什么是可持续采购?
探索 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite
复杂供应链元素的插图。

出版日期:2023 年 12 月 19 日
撰稿人:Tom Krantz、Alexandra Jonker

什么是可持续采购?

可持续采购是指将环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 标准整合到组织的采购流程中。它鼓励企业获得所需的产品和服务,同时考虑可持续发展、利益相关者期望和监管要求。

采购是指公司如何从外部来源获取高效运营所需的物资和服务。通常,组织会进入招标或竞标流程,从而确保获得最优惠的价格,同时对质量、位置和时间等因素进行平衡。可持续采购的不同之处在于,其目标是让组织以尽可能最优的价格满足其产品和服务需求,同时对可持续发展的三个维度(即,环境、社会和经济)施加积极影响。

可持续采购可与三重底线 (TBL) 框架保持一致,而该框架会优先考虑三个 P:人员 (people)、地球 (planet) 和利润 (profit)。该框架表明,通过充分发挥这三条底线的作用,各组织更有可能对世界施加积极影响,同时提高财务表现。

可持续发展主题最新消息
可持续发展有哪三个维度?

可持续发展的三个维度分别为环境、社会和经济。

环境可持续发展侧重于应对气候变化等环境问题。例如,公司可能会选择通过摆脱化石燃料等有限资源并采用可再生能源来减少对环境造成的影响。

社会可持续发展的定义尚未明确,尽管有人认为它体现了所有人类活动,以及可持续发展的所有领域均会回归到某一社会组成元素。社会可持续发展会优先考虑人权,并认识到全体公民的福祉决定着一个社会的长治久安、高效运行和生生不息。

经济可持续发展侧重于企业的可持续发展(即盈利)。尽管企业会通过采用可持续采购等更具环境与社会意识的做法,在将可持续发展融入其业务方面取得富有意义的进展,但有时这又似乎会与环境可持续发展相互矛盾。

可持续采购为何十分重要?

气候变化所带来的威胁及其不利影响的迹象可通过生物多样性丧失、粮食与饮用水短缺以及自然灾害频发而显露端倪。为此,某些组织正致力于减少温室气体 (GHG) 排放或消除供应链中的浪费。

此外,大众越来越期望公司能采用更具可持续性的商业实践,并通过可持续发展报告来展示其进展。利益相关者更为重视将 ESG 和企业社会责任 (CSR) 举措付诸行动,而这便是企业可持续发展报告指令 (CSRD) 等立法能获得通过的原因所在。CSRD 要求欧盟 (EU) 境内的公司通过 ESG 报告机制来报告其业务活动以及 ESG 举措对环境和可持续发展所造成的影响。

此外,很多组织也在考虑遵守“联合国可持续发展目标 (SDG)”对其运营有何影响。可持续发展目标共有 17 个,但采购专业人士可能会关注目标 12,因为该目标坚持要求“确保实现可持续发展的消费与生产模式”。为实现目标 12,现已制定 11 个具体目标。而其中之一的目标 12.7 则明确指出要实现“根据国家政策和优先事项,促进可持续发展的公共采购实践”。1

从决策到采购,再到面向未来的职能改造,采购的各个方面均可进行深入审查,从而确保组织制定出可行的可持续采购策略。设定以下目标时,上述要求会给供应链和采购专业人员带来压力:例如,通过减少排放来降低公司的碳足迹,持续监控是否存在雇用童工等人权侵犯行为,以及采取更具可持续性的采购实践。

针对可持续采购的监管审查

根据组织具体所在地,可持续采购可能会通过各种法律和法规来强制执行。

例如,EU 要求各大公司实施可持续采购实践,而美国则鼓励但不强制私营部门披露信息。在制定可持续采购策略时,组织可考虑以下采购政策、要求和标准:

全球标准

现已引入多项国际标准,例如 ISO 20400:2017。此文件提供了在公司采购流程中实施可持续实践的相关指导,并有助于为其可持续供应链管理策略提供信息。

政府政策

EU 的公共采购指令规定公共采购流程必须考虑 ESG 标准。3 在美国,联邦采购监管 (FAR) 委员会提出了一项新提案“可持续产品和服务采购规则”,从而指导联邦买家如何购买可持续产品和服务。4

披露要求

通常,公司被鼓励(或要求)披露其可持续发展绩效并证明其对可持续采购做出的承诺。全球报告倡议 (GRI) 为广大组织提供了一个用于构建其 ESG 和可持续发展报告机制的框架。

行业特定法规

各行各业均有针对性的法规,而这些法规旨在提高采购的可持续性。可持续发展会计准则委员会 (SASB) 等组织可提供行业特定标准,从而帮助广大公司向利益相关者披露可持续发展信息。

可持续采购有哪些优点?

