Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan
梳理业务流程,缩短洞察时间
Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 总部

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 标志性产品带来了灿烂的笑容和洁净的衣物。为了加强自身能力,该公司升级了 SAP® ERP 应用程序,并迁移到由 IBM® Power Systems™ 服务器提供支持的 SAP HANA® 数据库。

业务挑战

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 业务扩张伴随的数据量增加,减缓了报告生成速度,耗费了运营团队更多时间。为了在市场上保持领先地位,该公司需要更快地获得洞察和见解。

变革

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 通过迁移到由 IBM Power Systems 服务器提供支持的 SAP HANA,让其 SAP ERP 应用程序重新焕发了生机,为其业务报告带来了更快的速度和更强的分析能力。

结果 报告时间
可节省高达 85%
报告速度提升
存储容量需求减少 50%
25%
物理服务器占用空间减少 25%
业务挑战案例
需要大扫除的系统

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan Ltd 是口腔和织物护理产品的市场领军企业,帮助人们保持笑容灿烂和衣物洁净。巴基斯坦经济增长迅速,从 2015 年的约 1,700 亿美元增长到 2018 年的 2,750 亿美元,创造了一个充满活力、不断扩大的快速消费品 (FMCG) 市场。

为了管理其业务流程,特别是销售、财务和分销流程,Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 公司使用 SAP ERP 应用程序。随着公司的发展和交易量的增加,制作标准报告的时间开始增加,特别是在提取和分析数据时。财务团队经常需要加班才能完成每月的结账,花费大约 12-14 个小时来生成所需的报告。

除了上述挑战之外,许多高级管理人员经常出差,不在办公室,亲自拜访主要客户和供应商。远程系统登录往往既慢又不可靠,限制了访问关键数据和签发重要审批的能力。

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 的 IT 总监 Ahmed Rehmani 解释道:“从根本上说,我们意识到需要扩大系统的吞吐量和能力。我们正在寻找一个能够全力支持我们发展的战略解决方案,并寻找一个拥有相关知识和经验的合作伙伴来实现这一目标。”

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 选择 IBM Power Systems,是看中了它具有竞争力的价格、卓越的价值、系统性能、可靠性和有力支持。 Ahmed Rehmani IT Director Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan
变革案例
选择 IBM Power Systems

为了提高交易和报告性能,Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 决定使用  SAP Enhancement package 8 (SAP EHP) 升级其 SAP ERP 应用程序,以更好地利用 SAP HANA 数据库。这一组合将提供管理当前和未来工作量的能力,并为高级分析、移动办公等增强功能提供有利平台。

由于在使用 IBM POWER7® 处理器的 IBM Power Systems 平台上运行 SAP 解决方案具有长期经验,Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 顺理成章地选择了基于 IBM POWER8® 处理器的服务器,这些服务器经过认证可与 SAP HANA 配合使用。主要目标是部署一个平台,能够支持工作量大幅增长,同时尽可能减少中断,既能应对月末高峰,又能处理正常业务。

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 的规程要求采用全面的采购流程来指导基础架构平台的选择。在采购合作伙伴 Selling Business Systems (SBS) 的帮助下,该公司选择 IBM Power Systems 服务器作为其业务关键型 SAP ERP 应用程序的合适战略平台,部署了一台 IBM Power Systems E850 服务器、一台 IBM Power Systems S824L 服务器和一台 IBM Power Systems S822L 服务器。SAP ERP、SAP HANA 和 SAP Business Warehouse 软件在 IBM Power Systems E850 服务器上的 SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications 上运行。备份、测试、开发和质量保证实例在 IBM Power Systems S824L 和 S822L 服务器上运行,这些服务器还处理以前在独立系统上执行的商业智能和分析任务。

Ahmed Rehmani 解释说:“Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 选择 IBM Power Systems,是看中了它具有竞争力的价格、卓越的价值、系统性能、可靠性和有力支持。作为一家一年 365 天、一天 24 小时都在运营的企业,我们不能承受哪怕是短暂的停机时间,否则我们的工厂就会停工。我们需要全天候的密切专家支持。许多国际公司依靠业务合作伙伴为巴基斯坦的客户提供支持,而 IBM 则提供自己的全天候支持,这种令人称赞的服务真的让他们优于其他公司。”

“12 年来我们一直使用 IBM 服务器为我们的系统提供支持,在此期间从未出现过停机情况。例如,我们始终能够在 IBM 产品的整个生命周期内正常使用它,从来没有出现故障的迹象。这些因素意味着,此类系统的总体拥有成本称得上是物有所值。”

“感谢 IBM 巴基斯坦团队的帮助,迁移工作全部按时完成,并且几乎没有出现停机。我们安排了 15 到 20 小时的时间窗口来安装新硬件,但 IBM 只花了 10 个小时就完成了安装;我们能够提前完成应用程序和数据库迁移。”

寻找一流的存储器

为了应对数据量的急剧增长,Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 公司还使用两台 IBM Storwize® V7000 系统(IBM FlashSystem 7200 的前身)升级了存储器,无需更换现有存储器即可实现虚拟化混合云技术。IBM Storwize 经过 SAP HANA 定制数据中心集成 (TDI) 部署认证,与 IBM Power Systems 完美匹配,提供经济高效的全闪存和混合存储,帮助优化资本和运营支出,同时最大限度地提高异构存储系统的效率和灵活性。

“我们选择 IBM Storwize V7000 的部分原因是它配备了用户友好的 IBM Spectrum Control 仪表板,有助于进行集中管理、快速性能分析和准确的容量预测,”Ahmed Rehmani 回忆道。“此外,内置的 IBM Easy Tier 功能可将经常访问的数据转移到速度更快的存储器,将不常用的数据转移到经济型存储器,从而自动优化存储设备的性价比。

“IBM Storwize V7000 提供压缩功能,可将我们的容量需求降低 50%,帮助我们在不影响性能的情况下削减成本。为了在低带宽需求下实现稳健灾难恢复,我们依靠 IBM Spectrum Virtualize 提供的全局镜像与变更卷服务。”

过去,我们的会计师每个月末结算时都要加班到很晚才能完成报告。但借助 IBM Power Systems 以及由 SAP HANA 提供支持的 SAP ERP,他们可以在六点钟结束工作并回家与家人团聚。 Ahmed Rehmani IT Director Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan
案例成果
新的开始

随着由 SAP HANA 提供支持的新 SAP ERP 应用程序就位,Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 公司开始利用 IBM Power System 平台的功能。

以前需要 14 个小时才能完成的月度报告,现在只需 6 个小时就能完成,速度提高了 60%,从而通过及时的信息提高了业务灵活性。性能改进意味着原来需要 20 分钟才能完成的五年期数据报告,现在只需 3 分钟即可完成。此外,将公司的其他商业智能功能整合到 IBM Power Systems 服务器后,数据中心的总物理占用面积减少了 25%,这也有助于降低能耗和成本。

Ahmed Rehmani 和团队正忙于向经理和销售主管推介 SAP ERP 中的新功能,包括用于远程办公的新 SAP Fiori® 应用程序。第一个应用程序包括使用手机安全地授权采购订单的能力,这个看似很小的变化,却带来了生产力的重大提高。同样,销售经理现在可以运行时间跨度更长或更详细的报告,更深入地分析历史和模式,帮助他们发现新的机会。

Ahmed Rehmani 表示:“利用 SAP Fiori 应用程序,管理人员能够在出差时通过手机和平板电脑处理业务,这带来了便利并节省宝贵的时间。以前,要在差旅期间批准新的采购单,管理人员必须打开笔记本电脑,登录 VPN 客户端,然后登录内部系统。现在,他们会收到有关新采购单的电子邮件通知,并且可以在手机上完成审批。这对业务产生了下渗效应,简化了审批流程,使每个人都可以更高效地工作。董事总经理和高级管理人员对 SAP Fiori 功能感到非常满意,我们计划向公司其他部门的员工推广 Fiori 应用程序。

“我们已经在考虑在 SAP 中添加更多模块,甚至进一步升级到 SAP S/4HANA。IBM Power Systems 使我们能够添加新的工作负载,并提供我们业务所需的速度和服务。”

最后要提及的优势是关乎个人福祉,这也是 Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan 关切的核心所在:“过去,我们的会计师每个月末结算时都要加班到很晚才能完成报告。但借助 IBM Power Systems 以及由 SAP HANA 提供支持的 SAP ERP,他们可以在六点钟结束工作并回家与家人团聚。”

Colgate-Palmolive 徽标
关于 Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan

Colgate-Palmolive (Pakistan) Limited(以下简称“该公司”)是一家自 1977 年开始运营的上市公司,注册办事处位于 Lakson Square, Building No. 2, Sarwar Shaheed Road, Karachi, Pakistan。该公司主要从事洗涤剂、个人护理产品和其他相关产品的生产和销售。它是口腔护理和织物护理领域的市场领军企业

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Power Systems for SAP HANA 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,或访问:ibm.com/power/sap-hana。要了解有关 IBM Storage 的更多信息,请访问:ibm.com/storage

Selling Business Systems 是 IBM 业务合作伙伴,在巴基斯坦提供基础架构服务。要了解有关 Selling Business Systems 的更多信息,请访问:www.sbsits.com 

查看 PDF 查看更多案例研究
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States。美国出品,2018 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、Easy Tier、IBM Spectrum Control、IBM Spectrum Virtualize、POWER7、POWER8、Power Systems 和 Storwize 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

© 2018 SAP SE。保留所有权利。此处提到的 SAP、R/3、SAP NetWeaver、Duet、PartnerEdge、ByDesign、SAP BusinessObjects Explorer、StreamWork、SAP HANA 以及其各自的徽标是 SAP SE 在德国和其他国家的商标或注册商标。这些材料由 SAP SE 或 SAP 附属公司提供,仅供参考,不作任何形式的陈述或保证,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司不对这些材料的错误或遗漏承担责任。本文档或任何相关演示文稿以及 SAP SE 或其附属公司的战略以及未来可能的开发、产品和/或平台方向和功能均可能发生变更,并且 SAP SE 或其附属公司可能随时进行更改出于任何原因,恕不另行通知。

Business Challenge

At Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan, business expansion fueled data growth, slowing reporting and eating up time for operations teams. To stay ahead in the market, the company needed faster insights.

Transformation

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan revitalized its SAP ERP applications by migrating to SAP HANA, powered by IBM Power Systems servers, bringing speed and enhanced analytics to its business reports.

Results

Up to 85%

time saving on reporting

50%

cut in storage capacity requirements

25%

reduction of physical server footprint

Business challenge story

Systems in need of spring cleaning

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan Ltd is a market leader in oral and fabric care products, helping to keep smiles bright and clothes clean. Pakistan’s economy is growing fast, up from around $170 billion in 2015 to $275 billion in 2018, creating a vibrant, expanding fast-moving consumer goods (FMCG) market.

To manage its business processes – particularly sales, finance and distribution – Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan runs SAP ERP applications. As the company grew and transaction volumes increased, the time for producing standard reports started to grow, particularly when extracting and analyzing data. The finance team would regularly have to work late to complete the monthly closing, spending around 12-14 hours generating the required reports.

Added to the challenges, many senior managers travel a great deal, and are out of the office visiting key customers and suppliers personally. Remote system logins were often slow and unreliable, restricting the ability to access key data and issue essential approvals.

Ahmed Rehmani, IT Director at Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan, explains: “At a fundamental level we realized we needed to expand our system throughput and capability. We looked for a strategic solution that would fully support our development, with a partner with the knowledge and experience to make that happen.”

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan selected IBM Power Systems based on a combination of competitive price, superior value, system performance, reliability and support.

Ahmed Rehmani, IT Director, Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan

Transformation story

Choosing IBM Power Systems

To enhance transaction and reporting performance, Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan decided to upgrade its SAP ERP application with SAP Enhancement package 8 (SAP EHP) to take advantage of the SAP HANA database. The combination would provide the capacity to manage current and future workload, and provide an enabling platform for enhancements, such as advanced analytics, mobile working and more.

Due to its long experience of running SAP solutions on the IBM Power Systems platform, using IBM POWER7® processors, Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan naturally reviewed IBM POWER8® processor-based servers, which are certified to work with SAP HANA. The key objective was to deploy a platform that could support significant workload growth with the least possible disruption, handling end-of-month peaks as well as business-as-usual.

Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan’s procedures demanded a thorough procurement process to guide the choice of infrastructure platform. With the help of its procurement partner Selling Business Systems (SBS), the company chose IBM Power Systems servers as the right strategic platform for its business-critical SAP ERP applications, deploying one IBM Power Systems E850 server, one IBM Power Systems S824L server and an IBM Power Systems S822L server. SAP ERP, SAP HANA and SAP Business Warehouse software run on SUSE Linux Enterprise Server for SAP Applications on the IBM Power Systems E850 server. Backup, test, development and quality assurance instances run on the IBM Power Systems S824L and S822L servers, which also handle business intelligence and analytics tasks that were previously on independent systems.

Ahmed Rehmani explains, “Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan selected IBM Power Systems based on a combination of competitive price, superior value, system performance, reliability and support. As a business operating 24 hours a day, 365 days a year, we cannot afford even a brief moment of downtime, otherwise our factories could grind to a halt. We need close, expert support at all hours of the day. While many international companies rely on business partners to support customers in Pakistan, IBM provides its own 24/7 support, which is an amazing true differentiator.

“Similarly, we have been powering our systems with IBM servers for 12 years and never had downtime in this period. For example, we have always been able to use IBM products through their full lifespan without signs of failure. These factors mean that the total cost of ownership for such systems is very reasonable.

“Thanks to the IBM Pakistan team, the migration was all on time, and there was very little downtime. We had arranged a 15-20-hour window to install the new hardware, but it only took 10 hours for IBM to set up; and we were able to complete the application and database migrations ahead of schedule.”

Finding first-class storage

To cope with the sharp growth in data volumes, Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan also upgraded its storage with two IBM Storwize® V7000 systems, which enable virtualized hybrid cloud technology without replacing current storage. Certified for SAP HANA Tailored Datacenter Integration (TDI) deployments and an ideal match with IBM Power Systems, IBM Storwize delivers cost-effective all-flash and hybrid storage to help optimize capital and operational expenses, while maximizing efficiency and flexibility for heterogeneous storage systems.

“We chose IBM Storwize V7000 partly because it comes with the user-friendly IBM Spectrum Control dashboard, which assists in centralized management, rapid performance analysis and accurate capacity forecasting,” recalls Ahmed Rehmani. “Furthermore, the in-built IBM Easy Tier function automatically optimizes price-performance for our storage by moving frequently accessed data to faster storage, and infrequently used data to economical storage.

“IBM Storwize V7000 offers IBM Real-time Compression, which reduces our capacity requirements by 50 percent – helping us cut costs without compromising on performance. And for robust disaster recovery with low bandwidth requirements, we rely on the Global Mirror with Change Volume service from IBM Spectrum Virtualize.”

Results story

A fresh start

With the new SAP ERP applications powered by SAP HANA in place, Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan started to exploit the IBM Power System platform’s capabilities.

Monthly reports that previously took up to 14 hours are now completed in 6 hours, a 60 percent improvement, enabling improved business agility with timely information. Performance improvements mean that reports for five-yearly data that took 20 minutes to produce are now delivered in just 3 minutes. In addition, consolidating the company’s additional business intelligence functions to the IBM Power Systems servers has reduced total data-center physical footprint by 25 percent, helping to cut energy consumption and cost, too.

Ahmed Rehmani and the team are busy rolling out the new capabilities within SAP ERP to managers and sales executives, including new SAP Fiori® applications for remote working. The first application includes the ability to authorize purchase orders securely using a mobile phone – an apparently small change that delivers a major productivity enhancement. Similarly, sales managers can now run reports over longer timespans or in greater detail, analyzing histories and patterns in greater depth to help them identify new opportunities.

Ahmed Rehmani elaborates, “The SAP Fiori apps enables managers to conduct business from their phones and tablets while travelling, bringing convenience and saving valuable time. Before, to approve a new purchase order while travelling, executives had to power up their laptop, log into the VPN client and then sign onto the internal system. Now, they receive email notifications about new purchase orders and they can complete the approval on their phone. This has had a trickle-down effect on the business, streamlining the approvals process so everyone can work more productively. The managing director and senior executives been thrilled with the SAP Fiori functionality, and we plan to roll out Fiori apps to employees in other areas of the company.

“We are already considering adding more modules within SAP, and even moving onto SAP S/4HANA further down the line. IBM Power Systems gives us the ability to add this new workload, and deliver the speed and service that our business requires.”

The last word, though, belongs to personal wellbeing – an area close to Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan’s corporate heart: “Our accountants used to have to stay late after work every month to finish the reports. But with IBM Power Systems and SAP ERP powered by SAP HANA, they can finish up at six and go home to their families.”

Our accountants used to have to stay late after work every month to finish the reports. But with IBM Power Systems and SAP ERP powered by SAP HANA, they can finish up at six and go home to their families.

Ahmed Rehmani, IT Director, Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan

business logo

About Colgate-Palmolive Pakistan

Colgate-Palmolive (Pakistan) Limited (the Company) is a public listed company operating since 1977, which has its registered office at Lakson Square, Building No. 2, Sarwar Shaheed Road, Karachi, Pakistan. The Company is mainly engaged in the manufacture and sale of detergents, personal care and other related products. It is a market leader in oral care and fabric care

Take the Next Step

To learn more about IBM Power Systems for SAP HANA, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: ibm.com/power/saphana. Learn more about IBM Storage by visiting: ibm.com/storage.

Selling Business Systems is an IBM Business Partner providing infrastructure services in in Pakistan. To learn more about Selling Business Systems, please visit: www.sbsits.com

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Systems Hardware