在前所未有的繁荣发展时期保持高性能
Instana 如何帮助 eBay 旗下公司达到新的高度
一个人正在用手给盒子贴标签,以进行配送

2020 年,当全球都受新冠疫情影响,连续数月处于封控状态时,全球在线商务业务出现前所未有的增长。对于在线零售商来说,这就像是一场为期一年的在线购物狂欢。

11 月,随着黑色星期五的临近,零售商看到了巨大的收入潜力,但是他们需要做好应对需求的准备。

eBay 的土耳其子公司 GittiGidiyor 就是其中之一。GittiGidiyor 为 3,300 万买家和卖家组成的用户群提供服务。与大多数在线商店一样,它的业务在 2020 年猛增。尽管如此,黑色星期五仍将使整体交易量增加四到五倍。

为了做好准备,GittiGidiyor 需要对应用程序环境中出现的潜在问题有一个清晰、综合的了解。即使是在复杂的现代容器化架构中,它也需要即时了解问题所在以及如何解决这些问题。

幸运的是,GittiGidiyor 最近在实施 IBM Observability by Instana® 时获得了这些功能。

增加收入

 

2020 年,GittiGidiyor 的移动销售收入激增 82%

实现快速业务增长

 

在黑色星期五,使用 Instana 帮助实现了 4-5 倍的业务增长

只需进行一次安装,该解决方案便会自动检测我们的应用程序。其他工具则需要更多的流程并会更改 Docker 文件。现在,我们不需要这样做了。 Oguz Yarimtepe 站点可靠性工程师团队主管 GittiGidiyor
监控现代化环境

GittiGidiyor 已经通过现代化建立了卓越的可扩展性。该公司约 80% 的应用程序均基于微服务,并已经过容器化,包括所有前端和后端服务以及作为业务引擎的极关键的支付系统。

但是,在现代化实现可扩展性和灵活性的同时,它也会增加复杂性。用微服务架构替换单体式应用程序会在每个微服务之间创建新的通信路径。为了保持应用程序的高性能,公司必须监控这些路径并保持数据流动。

2020 年,GittiGidiyor 的移动应用程序新增下载量达到 2,000 万次(较 2019 年增长 57%),移动销售收入激增 82%,该公司利用 Instana 提供全面的可视化,帮助其适应增长并保持业绩。

这种可观察性也有助于该公司应对黑色星期五的业务增长。

即时了解整体情况

Instana 合作伙伴 Kloia(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家云、开发运维和微服务解决方案提供商。在 2019 年帮助 GittiGidiyor 审计 Kubernetes 集群时,该公司意识到 GittiGidiyor 有机会使用 Instana 提高监控可视化

Kloia 帮助 GittiGidiyor 评估应用程序性能需求并定义性能监控要求,并且继续与 GittiGidiyor 合作,以帮助解决问题并将 Instana 监控扩展到 Node.js 应用程序。

当 GittiGidiyor 试用 Instana 时,让该团队印象深刻的是,安装一次后,几乎可以立即生成宝贵的可视化效果。“我们安装一次后,它就会自动检测我们的应用程序,”GittiGidiyor 的站点可靠性工程师 (SRE) 团队负责人 Oguz Yarimtepe 解释道,“其他工具则需要更多的流程并会更改 Docker 文件。现在,我们不需要这样做了。”

此外,安装 Instana 后,GittiGidiyor 很快就微服务之间的相互依赖关系建立了更高的保真度。软件开发团队负责人 Mehmet Gökhan Akgül 表示:“它使我们能够发现系统的整个结构,并让我们能够观察到依赖关系。”

Yarimtepe 补充道:“我们可以了解基础架构的整体情况,可以发现系统之间的关系。我可以看到我有哪些集群、资源使用情况、PID 数量、部署类型、命名空间等等。我可以在屏幕上迅速查看相关信息。”

当 GittiGidiyor 开发了一个辅助数据中心作为灾难恢复站点时,SRE 团队需要发现第二个基础架构的依赖关系,以了解当应用程序从一个站点切换到另一个站点时,需求会发生怎样的变化。正如 Yarimtepe 解释的那样,“我们需要能够在两个站点之间运行后端集群、前端集群、PCI 集群等。”使用 Instana 非常简单。“我能看到,”Yarimtepe 说,“无需运行 TCP 转储或进入 Git 报告搜索配置,我能够从应用程序的角度准确了解发生的情况。”

对于最关键的应用程序 — 支付系统,GittiGidiyor 非常重视立即发现问题的能力,以免失去完成销售的机会。Instana 提供智能警报,允许用户创建自定义阈值或针对不同服务建立 KPI,以便主动发出问题警报,防止发展为实际问题。

我们可以了解基础架构的整体情况,可以发现系统之间的关系。我可以看到我有哪些集群、资源使用情况……我只需看着屏幕就可以很快看到它们。 Oguz Yarimtepe 站点可靠性工程师团队主管 GittiGidiyor
捕捉巨大潜力

到 2020 年黑色星期五,GittiGidiyor 已经充分了解了如何使用 Instana 解决方案在业务快速增长的情况下提高可靠性和性能。根据该公司关于业务激增的预测,加上从 Instana 获得的有关满足特定业务量所需资源水平的洞察,GittiGidiyor 制定了一项积极的计划,以调整基础架构规模并保持站点正常运转。

该团队设置了一个自定义仪表板,可以实时观察支付系统内和合作伙伴应用程序响应中的延迟。例如,支付系统与众多合作银行中的任何一家进行交互以促进购买。在黑色星期五,当团队监控延迟情况时,它注意到特定银行的响应时间开始滞后,并将交易即时定向到其他银行。这使得购买活动能够持续进行 — 让购物者可以不断点击和访问并帮助 GittiGidiyor 捕捉当天的巨大潜力。

为灵活的现代化架构提供可观察性功能,这有助于确保您获得这种灵活性的全部优势。Yarimtepe 完美地说明了这一点:“如果我们决定迁移,在另一个基础架构上运行,只需要一个人就能了解发生的情况。否则,我们需要一名系统工程师、一名 SRE、一名开发人员,也许还需要一名架构师和一名网络工程师。我们需要运行 TCP 转储来检查所有依赖关系并确保没有问题。现在,只需一个人即可实现。”因此,团队可以节省宝贵的时间,同时加速提高业务绩效的各种变革。

在开发方面,GittiGidiyor 实现的透明度使利益相关者的需求更加清晰,并有助于提高冲刺的效率,加快部署时间。Akgül 表示:“它帮助我们了解如何改进设计并向开发团队传达微服务之间的路径。还有助于实施部署后验证。我们可以更轻松地了解我们是否能够按预期交付。”

GittiGidiyor 的整个业务也是如此。可观察性有助于使性能与预期保持一致。因此,伴随着在线商务的不断发展,GittGidiyor 已经整装待发,随时应对任何情况。

GittiGidiyor 和 Instana 徽标
关于 GittiGidiyor

GittiGidiyor 是 eBay 位于伊斯坦布尔的一家子公司,该公司是一个在线购物平台,让土耳其的消费者能够通过该平台购买来自卖家的各种商品。它提供来自国内和国际卖家的零售和拍卖商品。

关于 Kloia

Kloia(ibm.com 外部链接)是一家在英国、荷兰和土耳其设有办事处的 IT 咨询公司,其团队由经验丰富的工程师组成,旨在帮助客户采用开发运维、云、测试自动化和微服务方面的现代实践。

关于 IBM 旗下公司 Instana

IBM 旗下公司 Instana 为运营各类复杂的现代化云原生应用程序的企业提供企业可观察性平台(已配备多项自动化应用程序性能监控功能);无论企业的这些应用程序是位于本地、公有云或私有云,其中包括移动设备或 IBM Z® 大型计算机等,本平台均可适用。

利用 Instana 配备 AI 技术的发现功能,洞悉混合应用程序内部的深层次上下文依赖关系,自如掌控现代化混合应用程序。Instana 还提供对开发流水线的可视化管理,有助于实现闭环运行的 DevOps 自动化。

对于希望优化应用程序性能、进行创新以及减少风险的客户,这些功能可以提供所需的、切实可行的反馈详情,从而帮助 DevOps 团队提高效率,增加软件交付流水线的价值,同时达成他们的服务与业务级别目标。

欲了解更多信息,请访问 instana.com

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Conrad Electronic

电子产品供应全球,及时可靠不负所托

阅读成功案例
Dealerware

一流的车队管理

阅读成功案例
IBM 博客

IBM 的可观测性和 AI 运营解决方案:如何整合并解决事件

阅读博客
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Instana® 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

High performance during an unprecedented boom
How IBM Instana Observability helped an eBay company reach new heights
Experience IBM Instana Observability
Hands sticking a label on a box for delivery

In 2020, while the entire planet spent months at a time in lockdown, online commerce surged to unprecedented volumes across the world. For online retailers, it was like a yearlong online shopping spree.

In November, as Black Friday approached, retailers saw enormous revenue potential. But they needed to be prepared to handle the demand.

One of those retailers was GittiGidiyor, the Turkish subsidiary of eBay. GittiGidiyor serves a user base of 33 million buyers and sellers. Like most online stores, it saw business skyrocket in 2020. Still, Black Friday would increase its overall volume by four or five times.

To be ready, GittiGidiyor needed a clear, consolidated view into potential issues arising across its application landscape. It needed immediate visibility into where and what the problems are, and how to resolve them, even across complex modern, containerized architectures.

Luckily, GittiGidiyor recently gained these capabilities when it implemented IBM Instana® Observability .

Growth in revenue

 

GittiGidiyor saw mobile sales revenue surge by 82% in 2020

Rapid business growth

 

On Black Friday, Instana Observability helped accommodate 4–5x business growth

We installed it once and it auto-detected our apps. Other tools require more of a process and changing Docker files. Now, we don’t need to do that. Oguz Yarimtepe Site Reliability Engineer Team Lead GittiGidiyor
Monitoring a modernized environment

GittiGidiyor had already established excellent scalability through modernization. About 80% of its applications are microservice-based and containerized, including all front-end and back-end services and its hyper-critical payments system, which is the engine of the business.

But where modernization brings scalability and flexibility, it also adds complexity. Replacing a monolithic application with a microservice architecture creates new communication pathways between each microservice. To maintain high application performance, a company must monitor those pathways and keep data flowing.

During 2020, when GittiGidiyor saw 20 million new downloads of its mobile app—a 57% increase from 2019—and its mobile sales revenue surged by 82%, the company used Instana for comprehensive visibility that helped it accommodate growth and maintain performance.

That observability helped it handle the Black Friday boom, too.

Big-picture clarity, instantly

When Instana Partner Kloia (link resides outside of ibm.com), a cloud, DevOps and microservices solution provider, helped GittiGidiyor audit its Kubernetes clusters in 2019, it recognized an opportunity for GittiGidiyor to increase monitoring visibility using Instana.

Kloia helped GittiGidiyor evaluate its application performance needs and define performance-monitoring requirements, and it continues to work with GittiGidiyor to help resolve issues and extend Instana monitoring to Node.js applications.

When GittiGidiyor piloted Instana, the team came away impressed that a single installation produced valuable visibility almost immediately. “We installed it once and it auto-detected our apps,” explains Oguz Yarimtepe, GittiGidiyor’s Site Reliability Engineer (SRE) Team Lead. “Other tools require more of a process and changing Docker files. Now, we don’t need to do that.”

Upon installing Instana, GittiGidiyor also quickly established greater fidelity over the interdependencies between microservices. According to Mehmet Gökhan Akgül, Software Development Team Lead, “It allows us to discover the whole structure of our system and brings observability to our dependencies.”

