常见问题

什么是 IBM Watson® Knowledge Catalog?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 是基于云的企业元数据存储库,支持企业对知识和分析资产进行编目,包括机器学习模型以及结构化和非结构化数据,无论这些内容位于何处。 这样便能够更轻松地访问和使用这些资产,促进数据科学和各种 AI 形态的发展。

对于所选数据源类型,IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 可以在所提供的连接中自动发现和注册数据资产。 资产一旦被添加到目录,则会被自动索引和分类,以供数据工程师、数据科学家、数据管理员和业务分析师等用户轻松查找、理解、共享和使用这些资产。 AI 驱动的搜索和建议功能可根据对资产之间的关系、这些资产的使用方式以及用户之间社交联系的理解,将用户引导至目录中最相关的资产。

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 还提供了一个智能且强大的治理框架,让企业能够定义和实施数据及访问策略,确保能向正确的人员提供正确的数据。

通过 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 业务词汇表,用户可以创建通用业务词汇表,并将其与您的资产、策略和规则相关联,从而在业务领域和您的技术资产之间架起桥梁。

可以将 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 部署到哪些区域?

如果存在地区数据限制,那么可以部署到以下城市之一: 达拉斯、伦敦法兰克福东京

是否需要将数据迁移至 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog?

不需要。您可以将数据保留在现有的存储库中。 Watson Knowledge Catalog 存储资产的元数据。

支持哪些数据源和资产类型?

IBM 为云或本地数据源提供 30 多个接口,支持您连接远程数据资产。 例如,我们提供的接口可连接至云中或本地的 IBM® Db2®、IBM Cloudant®、IBM Cloud® Object Storage、Oracle、Microsoft SQL Server、Microsoft Azure、Amazon S3、Salesforce.com、Hortonworks HDFS、Sybase 以及 IBM 提供的其他许多数据资产。

除了支持源自远程数据源的资产,IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 还支持其他资产类型,如结构化数据(行/列)、半结构化数据和非结构化数据。 例如,您可以将 CSV、Microsoft Excel、PDF、文本、Microsoft Word、Jupyter Notebook (IPYNB)、图像、HTML 文件等添加至目录,以供进行概要分析,并与其他用户共享。

最多可以在 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 中纳入多少项资产?

对于专业版 (Pofessional) 套餐,您可在 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 中拥有的资产数量没有限制。 对于标准版 (Standard) 和精简版 (Lite) 套餐,限制分别为 1,000 和 50 项资产。

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 是否提供治理服务?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 包括一个自动化策略实施引擎,该引擎将根据策略和采取的行动确定结果。 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 提供了在系统中设置治理策略的功能,这样您就可屏蔽敏感内容,用以限制对数据的访问或变换数据。

可否使用屏蔽数据的数据策略删除或更改原始数据源?

不能。当数据保护策略在目录中对敏感数据进行匿名化处理时,只会变换由应用程序管理的预览数据。 原始源数据不会被修改。

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 中是否存在管理治理工件的最佳实践?

在 IBM Cloud Pak for Data v3.5 的 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 中,您现在可以将用户和数据管理员分配给各个类别,以便确定谁可以查看或管理该类别所拥有的治理工件。 您还可以在工作流中利用类别协作者角色,自动将工作流步骤引导至合适的人进行审查和批准。 借助这项新功能,可授权业务社区自治管理他们自有业务资产。

了解计划和实施治理工件管理时的一些关键步骤。

 

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 是否提供分类服务?

在将数据资产添加到目录中时,IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 会自动对数据资产中的列进行分类。 内置的组件提供了 160 多个属性分类器,包括姓名、电子邮件、邮政地址、信用卡卡号、驾照号码、身份证号、出生日期、人口统计信息和数据通用编号系统 (DUNS) 等。 目录还对非结构化数据资产进行概要分析,并从内容中抽取元数据,包括类别、概念、意见和情绪等。

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 中是否有数据准备功能?

有。通过属于 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 一部分的 IBM Data Refinery 提供数据准备功能。 Data Refinery 提供了一组丰富的功能,允许您使用内置操作以发现、清理和变换数据。 同时还随附了功能强大的概要分析和可视化工具,如图表、图形和统计数据,帮助您与数据交互并理解数据。 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 中定义的数据访问和变换策略也会在 Data Refinery 中实施,旨在确保源自管理目录的敏感数据仍受到保护。

如何访问参考数据管理功能?

要访问参考数据管理功能,请登录到您的 IBM Cloud Pak for Data 实例。 从左侧导航栏中,访问“治理”部分下的“参考数据”。

进入“参考数据”页面后,您将看到所有“已发布”参考数据集的列表和系统中定义的“草稿”参考数据集列表。 在开始时,列表为空。您可以通过“添加参考数据集”>“新参考数据集”按钮创建新的参考数据集。

 

能否为不同业务部门的人员设置访问组?

