Groupe Bastide
推行快速扩张战略,保持卓越服务质量
医生在医院走廊与患者交谈

在向医疗保健行业提供医疗器械时,始终如一的质量至关重要。在运行有 SAP® ERP(由 SAP HANA® 提供支持)的 IBM® Power Systems™ 服务器的助力下,蓬勃发展的供应商 Groupe Bastide 推行其扩张战略,同时保持了一贯的卓越标准,使其能够在不损失性能的情况下吸引新用户。

业务挑战

Groupe Bastide 因在医疗设备领域提供优质服务而闻名,从而实现了快速增长。它如何在保持卓越声誉的同时继续扩张?

变革

该公司在首席信息官 M. de Jabrun 的带领下,通过转变 IT 格局、在 IBM Power Systems 服务器上实施 SAP HANA,并获得 IBM Storage 的支持,确保他们能够快速、自信地把握新机遇。

结果 通过
更灵活、可扩展的 IT 服务,为不间断扩展扫清道路
通过
更好的用户体验和更少的解决方案管理,提高生产力
支持
快速获取关键业务洞察力,支持卓越的服务连续性
业务挑战案例
避免发展过程中的痛点和难点

无论是在医院、护理机构还是在患者家中,护理人员都需要可靠的高质量医疗设备,才能有效地为患者提供治疗。这些医疗设备的供应商必须始终如一地按照卓越的基准提供服务,否则就有可能影响对患者的护理。

Groupe Bastide 就是这样一家提供商,它是一家总部设在法国的组织,怀有向全球扩张的雄心。无论是自然增长还是通过收购实现的快速增长,都使 Groupe Bastide 保持其赖以成名的卓越标准面临更大挑战。

Group Bastide 的 IT 经理 Emmanuel Romieu 解释道:“近期,我们在法国以外实施的收购举措,令我们的扩张战略再上层楼。例如,在英国,我们现在是第二大医疗设备供应商,并且我们计划向更远的地区扩张。我们希望主动对公司的运营进行一些改变,以确保能够继续抓住出现的机会。”

具体来说,Groupe Bastide 认为,部署由 SAP HANA 数据库支持的 SAP ERP 来提高性能并加快分析速度,这是正确的决定。该集团的 IT 团队开始寻找基础架构来支持 SAP HANA 发挥最大潜力,同时满足不断增长的业务需求。

Romieu 表示:“短期内,我们需要服务器和存储解决方案,让我们从 SAP HANA 投资中获得最大收益。从长远来看,我们希望能够将当前和未来的子公司引入我们的 SAP 环境,这意味着需要充足的空间和灵活性。”

IBM Power Systems 提供了卓越的性能,而且我们还有足够的增长空间,现在甚至还无需扩展基础架构。 Emmanuel Romieu IT Manager Groupe Bastide
变革案例
为 SAP HANA 助力加油

为了消除发展障碍,Groupe Bastide 部署了 SAP HANA,该平台在 IBM Power® Systems S824L 服务器(使用 IBM PowerVM® 虚拟化)上运行,并运行有 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications(链接位于 IBM.com 外部)。

Romieu 回忆说:“我们很快就选定了 IBM Power Systems,它在我们考虑过的平台之中最为灵活。它在虚拟化功能方面得分很高,这对我们来说是一个关键优先项。IBM 还围绕技术提供了许多增值服务,这是其他供应商根本无法比拟的。”

在为了 SAP HANA 进行基础架构规模调整过程中,Groupe Bastide IT 团队意识到低估了所需的内存量。IBM 和一家竞争厂商对这一问题的不同回应,凸显了无缝可扩展性的优势,而这正是 IBM Power Systems 平台的一个显著特征。

Romieu 说:”如果选择非 IBM 方案,就意味着要在产品规格更高的范围选择要部署的服务器,这样成本就会高得多。相比之下,我们可以轻松地向 Power Systems 服务器添加额外的内存。我们本来就对 POWER 基础架构的卓越技术很有信心,尤其当我们看到扩展系统是如此简单时,就更加坚定了我们的选择。”

为了支持该环境,Groupe Bastide 选择了 IBM FlashSystem® 5000 存储阵列。通过在两个站点之间异步复制数据,该小组可以防止发生灾难时数据丢失。Romieu 继续说道:“多年来,我们一直依赖 IBM FlashSystem 和 IBM Spectrum Virtualize,并取得了巨大成功,因此也会顺理成章地选择它来支持新环境。”

IBM Power Systems 和 IBM FlashSystem 非常适合运行 SAP HANA,这一组合为我们提供了将 Groupe Bastide 推向全球所需的一切。 Emmanuel Romieu IT Manager Groupe Bastide
案例成果
做好准备,迎接更加光明的未来

自从部署 IBM 解决方案以来,Groupe Bastide 能够更好地把握新机遇。因此,该公司正努力在不影响服务水平的情况下,实现其大胆的扩张计划。

Romieu 表示:“IBM Power Systems 提供了卓越的性能,而且我们还有足够的增长空间,现在甚至还无需扩展基础架构。除了 IBM 存储系统外,它们还为我们提供了理想的平台,使我们能够增加用户,并在准备就绪后,支持我们在 SAP 环境中整合子公司的计划。”

Groupe Bastide 的员工受益于 SAP HANA 所带来的更快速、更强大的报告功能,与公司以前的数据库相比,SAP HANA 也更易于管理。

“在 IBM Power Systems 上实施 SAP HANA,显著改善了我们的用户体验,”Romieu 解释道。“我们在管理系统上花费的时间少了很多,用户也很满意,这就从整体上提高了员工的工作效率。”

通过缩短 SAP HANA 的响应时间,IBM 服务器和存储解决方案有助于提供 Groupe Bastide 所需的业务洞察,这样就可以继续提供令客户满意的服务。

Romieu 总结道:“我们曾考虑过将来向云迁移,但我们认为目前任何服务都无法提供与 POWER 架构相媲美的性能水平。SAP HANA、Power Systems 和 IBM FlashSystem 的组合非常成功,为我们提供了将 Groupe Bastide 服务推向全球所需的一切。我们很高兴看到 SAP S/4HANA 和基于 IBM POWER9 处理器的服务器为我们的业务带来的助益,帮助我们进一步巩固已获得的竞争优势。”

Groupe Bastide 徽标
Groupe Bastide

Groupe Bastide(链接位于 IBM.com 外部)由 Guy Bastide 于 1977 年创立,专门从事医疗设备的供应和服务。公司通过了 ISO 9001 认证,提供糖尿病、营养、呼吸和泌尿等多个领域的产品。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Power Systems for SAP HANA 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多客户案例了解有关 IBM Systems Hardware 的更多信息

查看文档(英文) 查看文档(法语)
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2021 年 7 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM FlashSystem、IBM Spectrum、Power Systems、IBM Power 和 PowerVM 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://ibm.com/legal/copytrade

Linux 是 Linus Torvalds 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的注册商标。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

SAP HANA 不是 IBM 的产品或服务。SAP HANA 根据 SAP 的条款和条件(视情况而定)向用户出售或许可,这些条款和条件随产品或服务一起提供。SAP HANA 的可用性以及所有保证、服务和支持由 SAP 直接负责,并直接向用户提供。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

© 2021 SAP SE. 保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business challenge

Groupe Bastide was known for providing superior service around medical devices, resulting in rapid growth. How could it continue to expand while maintaining its reputation for excellence?

Transformation

The company and its CIO, M. de Jabrun, ensured they could move on new opportunities quickly and confidently by transforming the IT landscape, implementing SAP HANA on IBM Power Systems servers and supported by IBM Storage.

Results

Clears

the path to non-disruptive expansion with more flexible, scalable IT services

Enhances

productivity through better user experiences and less solution administration

Supports

exceptional service continuity with fast access to key business insights

Business challenge story

Avoiding growing pains

Whether they’re in a hospital, in a care facility or at a patient’s home, care-givers need a reliable supply of high-quality medical devices to treat people effectively. Providers of this medical equipment must deliver to a consistently excellent benchmark, or risk compromising patient care.

One such provider is Groupe Bastide, an organization based in France that harbors ambitions of global expansion. Rapid growth – both organic and through acquisition –  was making it more challenging for Groupe Bastide to maintain the exceptional standards on which its reputation rests.

Emmanuel Romieu, IT Manager at Group Bastide, explains: “Recently, our growth strategy has stepped up a notch with acquisitions outside France. For example, in the UK, we are now the second largest provider of medical devices, and we have plans to expand even further afield. We wanted to proactively make some changes to our operations to ensure that we could continue to seize opportunities as they emerge.”

Specifically, Groupe Bastide decided that deploying SAP ERP powered by SAP HANA database to increase performance and power faster analytics was the right decision. The group’s IT team began looking for the infrastructure to support SAP HANA to its fullest potential, while meeting the needs of a growing business.

“In the short-term, we needed server and storage solutions up to the task of letting us get the most out of our investment in SAP HANA,” comments Romieu. “Long-term, we wanted the ability to bring in current and future subsidiaries into our SAP environment, which meant plenty of headroom and flexibility.”

IBM Power Systems deliver a huge amount of performance, and we’ve got plenty of room to grow – we’re not even close to stretching the infrastructure yet.

—Emmanuel Romieu, IT Manager , Groupe Bastide

Transformation story

Powering up for SAP HANA

To remove barriers to growth, Groupe Bastide deployed SAP HANA running on IBM Power® Systems S824L servers virtualized with IBM PowerVM® and running SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications.

“We quickly honed in on IBM Power Systems as the most flexible platform of the ones we considered,” recalls Romieu. “It scored highly on virtualization capabilities, which was a key priority for us. IBM also provides a lot of value-add services around technology, which other vendors simply can’t match.”

During the infrastructure-sizing process for SAP HANA, the Groupe Bastide IT team realized that it had underestimated how much memory was required. The differing reactions from IBM and a competing vendor helped to highlight the seamless scalability that is a defining characteristic of the IBM Power Systems platform.

“Choosing the non-IBM option would have meant deploying a server higher up the product range at significantly higher cost,” remarks Romieu. “In contrast, we could easily add extra memory to the Power Systems servers. We were already sold on the POWER architecture’s superior technology, but it sealed the deal when we saw just how simple it is to scale up the system.”

To underpin the environment, Groupe Bastide chose IBM Storwize® V5010 storage arrays. By asynchronously replicating data between two sites, the group protects against data loss in the event of a disaster. Romieu continues: “We’ve relied on Storwize V5000 storage for some years now with great success, so it was the natural choice to support the new environment.”

IBM Power Systems and Storwize are perfect for running SAP HANA, and the combination gives us what we need to take Groupe Bastide global.

— Emmanuel Romieu, IT Manager, Groupe Bastide

Results story

Gearing up for a bright future

Since deploying the IBM solutions, Groupe Bastide is better-positioned to capitalize on new opportunities. As a result, the company is on the path to making its bold expansion plans a reality without compromising on service levels.

“IBM Power Systems deliver a huge amount of performance, and we’ve got plenty of room to grow – we’re not even close to stretching the infrastructure yet,” comments Romieu. “Alongside the IBM storage systems, they give us the ideal platform to add users and, once we’re ready, to support our plans of consolidating subsidiaries on our SAP environment too.”

Groupe Bastide’s employees benefit from faster, more powerful reporting capabilities enabled by SAP HANA, which is also easier to manage than the company’s previous database.

“Implementing SAP HANA on IBM Power Systems dramatically improved our user experience over what we had before,” explains Romieu. “We spend a lot less time administering the system and the users are happy, which translates into greater employee productivity overall.”

By enabling short response times for SAP HANA, the IBM server and storage solutions help to deliver the business insights that Groupe Bastide needs to continue delighting its customers.

Romieu concludes: “We’ve thought about a move to the cloud in the future, but we can’t see any of the current services offering the levels of performance provided by the POWER architecture. The combination of SAP HANA, Power Systems and Storwize is a winning one, giving us what we need to take Groupe Bastide services global. Looking to the future, we’re excited to see what SAP S/4HANA and IBM POWER9 processer-based servers could do for our business, helping us build on the competitive advantage we’ve gained even further.”

business logo

About Groupe Bastide

Founded in 1977 by Guy Bastide, Groupe Bastide specializes in the provision and servicing of medical devices. ISO 9001 certified, the company offers products in multiple areas including diabetes, nutrition, respiratory and urology.

Take the Next Step

To learn more about IBM Power Systems for SAP HANA, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/power/saphana

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware