重构工作流程,打造无边界企业
IBM 利用 AI 和混合云技术实现“常规业务”转型

作为一名成功的 IBM 销售人员,Nicole 很喜欢使用公司更智能的全新销售支持流程和工具。

在撰写销售提案时,她会咨询 AI 增强型助手 ,以加快构建和定制提案的速度。然后,她会要求该助手快速分析合同语言,深入了解如何尽量降低 IBM 的风险并提升收入。此外,当涉及到管理客户账单和开具发票活动的传统耗时流程时,她会依靠另一款自助服务应用程序来简化任务。

Nicole 沉浸在比以往更快速顺畅的流程中,能够高效工作,为客户提供更好的服务,并有时间进行创新。她还在工作中找寻到更多意义。

Nicole 只是数十万名 IBM 员工中的一员,AI 和混合云技术的应用,令他们的日常工作发生了天翻地覆的变化。

提升商业价值

 

充分运用 AI 和云解决方案,缔造了 26 亿美元的商业价值

大规模自动化

 

 

将自动化和 AI 融入 65% 的工作流,从而节省了 400 万个工时

员工敬业度

 

使 IBM 员工敬业度提升了 20 个百分点

客户端转型

 

通过将 25 项 AI 资产商业化,增强 IBM 帮助客户转型的能力

如果您能重新构想工作方式,便可以重塑一家企业。智能工作流从体验开始,将 AI 功能引入混合云平台,赋予员工数据和技术,从而实现指数级成果。 Joanne E. Wright 企业运营与服务副总裁 IBM
参与数字时代的竞争

这些变化都是 IBM 向无边界企业转型过程中的一部分,无边界企业是新一代组织和运营模式,有助于大型企业高效地参与竞争。无边界企业充分运用技术创新、开放式平台和生态系统以及全新的合作方式,大规模地迅速缔造价值,而涵盖整个企业的智能工作流则是无边界企业的核心。

IBM 拥有根据业务和市场需求进行自我革新的悠久传统。为了推动公司当前的转型,主管们试图重塑多个领域,包括供应链、财务、采购和销售。这些职能部门的主管致力于克服常见的阻碍因素,以实现公司的无边界企业愿景:

  • 各自为政的团队和流程无法支持客户至上的策略。
  • 碎片化的数据无法产生实时洞察分析并阻碍问责制。
  • 僵化的流程和 IT 系统无法适应复杂多变的任务,而这些任务对于提升价值至关重要。

虽然 IBM 的内部工作流程曾经满足公司的需求,但外部环境已发生变化,IBM 也需要随之改变。市场力量要求通过动态数字工作流为包括员工、客户和供应商在内的所有利益相关者提供助力,此类工作流可提供顺畅的用户体验,减少琐碎的任务并提供有价值的洞察分析。这不仅关系到员工个人满意度和生产力,还关系到企业的发展、效率和创新。

互联、自动化和智能化

首先迈出的第一步是创建通用的业务架构:反映 IBM 战略愿景和运营模式的组织逻辑,包括八个智能工作流和两项支持功能。第二步是在全公司范围内将其付诸实施。

幸运的是,IBM 拥有强大的技术和世界一流的咨询能力,可以加快实现此类涵盖整个企业的目标。公司利用自己的 IBM® Garage(一个汇集人员、流程和技术的转型框架)实施了一套行之有效的敏捷实践,大规模整合用户体验、实施和企业文化变革。

执行团队采用以用户为中心的敏捷 IBM Garage 方法,并结合 AI 设计方法,快速生成、测试和推广创新理念。他们绘制了工作流程图(从线索到回款、供应链、客户支持和从寻购到付款),并找出用户使用流程中的痛点。然后,他们对技术解决方案进行原型设计,并通过迭代流程,从试点转向大规模生产。

IBM 顾问也全面参与了转型工作。他们利用自己在各种云环境中无缝迁移、整合和管理应用程序及工作量方面的深厚专业知识,简化和精简了工作流。他们与关键业务职能部门合作,嵌入了具备 IBM® Watson、自动化、IBM® Blockchain、IoT 和其他功能的流程。然后,他们在一个高度安全的开放式混合云平台上提供这些新服务。

在三年的时间里,IBM 设计并推出了真正适合人员和业务需求的转型工作流:

