment on just one server.

Hemant Pandit, Head of IT, Supreme Petrochem

Results story

Increased production, greater efficiency

Since moving to SAP S/4HANA, IBM Power Systems and IBM FlashSystems, SPL has gained accurate insights to help optimize its capital investment in raw materials and finished goods—improving operational efficiency and releasing more resources for innovation. The company achieved this while also gaining significant back-office wins.

Isha Raina explains, “With our applications running on IBM Power Systems, we’ve reduced data center footprint. Previously, SPL relied on two racks of servers to support our production applications, whereas we now only need one rack. As a result, we’ve reduced our floorspace requirements by 50 percent and significantly lowered associated energy and cooling costs, shrinking the environmental impact, too.”

Continuing the theme, Isha Raina adds, “SPL has also reduced the restart times for its core applications by up to 60 percent, from 15 minutes to under 5 minutes. However, over three years of operation, SPL has not encountered an instance of unplanned downtime. At the same time, the company has achieved stable, reliable performance, with CPU usage remaining under 50 percent even during peak times—ensuring we have the headroom for future growth.”

The technical enhancements translate directly to business benefits, too. Isha Raina elaborates, “IBM and SAP solutions help us to keep our back-office infrastructure lean and run our business more efficiently. For example, we’ve accelerated our month-end financial reports from one week in the past to just a single day on SAP S/4HANA—that’s 85 percent faster. This speed helps to provide deep, granular insight into business performance. Today, we have the timely access to information we need to make rapid, data-driven decisions.”

Hemant Pandit remarks, “SAP S/4HANA, IBM Power Systems and IBM FlashSystems have laid the foundation for a more modern, convenient order and payments process for SPL’s clients. As a result, we can process a higher volume of transactions, which will help us to expand our business and increase our revenues. Because IBM Power Systems provides a very stable, robust environment for our SAP S/4HANA applications, SPL plans to upgrade to IBM POWER9® processor-based infrastructure in the years ahead: a move that will further enhance system performance and scalability.”

In conclusion, Hemant Pandit adds, “With IBM, SAP and Cisco solutions in place, SPL is better positioned to grow and adapt to meet the needs of our clients. We look forward to working with IBM and SAP as we explore new ways to enhance our operations and drive innovation.” 

The IBM Systems Lab Services team took the time to understand our unique infrastructure and worked closely with our partner Intellect Bizware to ensure that we could get our IBM hardware up and running as soon as possible.

Isha Raina, Systems Manager, Supreme Petrochem

Supreme Petrochem logo

Supreme Petrochem

Supreme Petrochem Limited (external link) operates state-of-the-art petrochemical production facilities across India, with sites in Nagothane and Chennai. Offering a wide range of polymer products, Supreme Petrochem exports polystyrene, polymer grades and other styrenics to more than 100 countries.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM SAP Alliance, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: /sap

To learn more about the IBM Cisco Alliance, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: /alliance

Based in Navi Mumbai, Intellect Bizware helps businesses around the world implement, enhance and support their mission-critical SAP applications. To find out more, visit: intellectbizware.com

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware