ExaVault Inc. 首席执行官 David Ordal 解释说:“对于许多公司而言,我们是任务关键式的存在。”他们的解决方案帮助 Disney、Adobe、Xerox 和 Zillow 等客户每年执行 20 亿次的文件传输。

大多数 ExaVault 客户都执行自动化的系统到系统文件传输,例如将数据从销售终端系统移至分析平台或库存管理系统。 ExaVault 的 API 平均每分钟处理 35000 个请求,每天执行超过 5000 万次调用。 文件传输实现自动化后,传输两端的参与方都依靠这些自动化能力做出业务决策。

“如果我们宕机,我们的客户就会遭受经济损失。” Ordal 说道。

每个 ExaVault 客户的重要性都不言而喻,并且他们使用 ExaVault 的方式都略有不同,通常使用开发者 API 创建定制功能。 ExaVault 的整个客户群并不受所有问题的影响 - 事实上,通常只会有单一客户体验到速度下降。 但如果发生这种情况,ExaVault 的团队也需要了解客户正在经历什么并调试问题。

在迁移至 IBM® Observability by Instana® 解决方案之前,ExaVault 使用的监控解决方案几乎无法获得细颗粒度的具体客户信息。ExaVault 的后端资深工程师 Tom Fite 解释说:“我们无法使用他们的用户 ID 来标记事务,然后通过过滤以锁定具体的客户问题。” 具体的客户问题可能完全消失在茫茫数据之中 — 因为只有单一客户遇到速度下降问题,而只提供总体视图的监控系统根本不会显示该问题。

ExaVault 缩短了

56.6%

的 MTTR

达到了

99.99%

可用性

以用户友好的方式快速提供可视性

当 ExaVault 开始寻找新的监控解决方案时,最优先考虑的功能就是能够按客户分解指标,了解客户正在经历的“边缘情况”。 其他主要选择标准包括成本和用户界面,这两个问题都是先前供应商的不足之处。

“一些 APM 供应商的价格令人望而却步。”Fite 解释道,“尤其是在扩展应用,让监控解决方案在多台机器上运行等方面。”

ExaVault 考虑了堆栈跟踪、数据库调用、吞吐量、数据保留策略和基础架构监控等因素。 但是,能够让非技术用户轻松使用的图形用户界面也是选择 Instana 的重要原因。

“我对出色的用户界面非常着迷。”Fite 说道,“这也可以帮助我向团队中的其他人,尤其是那些并不精通技术的人解释,我们已经解决了某个问题。”

在办公室使用笔记本电脑的女性

更快的解决问题速度,更高的正常运行率

ExaVault 使用 Instana 监控 API 性能,执行错误跟踪、调试和警报等功能。 ExaVault 日常最重视的指标是延迟。“我们必须确保每位客户都获得出色的体验。”Fite 解释道,“如果客户的延迟超过几秒,他们就可能就会转身离去。”

使用 Instana 之后,Fite 不必整天盯着仪表板看。 如果发生任何异常,Instana 就会向专用的 Slack 频道发出警报。

对于客户级别的监控,ExaVault 使用 Instana 软件开发包 (SDK),将收到的元数据分配给每个 API 调用。 因此,Fite 可根据大量的变量进行过滤。 但是,最常见的用例是按客户或按每个客户中的个别用户进行过滤。“如果用户发生问题而我们在较笼统的层面无法看到,我们可以进行深入调查,并根据他们的信息进行真正的故障诊断。”Fite 这样表示。

自从 ExaVault 开始使用 Instana,影响客户的错误的平均解决时间 (MTTR) 缩短了 56.6%。 此外,平台的减速和宕机情况也显著减少。 以前的正常运行率是 99.51%,现在达到了 99.99%。“我们即将完成自己设定的目标。”Fite 解释道,“之所以能够做到这一点,是因为我们能够更好地了解发生的问题。”

在某些情况下,ExaVault 甚至发现了在使用 Instana 之前根本不知道的错误。 在 Instana 投入使用几天后,ExaVault 就发现软件中存在一个错误,即频繁查询内存高速缓存,并且无法正确保存。 修复以前未发现的错误对于减轻应用服务器负荷起到了立竿见影的作用。

同事讨论新的想法

赢得创新所需的时间

“我们的科技负债减少了,因为我们能够更快地解决问题。”ExaVault 的营销主管 Eddie Castillo 说道,“我们的团队能够将更多时间用于新功能和路线图的规划,而不是整天修复错误。”

有几个大项目正在酝酿之中。 如果没有 Instana 强大的内部测试能力,那么在部署 API 改进功能时,Fite 可能会为漏网的错误担惊受怕。“Instana 帮助我们确保变更工作比现在的版本更好。”Fite 说道。

ExaVault 还正在将内部开发的容器编排系统迁移到 Kubernetes。 最后,ExaVault 非常高兴地宣布,开始使用 Instana 的部署跟踪功能,比较未来部署前后的性能指标。

“根据未来的路线图,如果我们没有这些工具,就不可能密切跟踪我们的技术栈。”Castillo 说道,“Tom 以前要在自己的桌面系统上打开 100 万个终端窗口。 而使用这些工具之后,我们就能够更全面更清晰地了解更为多样和复杂的总体架构。”

Exavault 徽标

关于 ExaVault Inc.

ExaVault(外部链接)为 100 多个国家或地区中各种规模的企业提供 FTP 和文件共享解决方案。 它的解决方案通过现代界面增强了传统的 FTP/SFTP,并支持跨平台和时区的安全协作和共享。 ExaVault 成立于 2009 年,总部位于加利福尼亚州圣拉蒙。

Instana 徽标

关于 Instana, an IBM Company

Instana, an IBM Company 提供 Enterprise Observability(外部链接)平台和自动化应用性能监控(外部链接)功能,支持企业运行复杂的现代化云原生应用,无论这些应用位于何处 — 无论是在本地运行,还是在公有云和私有云中运行,包括在移动设备或 IBM Z® 大型机计算机上运行的应用。

通过 Instana 中由 AI 驱动的发现能力,揭示混合应用中的深层依赖关系,从而控制现代化的混合应用。 Instana 还提供针对开发管道的可视性,帮助实现闭环的 DevOps 自动化。

这些功能提供客户所需的切实可行的反馈,帮助他们优化应用性能,实现创新和降低风险,帮助 DevOps 提高效率,为软件交付管道增添价值,同时满足服务和业务级别的目标。

有关更多信息,请访问 instana.com(外部链接)。

解决方案组件

IBM® Observability by Instana®

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 11 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Instana 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区域注册的商标。 其他产品和服务可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点 www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade 上提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可随时对其进行修改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有这些产品或服务。

引用的性能数据和客户示例仅用于演示目的。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和运行条件而异。本文档中的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,不包含任何有关适销、适用于某种特定用途的保证以及有关非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品是根据产品提供时所依据的协议条款和条件提供保证的。

When billions of mission-critical file transfers depend on you
How ExaVault maximizes uptime using IBM Instana Observability
Experience IBM Instana Observability

“We’re mission-critical for a lot of companies,” explains David Ordal, Chief Executive Officer (CEO) at ExaVault Inc., whose solutions facilitate two billion file transfers per year for customers such as Disney, Adobe, Xerox and Zillow.

The majority of ExaVault customers are performing automated, system-to-system file transfers, like moving data from a point-of-sale system to an analytics platform or an inventory management system. ExaVault’s API handles an average of 35,000 requests per minute and over 50 million calls daily. While the file transfers are automated, parties on both sides of the transfer rely on these automations to make business decisions.

If we go down, our customers start losing money,” Ordal says.

The stakes are high for individual ExaVault customers, and they each use ExaVault in a slightly different way, often creating custom functionality through the developer API. ExaVault’s entire customer base isn’t affected by all issues—in fact, often only a single customer experiences a slowdown. But if that happens, ExaVault’s team needs to be able to see what the customer is experiencing and debug the problem.

Before moving to the IBM Instana® Observability solution, ExaVault was using a monitoring system that made getting granular, customer-specific information nearly impossible. “We couldn’t tag transactions with their user ID, and then filter down into the specific customer issue,” explains Tom Fite, Senior Backend Engineer at ExaVault. Specific customer issues can be completely lost in averages—if a single customer is experiencing a slowdown, it won’t show up at all on a monitoring system that only gives a holistic view.