  • 现在,销售人员、客户和支持部门都能获得统一的端到端体验。
  • 用户可以访问单一可信信息源,获得即时洞察分析,从而显著提高企业效率和财务业绩。
  • 以人为本的体验有助于参与高价值活动,更快地解决复杂问题。

仔细观察 IBM 如何重塑四个主要工作流,就会发现该公司全新的“常规业务”。

从线索到回款工作流

作为 IBM 销售人员,Nicole 的日常工作由公司的从线索到回款工作流提供支持。从线索到回款的活动既广泛又复杂,包括客户线索和机会开发、解决方案配置、定价、谈判、合同管理、订单管理、账单和开具发票以及现金管理。

IBM 从线索到回款智能工作流转型团队专注于解决用户的关键痛点:以过多的手动数据输入、数据冗余和无法访问以及多次交接为特征的不同流程。该团队实施了一个融入 AI 的解决方案,其中包括为销售人员提供智能虚拟协助、构建和定制 AI 驱动的提案以及合同语言分析。该团队还推出了具备动态审批管理功能的免接触式账单和开具发票管理活动。

IBM 从报价到回款转型与启用副总裁 Theresa Dirker 解释道:“我们转型过程的关键要素包括:首先将我们的工作迁移至云端,这个单一平台可以带来大幅改进甚至是全新的体验,以及前所未见的自动化功能。其次以 AI 为核心。不是事后诸葛,也不是从工具的角度出发,而是融入到体验中。这推动了自动化和自助服务的发展。再者,重点关注一些核心系统的现代化改造。所有这一切均以数据为基础。”

成果包括以下指标:

  • 通过简化销售周期实现 13 倍的投资回报率
  • 客户满意度提高 35%
  • 额外节省 40% 的运营成本
供应链工作流

IBM 的全球供应链包括全球战略设施和能力,支持数十万客户的交付并满足网络维护需求。IBM 供应链运营和转型团队重新构思了工作流,从而帮助 IBM 更好地应对供应链中日益普遍的重大干扰,例如由新冠疫情引发的干扰。

IBM 副总裁兼首席供应链官 Ron Castro 指出:“我们拥有的最大机遇之一是真正利用全新技术和数据来重塑供应链的未来,届时端到端可见性和智能工作量将增强敏捷性、适应性和弹复性。”

该团队采用 AI 来预测和查明中断情况,并制定最佳措施来优化吞吐量、成本和质量。团队方面还整合了用于实时精确跟踪的 IoT 传感器,并融入其他以指数级别迅猛增长的技术,例如自动化、工业 4.0 解决方案、视觉洞察分析、增强现实 (AR) 技术、IBM Blockchain 和边缘计算。

成果包括以下指标:

  • 将缓解中断影响所需时间从数天缩短至数小时
  • 将解决供应链长期难题的效率提高 95%
  • 供应链结构成本降低 10%
客户支持工作流

IBM Support 是全球约 7,000 种 IBM 产品的技术支持协助组织。为这一任务关键型功能创建智能客户支持工作流的路径植根于用户体验。

IBM 客户支持转型与全球 CRM 体验副总裁 Bob McDonald 表示:“客户正在寻找全新的创新方式来获取自助服务选项的支持。支持专业人员希望确保他们及时回复我们的客户。”

该团队推出了 IBM 客户支持平台,将软件支持、客户服务、现场服务和 AI 翻译结合在一起,创建了单一的客户生命周期。多种由 AI 和自动化驱动,并利用案例和客户数据的全新解决方案有助于改善客户体验,并更快地解决问题。

划分案例优先级解决方案可评估每个案例的状态(包括严重程度、上次更新和语气),以确定优先级。另一种解决方案则通过分析问题、信息资产和客户对话来整理内容,以便客服能够迅速找到正确的技术信息来解决问题。

成果包括以下指标:

  • 70 净推荐值 (NPS),表明世界一流的客户体验
  • 借助自动排定案例优先级功能,支持客服每天最多可节省 45 分钟的时间
  • 案例解决时间缩短 26%
从寻购到付款工作流

IBM 从寻购到付款功能的范围涵盖全球约 13,000 家供应商的端到端采购和应付账款体验。在工作流转型之前,主要依靠手动分析数据,既不可重复,也无法扩展,阻碍了应付账款和采购专业人员的战略决策。

IBM 从寻购到付款转型团队采取了全面的变革方法。部署强大的数据基础,以实现整个企业的数据分析和可见性是其中一大支柱。

IBM 从寻购到付款转型与运营总监 Jason Mudd 解释道:“我们需要充分利用我们的数据,并以直观易用的方式为企业提供所需的洞察分析。”

除了数据之外,其他三个团队还处理了流程、技术和人员问题。在此过程中,团队推出了多个全新解决方案。认知定价解决方案能够利用对正在进行的交易的市场洞察分析,通过谈判获得更优惠的价格。另外两个解决方案则使用 IBM Blockchain Platform,一个用于提供可靠的供应商信息和数字身份来源,另一个用于无缝引入新供应商并帮助消除纠纷。

成果包括以下指标:

  • 完成定价分析的时间从两天缩短为 10 分钟
  • 批量分析多个合约的耗时削减 90%
  • 新供应商加盟速度提高 10 倍
虚拟化的优点

在转型为无边界企业的过程中,IBM 衡量了自己的进展。迄今为止,该公司已利用 AI 和云解决方案缔造了 26 亿美元的商业价值,并将 AI 融入 IBM 65% 的端到端工作流,通过实时洞察分析增强了决策能力。另外还通过自动化、简化流程和提高生产力节省了 400 万个工时。

此外,由于日常任务减少,员工可以专注于影响更大、更有意义的活动。除了工作满意度更高之外,IBM 员工也更加投入工作,用于衡量的净推荐值 (NPS) 跃升了 20 分。

IBM 与 IBM Garage 和 IBM Consulting 合作,继续构建智能企业工作流,为员工、合作伙伴和客户提供支持。公司还将目光投向外部,并已向市场推出 25 项 AI 资产。随着全球进入信息系统的新时代,新技术的采用变得无处不在,IBM 可以帮助显著提高生产力,并制定在各种生态系统中竞争的新方法。

IBM 徽标
关于 IBM

IBM 是一家美国跨国科技公司,总部位于纽约州阿蒙克,业务遍及全球 171 个国家或地区。一个多世纪以来,IBM 一直致力于协助每一位客户取得成功,并为世界创造重要的创新技术。

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Boston Dynamics

基于边缘的分析推动更智能的运营

阅读成功案例
TD Ameritrade

通过业务流程自动化投资未来

阅读成功案例
奥迪(英国)

让车主畅享创新体验

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Consulting, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Garage、IBM Services 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站 ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Creating a virtual enterprise by reimagining workflows

IBM transforms “business as usual” with AI and hybrid cloud technologies
Karen Boush
7-minute read

A successful IBM seller, Nicole loves the company’s new, smarter sales support processes and tools.

Sitting down to write a sales proposal, she consults with her AI-enhanced assistant to speed proposal building and customization. Then, she asks the assistant to rapidly analyze the contract language, receiving insights on how to minimize IBM’s risk and maximize its revenue. In addition, when it comes to the traditionally time-consuming process of managing client billing and invoicing activities, she relies on another self-service app to simplify tasks.

Since immersing herself in processes that flow faster and more smoothly than ever before, Nicole can work with efficiency, provide better service to clients and have time to innovate. She also finds her work to be more meaningful.

Nicole is just one of hundreds of thousands of IBM employees whose daily work has undergone dramatic transformations using AI and hybrid cloud technologies.

Woman celebrating at her desk

Capitalized on AI and cloud solutions to drive

USD 2.6

billion in business value

Saved 4 million work hours by infusing automation and AI into

65%

of workflows

Boosted IBM employee engagement by

20

points

Increased IBM’s ability to help clients transform by commercializing

25

AI assets

If you can reimagine how work gets done, then you can reinvent an organization. Intelligent workflows start with the experience, bringing AI capabilities on a hybrid cloud platform that empowers employees with data and technology to deliver exponential results.
Joanne E. Wright
Vice President Enterprise Operations & Services, IBM
Competing in the digital era

These changes are all part of IBM’s journey to become a virtual enterprise, the next-generation organizational and operating model that helps enable large-scale organizations to compete effectively. A virtual enterprise capitalizes on technological innovations, open platforms and ecosystems, and new partnership approaches to deliver value at scale and pace. At the heart of a virtual enterprise are cross-enterprise intelligent workflows.

IBM has a long tradition of reinventing itself in response to business and marketplace needs. To fuel the company’s current transformation, leaders sought to reinvent several areas, including supply chain, finance, procurement and sales. Leaders across these functions grappled with common inhibitors to attaining the company’s vision of a virtual enterprise:

  • Siloed teams and processes couldn’t support a client-first approach.
  • Fragmented data couldn’t yield real-time insights and hindered accountability.
  • Inflexible processes and IT systems couldn’t accommodate complex, variable tasks essential to driving higher value.
  • Whereas IBM’s internal workflows had once met the company’s needs, the world had changed, and IBM needed to change with it. Market forces demanded that all stakeholders, including employees, clients and suppliers, be empowered through dynamic digital workflows that provided seamless user experiences, reduced mundane tasks and provided valuable insights. At stake were not only individual employee satisfaction and productivity but also enterprise growth, efficiency and innovation.

    Team meeting around wall of sticky notes
    Connected, automated and intelligent
    Coworkers using digital tablet next to computerized factory arm

    The first step forward was to create a common business architecture — the organizing logic reflecting IBM’s strategic vision and operating model — comprising eight intelligent workflows and two support functions. The second step was to get to work bringing it to life across the company.

    Fortunately, IBM has powerful technological and world-class consulting to accelerate this type of cross-organizational endeavor. The company used its own IBM Garage™ — a transformation framework that brings together people, processes and technology — to implement a set of proven agile practices that integrate user experience, implementation and culture change at scale.

    Following the agile, user-centered IBM Garage Methodology in conjunction with the Design for AI method, execution teams rapidly generated, tested and scaled innovative ideas. They mapped workflows — lead-to-cash, supply chain, client support and source-to-pay — and identified pain points within the context of user journeys. Then, they prototyped technology solutions and, through a process of iteration, moved from pilot to large-scale production.

    IBM consultants were also fully engaged in the transformation. They drew on their deep expertise in migrating, integrating and managing applications and workloads seamlessly across cloud environments to simplify and streamline workflows. Collaborating with key business functions, they embedded processes with IBM Watson®, automation, IBM® Blockchain, IoT and other capabilities. They then delivered these new services on an open, security-rich hybrid-cloud platform.

    Over the course of three years, IBM designed and rolled out truly transformed workflows tailored to people and business needs:

  • Sellers, clients and support functions now have a unified end-to-end experience.
  • Users can access a single source of truth to receive instant insights, significantly boosting enterprise efficiency and financial performance.
  • Human-centric experiences facilitate engagement in high-value activities and faster resolution of complex problems.
  • A close look at how IBM reimagined four primary workflows reveals the company’s new “business as usual.”

    Lead-to-cash workflow

    Nicole’s daily activities as an IBM seller are powered by the company’s lead-to-cash workflow. Broad and complex, lead-to-cash activities encompass client lead and opportunity development, configuration of solutions, pricing, negotiations, contract management, order management, billing and invoicing, and cash management.

    The IBM Lead to Cash Intelligent Workflow Transformation team focused on addressing users’ key pain points: disparate processes characterized by excessive manual data entry, data redundancy and inaccessibility, and multiple handoffs. The team implemented an AI-infused solution that includes intelligent virtual assistance for sellers, AI-driven proposal building and customization, and contract language analysis. It also rolled out touchless management of billing and invoicing activities with dynamic approval management.

    “The key elements of our journey have been, number one, moving our work to the cloud, a single platform that brings a much improved, even reinvented experience. And automation that we’ve never seen before,” explains Theresa Dirker, Vice President Quote-to-Cash Transformation and Enablement at IBM. “And number two, AI at the core. Not as an afterthought or from a tool point of view; rather, embedded in the experience. This drives automation and self-service. And number three, a focus on modernization of some of our core systems. All of this is underpinned with data.”

    Outcomes include the following metrics:

  • 13x ROI generated by streamlining the sales cycle
  • 35% increase in customer satisfaction
  • 40% increase in operational savings
  • Man on video chat infront of a large screen with a bar graph
    Supply chain workflow
    Man accepting packages from delivery truck

    IBM’s global supply chain comprises strategic facilities and capabilities worldwide, supporting hundreds of thousands of customer deliveries and servicing network maintenance requirements. By rethinking the workflow, the IBM Supply Chain Operations and Transformation team helped IBM better prepare for a world in which significant disturbances in supply chains, such as those triggered by COVID-19, are more common.

    “One of the greatest opportunities we have is to truly leverage new technologies and data to reimagine the future of supply chain, a future where end-to-end visibility and intelligence workloads will power agility, adaptability and resilience,” says Ron Castro, Vice President and Chief Supply Chain Officer at IBM.

    The team implemented AI to predict and pinpoint disruptions and prescribe best actions to optimize throughput, cost and quality. It also integrated IoT sensors for real-time precision tracking and infused other exponential technologies such as automation, Industry 4.0 solutions, visual insights, augmented reality, IBM Blockchain and edge computing.

    Outcomes include the following metrics:

  • Days-to-hours reduction in disruption mitigation
  • 95% greater efficiency in resolving persistent supply chain challenges
  • 10% reduction in supply chain structural costs
  • Client support workflow

    IBM Support is the worldwide technical support assistance organization for approximately 7,000 IBM products. The path to creating an intelligent client support workflow for this mission-critical function was rooted in user experiences.

    “Clients were looking for new, innovative ways of getting support in self-service options,” says Bob McDonald, Vice President, IBM Client Support Transformation & Global CRM Experience. “Support professionals wanted to make sure they were giving a timely response to our clients.”

    The team launched the IBM Client Support platform, which combines software support, customer care, field service and AI translation to create a single customer lifecycle. Several new solutions powered by AI and automation and drawing on case and client data help improve the client experience and enable faster issue resolution.

    A case prioritization solution assesses each case’s status, including the severity, last update and tone to determine priority. Another solution analyzes issues, information assets and client dialogue to curate content so that agents can quickly find the right technical information to solve problems.

    Outcomes include the following metrics:

  • 70 Net Promoter Score (NPS), indicating a world-class client experience
  • Up to 45 minutes saved daily for support agents with automated case prioritization
  • 26% reduction in time to case resolution
  • Woman working in a call center
    Source-to-pay workflow
    Coworkers looking at giant screen of metrics and graphs

    The scope of IBM source-to-pay functions covers end-to-end purchasing and payables experiences for approximately 13,000 suppliers worldwide. Prior to workflow transformation, data analysis was largely manual and neither repeatable nor scalable, thwarting strategic decision-making by accounts payable and procurement professionals.

    The IBM Source to Pay Transformation team took a comprehensive approach toward change. Deploying a robust data foundation to enable data analytics and visibility across the enterprise was one pillar.

    “We need to take full advantage of our data and provide the business with the insights it needs in an intuitive and consumable way,” explains Jason Mudd, Director, IBM Source to Pay Transformation and Operations.

    Along with data, three other teams addressed process, technology and people. The journey has led the team to roll out several new solutions. A cognitive pricing solution enables negotiation of better rates using market insights on inflight deals. Two other solutions use the IBM Blockchain platform, one to provide a trusted source of supplier information and digital identity and another to seamlessly onboard new suppliers and help eliminate disputes.

    Outcomes include the following metrics:

  • 10 minutes to complete a pricing analysis, down from two days
  • 90% reduction in time spent on batch analysis of multiple contracts
  • 10x faster onboarding for new suppliers
  • The benefits of going virtual
    Coworkers high-fiving at a conference table

    On its journey to become a virtual enterprise, IBM has measured its progress. To date, the company has driven USD 2.6 billion in business value by capitalizing on AI and cloud solutions. It infused 65% of IBM’s end-to-end workflows with AI, enhancing decision-making with real-time insights. In addition, it saved four million work hours through automation, streamlining processes and increasing productivity.

    Furthermore, with fewer routine tasks to perform, employees can focus on higher impact, more meaningful activities. In addition to greater job satisfaction, IBM employees are more engaged in their work, as measured by a 20-point jump in the net promoter score (NPS).

    Working with IBM Garage and IBM Consulting, IBM continues to build out intelligent enterprise workflows empowering employees, partners and clients. It is also looking outward and has brought to market 25 of its AI assets. As the world enters a new era of information systems — and new technology adoption becomes pervasive — IBM can help drive significant productivity and create new ways to compete across ecosystems.

    IBM Logo

    About IBM

    IBMExternal Link is an American multinational technology corporation headquartered in Armonk, New York, with operations in over 171 countries. For more than a century, IBM has been dedicated to every client’s success and to creating innovations that matter for the world.

    Solution components
    IBM Logo

    About IBM

    IBMExternal Link is an American multinational technology corporation headquartered in Armonk, New York, with operations in over 171 countries. For more than a century, IBM has been dedicated to every client’s success and to creating innovations that matter for the world.

    Solution components