IBM 全球首席数据办公室
运用 IBM® Data Risk Manager 可视化管理 GDPR 准备就绪状态中的漏洞
年轻人在笔记本电脑上打字

IBM 全球首席数据办公室选用 IBM Data Risk Manager 为高管及其团队提供可视化控制中心。Data Risk Manager 的仪表板便捷易用,可帮助 IBM 负责隐私和数据的管理人员发现、分析和可视化管理聚集在敏感数据周边的业务风险,以便他们及时采取纠正措施。

业务挑战

为了应对 GDPR 准备就绪状态,掌握欧盟数据主体个人数据的公司需要了解数据的类型、数据的位置、数据的所有者以及相关的风险级别。

变革

作为 IBM GDPR 参考架构和公共服务的关键元素,IBM Data Risk Manager 可帮助发现、分析和可视化业务环境中与数据相关的业务和合规风险。

结果 可视化

成千上万的应用程序和数个太字节的数据中存在的数据风险

提供

用于响应审计和向高管报告的关键信息

有助于避免

因违反 GDPR 和其他法规而导致的罚款

业务挑战案例
评估全球公司的数据风险

作为一家在 170 多个国家/地区运营的跨国公司,IBM 长期以来一直需要应对全球数据隐私法律和法规方面的合规问题。当《欧盟通用数据保护条例》(GDPR) 于 2016 年 4 月通过后,IBM 在为 2018 年 5 月 25 日的强制执行期限做准备的同时,看到了更新其隐私保护措施并强化其产品和服务的机会。这是通过在全球范围内采用 GDPR 来实现的,作为 IBM 的全球转型计划,使所有客户均将受益。

这项全球计划的众多工作流包括满足 GDPR 要求,以了解 IBM 控制的个人数据的类型、数据的位置、使用方式及其所有者。全球首席数据办公室高级技术成员 Neera Mathur 表示:“这项工作涉及审查全公司的 6,500 多份申请,其中有约 3,400 份从 GDPR 角度来看至关重要。”

这项工作的结果已收集在一个中央数据隐私目录中,这是准备就绪过程中关键的第一步。但仍然存在一个问题:如何识别和评估与 IBM 控制下的 GDPR 相关数据关联的风险,以及如何与业务主管共享此类信息。

IBM Data Risk Manager 与信息管理目录帮助我们在极短的时间内实现了可信数据的可视化和管理。 Inderpal Bhandari Chief Data Officer IBM
变革案例
未能发现的问题可能会给您造成损失

IBM 全球首席数据办公室负责开发参考架构和一组公共服务,用于支持业务部门针对 GDPR 做好数据存储准备,他们选择了 IBM 信息管理目录作为隐私数据的中央存储(即隐私目录),而 IBM Data Risk Manager 为高管及其团队提供可视化的数据风险控制中心(即风险监管仪表板)。

通过提供便捷易用的仪表板,Data Risk Manager 可帮助 IBM 各个级别的隐私官和数据官发现、分析和可视化管理数据相关的业务风险,以便他们及时采取纠正措施。例如,在 GDPR 强制执行日期之前的几个月,Data Risk Manager 可以提供以下实例的洞察信息:何时可以将个人数据转移到具有更好的保护控制的系统中,何时应该对其进行加密,或者何时可以将其全部删除。可视化包括数据存储位置映射以及侧重风险和漏洞的图形。

现在,通过隐私目录中储存的数据存储信息和应用层信息,Data Risk Manager 可以回复监管机构提出的基本问题:公司拥有哪些个人数据?这些数据的用途是什么?哪些应用程序、业务流程和人员可以访问这些数据?谁是此类特定数据存储的所有者,存储位置在哪里?随着隐私目录的更改,更新信息会反映到仪表板中,并满足遵守多种数据隐私法规(包括 GDPR)的持续要求。

Data Risk Manager 可以按业务部门或按应用程序在整个公司的全球层面执行,允许用户仅查看与其角色相关的数据。例如,IBM 的首席隐私官和数据隐私官可查看整个 IBM 范围内的敏感个人数据的状态,而业务部门级别的数据隐私官只能查看与其运营或位置相关的数据。

案例成果
可信数据的可视化和管理

“IBM 包罗万象,拥有众多业务部门和成千上万处理个人数据的应用程序。Data Risk Manager 和信息管理目录帮助我们在极短的时间内实现了可信数据的可视化和管理。”IBM 首席数据官 Inderpal Bhandari 谈到。

作为 IBM GDPR 公共服务参考架构的关键组件,Data Risk Manager 可帮助公司的隐私官报告 GDPR 及其他数据隐私法规的数据风险和合规状况,并响应审计员或公司内部个人的信息请求。

通过将风险可视化,从而让业务高管轻松识别、理解并相应地解决风险,Data Risk Manager 可帮助 IBM 避免因违反数据隐私法规(包括 GDPR)而遭到罚款。

IBM 全球首席数据办公室

IBM 是数据保护领域公认的领导者,遵守世界各地的数据隐私法。作为 IBM 对隐私设计的持续承诺的一部分,IBM 将数据保护原则更深入地嵌入到其业务流程、产品和服务中,以便客户能够更好地实现其数据保护目标。除了增强安全性,IBM 还提供创新的数据隐私和管理解决方案,可以帮助客户和合作伙伴满足 GDPR 的要求。在此详细了解 IBM 自身的 GDPR 准备之旅,以及我们为您的合规之旅提供支持的 GDPR 功能和产品。

采取下一步行动

如需了解 IBM Data Risk Manager 的更多相关信息,请访问:ibm.com/products/data-risk-manager

在 Twitter 上关注我们:@IBMSecurity,或访问我们的博客:securityintelligence.com

查看更多案例 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. IBM Security, 75 Binney Street, Cambridge MA 02142

美国出品。2018 年 8 月

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark的“版权和商标信息”网站上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

本文引用的客户示例仅供说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不当访问可能导致信息被篡改、破坏或盗用,或导致系统受损或被滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当访问。IBM 系统和产品旨在成为全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证系统和产品不受任何一方的恶意或非法行为的影响。

客户有责任确保自己遵守各项法律和法规,包括《欧盟通用数据保护条例》。客户全权负责就可能影响客户业务的任何相关法律和法规的识别和诠释,以及客户为遵守此类法律和法规可能需要采取的任何行动,向具备相关资质的法律顾问寻求建议。本文描述的产品、服务和其他功能并不适合所有客户情况,并且可用性可能会受到限制。IBM 不提供任何法律、会计或审计建议,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

在此详细了解 IBM 自身的 GDPR 准备之旅,以及我们为您的合规之旅提供支持的 GDPR 功能和产品。

Business challenge

Companies that control personal data of EU data subjects are required to understand the types of data, where it is, who owns it and the associated level of risk as part of addressing GDPR readiness.

Transformation

As a key element of IBM’s GDPR reference architecture and common services, IBM Data Risk Manager helps uncover, analyze and visualize data-related business and compliance risks in a business context. 

Results

Visualizes

data risks across thousands of applications and terabytes of data

Provides

critical information for responding to audits and reporting to executives

Helps avoid

fines that can result from non-compliance with GDPR and other regulations

Business challenge story

Assessing data risk in a global company

As a global company operating in more than 170 countries, IBM has longhad to address compliance with data privacy laws and regulations around the world. When the EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) was adopted in April 2016, IBM saw an opportunity to refresh its privacy practices and enhance its products and services while preparing for the enforcement deadline of 25 May 2018. This wasaccomplishedby embracing GDPR globally, as a global transformation program of change across IBM, to benefit all clients.

That global program included, among numerous work streams, addressing the GDPR requirement to understand the type of personal data IBM controls, where it is, how it is used and who owns it. “The job involved examining more than 6,500 applications across the company, about 3,400 of which are critical from a GDPR perspective,” says Neera Mathur, Senior Technical Staff Member in the Global Chief Data Office. 

The results of this effort were collected in a central data privacy catalog, as a key first step in the journey to readiness. But a question remained: how to identify and evaluate the risks associated with the GDPR-relevant data under IBM’s control, and how to share that information with business leaders. 

IBM Data Risk Manager, along with Information Governance Catalog, helped us visualize and manage trusted data in a very short time.

—Inderpal Bhandari, Chief Data Officer, IBM

Transformation story

What you don’t know can hurt you

IBM’s Global Chief Data Office, charged with developing a reference architecture and a set of common services for supporting business units in making their data stores ready for GDPR, selected IBM Information Governance Catalog for the central store of privacy data—the privacy catalog—and IBM Data Risk Manager to provide a visual data risk control center for executives and their teams—the risk regulatory dashboard.

By providing a business-consumable dashboard, Data Risk Manager helps privacy officers and data officers at all levels across IBM uncover, analyze and visualize data-related business risks so they can take corrective action. During the months leading up to the GDPR enforcement date, for example, Data Risk Manager could provide insights into instances when personal data could be moved to a system that had better controls for protecting it, when it should be encrypted, or when it could be deleted all together. Visualizations include maps of data residency as well as graphics focused on risk and vulnerabilities.

Now, working from the data store- and application-level information housed in the privacy catalog, Data Risk Manager can provide answers to the basic questions a regulator would ask: What personal data do you have? What is it used for? What applications, business processes and people have access to it? Who is the owner of this particular data store, and where is it located? And as changes are made to the privacy catalog, the updated information is reflected in the dashboard, supporting the ongoing requirement to address compliance with multiple data privacy regulations, including GDPR.

Data Risk Manager can perform at the global level across the company, by business unit or by application, allowing users to see only data that is relevant to their role. IBM’s Chief Privacy Officer and Data Privacy Officercan see the status of sensitive personal data IBM-wide, for example, while a business unit-level data privacy officer can only see data relevant to their operation or location.  

Results story

Visualizing and managing trusted data

“IBM is very diverse with many business units and thousands of applications that process personal data. Data Risk Manager, along with Information Governance Catalog, helped us visualize and manage trusted data in a very short time,” says IBM Chief Data Officer Inderpal Bhandari.

As a key component of IBM’s GDPR common services reference architecture, Data Risk Manager helps privacy officers across the company report on data risks and compliance posture for GDPR as well as other data privacy regulations and respond to requests for information from auditors or individuals within the company. 

And by visualizing risks so they can be readily identified, easily understood by business executives and addressed appropriately, Data Risk Manager can help IBM avoid fines levied for non-compliance with data privacy regulations, including GDPR.

About IBM Global Chief Data Office

IBM is a recognized leader in data protection and complies with data privacy laws around the world. As part of IBM’s ongoing commitment to privacy by design, IBM has embedded data protection principles even more deeply into its business processes, products, and services so that our clients can better meet their own data protection objectives. In addition to enhanced security, IBM offers innovative data privacy and governance solutions that can assist clients and partners with GDPR compliance. Learn more about IBM's own GDPR readiness journey and our GDPR capabilities and offerings to support your compliance journey here.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Data Risk Manager, visit: https://www.ibm.com/us-en/marketplace/data-risk-manager

For more information on IBM Security solutions and services, visit:  ibm.com/security. Follow us on Twitter at @IBMSecurity or visit our blog at securityintelligence.com.