分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS)

什么是 DDoS 攻击?

分布式拒绝服务 (DDoS) 攻击是涌入大量因特网流量让目标或其周围基础架构应接不暇,从而中断目标服务器正常流量的恶意行为。DDoS 攻击通过利用多个被控制的计算机系统作为攻击流量的来源实现有效性。采用的机器可能包括计算机和其他联网资源,例如 IoT 设备。形象地说,DDoS 攻击就像高速公路上出现交通拥堵,让正常的车辆无法到达预期的目的地。

DDoS 攻击的工作方式?

DDoS 攻击要求攻击者获取对联机网络的控制权,以实施攻击。计算机和其他机器(如 IoT 设备)都被恶意软件感染,每台机器都变成机器人(或僵尸)。然后,攻击者对一组机器人进行远程控制,称为僵尸网络。
一旦建立了僵尸网络,攻击者就能通过远程控制方法向每个机器人发送更新的指令来指挥机器。当受害者的 IP 地址被僵尸网络攻击时,每个机器人将通过向攻击目标发送请求来响应,这可能导致目标服务器或网络溢出容量,以致拒绝向正常流量提供服务。因为每一个机器人都是一台合法的因特网设备,从正常的流量中分离出攻击流量很难。

DDoS 攻击有哪些常见类型?

不同的 DDoS 攻击向量针对网络连接的不同组件。为了解 DDoS 攻击工作方式的不同,有必要了解如何建立网络连接。因特网上的网络连接由许多不同的组件或“层”组成。就像从地上建一栋房子,模型中的每一步都有不同的目的。OSI 模型是一个概念框架,用于描述七个不同层中的网络连接。

减少 DDoS 攻击的流程是怎样的?

了解有关 DDoS 的更多信息

几乎所有 DDoS 攻击均涉及到用流量淹没目标设备或网络,攻击可分为三个类别。攻击者可使用一个或多个不同的攻击向量,或可能基于目标所采取的应对措施循环使用攻击向量。
在现代因特网中,DDoS 流量以多种形式出现。从非欺骗、单源攻击到复杂和自适应多向量攻击,设计的流量各不相同。多向量 DDoS 攻击使用多重攻击路径来冲击目标,可能会扰乱任何一条路径上的风险缓解工作。同时针对多层协议堆栈的攻击,如 DNS 放大(针对第 3 层和第 4 层)与 HTTP 拥塞(针对第 7 层)相耦合,是多向量 DDoS 的一个例子。
缓解多向量 DDoS 攻击需要各种战略,以应对不同的攻击路径。总体而言,攻击越复杂,与正常流量的分离可能就越困难 - 攻击者的目标是尽可能将流量“混合”,让风险缓解工作变得徒劳无功。有些风险缓解操作过程中可能会不分青红皂白地丢弃或限制正常流量,留下干扰流量,攻击还可能修改并适应应对措施。在克服复杂的干扰攻击方面,分层解决方案将让您获益最大。

Web 应用防火墙 (WAF)

什么是 Web 应用防火墙?

Web 应用防火墙 (WAF) 通过过滤和监视 Web 应用与因特网之间的 HTTP 流量,帮助保护 Web 应用。它通常可保护 Web 应用免遭攻击,例如跨站点伪造、跨站点脚本编制 (XSS)、文件包含和 SQL 注入等。WAF 是协议第 7 层防御(在 OSI 模型中),且并非旨在防御所有类型的攻击。这一攻击缓解方法通常隶属于某套工具,这些工具共同为一系列攻击向量创建一个整体防御系统。
在 Web 应用前部署 WAF,就相当于在 Web 应用和因特网之间架起了屏障。当代理服务器通过中间人来保护客户机的身份时,WAF 是逆向代理类型,在客户机到达服务器之前先让客户机通过 WAF,从而保护服务器不被暴露。
WAF 通过一组通常称为策略的规则来运行。这些策略旨在通过过滤掉恶意流量来保护应用免遭攻击。WAF 的价值部分来源于可执行策略修改所带来的速度和易用性,同时允许更快地响应不同攻击向量;在 DDoS 攻击期间,可通过修改 WAF 策略快速实施速率限制。

黑名单和白名单 WAF 之间的差别?

了解有关 WAF 的更多信息

基于黑名单(消极安全模型)操作的 WAF 可抵御已知攻击。把黑名单 WAF 想象成俱乐部保镖,他们不会将不符合着装标准的任何客人放进来。相反,基于白名单(积极安全模型)操作的 WAF 只允许预先核准的流量。这就像一个私人派对上的保镖,他或者她只允许名单上的人进来。黑名单和白名单都有其优缺点,因此许多 WAF 提供混合安全模型,同时采用白名单和黑名单。

内容交付网络 (CDN)

什么是内容交付网络?

内容交付网络 (CDN) 是指分布在不同地理位置的一组服务器,这些服务器协同工作以提供因特网内容的快速交付。CDN 允许快速传输装入因特网内容所需的资产,包括 HTML 页面、JavaScript 文件、样式表、图像和视频。CDN 服务越来越流行,当前大部分 Web 网络流量都通过 CDN 提供。

CDN 的工作方式?

实际上,CDN 是一个服务器网络,这些服务器互相链接,目的是尽可能快速、低成本、可靠且安全地交付内容。为提高速度和连通性,CDN 将服务器放置在不同网络之间的交换点。这些因特网交换点 (IXP) 是不同因特网供应商连接的主要位置,可提供对源自不同网络的流量的互相访问。通过连接到这些高速和高度互连的位置,CDN 提供商能够降低高速数据传递的成本和传输时间。

CDN 如何缩短 Web 站点装入时间?

了解有关 CDN 的更多信息

在 Web 站点装入内容时,用户在某个站点变慢时快速将其断开。CDN 的全球分布意味着用户与 Web 站点资源之间的距离缩短。CDN 可以让用户连接到地理位置更接近的数据中心,而不必连接到 Web 站点的原始服务器所在的位置。旅行时间缩短意味着更快提供服务。

域名系统 (DNS)

什么是 DNS?

域名系统 (DNS) 是因特网的电话簿。人员通过域名(如 nytimes.com 或 espn.com)在线访问信息。Web 浏览器通过因特网协议 (IP) 地址进行交互。DNS 将域名转换为 IP 地址,因此浏览器可以装入因特网资源。
连接到因特网的每台设备都具有唯一的 IP 地址,供其他机器用来查找该设备。DNS 服务器不需要人们记住诸如 192.168.1.1(在 IPv4 中)之类的 IP 地址,或更复杂、更新的字母数字 IP 地址,如 2400:cb00:2048:1:c629:d7a2(在 IPv6 中)。

DNS 的工作方式?

DNS 解析过程涉及将主机名(如 www.ibm.com)转换为计算机友好型 IP 地址(例如 192.168.1.1)。向因特网上的每台设备提供 IP 地址,并且需要该地址以查找相应的因特网设备 - 如街道地址用于查找特定住址。当用户想要装入 Web 页面时,必须将用户输入 Web 浏览器中的地址 (example.com) 转换为找到 example.com Web 页面所必需的机器友好型地址。
要了解 DNS 解析背后的过程,很重要的一点就是要了解 DNS 查询必须通过的不同硬件组件。对于 Web 浏览器,“幕后”会进行 DNS 查找,并且除了初始请求之外,不需要用户的计算机再进行交互。

什么是 DNS 解析器?

了解有关 DNS 的更多信息

DNS 解析器是 DNS 查找中的第一站,它负责处理发出初始请求的客户机。解析器将启动一个查询序列,该过程最终会让 URL 转换为必要的 IP 地址。
注:典型未高速缓存的 DNS 查找将涉及递归查询和迭代查询。
区分递归 DNS 查询和递归 DNS 解析器很重要。查询是指向 DNS 解析器发出的需要解析查询的请求。DNS 递归解析器是指接受递归查询并通过发出必要请求来处理响应的计算机。

入门

准备开始?通过我们的门户网站和 API,更快、更安全的因特网只需点击即可获取。

请即刻通过右侧任意方式, 让 IBM 专家为您答疑解惑

Distributed denial-of-service (DDoS)

What is a DDoS attack?

A distributed denial-of-service (DDoS) attack is a malicious attempt to disrupt the normal traffic of a targeted server, service or network by overwhelming the target or its surrounding infrastructure with a flood of internet traffic. DDoS attacks achieve effectiveness by utilizing multiple compromised computer systems as sources of attack traffic. Exploited machines can include computers and other networked resources, such as IoT devices. From a high level, a DDoS attack is like a traffic jam clogging up a highway, preventing regular traffic from arriving at its desired destination.

How does a DDoS attack work?

A DDoS attack requires an attacker to gain control of a network of online machines in order to carry out an attack. Computers and other machines (such as IoT devices) are infected with malware, turning each one into a bot (or zombie). The attacker then has remote control over the group of bots, which is called a botnet.

Once a botnet has been established, the attacker is able to direct the machines by sending updated instructions to each bot via a method of remote control. When the IP address of a victim is targeted by the botnet, each bot will respond by sending requests to the target, potentially causing the targeted server or network to overflow capacity, resulting in a denial of service to normal traffic. Because each bot is a legitimate internet device, separating the attack traffic from normal traffic can be difficult.

What are common types of DDoS attacks?

Different DDoS attack vectors target varying components of a network connection. In order to understand how different DDoS attacks work, it is necessary to know how a network connection is made. A network connection on the internet is composed of many different components or “layers.” Like building a house from the ground up, each step in the model has a different purpose. The OSI model is a conceptual framework used to describe network connectivity in seven distinct layers.

What is the process for mitigating a DDoS attack?

Learn more about DDoS

While nearly all DDoS attacks involve overwhelming a target device or network with traffic, attacks can be divided into three categories. An attacker may make use of one or multiple different attack vectors, or cycle attack vectors potentially based on countermeasures taken by the target.

In the modern internet, DDoS traffic comes in many forms. The traffic can vary in design from un-spoofed, single-source attacks to complex and adaptive multi-vector attacks. A multi-vector DDoS attack uses multiple attack pathways in order to overwhelm a target in different ways, potentially distracting mitigation efforts on any one trajectory. An attack that targets multiple layers of the protocol stack at the same time, such as a DNS amplification (targeting Layers 3 and 4) coupled with an HTTP flood (targeting Layer 7) is an example of multi-vector DDoS.

Mitigating a multi-vector DDoS attack requires a variety of strategies in order to counter different trajectories. Generally speaking, the more complex the attack, the more likely the traffic will be difficult to separate from normal traffic – the goal of the attacker is to “blend in” as much as possible, making mitigation as inefficient as possible. Mitigation attempts that involve dropping or limiting traffic indiscriminately may throw good traffic out with the bad, and the attack may also modify and adapt to circumvent countermeasures. In order to overcome a complex attempt at disruption, a layered solution will give the greatest benefit.

Web application firewall (WAF)

What is a web application firewall?

A web application firewall (WAF) helps protect web applications by filtering and monitoring HTTP traffic between a web application and the internet. It typically protects web applications from attacks, such as cross-site forgery, cross-site-scripting (XSS), file inclusion and SQL injection, among others. A WAF is a protocol Layer 7 defense (in the OSI model), and is not designed to defend against all types of attacks. This method of attack mitigation is usually part of a suite of tools which together create a holistic defense against a range of attack vectors.

By deploying a WAF in front of a web application, a shield is placed between the web application and the internet. While a proxy server protects a client machine’s identity by using an intermediary, a WAF is a type of reverse proxy, protecting the server from exposure by having clients pass through the WAF before reaching the server.

A WAF operates through a set of rules often called policies. These policies aim to protect against vulnerabilities within the application by filtering out malicious traffic. The value of a WAF comes in part from the speed and ease with which policy modification can be implemented, allowing for faster response to varying attack vectors; during a DDoS attack, rate limiting can be quickly implemented by modifying WAF policies.

What is the difference between blacklist and whitelist WAFs?

Learn more about WAF

A WAF that operates based on a blacklist (negative security model) protects against known attacks. Think of a blacklist WAF as a club bouncer instructed to deny admittance to any guests who don’t meet the dress code. Conversely, a WAF based on a whitelist (positive security model) only admits traffic that has been pre-approved. This is like the bouncer at an exclusive party; he or she only admits people who are on the list. Both blacklists and whitelists have their advantages and drawbacks, which is why many WAFs offer a hybrid security model, which implements both.

Content delivery network (CDN)

What is a content delivery network?

A content delivery network (CDN) refers to a geographically distributed group of servers which work together to provide fast delivery of internet content. A CDN allows for the quick transfer of assets needed for loading internet content including HTML pages, JavaScript files, stylesheets, images and videos. The popularity of CDN services continues to grow, and today the majority of web traffic is served through CDNs.

How does a CDN work?

At its core, a CDN is a network of servers linked together with the goal of delivering content as quickly, cheaply, reliably and securely as possible. In order to improve speed and connectivity, a CDN will place servers at the exchange points between different networks. These internet exchange points (IXPs) are the primary locations where different internet providers connect in order to provide each other access to traffic originating on their different networks. By having a connection to these high-speed and highly interconnected locations, a CDN provider is able to reduce costs and transit times in high-speed data delivery.

How does a CDN improve website load times?

Learn more about CDN

When it comes to websites loading content, users drop off quickly as a site slows down. The globally distributed nature of a CDN means reduced distance between users and website resources. Instead of having to connect to wherever a website’s origin server may live, a CDN lets users connect to a geographically closer data center. Less travel time means faster service.

Domain Name System (DNS)

What is DNS?

The Domain Name System (DNS) is the phonebook of the internet. People access information online through domain names, like nytimes.com or espn.com. Web browsers interact through Internet Protocol (IP) addresses. DNS translates domain names to IP addresses so browsers can load internet resources.

Each device connected to the internet has a unique IP address, which other machines use to find the device. DNS servers eliminate the need to memorize IP addresses such as 192.168.1.1 (in IPv4), or more complex newer alphanumeric IP addresses such as 2400:cb00:2048:1:c629:d7a2 (in IPv6).

How does DNS work?

The process of DNS resolution involves converting a host name (such as www.ibm.com) into a computer-friendly IP address (such as 192.168.1.1). An IP address is given to each device on the internet, and that address is necessary to find the appropriate internet device — like a street address is used to find a particular home. When a user wants to load a web page, a translation must occur between what a user types into their web browser (example.com) and the machine-friendly address necessary to locate the example.com web page.

In order to understand the process behind the DNS resolution, it’s important to learn about the different hardware components a DNS query must pass between. For the web browser, the DNS lookup occurs “behind the scenes” and requires no interaction from the user’s computer apart from the initial request.

What is a DNS resolver?

Learn more about DNS

The DNS resolver is the first stop in the DNS lookup, and it is responsible for dealing with the client that made the initial request. The resolver starts the sequence of queries that ultimately leads to a URL being translated into the necessary IP address.

Note: A typical uncached DNS lookup will involve both recursive and iterative queries.

It's important to differentiate between a recursive DNS query and a recursive DNS resolver. The query refers to the request made to a DNS resolver requiring the resolution of the query. A DNS recursive resolver is the computer that accepts a recursive query and processes the response by making the necessary requests.

Get started

Ready to begin? With our portal and API, a faster, more secure internet is just clicks away.