可以。可以通过 IBM Cloud® Identity and Asset Management 设置访问组。 在 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 的访问控制模块中,您可以添加协作者或用户组。

什么是容量单位小时数 (CUH)?

Data Refinery 流程、Data Refinery 互动式 UI 和概要分析作业的计费方式为:针对整体数量计费,或者针对每种容量类型每小时需要的容量单位数计费:

  • 在默认 Spark 环境中,Data Refinery 流程每小时需要 1.5 个容量单位。 对于其他自定义环境,计算取决于用于 Spark 驱动程序和执行程序的执行者和资源的数量。
  • Data Refinery 互动式 UI 每小时需要 1.5 个容量单位——从 Refinery UI 启动时开始计算,到 Refinery UI 关闭时结束。
  • 概要分析作业每小时需要 6 个容量单位。 对于每一次作业执行,最低收费为 0.96 个容量单位(相当于 10 分钟)。

在每个套餐中,每月包含一定数量的免费容量单位小时数。 对于标准版 (Standard) 和专业版 (Professional) 套餐,如果该月使用量超出套餐限制,就会收取费用。 对于精简版 (Lite) 套餐,如果该月使用量超出套餐限制,就无法运行 Data Refinery 流程或概要分析作业,直到下个月为止,或者升级为标准版或专业版套餐。
使用默认容量类型 3 的 Data Refinery 流程示例:

  1. 一个 Data Refinery 流程运行 1 小时: 1.5 CUH
  2. 两个 Data Refinery 流程各运行 1 小时: 2 小时 * 1.5 CUH = 3 CUH
  3. 一个 Data Refinery 流程运行 30 分钟: 0.5 小时 * 1.5 CUH = 0.75 CUH
  4. 互动式 Data Refinery UI 使用 1 小时: 1.5 CUH

概要分析示例(概要分析作业会被自动或手动触发):

  1. 概要分析作业运行 30 分钟: 0.5 小时 * 6 CUH = 3 CUH
  2. 概要分析作业运行 9 分钟。 最低收费适用于这种情况: 0.16 小时 * 6 CUH = 0.96 CUH

 

购买标准版或专业版套餐后,需要进行多少设置才能充分发挥产品的价值?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog 是完全自助的服务,因此管理员可以首先创建目录,然后立即添加和管理资产。 其他任务可能包括:

  • 构建业务词汇表
  • 定义数据保护策略以管理对数据的访问
  • 邀请用户加入目录

在 IBM Cloud Pak® for Data 上是否可用?

是的,可用。了解有关 IBM 集成数据和 AI 平台的详情。

试用 IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog

利用智能编目技术,为 AI 和分析激活业务就绪数据。

Frequently asked questions

What is IBM Watson® Knowledge Catalog?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog is a cloud-based enterprise metadata repository that lets you catalog your knowledge and analytics assets, including machine learning models and structured and unstructured data wherever they reside. This enables these assets to be more easily accessed and used to fuel data science and all forms of AI.

For selected source types, IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog can automatically discover and register data assets at the provided connection. As assets are added to the catalog, they are automatically indexed and classified, making it easy for users such as data engineers, data scientists, data stewards and business analysts to find, understand, share and use the assets. AI-powered search and recommendations guide users to the most relevant assets in the catalog based on understanding of relationships between assets, how those assets are used and social connections between users.

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog also provides an intelligent and robust governance framework that lets you define and enforce data and access policies to help ensure that the right data goes to the right people.

Through the IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog business glossary, users can create a common business vocabulary and associate them to your assets, policies and rules, providing the bridge between the business domain and your technical assets.

To what regions can you deploy IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog?

If you have regional data restrictions, you can deploy to one of the following cities: Dallas, London, Frankfurt or Tokyo.

Do I need to move my data into IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog?

No. You can keep your data in its existing repositories. Watson Knowledge Catalog stores the metadata of your assets.

What data sources and asset types are supported?

IBM provides over 30 connectors to cloud or on-premises data sources, allowing you to connect to your remote data assets. For example, connectors to IBM® Db2® in the cloud or on premises, IBM Cloudant®, IBM Cloud® Object Storage, Oracle, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Azure, Amazon S3, Salesforce.com, Hortonworks HDFS, Sybase and many more are available from IBM.

In addition to assets from remote data sources, IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog supports other asset types, such as structured (row/column), semi-structured and unstructured data. For example, you can add CSV, Microsoft Excel, PDF, Text, Microsoft Word, Jupyter Notebook (IPYNB), image and HTML files, to name a few, to the catalog to profile and share with other users.

What is the maximum number of assets I can have in IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog?

With the Professional plan, there is no limit in the number of assets you can have in IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog. With the Standard and Lite plans, the limits are 1,000 and 50 assets, respectively.

Does IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog provide governance services?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog includes an automated policy enforcement engine that determines outcomes based upon the policies and the action that has taken place. IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog provides the ability to set up your governance policies within the system, so that you can restrict access to data or transform the data by masking sensitive content.

Can you delete or change the original source of data with a data policy that masks data?

No. When a data protection policy anonymizes sensitive data in the catalog, only the preview data that is managed by the application is transformed. The original source data is not modified.

Are there best practices for managing governance artifacts in IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog?

In IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog in IBM Cloud Pak for Data v3.5, you can now assign users and data stewards to categories so you can determine who can view or manage governance artifacts owned by the category. The category collaborator roles can also be leveraged in workflows to automatically direct workflow steps to the right people for reviews and approvals. With this new capability, the business community can be empowered to self-govern their own business assets.

Learn about some key steps as you plan and implement the stewardship of your governance artifacts.

 

Does IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog provide classification services?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog can automatically classify columns in your data assets when they are added to the catalog. Built-in components provide over 160 attribute classifiers, including names, emails, postal addresses, credit card numbers, driver's license numbers, government identification numbers, dates of birth, demographic information, Data Universal Numbering System (DUNS) numbers and more. Catalogs also profile unstructured data assets and extract metadata from content, such as categories, concepts, sentiment and emotion.

Are there data preparation capabilities in IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog?

Yes. Data preparation capabilities are available through IBM Data Refinery, which is part of IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog. Data Refinery provides a rich set of capabilities that allows you to discover, cleanse and transform your data with built-in operations. It also comes with powerful profiling and visualization tools, such as charts, graphs and stats to help you interact with and understand your data. Data access and transform policies defined in IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog are also enforced in Data Refinery to help ensure that sensitive data that originated from governed catalogs remains protected.

How do you access the reference data management capabilities?

To access the reference data management feature, log in to your IBM Cloud Pak for Data instance. From the left-hand navigation bar, access "Reference Data" under the "Governance" section.

Once you are on the "Reference Data" page, you get to see the list of all Published and the list of Draft reference data sets defined in the system. To start with, the list will be empty and you can create a new reference data set from the button "Add Reference Data set" > "New Reference Data Set."

 

Can you set up access groups for people in different lines of business?

Yes. Access groups can be set up through IBM Cloud® Identity and Asset Management. In the Access Control module of IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog, you can add a collaborator or a user group.

What are capacity unit hours (CUH)?

Data Refinery flows, Data Refinery interactive UI, and profiling jobs are charged for the number of whole or capacity units required per hour for each capacity type:

  • Data Refinery flows require 1.5 capacity units per hour with a default Spark environment. For other custom environments, the calculation depends on the number of executioners and resources used for Spark driver and executor.
  • Data Refinery interactive UI requires 1.5 capacity units per hour – beginning when the refinery UI starts and ending when it is closed.
  • Profiling jobs require 6 capacity units per hour. A minimum charge of 0.96 (equivalent to 10 minutes) will apply for each job execution.

A set number of free capacity unit hours is included in each plan for the month. For Standard and Professional plans, charges will apply after the plan limit is reached for that month. For a Lite plan, after the plan limit for that month is reached, no Data Refinery flows or profiling jobs can be run until the next month, or until the plan is upgraded to the Standard or Professional plan.
Data Refinery flow examples using default Capacity Type 3:

  1. One Data Refinery flow runs for 1 hour: 1.5 CUHs
  2. Two Data Refinery flows run for 1 hour each: 2 hours * 1.5 CUHs = 3 CUHs
  3. One Data Refinery flow runs for 30 minutes: 0.5 hours * 1.5 CUHs = 0.75 CUHs
  4. Interactive Data Refinery UI is used for 1 hour: 1.5 CUHs

Profiling examples (profiling jobs can be automatically or manually triggered):

  1. A Profiling job runs for 30 minutes: 0.5 hours * 6 CUHs = 3 CUHs
  2. A Profiling job runs for 9 minutes. The minimum charge applies in this scenario: 0.16 hours * 6 CUHs = 0.96 CUHs

 

After purchase of a Standard or Professional plan, how much setup is required in order to take full advantage of the product?

IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog is all self-service, so an administrator can start by creating a catalog, then adding and curating assets right away. Additional tasks can include:

  • Building a business glossary
  • Defining data protection policies to govern access to data
  • Inviting users to the catalog

Is this available on IBM Cloud Pak® for Data?

Yes. Explore more about this integrated data and AI platform from IBM.

Try IBM Watson Knowledge Catalog

Activate business-ready data for AI and analytics with intelligent cataloging.