可持续采购的部分显著优点包括:

形成市场差异化

通过采用可持续采购政策,无论是在全球范围内将企业社会责任 (CSR) 纳入采购流程,还是在本地范围内仅使用回收材料,均可让公司迈上实现可持续发展目标的道路。更为重要的是,它可通过提高公司声誉和 ESG 分数来提升品牌价值,而这两者均可实现竞争优势。

潜在收入增长

做出可持续更高的采购决策有助于改善采购运营,并带来短期及长期成本降低等好处。例如,优先考虑可持续采购的公司可能会通过与当地中小型企业开展合作享受更优的原材料价格。从长远来看,它们可能会发现供应链本地化有助于减少温室气体排放。

更智能的供应链管理

实现高效供应链管理的关键在于掌握正确的数据,而可持续采购也是如此。有了正确指标,无论是跟踪能源消耗还是范围 3 排放量,采购专业人员均可调整其风险管理策略来审核供应商、预测趋势以及应对供应链中出现的潜在中断情况。

更大的 ESG 影响

可持续采购会优先考虑价值链中每个人的福祉。从环境角度来看,这意味着抑制浪费并减少用水。从社会角度来看,它意味着为整个供应链中的每个人创造更好的工作条件。从治理角度来看,则意味着遵守既定的法规和要求。

如何采用可持续采购

企业将可持续发展纳入其采购流程的方法如下:

开展常规分析

公司可检查其采购基础设施和 ESG 举措,以掌握两者的基准。ISO 20400:17 提供了一个战略评估框架,以便公司设定基线并确定可持续采购的后续步骤。

持续跟踪 ESG 进展

鉴于现有框架和标准(例如,CSRD、GRI、SASB 等)的数量,有几个指标有助于组织跟踪其可持续采购举措。这些举措的范围涵盖从环境(减少以立方米为单位的废物)到社会(志愿服务时段内的社区参与)再到治理(遵守联合国全球行为准则)的各个层面。

审核采购生态系统

我们鼓励广大组织与合作伙伴商讨可持续发展目标和 ESG 指标。广大公司可向彭博社、标准普尔道琼斯指数等第三方公司索取此信息。

优化运营

通过可持续采购,组织可使用回收或可再生材料、执行节水措施、部署可再生能源管理措施等,以期在运营效率与可持续性之间实现平衡。

相关解决方案
IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

应用人工智能 (AI) 的力量和自动化的速度来改善供应链管理、弹性和可持续性。

探索 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

资源 什么是业务可持续发展?

业务可持续发展是指公司为了消除业务运营对环境和社会造成的不利影响而采取的战略和行动。

什么是供应链管理?

供应链管理涉及对商品或服务的整个生产流程的处理,其范围涵盖从原材料开始,直到将最终产品交付给消费者。

什么是能源管理?

能源管理是指对组织的能源消耗进行主动、系统地监测、控制和优化,从而节约能源消耗并降低能源成本。

采取后续步骤

了解人工智能 (AI) 的力量和自动化的速度如何改善供应链管理、弹性和可持续性。阅读 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence 解决方案简介,或开始 30 天免费试用。

阅读解决方案简介 开始 30 天免费试用
脚注

1. “确保可持续的消费与生产模式”(ibm.com 外部链接),联合国

2. “ISO 20400:17 可持续采购指南”(ibm.com 外部链接),国际标准化组织,2017 年 4 月

3. “通过维护公共绿地实现社会与环境目标”(ibm.com 外部链接),欧盟委员会

4. “拜登政府宣布计划尽可能购买可持续产品和服务,以作为总统为美国议程所做出的部分努力”(ibm.com 外部链接),白宫

Home Topics Sustainable Procurement What is sustainable procurement?
Explore IBM's sustainable procurement solution Subscribe to Sustainability Updates
Illustration of complex supply chain elements

Published: 19 December 2023
Contributors: Tom Krantz, Alexandra Jonker

What is sustainable procurement?

Sustainable procurement is the integration of environmental, social and governance (ESG) criteria into an organization’s procurement processes.

It encourages companies to obtain the products and services they need while also considering sustainable development, stakeholder expectations and regulatory requirements.

Procurement refers to how companies acquire the goods and services they need from external sources to operate efficiently. Often, organizations enter a tendering or competitive bidding process to help ensure they’re getting the best price while balancing factors such as quality, location and timing.

Sustainable procurement differs in that its goal is for organizations to meet their product and service needs at the best possible price while also having a positive impact on the three dimensions of sustainability: the environment, society and the economy. 

Sustainable procurement can align with the framework of the triple bottom line (TBL), which prioritizes the three Ps—people, planet and profit. This framework suggests that by maximizing all three bottom lines, organizations are more likely to have a positive impact on the world while still improving financial performance. 

Delve into our exclusive guide to the EU's CSRD

With ESG disclosures starting as early as 2025 for some companies, make sure that you're prepared with our guide.

Related content

Register for the playbook on smarter asset management

What are the 3 dimensions of sustainability?

The 3 dimensions of sustainability are environmental, social and economic.

Environmental sustainability focuses on countering environmental issues such as climate change. For example, companies can choose to reduce their environmental impact by moving away from finite resources like fossil fuels and embracing renewable energy sources.

Social sustainability is not yet as clearly defined, though it’s been suggested that it embodies all human activity and that all domains of sustainability ladder back to a social component. Social sustainability prioritizes human rights and recognizes that the well-being of all people dictates the longevity, efficacy and sustainability of a society.

Economic sustainability refers to businesses being sustainable and profitable. It can sometimes seem at odds with environmental sustainability, though companies have made meaningful strides to embed sustainability into their business by adopting more environmentally and socially conscious practices like sustainable procurement. 

Why is sustainable procurement important?

The threat of climate change and signs of its adverse effects can be seen in the loss of biodiversity, food and water shortages, and an increase in natural disasters. In response, some organizations are working to reduce their greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions or eliminate waste from their supply chains. 

Also, companies are increasingly expected to adopt more sustainable business practices and showcase their progress through sustainability reporting. 

Stakeholders are putting a greater emphasis on seeing ESG and corporate social responsibility (CSR) initiatives put into action, which is why legislation like the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Directive (CSRD) has been passed. The CSRD requires companies in the European Union (EU) to report on the environmental and sustainable impact of their business activities, and their ESG initiatives, through ESG reporting. 

Many organizations are also considering what it means for their operations to adhere to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). There are 17 SDGs in total, though procurement professionals are likely to focus on Goal 12, which insists on the need to help ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns. To achieve Goal 12, 11 different targets have been outlined. One of them, target 12.7, specifically aims to promote public procurement practices that are sustainable, in accordance with national policies and priorities.1

Every aspect of procurement, from decision-making to sourcing to future-proofing the function, can be scrutinized to help ensure that organizations have actionable sustainable procurement strategies in place.

This puts pressure on supply chain and procurement professionals to set goals like lowering their company’s carbon footprint by reducing emissions, continually monitoring for human rights violations like child labor, and adopting more sustainable procurement practices.

Regulatory scrutiny for sustainable procurement

Depending on where an organization is located, sustainable procurement may be mandated through various laws and regulations.

For instance, the EU requires companies to implement sustainable procurement practices, whereas the United States encourages but doesn’t mandate disclosure in the private sector.

Organizations can consider the following procurement policies, requirements and standards when shaping their sustainable procurement strategy:

Global standards

Several international standards have been introduced, such as the ISO 20400:2017.This document provides guidance on implementing sustainable practices into a company’s procurement process and can help inform its sustainable supply chain management strategy.

Government policies

The EU’s Public Procurement Directives dictate that public procurement processes consider ESG criteria.3 In the US, a new proposal—the Sustainable Products and Services procurement rule—has been put forth by the Federal Acquisition Regulation (FAR) Council, directing federal buyers to purchase sustainable products and services.4

Disclosure requirements

Often, companies are encouraged or required to disclose their sustainability performance and demonstrate their commitment to sustainable procurement. The Global Reporting Initiative (GRI) provides a framework for organizations to frame their ESG and sustainability reporting. 

Industry-specific regulations

Across sectors, there are industry-specific regulations that aim to make procurement more sustainable. Organizations like the Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) provide industry-specific standards to help companies disclose sustainability information to their stakeholders.

What are the benefits of sustainable procurement?

Some notable benefits of sustainable procurement include:

Differentiation in the market

Adopting sustainable procurement policies, whether it’s on a global scale by integrating CSR into the procurement process or on a local scale by only using recycled materials, can put companies on the path toward achieving their sustainability goals.

What’s more, it can boost brand value by improving the company’s reputation and ESG score, both of which can create a competitive advantage.

Potential revenue growth

Making more sustainable purchasing decisions can improve procurement operations and lead to benefits like cost reductions in both the short- and long-term.

For instance, a company that prioritizes sustainable sourcing might get a better price on raw materials by working with local small-to-medium-sized businesses. In the long term, they might find that localizing their supply chain helps reduce their GHG emissions. 

Smarter supply chain management

The key to efficient supply chain management is having the right data. This is also true for sustainable procurement. 

With the right metrics in hand, whether it’s tracking energy consumption or scope 3 emissions, procurement professionals can calibrate their risk management strategies to audit suppliers, forecast trends, and navigate around potential disruptions within the supply chain. 

Greater ESG impact

Sustainable procurement prioritizes the well-being of everyone within the value chain.

From an environmental standpoint that means reducing waste and using less water.

From a social standpoint that means creating better working conditions for people across the supply chain.

From a governance perspective, it means to comply with established regulations and requirements.

How to adopt sustainable procurement

Here’s how companies can embed sustainability into their procurement processes:

Perform routine analysis 

Companies can examine their procurement infrastructure, and their ESG initiatives, to gain a benchmark for both. The ISO 20400:17 provides a strategic framework for assessment, enabling companies to set a baseline and determine the next steps for sustainable procurement.

Continually track ESG progress

Given the number of frameworks and standards that exist, for example, CSRD, GRI, SASB and more, there are several metrics that can help organizations track their sustainable procurement initiatives.

These range from environmental (waste reduction in cubic meters) to social (community engagement in volunteering hours) to governance (compliance with UN global conduct). 

Audit the procurement ecosystem

Organizations are encouraged to speak with their partners about sustainability goals and ESG metrics. It’s possible for companies to request information from third-party companies like Bloomberg, S&P Dow Jones Indices and others.

Optimize operations

Through sustainable procurement, organizations can balance operational efficiency with sustainability by using recycled or renewable materials, implementing water conservation measures, deploying renewable energy management practices and more. 

Related solutions
IBM Sterling® Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

Apply the power of artificial intelligence (AI) and the speed of automation to improve supply chain management, resiliency and sustainability.

Explore the IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

Resources What is sustainability in business?

Sustainability in business refers to a company's strategy and actions to eliminate the adverse environmental and social impacts caused by business operations.

What is supply chain management?

Supply chain management is the handling of the entire production flow of goods or services. Starting from the raw components all the way to delivering the final product to the consumer.

What is the energy management?

Energy management is the proactive and systematic monitoring, control and optimization of an organization’s energy consumption to conserve use and decrease energy costs.

Take the next step

Learn how the power of artificial intelligence (AI) and the speed of automation can improve supply chain management, resiliency and sustainability. Read the IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence solution brief, or start a 30-day free trial.

Read the solution brief Start the 30-day free trial
Footnotes

1 Ensure sustainable consumption and production patterns (link resides outside ibm.com), United Nations

2 ISO 20400:17 Sustainable Procurement Guidance (link resides outside ibm.com), International Organization for Standardization, April 2017

3 Reaching social and environmental objectives through maintenance of public green spaces (link resides outside ibm.com), European Commission

4 Biden-Harris Administration announces plan to maximize purchases of sustainable products and services as part of president’s investing in America agenda (link resides outside ibm.com), The White House