Yarimtepe adds, “We have the big picture of our infrastructure, we can see what’s talking with what. I can see what clusters I have, the resource usage, how many PIDs, what kind of deployments, namespaces, whatever. I can just look at the screen and see them very fast.”

When GittiGidiyor developed a secondary data center as a disaster recovery site, the SRE team needed to discover the dependencies of the second infrastructure to understand how requirements would change when switching apps from one site to the other. As Yarimtepe explains, “We need to be able to run a back-end cluster, a front-end cluster, a PCI cluster, etcetera, across the two sites.” Using Instana, it was easy. “I can just see it,” says Yarimtepe. “Instead of running a TCP dump or going to a Git report and searching for configurations, I have the power to understand exactly what’s going on from an application perspective.”

For its most critical application, the payment system, GittiGidiyor appreciates the ability to find issues immediately, so as not to lose an opportunity to close a sale. Instana offers Smart Alerts, which allows users to create custom thresholds or establish KPIs on different services to proactively alert on issues before they become a problem.

We have the big picture of our infrastructure, we can see what’s talking with what. I can see what clusters I have, the resource usage… I can just look at the screen and see them very fast. Oguz Yarimtepe Site Reliability Engineer Team Lead GittiGidiyor
Capturing enormous potential

By Black Friday in 2020, GittiGidiyor had already learned a great deal about using the Instana solution to boost reliability and performance despite rapid business growth. Based on the company’s projections for the business surge plus the insight it had gained from Instana about the resource levels needed to accommodate certain business volumes, GittiGidiyor developed a proactive plan to right-size its infrastructure and keep its site humming.

The team set up a custom dashboard where it could watch latency in real time, both within the payment system and in responses from partner applications. For example, the payment system interacts with any of numerous partner banks to facilitate purchases. On Black Friday, as the team monitored latency, it noticed when response times from particular banks began to lag and directed transactions to other banks on the fly. This kept purchases moving—keeping the shoppers clicking and helping GittiGidiyor capture the enormous potential of the day.

Bringing observability to a flexible, modernized architecture helps ensure you’re gaining the full benefits of that flexibility. Yarimtepe illustrates it perfectly: “If we decide to migrate, to run on another infrastructure, it only takes one person to understand what’s going on. Otherwise, we’d need a systems engineer, an SRE, a developer, maybe an architect and a network engineer. We’d need to run a TCP dump to check all of the dependencies and ensure there are no problems. Now, it’s one person.” Because of this, the team saves precious time while accelerating the kinds of changes that improve business performance.

On the development side, the transparency GittiGidiyor has achieved makes requirements clearer to stakeholders and helps make sprints more productive, accelerating time to deployment. According to Akgül, “It helps us understand how to refine our designs and communicate the paths between microservices to the development team. And it also helps with post-deployment validations. We can more easily see if we delivered as expected.”

The same goes for GittiGidiyor’s business as a whole. Observability helps align performance to expectations. So as online commerce continues to grow, GittiGidiyor is well equipped to handle any day of the year.

GittiGidiyor and Instana logo
About GittiGidiyor

A subsidiary of eBay based in Istanbul, GittiGidiyor is an online shopping platform that connects consumers in Turkey to sellers of a wide range of goods. It offers retail and auction-based sales from domestic and international sellers.

About Kloia

An IT consultancy with offices in the UK, Netherlands and Turkey, Kloia (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a team of experienced engineers that helps customers adopt modern practices in DevOps, cloud, test automation and microservices.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

View more case studies Contact IBM Conrad Electronic

Supplying the world’s electronics, without fail

Read the case study
Dealerware

Top-of-the-line performance in fleet management

Read the case study
IBM Blog

IBM’s Observability and AI Operations Solutions: How They Fit Together to Resolve Incidents

Read the blog
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, August 2021.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and Instana are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.