Does this story resonate with your business challenges? Take the next step today.

Reduced MTTR

 

ExaVault achieved a 56.6% MTTR reduction

100% availability

 

And it reached 99.99% availability

Our team is able to dedicate more time towards new features and roadmap planning, instead of smashing bugs all day. Eddie Castillo Head of Marketing ExaVault Inc.
Fast, user-friendly visibility

When ExaVault started looking for a new monitoring solution, the top priority was the ability to break down metrics by account and see what “edge case” customers were experiencing. Other top criteria were cost and user interface, both of which had been pain points with previous vendors.

“Some APM vendors are prohibitively expensive,” explains Fite. “Especially when you are talking about scaling your application and you have your monitoring running on more than a few boxes.”

ExaVault considered factors like stack traces, database calls, throughput, data retention policies and infrastructure monitoring. But a graphical user interface that makes sense to non-technical users was also a key reason to choose Instana.

“I’m a sucker for a good user interface,” Fite says. “But it can also help me explain to other people on our team, especially people who are less technically savvy than me, that we have fixed an issue.”

Quicker resolutions & greater uptime

ExaVault uses Instana to monitor API performance and for error tracking, debugging and alerting. The most important metric ExaVault looks at on a day-to-day basis is latency. “We need to make sure every customer is having a good experience,” Fite says. “If a customer is waiting more than a couple seconds, they might leave.”

With Instana, though, Fite doesn’t have to look at the dashboard all day. Instead, Instana sends an alert to a dedicated Slack channel if anything is out of the ordinary.

When it comes to account-level monitoring, ExaVault uses the Instana software development kit (SDK) to assign metadata to each API call as it comes in. As a result, Fite can filter on a huge number of variables. The most common use case, though, is filtering by account or even by individual users in an account. “If a user is having a problem that we don’t see at the high level, we can drill down and really troubleshoot just looking at their information,” Fite says.

Since ExaVault started using Instana, the mean time to resolution (MTTR) for customer-impacting bugs has dropped by 56.6%. In addition, the platform’s slowdowns and downtime have decreased substantially. It was at 99.51% uptime before, and it’s now at 99.99% . “We’re accomplishing the goal that we set out to do,” Fite explains. “The reason we were able to do that is we had better visibility into our problems.”

In some cases, there were bugs ExaVault didn’t even know existed before using Instana. Within days of getting set up with Instana, ExaVault realized there was a bug in the software that was querying the memory cache too frequently and wasn’t saving correctly. Fixing the previously invisible bug immediately reduced the load on application servers.

Gaining time for innovation

“Our tech debt has decreased because we’re able to get through stuff a lot faster,” says Eddie Castillo, ExaVault’s Head of Marketing. “Our team is able to dedicate more time towards new features and roadmap planning, instead of smashing bugs all day.”

There are a few major projects on the horizon. Without the robust internal testing possible with Instana, Fite would be a lot more worried about the potential for bugs to slip as they deploy improvements to the API. “Instana is going to help us ensure that the changes work better than the current version,” Fite says.

ExaVault is also working on moving from a homegrown container orchestration system to Kubernetes. Lastly, ExaVault is excited to start using Instana’s deployment tracking to compare performance metrics before and after deployments in the future.

“With the upcoming roadmap, if we didn’t have these tools, it would be impossible to keep an eye on our tech stack,” Castillo says. “Tom used to have a million terminal windows open on his desktop. But having these tools in place, it gives us visibility as we diversify and add more complexity to our overall architecture."

Exavault logo
About ExaVault Inc.

ExaVault (link resides outside of ibm.com) provides FTP and file sharing solutions for businesses of all sizes in more than 100 countries. Its solution enhances traditional FTP/SFTP with a modern interface and enables secure collaboration and sharing across platforms and time zones. ExaVault was founded in 2009 and is headquartered in San Ramon, California.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

Read the PDF View more case stories GittiGidiyor

High performance during an unprecedented boom

Read the case study
PROMOTORA DE INFORMACIONES, S.A. (PRISA)

Ensuring high-performance content delivery worldwide

Read the case study
Conrad Electronic International GmbH & Co. KG

Supplying the world’s electronics, without fail

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, November 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and Instana are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at https://www.ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.