扩展 AI 在汉莎航空的应用
综合人才帮助航空公司提高效率
汉莎航空波音 B747 飞机停在航站楼

毫无疑问,作为德国最大的航空公司,汉莎航空很早就认识到,通过正确的数据和人工智能战略,可以提升客户体验,更好地增强员工能力,同时实现卓越运营。

事实上,对于一家全球运营的航空公司来说,规章制度极其复杂,从特定航线和会员等级的行李限额,到一国护照持有人前往其他任何国家/地区的签证要求,不一而足。没有代理公司能够知道所有的答案。

自 2019 年初以来,IBM® Garage 团队每天都与汉莎航空员工合作,快速测试并试点基于 AI 的新业务理念和服务。Lufthansa AI Studio 的第一个项目在其服务帮助中心集成了 IBM® Watson 产品,包括 IBM® Watsonx Assistant 和 IBM Watson Explorer。

以前不同的数据源现在可以使用自然语言和航空术语进行搜索,以便更轻松地解决每年近 100,000 个客户查询。IBM Watson 技术管理、搜索、分析并解释各种相关和连接的数据源,例如 Microsoft SharePoint 和内部工单系统。

容量扩增

 

现在每年可以处理近 100,000 个客户查询

加快项目速度

 

与 IBM 合作 10 个星期后,数据科学项目就得以加速和扩展

对于汉莎航空来说,人工智能至关重要,因为它实际上打开了我们所掌握的数据世界。实际上,它能帮助我们释放数据库中已经拥有的所有潜能。 Mirco Bharpalania 跨域解决方案高级总监 汉莎航空集团
现代数据科学平台的崛起

一旦 AI Studio 的力量开始增强,汉莎航空的讨论就转向了公司数据科学平台的现代化,将所有不同的项目置于一个虚拟屋顶下,从而提高其数据科学团队的缓存和效率,并将他们的活动更贴近业务需求。

数据科学家和数据工程师常常苦于不得不花太多时间维护他们的项目,而没有足够的时间证明他们的业务价值。在汉莎航空公司,也存在上述情况,而且还因为可扩展性有限、无法访问公共软件更新以及需要改进安全性而变得更加复杂。该公司需要的是一个数据科学管道内的工具,用于监控、构建和扩展模型。

IBM® Data Science and AI Elite 和 IBM Software Services 团队与汉莎航空一起参加了为期两天的 Enterprise Design Thinking Workshop™,以建立一个数据科学平台,该平台将提供一个单一的环境,数据科学家可以在该环境中尝试新技术,并快速推出具有监控和建模功能的模型。

数据科学平台允许数据科学家使用新的数据源。或者,由于是开放源码,他们可以更加协作地工作,或使用自己喜欢的语言,或利用 IBM® Watson Studio 中的其他数据科学功能,如 AutoAI 和用于模型开发和部署的 IBM Watson Machine Learning 技术。与 IBM Watson OpenScale 解决方案(用于缓解运行时偏差和飘移)一起,所有产品均可在 IBM 公共云上以平台即服务 (PaaS) 和软件即服务 (SaaS) 选项的形式提供,或通过 IBM® Cloud Pak for Data 平台作为微服务在任何云上提供。

天高任鸟飞

在为期 10 周的合作中,Data Science and AI Elite 团队建立了一个新的运营工作流程,以支持使用 IBM Watson Studio 和 IBM Watson Machine Learning 解决方案开发新的数据科学项目,从而在公共云上使用 PaaS 和 SaaS 创建一个开放平台。这为汉莎航空提供了可扩展性和灵活性,可以处理关键任务工作负载,并加速这些项目在生产中的部署。

汉莎航空数据科学家与 Data Science and AI Elite 团队合作,制作了三个用例原型,以帮助航空公司更智能、更高效地运营,帮助避免延误、更好地预测登机时间并避免值机柜台排长队。

在不到两年的时间里,该航空公司迅速从 AI 概念验证 (PoC) 发展到将数据科学项目进一步扩展到组织内部,突破了在模型中包含多少测试数据等限制。汉莎航空之所以能做到这一点,要归功于与 IBM 的合作,这种合作带来了深厚的专业知识以及 IBM 的规范性方法 (AI Ladder) 中固有的解决方案,同时航空公司还将 AI 服务迁移到了 IBM® Cloud。

汉莎航空的数据科学团队现在可以在 IBM Watson Studio 中开发新的用例,同时对旧用例进行改进。除了这三个用例外,汉莎航空的数据科学家现在还可以推动其他项目,主要是进一步提高乘客体验或支持员工的运营或战略决策。

汉莎航空公司徽标
关于德国汉莎航空股份公司

汉莎航空(ibm.com 外部链接)成立于 1953 年,总部位于科隆,是德国最大的航空公司。该航空公司拥有近 14 万名员工,为全球 220 个目的地提供服务,2019 年收入达 360 亿欧元。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

 

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM IBM 博客

AI 之旅:继续推进伦敦的自行车租赁计划

阅读博客
IBM 博客

IBM 的 Cloud Pak for Data 帮助 Wunderman Thompson 重新找到方向

阅读博客
IBM 博客

“在朋友的帮助下”,Rolls-Royce 重焕生机

阅读博客
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com、Enterprise Design Thinking、IBM Cloud、IBM Cloud Pak、IBM Garage、OpenScale 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 的商标,在全球许多司法管辖区注册。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网页上的“版权和商标信息”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

Microsoft 是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Scaling AI at Lufthansa

Combined talents help the airline raise efficiency
by Jennifer Clemente
3-minute read
Lufthansa Boeing B747 airplane at the terminal

It’s no wonder that Deutsche Lufthansa AG, Germany’s largest airline, recognized early on that with the right data and AI strategy, it could enhance the customer experience and better empower its employees while achieving operational excellence.

The fact is the rules and regulations for an airline that operates all over the world are infinitely complex — from baggage allowances for specific routes and status levels to visa requirements for passport holders from one country traveling to any other. No agent can know all the answers.

Since early 2019, an IBM Garage™ team has been collaborating daily with Lufthansa employees — quickly testing and piloting new AI-based business ideas and services. The Lufthansa AI Studio’s first project integrated IBM Watson® products, including IBM Watson Assistant and IBM Watson Explorer in its Service Help Centre.

Previously disparate data sources are now searchable in natural language and aviation terms to more easily address close to 100,000 customer queries annually. IBM Watson technology manages, searches, analyzes and interprets the various relevant and connected data sources, such as Microsoft SharePoint and internal ticket systems.

Can now address close to

100,000

customer queries annually

Can now accelerate and scale data science projects after

10-week

engagement with IBM

For Lufthansa, AI is so critical because it actually opens up the world of the data that we’re sitting on. It actually helps us to unlock all the potential that we somehow or somewhere in our databases already have.
Mirco Bharpalania
Senior Director of Cross Domain Solutions, Lufthansa Group
London bridge aerial view from the porthole of an airplane.
The rise of a modern data science platform

Once the AI Studio’s muscles started to build, the conversation at Lufthansa turned to modernizing the company’s data science platform to bring all the disparate projects under one virtual roof — boosting the cache and effectiveness of its data science group and tying their activities closer to the needs of the business.

Data scientists and data engineers often struggle with having to spend too much time maintaining their projects and not enough time proving their business value. At Lufthansa, all of the above was true, and it was also compounded by limited scalability, lack of access to public software updates and a need for security improvements. What the company needed was a tool inside the data science pipeline to monitor, build and scale models.

IBM® Data Science and AI Elite and IBM Software Services teams joined Lufthansa in a two-day Enterprise Design Thinking™ Workshop to build out a data science platform that would offer a single environment where data scientists could experiment with new techniques and quickly roll out models with monitoring and modeling already in place.

The data science platform allows data scientists to work with new data sources. Or, by virtue of being open source, they can work more collaboratively or in their preferred language — or take advantage of other data science capabilities in IBM Watson Studio, such as AutoAI and IBM Watson Machine Learning technology for model development and deployment. Together with the IBM Watson OpenScale™ solution, used for bias and drift mitigation during runtime, all of the offerings are available as platform as a service (PaaS) and software as a service (SaaS) options on the IBM public cloud or as microservices through the IBM Cloud Pak® for Data platform available on any cloud.

Empty Seats In Airport
The sky is the limit

Over a 10-week engagement, the Data Science and AI Elite team set up a new operational workflow to support the development of new data science projects using the IBM Watson Studio and IBM Watson Machine Learning solutions to create an open platform on a public cloud using PaaS and SaaS. This gave Lufthansa scalability and flexibility to handle mission-critical workloads and accelerate the deployment of those projects in production.

Lufthansa data scientists worked with the Data Science and AI Elite team to prototype three use cases to help the airline run smarter and more efficiently — helping avoid delays, better predict boarding times and avoid long queues at check-in counters.

In less than two years, the airline has quickly moved from AI proof of concepts (PoCs) to scaling data science projects further into the organization, moving past constraints such as how much test data it could include in its models. Lufthansa did it thanks to a partnership with IBM that brought forth deep expertise and solutions inherent in IBM’s prescriptive method, the AI ladder — together with the airline’s migration of AI services to IBM Cloud®.

The Lufthansa data science team can now develop new use cases in IBM Watson Studio while making improvements to the old ones. In addition to the three use cases, Lufthansa data scientists can now push out other projects — mostly to further increase passenger experience or to support operational or strategic decisions from employees.

Lufthansa AG logo
About Deutsche Lufthansa AG

Founded in 1953 and based in Cologne, LufthansaExternal Link is the largest airline in Germany. The airline’s nearly 140,000 employees serve 220 destinations around the world, and it reported revenues of EUR 36 billion in 2019.

Solution components
Lufthansa AG logo
About Deutsche Lufthansa AG

Founded in 1953 and based in Cologne, LufthansaExternal Link Lufthansa is the largest airline in Germany. The airline’s nearly 140,000 employees serve 220 destinations around the world, and it reported revenues of EUR 36 billion in 2019.

Solution components